DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed 5/5/2025 wherein claims 7-11, 13-20, and 26-28 are canceled, claims 22-23 are withdrawn, and claims 1-6, 12, 21, 24-25, and 29-36 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 21-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/26/2025. It is noted that the elected species does not include multiple fluid lines (both a fifth line in claim 1 and also a seventh line in claim 21) that fluidly couple the second fluid line to the actuator.
Claims 1-6, 12, 25, and 29-36 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futa et al. (US 2012/0067022) in view of Kelly et al. (US 2016/0201574), Susca et al. (US 2024/0240630), and Nyzen (US 10,125,732).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Futa teaches (Figures 1-5) a turbo engine for an aircraft (see Paragraph 0016), the turbo engine (Paragraph 0016) comprising:
a gas turbine engine (Paragraph 0016) having a combustion section (Paragraph 0003 and 0016); and
a fuel system (100) to provide fuel to the combustion section (via 116), the fuel system (100) including:
a boost pump (104);
a variable displacement pump (106; see Paragraph 0017 and Figure 1) having an inlet side (the upstream side of the variable displacement pump, shown at the left side of 106 in Figure 1) and an outlet side (the downstream side of the variable displacement pump, shown at the right side of 106 in Figure 1), the inlet side (the upstream side of the variable displacement pump, shown at the left side of 106 in Figure 1) fluidly coupled to the boost pump (104) by a first fluid line (the fluid line between 104 and 106; see Figure 1),
a fuel metering valve (108) fluidly coupled to (via 118; see Figure 1) the outlet side (the downstream side of the variable displacement pump, show at the right side of 106 in Figure 1) of the variable displacement pump (106) by a second line (118, between 106 and 108; see Figure 1), the fuel metering valve (108) configured to receive pressurized fuel (at 107) from the variable displacement pump (106) and control a flow rate of the pressurized fuel (see Paragraph 0018 and Figure 1) to the combustion section (via 116), the fuel metering valve (108) fluidly coupled to the combustion section (via 116) by a third fluid line (the fluid line between 109 and 116; see Figure 1); and
a fourth fluid line (at 122) with a bypass valve (124) fluidly coupling (via 122; see Figure 1) the second fluid line (118, between 106 and 108; see Figure 1) and the first fluid line (the fluid line between 104 and 106; see Figure 1) to direct an excess portion (via 122) of the pressurized fuel at the outlet side of the variable displacement pump (106) back to the inlet side (see Paragraph 0019 and Figure 1) of the variable displacement pump (106).
Futa does not teach that the variable displacement pump is driven by an accessory gearbox that is powered by a shaft of the gas turbine engine, the variable displacement pump includes an actuator configured to adjust a discharge flow rate of the variable displacement pump, wherein the actuator is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line by a fifth fluid line at a first connection point that is upstream of a second connection point between the fourth fluid line and the second fluid line, and wherein the actuator is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line by a sixth fluid line at a third connection point that is downstream of a fourth connection point between the fourth fluid line and the first fluid line, or a compensating valve; a first hydraulic pressure line that fluidly coupled the second fluid line and the compensating valve, a second hydraulic pressure line that fluidly couples the third fluid line and the compensating valve, and a third hydraulic pressure line that fluidly couples the compensating valve and the bypass valve, wherein the compensating valve is configured to adjust a force margin on the bypass valve, via the third hydraulic pressure line, based on the pressure differential across the fuel metering valve as measured via the first and second hydraulic pressure lines.
