DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed November 17, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 – 11, 13 – 16, 18 and 19 are pending in the application with claims 12, 17 and 20 being cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 2: “the bearing” should read --the first bearing--. This is suggested because claim 8 (upon which claim 10 depends) recites “the bearing is a first bearing” in view of the amendment made.
Claim 11, line 2: “the bearing” should read --the first bearing--. This is suggested because claim 8 (upon which claim 10 depends) recites “the bearing is a first bearing” in view of the amendment made.
Claim 11 is objected to for being dependent on claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 6, 7, 14 – 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong Biao (CN 114687975A – herein after Zhong) in view of Ishimaru et al. (US 2016/0105084 – herein after Ishimaru).
In reference to claim 1, Zhong teaches (see fig. 3) an integrated electro-hydraulic unit comprising (5, in fig. 3):
a hydraulic machine (hydraulic pump 1, see ¶53 of translation or fig. 3) including a rotary working group (as evident from fig. 3) configured to pump a working fluid (see ¶13 of translation), the rotary working group having a shaft (10, see fig. 3) which defines a rotational axis (in ↔ direction, see fig. 3);
an electric machine (motor 2, see ¶53 of translation or fig. 3) including an electric machine stator (8) and an electric machine rotor (9) which is driven by an electric field produced by the stator and which drives the shaft of the rotary working group (inherent feature/function); and
a shared housing (32+31+33) enclosing the hydraulic machine (1) and the electric machine (2), the shared housing (32+31+33) includes a first end casing (32) and a second end casing (33), the first end casing (32) is formed in its entirety as a single piece (as evident from its presented cross-section in fig. 3) and receives a first bearing (bearing 21 present on left end of shaft) which supports the shaft (10), the second end casing (33) is formed in its entirety as a single piece (as evident from its presented cross-section in fig. 3) and receives a second bearing (bearing 21 present on right end of shaft) which supports the shaft (10),
wherein the shaft (10) does not extend through the first end casing (32) of the shared housing and the shaft (10) does not extend through the second end casing (33) of the shared housing (note: “through” means moving in one side and out of the other side of an element).
Zhong remains silent on the integrated electro-hydraulic unit (embodiment shown in fig. 3) comprising: “a position sensor at least partially positioned on the shaft and configured to sense a positional characteristic of the shaft and wherein the position sensor is outside of an axial span defined between the first bearing and the second bearing along the rotational axis”.
However, Ishimaru teaches an electric machine (see fig. 1) comprising a position sensor (resolver 3; see ¶33) at least partially positioned on the shaft (21) and configured to sense a positional characteristic of the shaft (positional characteristic = “rotational angle”; see ¶26) and wherein the position sensor (3) is outside of an axial span (axial span being in ↔ direction) defined between the first bearing (6) and the second bearing (5) along the rotational axis. The asserted position sensor is provided on non-load side (i.e. side facing away from a load coupled to the motor) of a rotor or stator of the electric machine (as seen in fig. 1) and is in an end casing (40) formed in its entirety as a single piece.
Zhong discloses use of position sensor in another embodiments of integrated electro-hydraulic unit (shown in figs. 20-21) but not in an embodiment of the integrated electro-hydraulic (shown in fig. 3) relied upon in rejection of claim 1 above. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the asserted first end casing (for instance, modify the region on left side of bearing 21 present within first end casing 32) of the shared housing in the electro-hydraulic unit (shown in fig. 3) of Zhong for provision of a position sensor as taught by Ishimaru for the purpose of detecting the rotational angle of the motor’s shaft, as recognized by Ishimaru (see ¶26).
In reference to claim 2, Zhong, as modified above in claim 1, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the position sensor (3; of Ishimaru) is a rotary encoder (see ¶60 of Ishimaru: “Further, the rotation angle sensor fixed to the shaft of the motor apparatus is not limited to the above resolver 3, and may alternatively be a rotary encoder, for example”).
In reference to claim 3, Zhong, as modified above in claim 1, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the position sensor (3; of Ishimaru) is a resolver (see ¶26 of Ishimaru).
