DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2024 has/have been considered by the examiner. 8/25/23
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al (US 20170129356 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches a pedestal base comprising: a skid base (¶0059 “[FIG 1] modular bollard assembly 102 may be anchored to the ground or asphalt 117 by attachment to a footing 112”)
defining: a CMS opening, the skid base configured to interface with a cable management system (CMS) via the CMS opening; (¶0059 “[FIG 1] footing 112 can be formed about at least one internal conduit 118 to connect the bollard 102 to an electric utility grid”)
and a base opening; (¶0058 “[FIG 1] tubular central portion 101 includes a hollow cavity 104 and a prefabricated receiving port 106 which provides access to the hollow cavity”, as depicted in FIG 1 the tubular central portion 101 sits on footing 112 necessitating an opening at the base)
and a riser defining a riser opening, (¶0058 “[FIG 1] modular bollard assembly 102 includes a tubular central portion 101 having a hollow cavity 104, a first end portion 103 and a second end portion 105”)
the riser: comprising a sidewall configured to mechanically interface with an electric vehicle (EV) charger; (¶0060 “FIGS. 2 and 3, the prefabricated receiving port 106 of the modular bollard 102 is fashioned to receive electrical vehicle supply equipment 202 that further connects to pre-determined EVSE”)
and configured to mechanically interface with the skid base to position the riser opening proximate the base opening, (¶0059 “[FIG 1] modular bollard assembly 102 may be anchored to the ground or asphalt 117 by attachment to a footing 112 at the one or more attachment points 108 located upon a second attachment plate 110 secured to the second end of the tubular member 101”)
wherein the skid base and the riser, when mechanically interfaced, permit a cable to extend between the CMS and the EV charger and to extend through the base opening and the riser opening. (¶0059 “the footing 112 can be formed about at least one internal conduit 118 to connect the bollard 102 to an electric utility grid”)
Similarly for claim 13 as applied to a pedestal base comprising a plurality of risers. (¶0065 “FIGS. 8-10, the number of modular bollards 102 can be adjusted according to EVSE infrastructure requirements”)
Similarly for claim 18 as applied to a method. (¶0058 “the bollard 102 is installed as standalone EV infrastructure”)
Regarding claim 2, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 1. Johnson further teaches wherein the sidewall defines a mechanical interface configured to permit the sidewall and the EV charger to mechanically interface. (¶0061 “FIG. 3, bezel 206 has a flange 210 that forms a channel for wrapping an EVSE cord when connected to the bollard 102”)
Regarding claim 3, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 2. Johnson further teaches further comprising a fastener configured to mechanically interface with the mechanical interface and the EV charger to mechanically couple the EV charger to a surface of the sidewall. (¶0061 “bezel 206 attaches flush to the face of the housing 204, when flush mounted in the receiving port 106. Further, bezel 206 may be fashioned to accommodate various EVSE. For instance, as shown in FIG. 3, bezel 206 has a flange 210 that forms a channel for wrapping an EVSE cord when connected to the bollard 102”)
Regarding claim 8, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 1. Johnson further teaches wherein the CMS opening is configured to encase a portion of the CMS. (¶0061 “FIG. 3 also shows a service door panel 304, which provides access to the hollow cavity of bollard 102 and wiring therein from at least one internal conduit 118”)
Regarding claim 11, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 1. Johnson further teaches the riser further comprising a plurality of sidewalls comprising the sidewall, (¶0058 “modular bollard assembly 102 includes a tubular central portion 101 having a hollow cavity 104, a first end portion 103 and a second end portion 105. The tubular central portion may be made to any tubular shape which may include polygons, cylinders, ovals, or suitable combinations thereof when viewed from the end, and includes a length which suits the expandable EV infrastructure or building”)
the plurality of sidewalls configured to mechanically interface with a plurality of EV chargers each comprising different mechanical interfaces. (¶0065 “FIGS. 8-10, the number of modular bollards 102 can be adjusted according to EVSE infrastructure requirements”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson modified by Bhade et al (US 20110095723 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 1. Johnson does not teach further comprising an overcurrent device configured to be electrically coupled between the cable and the EV charger.
Bhade teaches further comprising an overcurrent device configured to be electrically coupled between the cable and the EV charger. (¶0046 “[FIG 3] charging station controller 305 is programmed with instructions to detect overcurrent conditions. Overcurrent conditions occur when the amount of electric current flowing on the power line 135 exceeds an overcurrent threshold (locally for the charging station 120)”, ¶0038 “[FIG 3] The charging station 120 includes the charging point connection 155, charging station controller 305, the electricity control device 310, the current measuring device 320, the RFID reader 330, the user interface 335, the display unit 340, one or more transceivers 350… and the GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupter) device 360”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the pedestal base as taught by Johnson to further comprise an overcurrent device configured to be electrically coupled between the cable and the EV charger as taught by Bhade. Johnson discloses the structure of a charging column which physically connects to an electric vehicle, and uses multiple charging columns to form a multi-vehicle charging station. Bhade discloses a charging station which has overcurrent and ground fault detection and protection capabilities. It would be obvious to try inserting the charging station 120 as taught by Bhade as the EVSE 202 as taught by Johnson. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to detect overcurrent events to minimize safety risks and prevent damage to the electric vehicle supply equipment.