Kelly teaches (Figures 1-2) a gas turbine engine fuel supply system (40) that includes a variable displacement pump (74) that is driven by an accessory gearbox (41) that is powered by a shaft (24 or 28) of the gas turbine engine (10), the variable displacement pump (74) including an actuator (84) configured to adjust a discharge flow rate of the variable displacement pump (74; see Paragraph 0031 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa to have the variable displacement pump be driven by an accessory gearbox that is powered by a shaft of the gas turbine engine, where an actuator is configured to adjust a discharge flow rate of the variable displacement pump, as taught by Kelly, in order to mechanically drive the pump by an engine shaft such that the variable displacement pump is driven at either a fixed speed or a speed proportional of the gas turbine engine (Paragraph 0029 of Kelly) and to vary the displacement of the variable displacement metering pump being driven at fixed sped (Paragraph 0031 of Kelly). Futa in view of Kelly does not teach wherein the actuator is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line by a fifth fluid line at a first connection point that is upstream of a second connection point between the fourth fluid line and the second fluid line, and wherein the actuator is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line by a sixth fluid line at a third connection point that is downstream of a fourth connection point between the fourth fluid line and the first fluid line, or a compensating valve; a first hydraulic pressure line that fluidly coupled the second fluid line and the compensating valve, a second hydraulic pressure line that fluidly couples the third fluid line and the compensating valve, and a third hydraulic pressure line that fluidly couples the compensating valve and the bypass valve, wherein the compensating valve is configured to adjust a force margin on the bypass valve, via the third hydraulic pressure line, based on the pressure differential across the fuel metering valve as measured via the first and second hydraulic pressure lines.
Susca teaches (Figure 1) an actuator (136) is fluidly coupled to a second fluid line (at 106) by a fifth fluid line (at 142) at a first connection point (annotated below) that is upstream of a second connection point (annotated below) between the fourth fluid line (at 116) and the second fluid line (at 106), and wherein the actuator (136) is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line (at 104) by a sixth fluid line (at 140) at a third connection point (annotated below) and a fourth connection point (annotated below) between the fourth fluid line (at 116) and the first fluid line (at 104).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly to have the actuator be fluidly coupled to the second fluid line by a fifth fluid line at a first connection point that is upstream of a second connection point between the fourth fluid line and the second fluid line, and wherein the actuator is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line by a sixth fluid line at a third connection point that and a fourth connection point between the fourth fluid line and the first fluid line, as taught by Susca, in order to actuate the variable displacement mechanism to control the flow through the variable displacement pump (Paragraph 0019 of Susca). Although Susca does not teach that the third connection point is downstream of the fourth connection point between the fourth fluid line and the first fluid line, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to position the third connection point downstream of the fourth connection point, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Futa in view of Kelly and Susca does not teach a compensating valve; a first hydraulic pressure line that fluidly coupled the second fluid line and the compensating valve, a second hydraulic pressure line that fluidly couples the third fluid line and the compensating valve, and a third hydraulic pressure line that fluidly couples the compensating valve and the bypass valve, wherein the compensating valve is configured to adjust a force margin on the bypass valve, via the third hydraulic pressure line, based on the pressure differential across the fuel metering valve as measured via the first and second hydraulic pressure lines.
Nyzen teaches (Figures 1-3) a compensating valve (130, 230); a first hydraulic pressure line (annotated below) that is fluidly coupled (see Figures 1-2) to the second fluid line (annotated below) and the compensating valve (130, 230); a second hydraulic pressure line (annotated below) that fluidly couples (see Figures 1-2) a third fluid line (annotated below) and the compensating valve (130, 230), and a third hydraulic pressure line (annotated below) that fluidly couples (see Figures 1-2) the compensating valve (130, 230) and the bypass valve (102, 202), wherein the compensating valve (130) is configured to adjust a force margin (based on sense line 150) on the bypass valve (102, 202), via the third hydraulic pressure line (annotated below), based on the pressure differential (see Column 3, line 39 – Column 4, line 10 and Figures 1-2) across the fuel metering valve (132, 232) as measured via the first and second hydraulic pressure lines (annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly and Susca to have the compensating valve, the first hydraulic pressure line that fluidly coupled the second fluid line and the compensating valve, the second hydraulic pressure line that fluidly couples the third fluid line and the compensating valve, and the third hydraulic pressure line that fluidly couples the compensating valve and the bypass valve, wherein the compensating valve is configured to adjust a force margin on the bypass valve, via the third hydraulic pressure line, based on the pressure differential across the fuel metering valve as measured via the first and second hydraulic pressure lines, as taught by Nyzen, in order to maintain controllability of the metering and bypass valves (Column 2, lines 27-36 of Nyzen).
