DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1, claims 1-5 and 10-16, in the reply filed on 02/11/2026 is acknowledged.
IDS
The IDS document(s) filed on 08/25/2023 have been considered. Copies of the PTO-1449 documents are herewith enclosed with this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US 2021/0134761 A1), hereafter “Oh”.
As to claim 1, Oh teaches a semiconductor package (1000, Fig. 1B, ⁋ [0025]), comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (200) including:
a first substrate (201, ⁋ [0026]) comprising a second surface (top surface);
a plurality of through electrodes (210) extending in the first substrate; and
first bonding pads (212, ⁋ [0029]) on the second surface of the first substrate,
wherein the first bonding pads are electrically connected to the plurality of through electrodes (⁋ [0029]);
a second semiconductor chip (100) including:
a second substrate (101, ⁋ [0039]) comprising a first surface (bottom surface);
a second wiring layer (135, ⁋ [0041]) on the first surface of the second substrate;
redistribution pads (130Pd, ⁋⁋ [0039]-[0042]) in the second wiring layer;
second bonding pads (141 of 140D1, ⁋⁋ [0047]-[0048]) on the redistribution pads;
first conductive bumps (143 of 140D1, Fig. 1B, ⁋⁋ [0047]-[0048]) between the first bonding pads and the second bonding pads; and
a test pad region (see annotated Fig. 1B below), between the first conductive bumps, wherein the test pad region comprises a test pad (130Pt, ⁋ [0042]) in the second wiring layer,
wherein the second semiconductor chip (100) is stacked on the first semiconductor chip (200) via the first conductive bumps (143 of 140);
an adhesive layer (150, ⁋ [0025]) between the first semiconductor chip (200) and the second semiconductor chip (100), wherein the adhesive layer is disposed between the first conductive bumps (143 of 140); and
flow prevention structures (140D2, ⁋⁋ [0045], [0063]) in the adhesive layer, wherein the flow prevention structures are disposed in the test pad region (see annotated Fig. 1B).
As to claim 2, Oh teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer (150) includes a non-conductive film (NCF) (⁋ [0051]).
As to claim 10, Oh teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising:
a package substrate (300, Fig. 7, ⁋ [0055]), and
wherein the first semiconductor chip (200) is mounted on the package substrate via second conductive bumps (240, ⁋ [0026]) (⁋ [0093]).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 3-5, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0135594 A1), hereafter “Lee”.
As to claim 3, Oh teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the flow prevention structures (140D2) include a dummy pad (141 of 140D2, Fig. 1B, ⁋⁋ [0047]-[0048]) and a dummy bump (143 of 140D2, Fig. 1B, ⁋⁋ [0047]-[0048]) on the dummy pad.
Oh fails to teach wherein the dummy pad, of the flow prevention structure, is on a test pad.
Lee teaches a similar semiconductor package (1a, Fig. 8, ⁋ [0059]) wherein a test pad (TP, ⁋ [0065]) overlaps a dummy pad (DP) (Fig. 8+Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of the test pad overlapping a dummy pad as taught by Lee into the device of Oh for the purpose of reducing the thickness of the semiconductor package and efficiently discharge heat in the chips externally through pads coupled to each other while being in contact with each other (⁋ [0103]).
As to claim 4, Oh in view of Lee teach the semiconductor package of claim 3, Oh further teaches wherein the dummy bump (143 of 140D2) includes a same material as the first conductive bumps (143 of 140D1) (⁋ [0048], “dummy bump 140D may include a first dummy bump 140D1 and a second dummy bump 140D2”).
As to claim 5, Oh in view of Lee teach the semiconductor package of claim 3, Oh further teaches wherein the dummy pad (141 of 140D2) includes a same material as the second bonding pads (141 of 140D1) (⁋ [0048], “dummy bump 140D may include a first dummy bump 140D1 and a second dummy bump 140D2”).