Similarly for claim 14, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 13.
Regarding claim 5, Johnson as modified by Bhade teaches the pedestal base of claim 4. Johnson as modified by Bhade further teaches wherein: the riser comprises a plurality of sidewalls comprising the sidewall; (Johnson ¶0058 “[FIG 1] modular bollard assembly 102 includes a tubular central portion 101 having a hollow cavity 104, a first end portion 103 and a second end portion 105”)
the plurality of sidewalls define a volume; (Johnson ¶0058 “[FIG 1] modular bollard assembly 102 includes a tubular central portion 101 having a hollow cavity 104, a first end portion 103 and a second end portion 105”)
and the overcurrent device is disposed within the volume. (Bhade ¶0046 “[FIG 3] charging station controller 305 is programmed with instructions to detect overcurrent conditions.”, FIG 3 depicts charging station controller 305 to be an integral part of charging station 120)
Similarly for claim 15, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 13.
Regarding claim 6, Johnson as modified by Bhade teaches the pedestal base of claim 4. Johnson as modified by Bhade does not teach wherein the overcurrent device is configured to transition between an open configuration and a closed configuration, wherein in the open configuration, the overcurrent device is configured to electrically isolate the EV charger from the cable, and in the closed configuration, the overcurrent device is configured to electrically couple the EV charger to the cable.
Bhade further teaches wherein the overcurrent device is configured to transition between an open configuration and a closed configuration, wherein in the open configuration, the overcurrent device is configured to electrically isolate the EV charger from the cable, and in the closed configuration, the overcurrent device is configured to electrically couple the EV charger to the cable. (¶0059 “GFCI device 360, which is coupled with the charging point connection 155, the electricity control device 310, and the charging station controller 305… If there is a difference, the GFCI device 360 is configured to de-energize the charging point connection 155”, ¶0071 “At block 430, the charging station controller 305 detects whether an overcurrent condition exists… If the current exceeds or meets an overcurrent threshold, an overcurrent condition is detected and flow moves to block 440”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the pedestal base as taught by Johnson modified by Bhade wherein the overcurrent device is configured to transition between an open configuration and a closed configuration, wherein in the open configuration, the overcurrent device is configured to electrically isolate the EV charger from the cable, and in the closed configuration, the overcurrent device is configured to electrically couple the EV charger to the cable as further taught by Bhade. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to detect overcurrent events to minimize safety risks and prevent damage to the electric vehicle supply equipment.
Regarding claim 7, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 1. Johnson further teaches further comprising a plurality of overcurrent devices configured to be electrically coupled between the cable and the EV charger
and the riser comprises a plurality of sidewalls comprising the sidewall that define a volume, (¶0058 “[FIG 1] modular bollard assembly 102 includes a tubular central portion 101 having a hollow cavity 104, a first end portion 103 and a second end portion 105”)
[wherein the plurality of overcurrent devices are disposed within the volume.]
Bhade teaches further comprising a plurality of overcurrent devices configured to be electrically coupled between the cable and the EV charger (FIG 3 GFCI device 360, electricity control device 310, and current measuring device 320 disposed in charging station 120)
wherein the plurality of overcurrent devices are disposed within the volume. (FIG 3 GFCI device 360, electricity control device 310, and current measuring device 320 disposed in charging station 120)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the pedestal base as taught by Johnson to further comprise an overcurrent device configured to be electrically coupled between the cable and the EV charger as taught by Bhade. Johnson discloses the structure of a charging column which physically connects to an electric vehicle, and uses multiple charging columns to form a multi-vehicle charging station. Bhade discloses a charging station which has overcurrent and ground fault detection and protection capabilities. It would be obvious to try inserting the charging station 120 as taught by Bhade as the EVSE 202 as taught by Johnson. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to detect overcurrent events to minimize safety risks and prevent damage to the electric vehicle supply equipment.
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson modified by Flynn et al (US 20210245614 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 1. Johnson further teaches wherein the skid base is configured to interface with the CMS to permit the skid base (¶0059 “the footing 112 can be formed about at least one internal conduit 118 to connect the bollard 102 to an electric utility grid”)
[and the CMS to be installed above-ground and the CMS to function as an above-ground wiring run.]