Regarding Claim 2, Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa further teaches (Figures 1-5) wherein the variable displacement pump (106) is a variable displacement piston pump (Paragraph 0017).
It is also noted that Kelly teaches that the variable displacement pump (74) may be a balanced vane pump, an unbalanced vane pump, or a piston pump (see Paragraph 0029 of Kelly).
Regarding Claim 6, Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the actuator includes a servo valve, and wherein the servo valve is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line by the fifth line, and wherein the servo valve is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line by the sixth fluid line.
Susca teaches (Figure 1) wherein the actuator (136) includes a servo valve (Paragraphs 0006 and 0019), and wherein the servo valve (136) is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line (annotated above) by the fifth line (annotated above), and wherein the servo valve (136) is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line (annotated above) by the sixth fluid line (annotated above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen to have the actuator include a servo valve, and wherein the servo valve is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line by the fifth line, and wherein the servo valve is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line by the sixth fluid line, as taught by Susca, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futa et al. (US 2012/0067022) in view of Kelly et al. (US 2016/0201574), Susca et al. (US 2024/0240630), and Nyzen (US 10,125,732) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reuter et al. (US 5,715,674).
Regarding Claim 3, Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the actuator is configured to adjust the discharge flow rate of the variable displacement pump based on an outlet pressure of the fuel metering valve.
Reuter teaches (Figures 1-4) a fuel system (100) having an actuator (108) that is configured to adjust a discharge flow rate (at 128) of the variable displacement pump (104) based on an outlet pressure (via 228, 208) of the fuel metering valve (136).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen to have the fuel system include an actuator that is configured to adjust the discharge flow rate of the variable displacement pump based on the outlet pressure of the fuel metering valve, as taught by Reuter, in order to maintain a constant pressure drop across the metering valve by varying pump displacement (see Column 6, lines 31-61 of Reuter).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futa et al. (US 2012/0067022) in view of Kelly et al. (US 2016/0201574), Susca et al. (US 2024/0240630), and Nyzen (US 10,125,732) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ni et al. (US 2018/0340531).
Regarding Claim 4, Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the fuel system further includes a controller to operate the actuator to achieve a target pump discharge flow rate.
Ni teaches (Figures 1-2) a fuel system (100) that includes a controller (120) that operates a pump actuator (112) to achieve a target pump discharge flow rate (Paragraph 0015).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen to have the fuel system include a controller to operate the actuator to achieve a target pump discharge flow rate, as taught by Ni, in order to have the variable displacement pump provide a desired fuel flow rate independent of the pump drive speed in response to a thrust demand received by the FADEC (Paragraph 0015 of Ni).
Regarding Claim 5, Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, Nyzen, and Ni teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, Nyzen, and Ni does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the target pump discharge flow rate is set by a full authority digital engine control.
Ni teaches (Figures 1-2) a fuel system (100) that includes a controller (120) that operates a pump actuator (112) to achieve a target pump discharge flow rate (Paragraph 0015), wherein the target pump discharge flow rate (Paragraph 0015) is set by a full authority digital engine control (120; see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, Nyzen, and Ni to have the fuel system include a controller to operate the actuator to achieve a target pump discharge flow rate, wherein the target pump discharge flow rate is set by a full authority digital engine control, as taught by Ni, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 4.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futa et al. (US 2012/0067022) in view of Kelly et al. (US 2016/0201574), Susca et al. (US 2024/0240630), and Nyzen (US 10,125,732) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cocks et al. (US 11,781,484).
Regarding Claim 12, Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly and Nyzen does not teach wherein the boost pump configured to be driven by the accessory gearbox.
Cocks teaches (Figures 1-4) a fuel system (62) having a boost pump (68) and a main pump (70) that is configured to be driven by an accessory gearbox (78).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen to have the boost pump be driven by the accessory gearbox, as taught by Cocks, in order to have a common shaft driving each of the boost pump and main pump (Column 6, lines 8-16 of Cocks).