As to claim 11, Oh teaches a semiconductor package (1000, Fig. 1B, ⁋ [0025]), comprising:
a first semiconductor chip (200) including:
a first substrate (201, ⁋ [0026]) having a first surface (bottom surface) and a second surface (top surface) opposite to the first surface;
a plurality of through electrodes (210) penetrating the first substrate;
first bonding pads (230, ⁋ [0026]) on the first surface, wherein the first bonding pads are electrically connected to the plurality of through electrodes (⁋ [0032]); and
second bonding pads (212, ⁋ [0029]) on the second surface, wherein the second bonding pads are electrically connected to the plurality of through electrodes (⁋ [0029]);
a second semiconductor chip (100) including:
a second substrate (101, ⁋ [0039]) having a third surface (bottom surface) and a fourth surface (top surface) opposite to the third surface;
a second wiring layer (135, ⁋ [0041]) on the third surface of the second substrate; and
third bonding pads (141 of 140D1, ⁋⁋ [0047]-[0048]) on the second wiring layer,
wherein the second semiconductor chip (100) is on the second surface of the first substrate (Fig. 1B),
wherein the second wiring layer includes redistribution pads (130Pd, ⁋⁋ [0039]-[0042]) and test pads (130Pt, ⁋ [0042]), and
wherein the third bonding pads (141 of 140D1) are on the redistribution pads (130Pd) (⁋ [0042], “the dummy pad 130Pd may be a pad on which the first dummy bump 140D1 is provided”);
conductive bumps (143 of 140D1, Fig. 1B, ⁋⁋ [0047]-[0048]) between the first semiconductor chip and the second semiconductor chip and electrically connecting the second bonding pads (212) and the third bonding pads (141 of 140D1) (⁋ [0047]);
an adhesive layer (150, ⁋ [0025]) between the first semiconductor chip (100) and the second semiconductor chip, wherein the adhesive layer is in a space between the conductive bumps (143 of 140) (Fig. 1B); and
flow prevention structures (140D2, ⁋⁋ [0045], [0063]) in the adhesive layer.
Oh fails to teach wherein the flow prevention structures overlap the test pads viewed from a plan view, however, Examiner notes that Oh does teach the flow prevention structure comprising of a dummy pad and a dummy bump connected thereto.
Lee teaches a similar semiconductor package (1a, Fig. 8, ⁋ [0059]) wherein a test pad (TP, ⁋ [0065]) overlaps a dummy pad (DP) (Fig. 8+Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the teaching of the test pad overlapping a dummy pad as taught by Lee into the device of Oh for the purpose of reducing the thickness of the semiconductor package and efficiently discharge heat in the chips externally through pads coupled to each other while being in contact with each other (⁋ [0103]).
As to claim 12, Oh in view of Lee teach the semiconductor package of claim 11, Oh further teaches wherein the adhesive layer (150) includes a non-conductive film (NCF) (⁋ [0051]).
As to claim 13, Oh in view of Lee teach the semiconductor package of claim 11, and further teaches wherein the flow prevention structures of Oh (140D2) include a dummy pad (141 of 140D2) on the modified test pads of Lee (TP, Fig. 9, see claim 11) and Oh’s dummy bump (143 of 140D2) on the dummy pad (Fig. 1B of Oh).
As to claim 14, Oh in view of Lee teach the semiconductor package of claim 13, Oh further teaches wherein the dummy bump (143 of 140D2) includes a same material as the conductive bumps (143 of 140D1) (⁋ [0048], “dummy bump 140D may include a first dummy bump 140D1 and a second dummy bump 140D2”).
As to claim 15, Oh in view of Lee teach the semiconductor package of claim 14, Oh further teaches wherein the dummy bump (143 of 140D2) has a diameter same as a diameter of the conductive bumps (143 of 140D1) (⁋ [0079], “the sizes of the second bump 140 and the dummy bump 140D”).
As to claim 16, Oh in view of Lee teach the semiconductor package of claim 13, Oh further teaches wherein the dummy pad (141 of 140D2) includes a same material as the third bonding pads (141 of 140D1) (⁋ [0048], “dummy bump 140D may include a first dummy bump 140D1 and a second dummy bump 140D2”).
Conclusion
/CARNELL HUNTER III/Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893