DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2025 and 04/08/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 10/27/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see page 5, filed 02/26/2026, with respect to claims 3, 4 and 7 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 7 and 112 rejection of claims 3 and 4 of has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5-7, filed 02/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Park et al. (US 20140183479 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20200313102 A1) in view of Takata (US 20090009069 A1) and Park et al. (US 20140183479 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display device comprising:
a base (100); ([0039], Fig. 6)
a first insulating layer (162) arranged (indirectly) on the base (100); ([0061], Fig. 6)
a first electrode (191) arranged on the first insulating layer (162) overlapping with a pixel (at least 370R) included in a display area (DA); ([0105], Fig. 6)
a second insulating layer (lower half of 170 annotated below) arranged on the first insulating layer (162) and including an aperture overlapping with the first electrode (191); ([0061], Fig. 6)
a first spacer (upper half of 170 annotated below) partially arranged on the second insulating layer (lower half of 170 annotated below) overlapping with the display area (DA); (Fig. 6)
a partition (183) arranged on the second insulating layer (lower half of 170 annotated below) and the first spacer (upper half of 170 annotated below) so as to separate (per [0108]) the pixel (at least 370R); (Fig. 6)
an organic layer (370) in contact with the first electrode (191) through the aperture; (Fig. 6)
a second electrode (270) arranged on the organic layer (370); ([0110], Fig. 6)
a second spacer (170a) partially arranged on the second insulating layer (lower half of 170 annotated below) overlapping with a surrounding area (PA1) outside the display area (DA); (Fig. 6) and
a support member (181) arranged on the second spacer (170a) and corresponding to the partition (183). (Fig. 6)
Kim does not disclose:
wherein the second electrode is formed to be partitioned for each of pixels by the partition, and
the second electrode overlapping with a first pixel is connected to the second electrode overlapping with a second pixel adjacent to the first pixel via an auxiliary wire arranged between the first spacer and the partition.
However, Takata discloses:
the second electrode (320) overlapping with a first pixel (Fig. 1 and 10) is connected to the second electrode overlapping with a second pixel (Fig. 1 and 10) adjacent to the first pixel (Fig. 1 and 10) via an auxiliary wire (340) arranged between the first spacer (330) and the partition (350). ([0041], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim and Takata for the second electrode overlapping with a first pixel is connected to the second electrode overlapping with a second pixel adjacent to the first pixel via an auxiliary wire arranged between the first spacer and the partition because “in order to suppress the voltage gradient, it is desirable to form a low-resistance auxiliary wiring. In order to ensure an aperture of each of pixels, it is necessary to form the auxiliary wiring on a non-display region such as a region between pixels.” (Takata, [0017])
Kim in view of Takata do not disclose:
wherein the second electrode is formed to be partitioned for each of pixels by the partition,
However, Park discloses:
wherein the second electrode (353) is formed to be partitioned for each of pixels (A and B) by the partition (480), ([0080], [0091], Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim, Takata and Park for the second electrode is formed to be partitioned for each of pixels by the partition as an obvious matter of design choice since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 so that “the voltage drop caused by the cathode 353 can be countered and obtain uniform luminance throughout the display.” (Park, [0085])
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein
a height (annotated below) of the second spacer (170a) and the support member (181) is substantially the same as a height of the first spacer (upper half of 170 annotated below) and the partition (183). (Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein
a plurality of first spacers (upper half of 170 annotated above) are arranged at regular intervals (left and right of 210) on the second insulating layer (lower half of 170 annotated below) overlapping with the display area (DA), and
a plurality of second spacers (170a) are arranged at regular intervals (left and right of 210) on the second insulating layer (lower half of 170 annotated below) overlapping with the surrounding area (PA1). (Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein
the intervals (left and right of 210) at which the second spacers (170a) are arranged on the second insulating layer (lower half of 170 annotated below) are substantially the same to the intervals (left and right of 210) at which the first spacers (upper half of 170 annotated above) are arranged on the second insulating layer (lower half of 170 annotated above). (Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein
the first spacer (upper half of 170 annotated above) and the second spacer (170a) are formed of the same material (organic material) as the second insulating layer (lower half of 170 annotated above). ([0083], Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein
the partition (183) has a shape in which a width of an upper portion is larger than a width of a lower portion. ([0108], Fig. 6)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897