DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 20 recites the limitation "the first insulator layer" in claim 8 line 8; and claim 20 line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As a result, the examiner has interpreted the claim limitation to be “the first dielectric spacer” in the following rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US 2021/0118829 A1 in view of Leng US 2023/0268380 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Huang discloses
A metal insulator metal capacitor (MIM capacitor) (Figs. 1A-1F) comprising:
a bottom metal layer (160) on a substrate (110); and
a first contact window (162) in the bottom metal layer (Fig. 1A-1).
Huang does not disclose:
a first dielectric spacer disposed within the first contact window on vertical sidewalls of the bottom metal layer, wherein the first dielectric spacer has a rounded upper surface.
Leng discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
a first dielectric spacer (136) disposed within a tub opening (304) on vertical sidewalls of a bottom metal layer (310), wherein the first dielectric spacer has a rounded upper surface (Fig. 3D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the same dielectric spacer of Leng within the first contact window on vertical sidewalls of the bottom metal layer of Huang thereby allowing the MIM capacitor module to effectively function as a planar capacitor, defined by a capacitive coupling between the top electrode and the laterally-extending bottom electrode. Such a MIM capacitor module may provide better matching for analog circuits (e.g., matching device characteristics such as resistance and capacitance), and/or higher breakdown voltage without suffering from an enhanced electric field at the corners.
(claim 7) Jeng; Fig. 1A; 136.
Regarding claim 2, Huang/Leng, as in the combination above, disclose:
further comprising: a first insulator layer (Huang; 170) on the bottom metal layer and on the first dielectric spacer, wherein
the first insulator layer conforms to a rounded profile of the first dielectric spacer (as in the combination above).
Although Huang/Leng do not specifically disclose “wherein the first insulator layer comprises a different material than the first dielectric spacer”, Huang discloses various materials for the first insulator layer, para 0043, while Jeng discloses various materials for the first dielectric spacer, in para 0069. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine the claimed material differences since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Lesbin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 3, Huang/Leng, as in the combination above, disclose:
further comprising: a middle metal layer (Huang; 182) on the first insulator layer, the middle metal layer comprises a second contact window (Huang; 182a), wherein the middle metal layer conforms to a rounded profile of the first insulator layer (as in the combination above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the same dielectric spacer having a rounded upper surface of Leng as a second dielectric spacer surrounding vertical side surfaces of the middle metal layer in the second contact window of Huang thereby allowing the MIM capacitor module to effectively function as a planar capacitor, defined by a capacitive coupling between the top electrode and the laterally-extending bottom electrode. Such a MIM capacitor module may provide better matching for analog circuits (e.g., matching device characteristics such as resistance and capacitance), and/or higher breakdown voltage without suffering from an enhanced electric field at the corners.
Regarding claim 4, Huang/Leng, as in the combination above, disclose:
further comprising: a second insulator layer (Huang; 190) on the middle metal layer and on the second dielectric spacer, wherein
the second insulator layer conforms to a rounded profile of the middle metal layer and the second dielectric spacer (as in the combination above).
Although Huang/Leng do not specifically disclose “wherein the first insulator layer comprises a different material than the first dielectric spacer”, Huang discloses various materials for the second insulator layer, para 0053, while Jeng discloses various materials for the first dielectric spacer, in para 0069. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine the claimed material differences since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Lesbin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Huang discloses
A metal insulator metal capacitor (MIM capacitor) (Figs. 1A-1F) comprising:
a bottom metal layer (160) on a substrate (110); and
a first contact window (162) in the bottom metal layer (Fig. 1A-1).
Huang does not disclose:
a first dielectric spacer disposed within the first contact window on vertical sidewalls of the bottom metal layer, wherein the first dielectric spacer has a rounded upper surface, wherein a bottom most surface of the bottom metal layer is substantially flush with a bottom most surface of the first dielectric spacer.
Leng discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
a first dielectric spacer (136) disposed within a tub opening (304) on vertical sidewalls of a bottom metal layer (310), wherein the first dielectric spacer has a rounded upper surface (Fig. 3D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the same dielectric spacer of Leng within the first contact window on vertical sidewalls of the bottom metal layer of Huang such that a bottom most surface of the bottom metal layer would be substantially flush with a bottom most surface of the first dielectric spacer thereby allowing the MIM capacitor module to effectively function as a planar capacitor, defined by a capacitive coupling between the top electrode and the laterally-extending bottom electrode. Such a MIM capacitor module may provide better matching for analog circuits (e.g., matching device characteristics such as resistance and capacitance), and/or higher breakdown voltage without suffering from an enhanced electric field at the corners.
(claim 14) Jeng; Fig. 1A; 136.
Regarding claim 9, Huang/Leng, as in the combination above, disclose:
further comprising: a first insulator layer (Huang; 170) on the bottom metal layer and on the first dielectric spacer, wherein
the first insulator layer conforms to a rounded profile of the first dielectric spacer (as in the combination above).