In reference to claim 4, Zhong, as modified above in claim 3, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the position sensor (3; of Ishimaru) has a resolver rotor (3a, see fig. 1 and ¶26 of Ishimaru) mounted on the shaft (of Zhong or viewed as 21 in Ishimaru) and a resolver stator (3b, see fig. 1 and ¶26 of Ishimaru) mounted on the shared housing (“resolver stator” is considered to be mounted on wall of Zhong’s modified asserted first end casing 32 which is part of the asserted Zhong’s shared housing 32+31+33).
In reference to claim 6, Zhong, as modified above in claim 1, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the hydraulic machine (1; of Zhong), the electric machine (2; of Zhong) and the position sensor (3; of Ishimaru) are sealed in the shared housing (shared housing being 33+31+modified 32).
In reference to claim 7, Zhong, as modified above in claim 1, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the positional characteristic is at least one of an angular speed, an angular position and a change of angular position (see ¶26 of Ishimaru: resolver 3 detects rotational angle).
In reference to claim 14, Zhong teaches (see fig. 3) an integrated electro-hydraulic unit comprising (5, in fig. 3):
a hydraulic machine (hydraulic pump 1, see ¶53 of translation or fig. 3) including a rotary working group (as evident from fig. 3) configured to pump a working fluid (see ¶13 of translation), the rotary working group having a shaft (10, see fig. 3) defining a rotational axis (in ↔ direction, see fig. 3), a first bearing (21) which supports the shaft, and a second bearing (22; second bearing 22 is labeled in fig. 4 but is however present in embodiment shown in fig. 3 as well) which supports the shaft;
an electric machine (motor 2, see ¶53 of translation or fig. 3) encircling (as evident from fig. 3) the hydraulic machine (1), the electric machine including an electric machine stator (8) and an electric machine rotor (9) which is driven by an electric field produced by the stator and which drives the shaft of the rotary working group (inherent feature/function); and
a housing (32+31+33) at least partially surrounding the hydraulic machine (1) and the electric machine (2), the housing (32+31+33) defining a first end casing (32) and a second end casing (33) opposite the first end casing, the first end casing (32) is formed in its entirety as a single piece (as evident from its presented cross-section in fig. 3), the first end casing having a first recess that receives the first bearing (21), the second end casing (33) is formed in its entirety as a single piece (as evident from its presented cross-section in fig. 3), the second end casing having a second recess that receives the second bearing (22), the second end casing is spaced from the first end casing along the rotational axis (as evident from fig. 3),
wherein the shaft (10) does not extend through the first end casing (32) of the housing and the shaft (10) does not extend through the second end casing (33) of the housing (note: “through” means moving in one side and out of the other side of an element), and
wherein the shaft has a distal end (left end in view of fig. 3) positioned within the first recess.
Zhong remains silent on the integrated electro-hydraulic unit (embodiment shown in fig. 3) comprising: “a position sensor at least partially positioned on the shaft and configured to sense a positional characteristic of the shaft”, wherein the shaft has the distal end positioned within the first recess “with the position sensor” and wherein “the position sensor is on a side of the first bearing that is closer to the distal end”.
However, Nakano teaches an electric machine (see fig. 1) comprising a position sensor (resolver 3; see ¶33) at least partially positioned on the shaft (21) and configured to sense a positional characteristic of the shaft (positional characteristic = “rotational angle”; see ¶26), wherein the shaft (21) has the distal end (right end in view of fig. 1) positioned within the first recess (recess/space defined by component 40 of the housing 41+43+40) with the position sensor (3) and wherein the position sensor (3) is on a side (right side in view of fig. 1) of the first bearing (6) that is closer to the distal end (right end of the shaft in view of fig. 1). The asserted position sensor is provided on the shaft’s distal end on non-load side (i.e. side facing away from a load coupled to the motor) of a rotor or stator of the electric machine (as seen in fig. 1) and is in an end casing (40) formed in its entirety as a single piece.
