DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 8/27/2026. Claims 1-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1 and 2, which changes the scope of the claims and as such a new grounds of rejection is issued.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto (US 5818202) in view of Jung (US 20170104359).
As to claim 1, Miyamoto discloses a circuit device comprising:
a current source circuit (Fig. 12 fixed-current power supplies 6-1, 6-2, 6-3, and 6-4);
a first charging circuit (Fig. 12 T2) configured to supply, based on an output current of the current source circuit, a first charging current, as a charging current to a charging node (Column 16 lines 31-65 and Columns 17 lines 1-34…charging apparatus is provided with a charging terminal 3 (charging node) for the charging of the secondary cell 2);
a second charging circuit (Fig. 12 T1) configured to supply, based on the output current of the current source circuit, a second charging current, which is greater than the first charging current, as the charging current to the charging node (the fixed-current power supply 6-1 is driven by the ON signal from the output Q0 of the counter 22, so that the secondary cell 2 is charged by supplying it with a 2 C charging current); and
a control circuit (current-adjusting means 7 and control means 8) configured to output, based on a current setting value for setting a current value of the charging current (an ON signal is output from the comparator 21), a current source control value (Q0 through Q3) for controlling the output current of the current source circuit to the current source circuit (Column 16 lines 56-67 and Column 17 lines 1-2 an ON signal is output from the comparator 21 of the above-noted control means 8, this being input to the CLK clock signal terminal of the counter 22 provided in the current-adjusting means 7….The above-noted counter 22 selects one of the output terminals in the sequence Q0 through Q3 each time the ON signal is input to the clock signal terminal CLK thereof, thereby outputting the ON signal therefrom), wherein the control circuit controls, when the current setting value is in a first current range, a first current mode (1C) in which the first charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the first charging circuit to the charging node (Column 17 lines 18-26…an ON signal is output from the comparator 21 of the control means 8, this being input to the clock signal terminal CLK of the counter 22 provided in the current-adjusting means 7, causing the Q0 output thereof to be switched OFF and the Q1 output thereof to be switched ON, this action causing selection of the fixed-current power supply 6-2, so that the second charging operation, in which the secondary cell 2 is supplied with a 1 C charging current, is started),
controls, when the current setting value is in a second current range on a current side higher than the first current range, a second current mode (2C) in which the second charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the second charging circuit to the charging node ( Column 17 lines 13-17.. first in the first charging operation, the fixed-current power supply 6-1 is driven by the ON signal from the output Q0 of the counter 22, so that the secondary cell 2 is charged by supplying it with a 2 C charging current), and
sets the current source control value (Q0 through Q3) such that the output current of the current source circuit is zero or is reduced during a switching period of the current source control value (Fig. 14 Column 17 lines 27-33.. each time the output voltage of the secondary cell 2 reaches the reference voltage in each of the charging operations, the charging current C rate is made successively lower than the charging current C rate used in the previous charging operation, and the charging operation is repeated).
Miyamoto does not disclose/teach the control circuit sets the current source control value such that, during a switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode, the output current of the current source circuit is set to a value smaller than the output current in both the first current mode and the second current mode.
Jung teaches a control circuit sets the current source control value such that, during a switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode, the output current of the current source circuit is set to a value smaller than the output current in both the first current mode and the second current mode ([0103]- [0104] FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating a relationship between a plurality of charging periods and an idle period….A first charging period may be a period when the battery is charged with a first constant current, and a second charging period may be a period when the battery is charged with a second constant current smaller than the first constant current. … a first idle period between the first charging period and the second charging period, … Voltage measurement of the battery may be performed in the idle periods).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control circuit of Miyamoto to sets the current source control value such that, during a switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode, the output current of the current source circuit is set to a value smaller than the output current in both the first current mode and the second current mode in order to reduce degradation in the lifespan of a battery due to charging [0055].
