DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 7/9/26 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KATO et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0280550).
Referring to figures 1-8, KATO et al. teaches a semiconductor module, comprising:
a circuit board (22) includes a first conductive member (23) and a second conductive member (24) disposed thereon and a semiconductor element (3a/3b) mounted on the second conductive member (see figures 2-4); and
a lead (4a/4b) electrically connecting the semiconductor element (3a/3b) to the first conductive member (23), wherein
the lead (4a) includes a first bonding portion (4a) bonded to the first conductive member (3a) via a bonding material and a coupling portion (42) extending in a first direction from the first bonding portion (see figures 2-4), and
the first bonding portion (4a) has a first width end (40) and a second width end (41) that is opposite to the first width end and is connected to the coupling portion, and the lead has a first length side and a second length side opposite to each other in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see figures 2-4),
the lead (4a) has in the second direction, a first width at a first position and a second width at a second position, the first position being located in the bonding portion, the second position being located away from the first position in the first direction from the first width end toward the second width end (see figures 1-4), and
in the plan view, the lead (4a) has a shape in which the first width (40, horizontal portion) is greater than the second width (41) such that positions of the first and second length sides at the second position are respectively located inward in the second direction with respect to positions of the first and second length sides at the first position (see figures 2, 4).
Regarding to claim 2, the first bonding portion of the lead (40) has a rectangular shape in the plan view, and has the first width in the second direction, and the coupling portion has the second width in the second direction (see figures 1-4).
Regarding to claim 5, the semiconductor element (3a/3b) includes an electrode (3a), the lead (4a) further includes a second bonding portion bonded (41) to the electrode (3a) of the semiconductor element (3a) via a second bonding material (41), and the coupling portion (42) couples the first bonding portion (40) and the second bonding portion (41) to each other (see figure 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaune (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0048918) applied in claim(s) 1-2, 5 above in view of Kato et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0088575).
Referring to figures 1-8, KATO et al. teaches a semiconductor module, comprising:
a circuit board (22) includes a first conductive member (23) and a second conductive member (24) disposed thereon and a semiconductor element (3a/3b) mounted on the second conductive member (see figures 2-4); and
a lead (4a/4b) electrically connecting the semiconductor element (3a/3b) to the first conductive member (23), wherein
the lead (4a) includes a first bonding portion (4a) bonded to the first conductive member (3a) via a bonding material and a coupling portion (42) extending in a first direction from the first bonding portion (see figures 2-4), and
the first bonding portion (4a) has a first width end (40) and a second width end (41) that is opposite to the first width end and is connected to the coupling portion, and the lead has a first length side and a second length side opposite to each other in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see figures 2-4),
the lead (4a) has in the second direction, a first width at a first position and a second width at a second position, the first position being located in the bonding portion, the second position being located away from the first position in the first direction from the first width end toward the second width end (see figures 1-4), and
in the plan view, the lead (4a) has a shape in which the first width (40, horizontal portion) is greater than the second width (41) such that positions of the first and second length sides at the second position are respectively located inward in the second direction with respect to positions of the first and second length sides at the first position (see figures 2, 4).
However, the reference does not clearly teach a semiconductor device, a cooler disposed at a side of the circuit board opposite to a side of the circuit board where the semiconductor element is mounted (in claim 7) and a vehicle, comprising the semiconductor (in claim 8).
Kato et al. teaches a semiconductor device, a cooler (11) disposed at a side of the circuit board (13) opposite to a side of the circuit board where the semiconductor element (14) is mounted (see paragraph# 27, figure 1, meeting claim 7) and a vehicle, comprising the semiconductor (see paragraph 6 meeting claim 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a cooler disposed at a side of the circuit board opposite to a side of the circuit board where the semiconductor element is mounted and a vehicle in Nagaune as taught by Kato et al. because it is known in the art to improve reliability, reduces thermal cycling stress, and increase performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art teaches or suggests wherein each of the first length side and the second length side has a groove that is located at the first bonding portion of the lead and is recessed inward in the second direction in the plan view (in claim 3), or the first bonding portion of the lead includes a tapered portion, and a width in the second direction between the first length side and the second length side at a position in the tapered portion becomes smaller as the position in the tapered portion approaches the coupling portion (in claim 4).
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893