Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on May 7, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 7, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vockrodt et al US 20150212509, herein after Vockrodt ‘509 in view of Carrieri US 8164742, herein after referred to as Carrieri ‘742.
Regarding claim 1, Vockrodt ‘509 discloses a method for controlling power output of a laser generating system (Abstract), comprising: obtaining data regarding laser output and input applicable to the laser generating system ([0044], Figure 5-relationship between laser duty cycle and power); using the obtained data to generate an estimated correspondence relationship between at least one input parameter and the power output of the laser generating system ([0044-0045], Figure 5); responsive to an indication of a target power output of laser ([0045, steps 705, 710, 715-Figure 7), configuring the at least one input parameter to control the laser generating system in accordance with the estimated correspondence relationship, thereby causing a resultant laser output ([0048], step 730); obtaining updated data regarding the laser output and input applicable to the laser generating system ([0023-0024), Step 735); and determining whether to update the estimated correspondence relationship based, at least in part, on the updated data ([0023-0024]).
Vockrodt ‘509 does not specifically disclose that the laser is a CO2 laser. In the same field of endeavor of controlling power output of a laser system, Carrieri ‘742 teaches of a CO2 laser generating system (Column 9, lines 30-52). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a CO2 laser of Carrieri ‘742 with Vockrodt ‘509 for the purpose of providing highly efficient light in the mid IR range (Column 9, lines 30-52).
Regarding claim 2, Vockrodt ‘509 further discloses that the step of the data regarding laser output and input applicable to the laser generating system comprises obtaining data of a plurality of duty cycle values and their corresponding laser power outputs ([0044, Figure 5 shows the relationship between laser duty cycle and power). Carrieri ‘742 further teaches of a CO2 laser (Column 9, lines 30-52).
Regarding claim 3, Vockrodt ‘509 further discloses that the obtained data to generate an estimated correspondence relationship comprises performing at least one of curve fitting, interpolation, or non-linear regression ([0024, 0045], Step 705, wherein best fit trend lines are generated from the data, Figures 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Vockrodt ‘509 further discloses that the estimated correspondence relationship is a polynomial function (See Figure 5 and [0044-0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Vockrodt ‘509 further discloses the step of configuring the at least one input parameter to control the laser generating system in accordance with the estimated correspondence relationship comprises calculating and setting a duty cycle of the laser generating system based on the polynomial function evaluated with the value of the target power output ([0044-0045], shown in Figure 5 and 7, specifically step 705, and [0048], step 730 and 735). Carrieri ‘742 further teaches of a CO2 laser (Column 9, lines 30-52).
Regarding claim 6, Vockrodt ‘509 further discloses wherein obtaining the updated data regarding the laser output and input applicable to the laser generating system is performed ([0023-0024]). Carrieri further teaches obtaining the updated data application to the CO2 laser is performed, at least in part, by the CO2 laser generating system between functional operations (Column 8, lines 45-62 and Column 9, lines 30-52). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a CO2 laser of Carrieri ‘742 with Vockrodt ‘509 for the purpose of providing a dynamic, real-time data method that allows for a failsafe configuration (Column 8, lines 39-62).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vockrodt ‘509 in view of Carrieri ‘742, and further in view of Bush et al US 20220120880, herein after referred to as Bush ‘880.
Regarding claim 7, Vockrodt ‘509 as modified does not specifically disclose determining whether to update the estimated correspondence relationship comprises computing a deviation from the estimated correspondence relationship using the updated data. In the same field of endeavor of controlling power output of a laser system, Bush ‘880 teaches the step of determining whether to update the estimated correspondence relationship comprises computing a deviation from the estimated correspondence relationship using the updated data ([0029], controller 214, Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Bush ‘880 with Vockrodt ‘509 as modified for the purpose of adapting the system to enhance or optimize optical performance based on updated data from changing environmental conditions ([0017, 0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references describe methods of controlling laser systems with similar structure to the claimed invention.
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898