As to claim 2, Miyamoto in view of Jung teaches discloses the circuit device according to claim 1, wherein when the current source control value is greater than a threshold value, the control circuit sets the current source control value such that the output current is zero or is reduced during the switching period (Column 17 lines 18-33..If … the current-adjusting means 7, causing the Q0 output thereof to be switched OFF and the Q1 output thereof to be switched ON, this action causing selection of the fixed-current power supply 6-2, so that the second charging operation, in which the secondary cell 2 is supplied with a 1 C charging current, is started… Thereafter in the same manner, each time the output voltage of the secondary cell 2 reaches the reference voltage in each of the charging operations, the charging current C rate is made successively lower than the charging current C rate used in the previous charging operation).
As to claim 3, Miyamoto in view of Jung teaches the circuit device according to claim 1.
The embodiment shown in Fig 14 of Miyamoto does not disclose/teach wherein the control circuit sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to a non-supply state during the switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode
Miyamoto teaches an embodiment wherein the control circuit sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to a non-supply state during a switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode (Column 25 lines 25-22 In the first charging operation, the charging is performed with a 2C charging current, and at the point at which approximately 750 seconds have elapsed from the start of the charging, the charging is temporarily interrupted and, after a waiting time of 60 seconds, the next charging operation, using a charging current of 1 C is started, that charging operation being stopped when 2550 seconds have elapsed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embodiment of Miyamoto to wherein the control circuit sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to a non-supply state during the switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode in order to measure the output voltage after removing the internal polarization and allowing the output voltage to stabilize (Column 13 lines 1-3).
As to claim 4, Miyamoto in view of Jung teaches the circuit device according to claim 3, wherein the control circuit outputs a first enable signal for controlling the first charging current to a supply state or the non- supply state (Q1) and a second enable signal for controlling the second charging current to the supply state or the non- supply state (Q0),
The embodiment shown in Fig 14 of Miyamoto does not disclose/teach during the switching period, sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to the non- supply state by deactivating the first enable signal and the second enable signal
Miyamoto teaches an embodiment during the switching period, sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to the non-supply state by deactivating the first enable signal and the second enable signal (Column 25 lines 25-22 In the first charging operation, the charging is performed with a 2 C charging current, and at the point at which approximately 750 seconds have elapsed from the start of the charging, the charging is temporarily interrupted and, after a waiting time of 60 seconds, the next charging operation, using a charging current of 1 C is started, that charging operation being stopped when 2550 seconds have elapsed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the embodiment of Miyamoto to during the switching period, sets both the first charging current and the second charging current to the non- supply state by deactivating the first enable signal and the second enable signal in order to measure the output voltage after removing the internal polarization and allowing the output voltage to stabilize (Column 13 lines 1-3).
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto (US 5818202) in view of Jung (US 20170104359) in view of Jiang (US20210359534).
As to claim 5, Miyamoto in view of Jung teaches the circuit device according to claim 1, wherein in the first current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the first charging circuit, a first current having a current value indicated by the current source control value (Column 17 lines 18-26), and in the second current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the second charging circuit, a second current having a current value indicated by the current source control value (Column 17 lines 18-26).
