Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) in view of Bae (KR 20160086486 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 11:
Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) discloses a display module (see Fig. 13a) comprising:
a display panel (see Fig. 13a-14a) including:
a silicon substrate (oxide layer 702 FIG. 14A. Also see claim 1, wherein the oxide layer comprises a single layer or laminate thereof comprising a material selected from the group consisting of silicon oxide and metal oxide , including pixel areas (see Fig. 13a,14a, in Fig. 14a, reference numeral 700 denotes a substrate, reference numeral 701 denotes a nitride layer or a metal layer, reference numeral 702 denotes an oxide layer, reference numeral 703 denotes a main coating insulating layer, and reference numeral 704a denotes a driving circuit ( An element of 711, reference numerals 704b and 704c denote an element of the pixel portion 712, and reference numeral 705 denotes an OLED (organic light emitting device) (see pg. 32-34)
a driving circuit layer (1003, see Fig. 17) disposed on the silicon substrate (Fig. 17);
a light emitting layer (1016, Fig. 17) disposed on the driving circuit layer and extending over the pixel areas continuously (see Fig. 17, pg 40-43); and
a color filter disposed in the pixel areas on the light emitting layer (A color filter (not shown) in which a color layer and a radiation shielding layer are arranged corresponding to each pixel is provided on this opposing substrate. In addition, a radiation shield is provided on the portion of the drive circuit, see pg 28).
a phase retardation plate ((λ / 4 plate) disposed on the display panel ( circular polarizing means and a polarizing plate called a circular polarizing plate composed of a plate (λ / 4 plate) on the display panel, 38).
However, Maruyama does not specifically disclose the polarizer disposed on the phase retardation plate and including metal patterns spaced apart from each other at selectable intervals.
Bae (KR 20160086486 A) discloses a polarizer (WGP) disposed on the phase retardation plate (PR) and including metal patterns (metal wire) spaced apart from each other at selectable intervals (see Fig. 8,) (The wide grid polarizer WGP is formed on the phase delay plate PR and specifically on the front face of the phase delay plate PR. The WGP includes a plurality of metal wires (WI). Each of the plurality of wires (WI) extends in a first direction on the surface of the phase retardar plate (PR), and is arranged to be spaced apart from each other, see pg 5-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) with the teaching of Bae (KR 20160086486 A), to thereby enhance the emission of light having a desired propagation direction.
Regarding claims 2 and 12:
Maruyama in view of Bae discloses wherein the phase retardation plate includes a λ/4 phase retardation plate ((the phase retardation plate PR may be a lambda / 4 phase delay plate , see Bae page 1-4 of 8). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 3 and 13:
Maruyama in view of Bae discloses a cover window (IL1) disposed on the display panel DP, see Bae, Page 1-3 of page 8, Fig. 1). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 4 and 14:
Maruyama in view of Bae discloses wherein the cover window is disposed on the wire grid polarizer (WGP) (see Bae Fig. 7). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claims 5 and 15 :
Maruyama in view of Bae discloses wherein the cover window (IL1) is disposed between the phase retardation plate (PR) and the wire grid polarizer (see Bae, Fig. 3-4). Same motivation as applied to claim 1.
2. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) in view of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) and further in view of Pokrovosky (US 20070284567 A1).
Regarding claim 6:
Note that Maruyama in view of Bae discloses the cover window (IL1, see Bae, Fig. 4)
However, Bae does not specifically disclose the cover window disposed between the color filter and the phase retardation plate.
Pokrovosky (US 20070284567 A1) discloses wherein the cover window (160) is disposed between the color filter (138 corresponding to color filter) and the phase retardation plate (phase retarder plate on 140 (see [0119, 0170, 0183, 0194], Fig. 27, 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) with the teaching of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) and Pokrovosky (US 20070284567 A1), thereby enhance the picture quality in the display device..
3. Claim(s) 7-9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) in view of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) and further in view of Pokrovosky (US 20070284567 A1) and Chae (US 20180088404 A1).
Regarding claim 7:
Note that Maruyama in view of Bae and Pokrovosky does not specifically disclose wherein the color filter includes: a first color filter disposed in a first pixel area among the pixel areas and that transmits red light; a second color filter disposed in a second pixel area among the pixel areas and that transmits green light; and a third color filter disposed in a third pixel area among the pixel areas and that transmits blue light.
Chae (US 20180088404 A1) discloses the color filter includes: a first color filter (140a) disposed in a first pixel area (PXA1) among the pixel areas and that transmits red light ([0132], Fig. 5);
a second color filter (140b) disposed in a second pixel area (PXA2) among the pixel areas and that transmits green light ( [0132], Fig. 5); and
a third color filter (140C) disposed in a third pixel area (PXA3) among the pixel areas and that transmits blue lightm [0132], Fig. 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) with the teaching of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) Pokrovosky (US 20070284567 A1) and Chae, thereby enhance the picture quality in the display device.
Regarding claim 8:
Maruyama in view of Bae and Pokrovosky discloses: a planarization layer (2630, see Fig. 27) disposed between the phase retardation plate (130, corresponding to Phase retardation plate, see [0062]) and the wire grid polarizer (140 corresponding to wire grid polarier, [0103]) (see Pokrovosky, [0062, 0103-0104]),
The limitations “a first thickness of the first color filter (140a) is thicker than a second thickness of the second color filter (140b) and the second thickness of the second color filter (140c) “would be obvious in system of Chae since Chae discloses different thickness for the color Filters one is thicker than the other filters (see Chae [0019]).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) with the teaching of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) Pokrovosky (US 20070284567 A1) and Chae, thereby enhance the picture quality in the display device.