Zhong discloses use of position sensor in another embodiments of integrated electro-hydraulic unit (shown in figs. 20-21) but not in an embodiment of the integrated electro-hydraulic (shown in fig. 3) relied upon in rejection of claim 14 above. It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the asserted first end casing (for instance, modify the region on left side of bearing 21 present within first end casing 32) of the housing in the electro-hydraulic unit (shown in fig. 3) of Zhong for provision of a position sensor as taught by Ishimaru for the purpose of detecting the rotational angle of the motor’s shaft, as recognized by Ishimaru (see ¶26).
In reference to claim 15, Zhong, as modified above in claim 14, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the position sensor (3; of Ishimaru) has a fixed portion (stator 3b, see fig. 1 and ¶26 of Ishimaru) mounted on the housing (“resolver stator 3b” is considered to be mounted on wall of Zhong’s modified asserted first end casing 32 which is part of the asserted Zhong’s housing 32+31+33) and a movable portion (rotor 3a, see fig. 1 and ¶26 of Ishimaru) mounted on the shaft (of Zhong or viewed as 21 in Ishimaru), and wherein the fixed portion is fixed relative to the housing and the movable portion rotated relative to the housing.
In reference to claim 16, Zhong, as modified above in claim 14, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, (see Zhong’s fig. 1) wherein the shaft (10) is positioned between the first end casing (32) and the second end casing (33) of the housing (32+31+33).
In reference to claim 18, Zhong, as modified above in claim 14, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the hydraulic machine (1; of Zhong), the electric machine (2; of Zhong) and the position sensor (3; of Ishimaru) are sealed in the housing (housing being 33+31+modified 32).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Ishimaru further in view of Akutsu et al. (US 2003/0127921 – herein after Akutsu).
Zhong, as modified above in claim 1, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the electric machine stator (of Zhong) has electrical wires (see ¶60 of translation: “the outlet end of the stator winding 8b is led to the outlet box 6 arranged on the shell 31”) connected thereto that are capable of carrying power.
Zhong, as modified above in claim 1, remains silent on the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, further comprising “an electric connector” that has claimed control pins and is coupled to both the electrical machine and the position sensor.
However, Akutsu teaches a motor (1; see fig. 16 and ¶73, ¶59) comprising an electric connector (54) configured to carry power to the electric machine (54 is capable of carrying power to the electric machine since it comprises of lead wires 52 (instead of bus bars) connected to coil of the motor) and having control pins (in sensor lead wires 53), wherein the position sensor (resolver with rotor 28 and stator 34, see ¶47) is electrically coupled to the control pins (in lead wires 52) of the electric connector (54).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing in Zhong’s electro-hydraulic unit for providing an electric connector as taught by Akutsu in order to connect electrical wires of Ishimaru’s position sensor and Zhong’s electric machine stator with a control circuit unit without changing the structure of the motor, as recognized by Akutsu (see ¶73).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Ishimaru further in view of Gandrud et al. (US 2005/0175479 – herein after Gandrud; cited by applicant on IDS dated 08/25/2023).
Zhong, as modified above in claim 14, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the housing is sealed such that the hydraulic machine (1; of Zhong), the electric machine (2; of Zhong) and the position sensor (3; of Ishimaru) are sealed within the housing (in view of fig. A above: the claimed components are considered to be sealed within the modified housing 32+31+33 from surrounding environment).
Zhong, as modified, remains silent on the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, further comprising “an electric connector having main power cables configured to carry power to the electric machine and wherein the electric connector is sealed to the housing”.
However, Gandrud teaches a similar electro-hydraulic unit comprising an electric connector (66) having main power cables (82) configured to carry power to the electric machine (see ¶32) and wherein (see fig. 4A) the electric connector (66) is sealed to the housing (14+104+108).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing in Zhong’s electro-hydraulic unit for providing an electric connector as taught by Gandrud for the purpose of transmitting electrical control signals to the stator of the motor using the electric connector that provides a means of passing electrical connections through the housing while sealing against leakage of hydraulic fluid and at the same time electrically insulating the conductor from the housing, as recognized by Gandrud (see ¶32).