Johnson does not teach and the CMS to be installed above-ground and the CMS to function as an above-ground wiring run.
Flynn teaches and the CMS to be installed above-ground and the CMS to function as an above-ground wiring run. (¶0030 “FIG. 1, the cable blocks 16a, 16b, 16c, 16d, 16e are above-ground, modular components”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the pedestal base as taught by Johnson wherein the CMS to be installed above-ground and the CMS to function as an above-ground wiring run as taught by Flynn. Johnson discloses modular bollard assembly 102, which has a compartment for a cable management system but does not describe the details of the cable management system. Flynn describes cable blocks 16 for cable management which connect and supply power to an EV charging system 100. It would be obvious to use Flynn’s cable blocks 16 as the cable management system connecting Johnson’s modular bollard assemblies 102. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to eliminate the need for trenching and provide a secure, reusable electrical cabling protection system
Similarly for claim 16, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 13.
Claim(s) 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson
Regarding claim 10, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 1. Johnson further teaches wherein the riser is configured to mechanically interface with the EV charger comprising an EV wall charger. (¶0060 “FIGS. 2 and 3, the prefabricated receiving port 106 of the modular bollard 102 is fashioned to receive electrical vehicle supply equipment 202 that further connects to pre-determined EVSE”)
Johnson discloses the claimed invention except for comprising an EV wall charger. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use a wall-mounted EV charging system, since applicant has not disclosed that a wall-mounted EV charging system solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a modular EV charging system attached to the modular bollard 102 of Johnson.
Similarly for claim 17, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 13.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson modified by Flynn
Regarding claim 12, Johnson teaches the pedestal base of claim 1. Johnson further teaches wherein: [the CMS comprises a first CMS;
the cable comprises a first cable;]
and the skid base further defines another CMS opening, (¶0059 “footing 112 can be formed about at least one internal conduit 118 to connect the bollard 102 to an electric utility grid”)
[the skid base configured to interface with a second CMS via the another CMS opening, wherein the skid base permits a second cable to extend between the first CMS and the second CMS.]
Johnson does not teach wherein: the CMS comprises a first CMS; the cable comprises a first cable; the skid base configured to interface with a second CMS via the another CMS opening, wherein the skid base permits a second cable to extend between the first CMS and the second CMS.
Flynn teaches wherein: the CMS comprises a first CMS; (¶0032 “ FIG. 5, the main channel 44 is sized to receive cabling that will be placed from the EV charging equipment mounted to the portable platform 10 to the distribution box 14 or another component of the electrical grid”)
the cable comprises a first cable; (¶0032 “ FIG. 5, the main channel 44 is sized to receive cabling that will be placed from the EV charging equipment mounted to the portable platform 10 to the distribution box 14 or another component of the electrical grid”)
the skid base configured to interface with a second CMS via the another CMS opening, wherein the skid base permits a second cable to extend between the first CMS and the second CMS. (¶0035 “[FIGs 5-6] cable block 16e also includes adjacent channels 52 for various auxiliary cabling and wiring”, ¶0030 “As shown in FIGS. 5-6, adjacent channels 46 run aside the main channel 44, and a plate 48 that may be affixed to the main body so as to cover the main channel and the adjacent channels of the main body 41”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the pedestal base as taught by Johnson wherein the is skid base configured to interface with a second CMS via the another CMS opening, wherein the skid base permits a second cable to extend between the first CMS and the second CMS as taught by Flynn. Johnson discloses modular bollard assembly 102, which has a compartment for a cable management system but does not describe the details of the cable management system. Flynn describes cable blocks 16 for cable management which connect and supply power to an EV charging system 100. It would be obvious to use Flynn’s cable blocks 16 as the cable management system connecting Johnson’s modular bollard assemblies 102. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to eliminate the need for trenching and provide a secure, reusable electrical cabling protection system.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson modified by Bhade and further in view of Flynn
Regarding claim 19, Johnson teaches the method of claim 18. Johnson further teaches wherein the riser comprises a plurality of sidewalls comprising the sidewall, the method further comprising: interfacing the skid base with the CMS via a CMS opening defined by the skid base; (¶0059 “[FIG 1] footing 112 can be formed about at least one internal conduit 118 to connect the bollard 102 to an electric utility grid”)
[disposing an overcurrent device within] a volume defined by the plurality of sidewalls; attaching the overcurrent device to the riser, (¶0058 “[FIG 1] modular bollard assembly 102 includes a tubular central portion 101 having a hollow cavity 104, a first end portion 103 and a second end portion 105”)
[wherein extending the cable between the CMS and the EV charger comprises: electrically coupling the EV charger to the overcurrent device;]
[and electrically coupling the cable to the overcurrent device;]
and attaching the skid base to a ground surface to permit the skid base, the riser, and the CMS to be physically positioned above-ground (¶0059 “modular bollard assembly 102 may be anchored to the ground or asphalt 117 by attachment to a footing 112 at the one or more attachment points 108 located upon a second attachment plate 110 secured to the second end of the tubular member 101”)
[and the CMS to function as an above-ground wiring run.]