Claims 25, 31, 32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futa et al. (US 2012/0067022) in view of Kelly et al. (US 2016/0201574) and Susca et al. (US 2024/0240630).
Regarding Independent Claim 25, Futa teaches (Figures 1-5) a turbo engine for an aircraft (see Paragraph 0016), the turbo engine (Paragraph 0016) comprising:
a gas turbine engine (Paragraph 0016) having a combustion section (Paragraph 0003 and 0016); and
a fuel system (100) to provide fuel to the combustion section (via 116), the fuel system (100) including:
a boost pump (104);
a variable displacement pump (106; see Paragraph 0017 and Figure 1) having an inlet side (the upstream side of the variable displacement pump, shown at the left side of 106 in Figure 1) and an outlet side (the downstream side of the variable displacement pump, shown at the right side of 106 in Figure 1), the inlet side (the upstream side of the variable displacement pump, shown at the left side of 106 in Figure 1) fluidly coupled to the boost pump (104) by a first fluid line (the fluid line between 104 and 106; see Figure 1),
a fuel metering valve (108) fluidly coupled to (via 118; see Figure 1) the outlet side (the downstream side of the variable displacement pump, show at the right side of 106 in Figure 1) of the variable displacement pump (106) by a second fluid line (118, between 106 and 108l see Figure 1), the fuel metering valve (108) configured to receive pressurized fuel (at 107) from the variable displacement pump (106) and control a flow rate of the pressurized fuel (see Paragraph 0018 and Figure 1) to the combustion section (via 116), and
a third fluid line (at 122) with a bypass valve (124) fluidly coupling (via 122; see Figure 1) the second fluid line (118, between 106 and 108; see Figure 1) and the first fluid line (the fluid line between 104 and 106; see Figure 1) to direct an excess portion (via 122) of the pressurized fuel at the outlet side of the variable displacement pump (106) back to the inlet side (see Paragraph 0019 and Figure 1) of the variable displacement pump (106).
Futa does not teach that the variable displacement pump is driven by an accessory gearbox that is powered by a shaft of the gas turbine engine, the variable displacement pump includes an actuator configured to adjust a discharge flow rate of the variable displacement pump, wherein the actuator is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line by a fourth fluid line at a first connection point that is upstream of a second connection point between the third fluid line and the second fluid line, and wherein the actuator is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line by a fifth fluid line at a third connection point that is downstream of a fourth connection point between the fourth fluid line and the first fluid line.
Kelly teaches (Figures 1-2) a gas turbine engine fuel supply system (40) that includes a variable displacement pump (74) that is driven by an accessory gearbox (41) that is powered by a shaft (24 or 28) of the gas turbine engine (10), the variable displacement pump (74) including an actuator (84) configured to adjust a discharge flow rate of the variable displacement pump (74; see Paragraph 0031 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa to have the variable displacement pump be driven by an accessory gearbox that is powered by a shaft of the gas turbine engine, where an actuator is configured to adjust a discharge flow rate of the variable displacement pump, as taught by Kelly, in order to mechanically drive the pump by an engine shaft such that the variable displacement pump is driven at either a fixed speed or a speed proportional of the gas turbine engine (Paragraph 0029 of Kelly) and to vary the displacement of the variable displacement metering pump being driven at fixed sped (Paragraph 0031 of Kelly). Futa in view of Kelly does not teach that the actuator is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line by a fourth fluid line at a first connection point that is upstream of a second connection point between the third fluid line and the second fluid line, and wherein the actuator is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line by a fifth fluid line at a third connection point that is downstream of a fourth connection point between the fourth fluid line and the first fluid line.