Claims 8 – 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawafune et al. (US 5,591,013 – herein after Kawafune; cited by applicant on IDS dated 08/25/2023) in view of Okazaki et al. (US 2002/0175574 – herein after Okazaki).
In reference to claim 8, Kawafune teaches (see fig. 1) an integrated electro-hydraulic unit comprising:
a hydraulic machine (as seen in fig. 1) including a rotary working group (group comprising of elements such as cylinder block, piston 16, shoes 22) configured to pump a working fluid (see col. 8, lines 56-67), the rotary working group having a shaft (6) which defines a rotational axis (↨, in view of fig. 1) and a bearing (7) which supports the shaft (6);
an electric machine (4) encircling the hydraulic machine (as evident from fig. 1), the electric machine including an electric machine stator (2) and an electric machine rotor (3) which is driven by an electric field produced by the stator and which drives the shaft of the rotary working group (see col. 8, lines 47-67); and
a housing (1 = 1a+1b+1c) defining an interior cavity (interior space) that accommodates the hydraulic machine and the electric machine (as seen in fig. 1).
Kawafune does not teach the integrated electro-hydraulic unit further comprising: “a position sensor at least partially positioned on the shaft and configured to sense a positional characteristic of the shaft”.
However, Okazaki teaches an electric machine (30, see fig. 1 and ¶6-¶8) comprising a position sensor (15; see ¶8) at least partially positioned on the shaft (7) and configured to sense a positional characteristic of the shaft (positional characteristic = “rotational angle”; see ¶6). The asserted position sensor is provided on load side (i.e. side in proximate of a load coupled to the motor) of a rotor (8) or stator (6) of the electric machine (as seen in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify component (1b) of the housing (1) in the electro-hydraulic unit of Kawafune for provision of a position sensor as taught by Okazaki such that the position sensor is on left side of Kawafune’s bearing (7) for the purpose of measuring the rotational angle, as recognized by Okazaki (see ¶6).
Fig. B: Edited fig. 1 of Kawafune to show proposed modification in view of Okazaki.
Thus, Kawafune, as modified, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit (see fig. B above and Kawafune’s fig. 1), wherein, along the rotational axis, the position sensor (of Okazaki) is positioned between the bearing (7 of Kawafune) and an internal surface (labelled “i.s.” in fig. B above) of the housing, wherein the internal surface of the housing faces the interior cavity [“i.s.” faces the interior space that accommodates hydraulic machine and electric machine in → direction], and wherein the bearing (7; of Kawafune) is a first bearing, wherein the rotary working group (group comprising of elements such as cylinder block, piston 16, shoes 22) includes a second bearing (8; of Kawafune) supporting the shaft (6; of Kawafune), and wherein, along the rotational axis, the first bearing (7; of Kawafune) is positioned between the second bearing (8; of Kawafune) and the position sensor (of Okazaki).
With respect to the limitation “wherein the position sensor is disposed within the electric machine stator axially along the rotational axis”: This limitation is taught in view of the proposed modification above (see fig. B above which shows position sensor’s location). This location is disposed within the coils of the electric machine stator (2) axially along the rotational axis (in ↔ direction). Further, having the position sensor disposed within the electric machine stator is an obvious matter of design choice wherein no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having the position sensor disposed within the electric machine stator versus the arrangement taught by Kawafune/Okazaki as long as the position sensor effectively senses a positional characteristic of the shaft. The modified Kawafune’s unit has the position sensor positioned outside the span of the two bearings.
In reference to claim 9, Kawafune, as modified above in claim 8, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the position sensor (of Okazaki) is a resolver [see ¶6 of Okazaki: “..a rotation sensor 15 of the resolver type fixedly secured to the rear bracket 12 for detecting the rotational angle of the rotating element 8..”] which includes a resolver stator (46, see fig. 1 of Okazaki) and a resolver rotor (45, see fig. 1 of Okazaki), wherein the resolver stator mounted to the housing (“resolver stator” is considered to be mounted on Kawafune’s modified component 1b which is part of the asserted Kawafune’s housing 1 = 1a+1b+1c), and the resolver rotor is mounted to the shaft (of Kawafune).