Johnson does not teach disposing an overcurrent device within a [volume defined by the plurality of sidewalls]; attaching the overcurrent device to the riser, wherein extending the cable between the CMS and the EV charger comprises: electrically coupling the EV charger to the overcurrent device; and electrically coupling the cable to the overcurrent device; and the CMS to function as an above-ground wiring run.
Bhade teaches disposing an overcurrent device within [a volume defined by the plurality of sidewalls]; (¶0046 “[FIG 3] charging station controller 305 is programmed with instructions to detect overcurrent conditions.”, FIG 3 depicts charging station controller 305 to be an integral part of charging station 120)
attaching the overcurrent device to the riser, (¶0046 “[FIG 3] charging station controller 305 is programmed with instructions to detect overcurrent conditions.”, FIG 3 depicts charging station controller 305 to be an integral part of charging station 120)
wherein extending the cable between the CMS and the EV charger comprises: electrically coupling the EV charger to the overcurrent device; (¶0028 “charging station 120 controls the application of electricity from the power grid 130 to the charging point connection 155 (e.g., energizes and de-energizes the charging point connection 155)”, FIG 3 charging connection point 155 is depicted as connected to the GFCI device 360 in communication with electricity control device 310)
and electrically coupling the cable to the overcurrent device; (¶0028 “the charging point connection 155 is a power receptacle or an attached charging cord”
[and the CMS to function as an above-ground wiring run.]
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Johnson to dispose an overcurrent device within a volume by defined by the plurality of sidewalls and extend the cable between the CMS and the EV charger comprises: electrically coupling the EV charger to the overcurrent device as taught by Bhade. Johnson discloses a method which connects the structure of a charging column to an electric vehicle, and uses multiple charging columns to form a multi-vehicle charging station. Bhade discloses a charging station which has overcurrent and ground fault detection and protection capabilities. It would be obvious to try inserting the charging station 120 as taught by Bhade as the EVSE 202 as taught by Johnson. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to detect overcurrent events to minimize safety risks and prevent damage to the electric vehicle supply equipment.
Johnson as modified by Bhade does not teach and the CMS to function as an above-ground wiring run.
Flynn teaches and the CMS to function as an above-ground wiring run. (¶0030 “FIG. 1, the cable blocks 16a, 16b, 16c, 16d, 16e are above-ground, modular components”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the method as taught by Johnson modified by Bhade wherein the CMS to be installed above-ground and the CMS to function as an above-ground wiring run as taught by Flynn. Johnson as modified by Bhade discloses modular bollard assembly 102, which has a compartment for a cable management system but does not describe the details of the cable management system. Flynn describes cable blocks 16 for cable management which connect and supply power to an EV charging system 100. It would be obvious to use Flynn’s cable blocks 16 as the cable management system connecting Johnson’s modular bollard assemblies 102. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to eliminate the need for trenching and provide a secure, reusable electrical cabling protection system.
Regarding claim 20, Johnson as modified by Bhade and Flynn teaches the method of claim 19. Johnson as modified by Bhade and Flynn further teaches the riser defining an access opening positioned proximate the overcurrent device,the access opening further defining the volume,
and the skid base defining another CMS opening, (Johnson ¶0058 “[FIG 1] modular bollard assembly 102 includes a tubular central portion 101 having a hollow cavity 104, a first end portion 103 and a second end portion 105”)
the method further comprising: attaching an access plate to the riser proximate the access opening; (Johnson ¶0059 “[FIG 1] modular bollard assembly 102 may be anchored to the ground or asphalt 117 by attachment to a footing 112”)
and attaching a base plate to the skid base proximate the another CMS opening. (Johnson ¶0059 “modular bollard assembly 102 may be anchored to the ground or asphalt 117 by attachment to a footing 112 at the one or more attachment points 108 located upon a second attachment plate 110 secured to the second end of the tubular member 101”)
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: improper term introduction. Claim 1 recites in part “a CMS opening, the skid base configured to interface with a cable management system (CMS) via the CMS opening”, where the acronym CMS appears before the full term of cable management system. Appropriate correction is required.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Lau et al (US 20120229085 A1) discloses a system of parking meters and light posts which charge electric vehicles comprising a vertical structure with a cable management system inside of the charging column.
Oda et al (US 20130069588 A1) discloses a charging system for electric vehicles which comprises a cable management system connecting the electric vehicle chargers.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859