DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1, 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US 2024/0055453; hereinafter Hsu).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu, in fig. 2, discloses an image sensor, comprising: a chip 2 having a sensing area 211, wherein the chip 2 comprises a circuit structure 213/3 surrounding the sensing area 211 (figs. 1-2); a cover 5 covering the chip 2; a first dam layer 6; and a second dam layer 4, wherein the first dam layer 6 and the second dam layer 4 are located between the chip 2 and the cover 5 and surround the sensing area 211, the second dam layer 4 is located between the first dam layer 6 and the chip 2, a width of the first dam layer 6 is greater than a width of the second dam layer 4, and the first dam layer 6 is extended to the sensing area 211 by a distances wherein there is a gap between the first dam layer 6 and a top surface of the circuit structure 213/3, a portion of a bottom surface of the first dam layer 6 is exposed by the gap.
Regarding claim 3, Hsu discloses wherein a material of the first dam layer 6 is different from a material of the second dam layer 4 (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Hsu discloses wherein the chip comprises a landing pad 213, and the landing pad 213, the first dam layer 6, and the second dam layer 4 are overlapped in an orthographic projection direction (fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 2, 4-6, 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hsu (US 2024/0055453) in view of Hsu (US 9,419,033).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu’453 discloses an image sensor as above but fails to discloses the material of the first and second dam.
However, Hsu’033 discloses wherein the first dam layer 122 comprises a photosensitive material, and the second dam layer 121 does not comprise the photosensitive material (col. 3, lines 20-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second dam materials as taught by Hsu’033, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 2, Hsu’033 discloses wherein a light transmittance of at least one of the first dam layer 122 and the second dam layer 121 is less than or equal to 30% (col. 3, lines 20-23).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu’033 discloses wherein a water absorption of at least one of the first dam layer 122 and the second dam layer 121 is less than or equal to 1% (col. 3, lines 20-23).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu’033 discloses wherein an outer sidewall of the cover 130, an outer sidewall of the first dam layer 122, an outer sidewall of the second dam layer 121 are aligned with an outer sidewall of the chip 110 (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu’033 discloses wherein the second dam layer 121 is extended from the top surface of the circuit structure 114/115 to cover an outer sidewall of the circuit structure 114/115 (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu’033 discloses wherein a bottom surface of the second dam layer is lower than a bottom surface of the circuit structure (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu’033 discloses wherein the second dam layer 121 has a gradually
changing size at an extending portion of the outer sidewall of the circuit structure (col. 3, lines
46-59).
Regarding claim 12, Hsu’033 discloses wherein a thickness of the first dam layer 122 is greater than a thickness of the second dam layer 121 (col. 3, lines 56-58).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
5. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to David Vu whose telephone number is (571) 272-1798. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Steven Loke H can be reached on (571) 272-1657. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/DAVID VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818