DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-11 in the reply filed on July 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of species claims [6+8] in the reply filed on July 20, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not constitute an undue burden to search and examine the species grouping of claims [4, 5, and 7]. This is not found persuasive because of the reasons set forth in the restriction requirement. The distinct subject matter claimed results in divergent search areas.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4, 5, and 7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 20, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,831,021. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are encompassed by the patented claims.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 10 be found allowable, claim 11 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albano et al (US 2016/0351973).
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 8, Albano teaches an anode and a protective coating comprising a layer, or layers, of material deposited on a surface of the anode active material, the layer of material comprising one or more of a metal oxide, such as alumina or titania, a metal halide, etc. (claim 23 and par. 47). Regarding claims 2, 3, and 9-11 and further regarding claim 1, Albano teaches the battery is taught to comprise a lithium metal anode layer (par. 61), and the anode comprises lithium metal particles coating with a layer of material having a thickness of 100 nm or less (claim 28 and par. 65). The overlapping ranges constitute prima facie obviousness.
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Elam et al (US 2019/0044151).
The applied reference has a common inventor, Lin Chen, with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Regarding claims 1-3, 6, and 8, Elam teaches protective coatings for lithium anodes (title) comprising an inorganic component including at least one of a metal oxide, a metal fluoride, or combination thereof (abstract), specific oxides taught to include at least Al, Hf, Li, and Mn (par. 39). The overlapping teachings constitute prima facie obviousness. Regarding claims 9-11, Elam teaches that the protective coating has a thickness in the range of 1-10 nm (par. 9).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Elam et al (US 11,831,021; hereinafter referred to as Elam ‘021).
The applied reference has a common inventor, Lin Chen, with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Regarding claims 1-3, 6, and 8, Elam ‘021 teaches protective coatings for lithium anodes (title) comprising an inorganic component, including at least one of a metal oxide, a metal fluoride, or combination thereof (abstract). The overlapping teachings constitute prima facie obviousness. Further regarding claims 1-3, Elam ‘021 teaches that the substrate comprises lithium (claim 5). Regarding claims 9-11, Elam ‘021 teaches that the protective coating has a thickness in the range of 0.1-100 nm (claim 3), or in the range of 1-10 nm (claim 4).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
/Colin W. Slifka/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732