Miyamoto does not disclose/teach the first charging circuit supplies the first charging current by amplifying the first current with a first gain and the second charging circuit supplies the second charging current by amplifying the second current with a second gain greater than the first gain
Jiang teaches the first charging circuit (CU1/COM1) supplies the first charging current by amplifying the first current with a first gain (132 - when the current is less than the fast charge threshold the voltage control amplifier COM1 takes effect and current increases from 0.5A-1A - i.e. first gain) and the second charging circuit (CUN/COM2) supplies the second charging current by amplifying the second current with a second gain greater than the first gain (135 - equal to fast charge threshold current so current control amplifier COM2 takes effect boosting the charging from 1A to 2A which has a higher gain than the first).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit device of Miyamoto to include the first charging circuit supplies the first charging current by amplifying the first current with a first gain and the second charging circuit supplies the second charging current by amplifying the second current with a second gain greater than the first gain in order to adjust the charging voltage which improves charging efficiency (15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Although the prior art discloses a circuit device comprising: a current source circuit; a first charging circuit configured to supply, based on an output current of the current source circuit, a first charging current, as a charging current to a charging node; a second charging circuit configured to supply, based on the output current of the current source circuit, a second charging current, which is greater than the first charging current, as the charging current to the charging node; and a control circuit configured to output, based on a current setting value for setting a current value of the charging current, a current source control value for controlling the output current of the current source circuit to the current source circuit, wherein the control circuit controls, when the current setting value is in a first current range, a first current mode in which the first charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the first charging circuit to the charging node, controls, when the current setting value is in a second current range on a current side higher than the first current range, a second current mode in which the second charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the second charging circuit to the charging node, and sets the current source control value such that the output current of the current source circuit is zero or is reduced during a switching period of the current source control value, and sets the current source control value such that, during a switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode, the output current of the current source circuit is set to a value smaller than the output current in both the first current mode and the second current mode, wherein in the first current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the first charging circuit, a first current having a current value indicated by the current source control value, and the first charging circuit supplies the first charging current by amplifying the first current with a first gain, and in the second current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the second charging circuit, a second current having a current value indicated by the current source control value, and the second charging circuit supplies the second charging current by amplifying the second current with a second gain greater than the first gain, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the current source circuit includes first to n-th current sources whose output or non-output of first to n-th constant currents, having current values weighted in binary, is controlled based on the current source control value, n being an integer of 2 or more, and during the switching period of the current source control value, the control circuit sets the current source control value at which the first to n-th constant currents are not output, or sets the current source control value at which p-th to n-th constant currents on a high-current side among the first to n-th constant currents are not output, p being an integer of 2 or more and n or less”.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Although the prior art discloses a circuit device comprising: a current source circuit; a first charging circuit configured to supply, based on an output current of the current source circuit, a first charging current, as a charging current to a charging node; a second charging circuit configured to supply, based on the output current of the current source circuit, a second charging current, which is greater than the first charging current, as the charging current to the charging node; and a control circuit configured to output, based on a current setting value for setting a current value of the charging current, a current source control value for controlling the output current of the current source circuit to the current source circuit, wherein the control circuit controls, when the current setting value is in a first current range, a first current mode in which the first charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the first charging circuit to the charging node, controls, when the current setting value is in a second current range on a current side higher than the first current range, a second current mode in which the second charging current having a current value indicated by the current setting value is supplied from the second charging circuit to the charging node, and sets the current source control value such that the output current of the current source circuit is zero or is reduced during a switching period of the current source control value, and sets the current source control value such that, during a switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode, the output current of the current source circuit is set to a value smaller than the output current in both the first current mode and the second current mode, wherein in the first current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the first charging circuit, a first current having a current value indicated by the current source control value, and the first charging circuit supplies the first charging current by amplifying the first current with a first gain, and in the second current mode, the current source circuit supplies, as the output current to the second charging circuit, a second current having a current value indicated by the current source control value, and the second charging circuit supplies the second charging current by amplifying the second current with a second gain greater than the first gain, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the current source circuit includes a first current source circuit including m current sources whose output or non-output of m constant currents, having current values weighted in binary, is controlled based on a first current source control value, m being an integer of 2 or more, and a second current source circuit including n current sources whose output or non-output of n constant currents, having current values weighted in binary, is controlled based on a second current source control value, n being an integer of m or more, and the control circuit outputs the first current source control value and the second current source control value as the current source control value, during a switching period of the first current source control value, sets the first current source control value at which the m constant currents are not output, or sets the first current source control value at which s constant currents on a high-current side among the m constant currents are not output, s being an integer of 1 or more and less than m, and during a switching period of the second current source control value, sets the second current source control value at which the n constant currents are not output, or sets the second current source control value at which t constant currents on a high-current side among the n constant currents are not output, t being an integer of 1 or more and less than n”.
As to claims 7-8, and 10-11, is also objected to as they include the allowable subject matter in claim 6 and 9.
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kong et al (US 20240305122) is cited for having a control circuit the control circuit sets the current source control value such that, during a switching period between the first current mode and the second current mode, the output current of the current source circuit is set to a value smaller than the output current in both the first current mode and the second current mode (Fig. 8).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859