Susca teaches (Figure 1) an actuator (136) is fluidly coupled to a second fluid line (at 106) by a fourth fluid line (at 142) at a first connection point (annotated below) that is upstream of a second connection point (annotated below) between the third fluid line (at 116) and the second fluid line (at 106), and wherein the actuator (136) is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line (at 104) by a fifth fluid line (at 140) at a third connection point (annotated below) and a fourth connection point (annotated below) between the third fluid line (at 116) and the first fluid line (at 104).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly to have the actuator be fluidly coupled to the second fluid line by a fifth fluid line at a first connection point that is upstream of a second connection point between the fourth fluid line and the second fluid line, and wherein the actuator is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line by a sixth fluid line at a third connection point that and a fourth connection point between the fourth fluid line and the first fluid line, as taught by Susca, in order to actuate the variable displacement mechanism to control the flow through the variable displacement pump (Paragraph 0019 of Susca). Although Susca does not teach that the third connection point is downstream of the fourth connection point between the fourth fluid line and the first fluid line, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to position the third connection point downstream of the fourth connection point, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding Claim 31, Futa in view of Kelly and Susca teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa further teaches (Figures 1-5) wherein the variable displacement pump (106) is a variable displacement piston pump (Paragraph 0017).
It is noted that Kelly also teaches that the variable displacement pump may be a vane pump or a piston pump (see Paragraph 0029 of Kelly).
Regarding Claim 32, Futa in view of Kelly and Susca teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly and Susca does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the fuel system further includes a controller to operate the actuator to achieve a target pump discharge flow rate.
Susca teaches (Figure 1) the fuel system (100) that includes a controller (120) to operate the actuator (136) to achieve a target pump discharge flow rate (Paragraph 0019).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly and Susca to have the fuel system further includes a controller to operate the actuator to achieve a target pump discharge flow rate, as taught by Susca, in order to control the actuation of the variable displacement mechanism to control flow through the variable displacement pump (Paragraph 0019 of Susca).
Regarding Claim 34, Futa in view of Kelly and Susca teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly and Susca does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the actuator includes a servo valve, and wherein the servo valve is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line by the fourth fluid line, and wherein the servo valve is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line by the fifth fluid line.
Susca teaches (Figure 1) wherein the actuator (136) includes a servo valve (see Figure 1), and wherein the servo valve (136) is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line (annotated above) by the fourth fluid line (annotated above), and wherein the servo valve (136) is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line (annotated above) by the fifth fluid line (annotated above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly and Susca to have the actuator include a servo valve, and wherein the servo valve is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line by the fourth fluid line, and wherein the servo valve is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line by the fifth fluid line, as taught by Susca, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 25.
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futa et al. (US 2012/0067022) in view of Kelly et al. (US 2016/0201574), Susca et al. (US 2024/0240630), and Nyzen (US 10,125,732) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Baker et al. (US 2010/0089026).
Regarding Claim 29, Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen does not teach a seventh fluid line with a relief valve fluidly coupled between the second fluid line and the first fluid line, the relief valve configured to open when the pressurized fuel in the second fluid line reaches a threshold pressure to vent a portion of the pressurized fuel back to the inlet side of the variable displacement pump.
Baker teaches (Figure 1) a fluid line with a relief valve (168) fluidly coupled immediately upstream (see Figure 1) of a variable displacement pump (110) and immediately downstream (see Figure 1) of a variable displacement pump (110), the relief valve (168) configured to open when the pressurized fuel at the outlet of the variable displacement pump (the outlet of 110; see Figure 1) reaches a threshold pressure to vent a portion of the pressurized fuel back (via 166) to the inlet side (at 111) of the variable displacement pump (110; see Paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, and Nyzen to have a fluid line with a relief valve fluidly coupled immediately upstream of a variable displacement pump and immediately downstream of a variable displacement pump, the relief valve configured to open when the pressurized fuel at the outlet of the variable displacement pump reaches a threshold pressure to vent a portion of the pressurized fuel back to the inlet side of the variable displacement pump, as taught by Baker, in order to allow fluid to flow back to the pump inlet when the discharge pressure exceeds a maximum predetermined pressure (Paragraph 0034 of Baker).