Although Huang/Leng do not specifically disclose “wherein the first insulator layer comprises a different material than the first dielectric spacer”, Huang discloses various materials for the first insulator layer, para 0043, while Jeng discloses various materials for the first dielectric spacer, in para 0069. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine the claimed material differences since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Lesbin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 10, Huang/Leng, as in the combination above, disclose:
further comprising: a middle metal layer (Huang; 182) on the first insulator layer, the middle metal layer comprises a second contact window (Huang; 182a), wherein the middle metal layer conforms to a rounded profile of the first insulator layer (as in the combination above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the same dielectric spacer having a rounded upper surface of Leng as a second dielectric spacer surrounding vertical side surfaces of the middle metal layer in the second contact window of Huang thereby allowing the MIM capacitor module to effectively function as a planar capacitor, defined by a capacitive coupling between the top electrode and the laterally-extending bottom electrode. Such a MIM capacitor module may provide better matching for analog circuits (e.g., matching device characteristics such as resistance and capacitance), and/or higher breakdown voltage without suffering from an enhanced electric field at the corners.
Regarding claim 11, Huang/Leng, as in the combination above, disclose:
further comprising: a second insulator layer (Huang; 190) on the middle metal layer and on the second dielectric spacer, wherein
the second insulator layer conforms to a rounded profile of the middle metal layer and the second dielectric spacer (as in the combination above).
Although Huang/Leng do not specifically disclose “wherein the first insulator layer comprises a different material than the first dielectric spacer”, Huang discloses various materials for the second insulator layer, para 0053, while Jeng discloses various materials for the first dielectric spacer, in para 0069. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine the claimed material differences since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Lesbin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Huang discloses
A metal insulator metal capacitor (MIM capacitor) (Figs. 1A-1F) comprising:
a bottom metal layer (160) on a substrate (110); and
a first contact window (162) in the bottom metal layer (Fig. 1A-1).
Huang does not disclose:
a first dielectric spacer disposed within the first contact window on vertical sidewalls of the bottom metal layer, wherein the first dielectric spacer has a rounded upper surface.
Leng discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
a first dielectric spacer (136) disposed within a tub opening (304) on vertical sidewalls of a bottom metal layer (310), wherein the first dielectric spacer has a rounded upper surface (Fig. 3D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the same dielectric spacer of Leng within the first contact window on vertical sidewalls of the bottom metal layer of Huang thereby allowing the MIM capacitor module to effectively function as a planar capacitor, defined by a capacitive coupling between the top electrode and the laterally-extending bottom electrode. Such a MIM capacitor module may provide better matching for analog circuits (e.g., matching device characteristics such as resistance and capacitance), and/or higher breakdown voltage without suffering from an enhanced electric field at the corners.
(claim 20) as in the combination above, bottom metal layer (Huang; 160) and the first dielectric spacer (Leng; 136).
Regarding claim 16, Huang/Leng, as in the combination above, disclose:
further comprising: a first insulator layer (Huang; 170) on the bottom metal layer and on the first dielectric spacer, wherein
the first insulator layer conforms to a rounded profile of the first dielectric spacer (as in the combination above).
Although Huang/Leng do not specifically disclose “wherein the first insulator layer comprises a different material than the first dielectric spacer”, Huang discloses various materials for the first insulator layer, para 0043, while Jeng discloses various materials for the first dielectric spacer, in para 0069. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine the claimed material differences since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Lesbin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 17, Huang/Leng, as in the combination above, disclose:
further comprising: a middle metal layer (Huang; 182) on the first insulator layer, the middle metal layer comprises a second contact window (Huang; 182a), wherein the middle metal layer conforms to a rounded profile of the first insulator layer (as in the combination above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the same dielectric spacer having a rounded upper surface of Leng as a second dielectric spacer surrounding vertical side surfaces of the middle metal layer in the second contact window of Huang thereby allowing the MIM capacitor module to effectively function as a planar capacitor, defined by a capacitive coupling between the top electrode and the laterally-extending bottom electrode. Such a MIM capacitor module may provide better matching for analog circuits (e.g., matching device characteristics such as resistance and capacitance), and/or higher breakdown voltage without suffering from an enhanced electric field at the corners.
Regarding claim 18, Huang/Leng, as in the combination above, disclose:
further comprising: a second insulator layer (Huang; 190) on the middle metal layer and on the second dielectric spacer, wherein
the second insulator layer conforms to a rounded profile of the middle metal layer and the second dielectric spacer (as in the combination above).
Although Huang/Leng do not specifically disclose “wherein the first insulator layer comprises a different material than the first dielectric spacer”, Huang discloses various materials for the second insulator layer, para 0053, while Jeng discloses various materials for the first dielectric spacer, in para 0069. As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine the claimed material differences since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Lesbin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 12, 13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach or clearly suggest the limitations of claims 5, 12 and 19 stating “further comprising: (forming) a top metal layer on the second insulator layer with a third contact window vertically aligned above the first contact window, wherein the top metal layer conforms to a rounded profile of the second insulator layer; and (forming) a first contact to the middle metal layer, wherein the first contact is through the third contact window and through the first contact window”. In light of these limitations in the disclosure (i.e. refer to applicant’s Figs. 10 and 12) amongst others, the previously applied references do not anticipate or obviate the context of the claims.
Conclusion
/ERROL V FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, AU 2893