Regarding claim 9:
Maruyama in view of Bae, Pokrovosky (US 20070284567 A1) Chae discloses the limitations “wherein the second thickness of the second color filter is in a range of about 1.1 to about 1.1 times the third thickness of the third color filter, and the first thickness of the first color filter is in a range of about 1.3 to about 1.5 times the third thickness. of the third color filter” since Chae discloses different thickness for the color Filters one is thicker than the other filters (see Chae [0019]).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) with the teaching of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) Pokrovosky (US 20070284567 A1) and Chae, thereby enhance the picture quality in the display device.
Regarding claim 17:
Maruyama in view of Bae, Pokrovosky and Chae disclose wherein the first light emitting layer includes a light emitting material that emits red light (see Chae, [0019]), the second light emitting layer includes a light emitting material that emits green light (see Chae [0019]), and the third light emitting layer includes a light emitting material that emits blue light (see Chae, [0019]).
one is thicker than the other filters (see Chae [0019]).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) with the teaching of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) Pokrovosky (US 20070284567 A1) and Chae, thereby enhance the picture quality in the display device.
4. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) in view of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) and further in view of Liu (US 20180136513 A1).
Regarding claim 10:
Maruyama in view of Bae does not specifically disclose the light emitting layer includes a light emitting material that emits white light.
Liu (US 20180136513 A1) discloses wherein the light emitting layer includes a light emitting material that emits white light (see [0103]).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) with the teaching of Bae (KR 20160086486) and Liu (US 20180136513 A1), thereby providing uniform pixel luminance in the display device.
5. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) in view of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) and further in view of Dai (CN 101819328 A).
Regarding claim 16:
Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) in view of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) does not specifically disclose wherein cover window is disposed between the display panel and the phase retardation plate.
Dai (CN 101819328 A) discloses wherein cover window (344, see Fig. 3) is disposed between the display panel (110) and the phase retardation plate (i.e. Quarter-wave plate 332) ([0075-0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) with the teaching of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) and Dai (CN 101819328 A), thereby improve the image quality in the display device..
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 18-20 are allowed.
Regarding claim 18:
The closest art of record Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) discloses an electric device Fig. 17-18) comprising:
an eyepiece (see Fig. 18D, page 1-2); and
a display module (see Fig. 14A, page 1-2) accommodating portion including a display module (display panel) that provides an image to the eyepiece (see the illustration of Fig.14A, also see 2003 in Fig. 18, see page 1-2), wherein the display module accommodating portion includes: a display panel () including: a silicon substrate (i.e. silicon substrate 30 in Fig. 3A, and 700 in Fig. 14A) including pixel areas (see Fig. 14A, pg 14 of 24, pg 23 of 41, see Fig. 17 , page 25 of 41 and pg 67 of 82, Fig. 2, pg 3 of 3);
a driving circuit layer (1003, see Fig. 17) disposed on the silicon substrate (Fig. 17, pg 1 of 3);
a light emitting layer (1016, Fig. 17) disposed on the driving circuit layer and extending over the pixel areas continuously (see Fig. 17, pg 1 of 1); and
a color filter disposed in the pixel areas on the light emitting layer (A color filter (not shown) in which a color layer and a radiation shielding layer are arranged corresponding to each pixel is provided on this opposing substrate. In addition, a radiation shield is provided on the portion of the drive circuit, see pg 1 of 4).
a phase retardation plate ((λ / 4 plate) disposed on the display panel ( circular polarizing means and a polarizing plate called a circular polarizing plate composed of a plate (λ / 4 plate) on the display panel, page 2 of 4) ; and
Bae discloses a wire grid polarizer (WGP) , display panel and including metal patterns spaced apart from each other at selectable intervals (see Fig. 8, page 1-4 of page 8) (The wide grid polarizer WGP is formed on the phase delay plate PR and specifically on the front face of the phase delay plate PR. The WGP includes a plurality of metal wires (WI). Each of the plurality of wires (WI) extends in a first direction on the surface of the phase retardar plate (PR), and is arranged to be spaced apart from each other).
Pokrovosky (US 20070284567 A1) discloses phase retardation plate (phase retarder plate on 140 (see [0119, 0170, 0183, 0194], Fig. 27, 13 ).
However, the closest art of record singly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitations “a first λ/4 phase retardation plate (PRP1) disposed between the wire grid polarizer (WGP) and the display panel (DP) and adjacent to the wire grid polarizer; a second λ/4 phase retardation plate (PRP2) disposed between the display panel and the eyepiece (10A, 10B); a reflective polarizer (RP) disposed between the second λ/4 phase retardation plate and the eyepiece; a third λ/4 phase retardation plate disposed between the reflective polarizer and the second λ/4 phase retardation plate; and a semi-transmissive plate (HM) disposed between the second λ/4 phase retardation plate and the third λ/4 phase retardation plate” (see Applicant’s disclosure [0128-0130], Fig. 18).
Responds to Applicant’s argument
7. Applicant’s argument filed on 03/10/2026 has been considered but are not persuasive. More specifically the Applicant argues that Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) in view of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) fails to discloses the claimed limitations as recited in claims 1 and 11.
In responds the Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s point of view. Note that the limitations are broadly recited in the claims. Examiner gives a broadest reasonable interpretation towards the claimed language as recited in the claims. Maruyama (KR 20030007208 A) in view of Bae (KR 20160086486 A) obviously teaches the limitations as recited in claim 1 and 11. See the discussion in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 above.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pertinent art of record
9. The pertinent art of record US 20070222515 A1discloses display device.
Inquiry
/SHAHEDA A ABDIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627