In reference to claim 10, Kawafune, as modified above in claim 9, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the housing (1) includes an axial plate (1b) and a projection (see fig. B above: labelled “p2”) extending (in → direction) from the axial plate, and wherein the first bearing (7; of Kawafune) and the resolver stator (of Otsubo) are mounted to the projection (“p2”).
In reference to claim 11, Kawafune, as modified above in claim 10, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit, wherein the projection (see fig. B above: labelled “p2”) defines a recess, and wherein the first bearing (7; of Kawafune) and the position sensor (of Otsubo) are positioned in the recess of the projection.
In reference to claim 13, Kawafune, as modified above in claim 12, teaches the integrated electro-hydraulic unit (see fig. B above and Kawafune’s fig. 1), wherein the housing (1; of Kawafune) includes a front axial plate (1b; of Kawafune), a projection (see fig. B above: labelled “p2”) extending (in → direction) from the front axial plate (1b), an end axial plate (1c; of Kawafune), and a protrusion (see fig. B above: labelled “p1”) extending (in ← direction) from the end axial plate (1c), and wherein the first bearing (7; of Kawafune) is mounted to the projection (labelled “p2” in fig. B above) extending from the front axial plate and the second bearing (8; of Kawafune) is mounted to the protrusion (labelled “p1” in fig. B above) extending from the end axial plate.
Response to Arguments
The arguments, filed November 17, 2025, with respect to independent claims 1 and 14 have been fully considered but they are moot. The amendment to independent claims 1 and 14 changed the scope of the claim. As a result, the prior arts have been re-evaluated and re-applied to claim 1, in view of newly relied upon secondary reference of Ishimaru.
The arguments, filed November 17, 2025, with respect to independent claim 8 have been fully considered but they are not found to be persuasive. As a result, the rejection of claim 8 over Kawafune in view of Okazaki remains maintained.
Applicant raises two main points: (1) Okazaki teaches away from the proposed modification, and (2) the claimed structural arrangement provides a technical benefit that elevates it above a routine rearrangement of parts.
With respect to (1):
Applicant argues that the combination is improper because Okazaki teaches away from the modification by emphasizing that its sensor (15) is placed outside the bracket side bearing (100) to allow for positional adjustment without disassembling the motor assembly (30) [as per disclosure in ¶45 of Okazaki]. Placing the sensor inside the Kawafune unit would require removing the cover plate (1b, of Kawafune). The combination is proper because the motivation for compactness in the primary reference overcomes the convenience-based teaching of the secondary reference. The integrated electro-hydraulic unit (EHU) of Kawafune inherently prioritizes size reduction and density over ease of maintenance. When combining references, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be driven by the primary reference’s core objective. The goal of using Okazaki is to introduce the missing sensor element into the tightly constrained axial space of the Kawafune’s EHU.
As noted in the above rejection, even if the combination of Kawafune and Okazaki does not specifically teach that the position sensor is disposed within the electric machine stator, such a disposition is an obvious matter of design choice wherein no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having the position sensor disposed within the electric machine stator versus the arrangement taught by Kawafune and Okazaki as long as the position sensor effectively senses a positional characteristic of the shaft.
With respect to (2):
The Applicant argues that the specific location is not a routine rearrangement because it achieves a critical technical benefit: it allows the first bearing (146) and the second bearing (147) to be positioned closer together to increase resistance to bending of the shaft (citing applicant’s own para. 29).
As noted above, having the position sensor disposed within the electric machine stator is an obvious matter of design choice for the reasons given above. It is within the general skill level of a worker in the art to properly place a position sensor on a shaft wherein the position sensor effectively senses a positional characteristic of the shaft. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to assess the design constraint associated with the invention and determine where to locate such a sensor without compromising other design requirements.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746