Regarding Claim 30, Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, Nyzen, and Baker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, Nyzen, and Baker does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the seventh fluid line is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line upstream of the fifth fluid line, and wherein the seventh fluid line is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line downstream of the sixth fluid line.
Baker teaches (Figure 1) wherein the fluid line (166) coupling the relief valve (168) to the variable displacement pump (110) is positioned immediately upstream of the variable displacement pump inlet (at 111) and positioned immediately downstream of the variable displacement pump outlet (at 113).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, Nyzen, and Baker to have the fluid line coupling the relief valve to the variable displacement pump be positioned immediately upstream of the variable displacement pump inlet and positioned downstream of the variable displacement pump outlet, as taught by Baker, for the same reasons discussed in claim 29 above.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futa et al. (US 2012/0067022) in view of Kelly et al. (US 2016/0201574) and Susca et al. (US 2024/0240630) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Ni et al. (US 2018/0340531).
Regarding Claim 33, Futa in view of Kelly and Susca teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly and Susca does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the target pump discharge flow rate is set by a Full Authority Digital Engine Control.
Ni teaches (Figures 1-2) wherein the target pump discharge flow rate (Paragraph 0015) is set by a Full Authority Digital Engine Control (120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly, and Susca to have the target pump discharge flow rate is set by a Full Authority Digital Engine Control, as taught by Ni, in order to control the displacement of the variable displacement pump to provide a desired fuel flow rate in response to the thrust demand received by the FADEC (Paragraph 0015 of Ni).
Claims 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futa et al. (US 2012/0067022) in view of Kelly et al. (US 2016/0201574), and Susca et al. (US 2024/0240630) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Baker et al. (US 2010/0089026).
Regarding Claim 35, Futa in view of Kelly, and Susca teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly, and Susca does not teach a sixth fluid line with a relief valve fluidly coupled between the second fluid line and the first fluid line, the relief valve configured to open when the pressurized fuel in the second fluid line reaches a threshold pressure to vent a portion of the pressurized fuel back to the inlet side of the variable displacement pump.
Baker teaches (Figure 1) a fluid line with a relief valve (168) fluidly coupled immediately upstream (see Figure 1) of a variable displacement pump (110) and immediately downstream (see Figure 1) of a variable displacement pump (110), the relief valve (168) configured to open when the pressurized fuel at the outlet of the variable displacement pump (the outlet of 110; see Figure 1) reaches a threshold pressure to vent a portion of the pressurized fuel back (via 166) to the inlet side (at 111) of the variable displacement pump (110; see Paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly, and Susca to have a fluid line with a relief valve fluidly coupled immediately upstream of a variable displacement pump and immediately downstream of a variable displacement pump, the relief valve configured to open when the pressurized fuel at the outlet of the variable displacement pump reaches a threshold pressure to vent a portion of the pressurized fuel back to the inlet side of the variable displacement pump, as taught by Baker, in order to allow fluid to flow back to the pump inlet when the discharge pressure exceeds a maximum predetermined pressure (Paragraph 0034 of Baker).
Regarding Claim 36, Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, Nyzen, and Baker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, Nyzen, and Baker does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the sixth fluid line is fluidly coupled to the second fluid line upstream of the fourth fluid line, and wherein the sixth fluid line is fluidly coupled to the first fluid line downstream of the fifth fluid line.
Baker teaches (Figure 1) wherein the fluid line (166) coupling the relief valve (168) to the variable displacement pump (110) is positioned immediately upstream of the variable displacement pump inlet (at 111) and positioned immediately downstream of the variable displacement pump outlet (at 113).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futa in view of Kelly, Susca, Nyzen, and Baker to have the fluid line coupling the relief valve to the variable displacement pump be positioned immediately upstream of the variable displacement pump inlet and positioned downstream of the variable displacement pump outlet, as taught by Baker, for the same reasons discussed in claim 29 above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 12, 25, and 29-36 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being applied in this office action, necessitated by amendment. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejection above, at the appropriate locations.
Contact Information
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741