DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the encapsulating layer of Oh does not teach a first side and a second side opposite the first side with a conductive via in communication between the first side and the second side. This is not persuasive because the sides need not be planar as discussed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al US 2019/0139853.
Pertaining to claims 1 and 6, Oh teaches an electronic package, comprising:
a circuit portion having at least one insulating layer and a circuit layer bonded to the insulating layer, wherein the insulating layer 141 is defined with a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface, and the circuit layer 140 is exposed from the first surface of the insulating layer;
an electronic element 120+125 disposed on the first surface of the insulating layer of the circuit portion and electrically connected to the circuit layer;
an encapsulating layer 130 formed on the first surface of the insulating layer of the circuit portion and covering the electronic element, wherein the encapsulating layer is an Ajinomoto build-up film [0082] and is defined with a first side and a second side opposite to the first side; and
a wiring layer formed on the encapsulating layer, wherein the wiring layer is formed with at least one conductive via in the encapsulating layer, and the at least one conductive via is electrically connected to the circuit layer, wherein the first side of the encapsulating layer is in communication with the second side of the encapsulating layer by the at least one conductive via. See Figure 16 marked up below and note that the encapsulating layers second side is the side opposite the first side regardless of what plane or topology is present as “side” does not imply a specific shape or structure.
Pertaining to claims 2 and 7, Oh teaches the electronic package of claims 1 and 6, wherein the electronic element is a passive element. [0104] Oh teaches that alternatively to active elements, that 120 could be replaced with a passive component.
Pertaining to claims 3 and 8, Oh teaches the electronic package of claims 1 and 6, wherein the electronic element is electrically connected to the circuit layer via a plurality of conductive bumps. See [0086] (note bumps are not shown in Figure but taught in this paragraph)
Pertaining to claims 4 and 9, Oh teaches the electronic package of claims 1 and 6, wherein a material forming the encapsulating layer is different from a material forming the insulating layer. The encapsulating layer is ABF as indicated above, layer 141 is described as something else in paragraph [0095]
Pertaining to claims 5 and 10, Oh teaches the electronic package of claims 1 and 6, further comprising another wiring layer formed on the second surface of the insulating layer, wherein the another wiring layer is formed with at least one conductive blind via in the insulating layer, and the at least one conductive blind via is electrically connected to the circuit layer. See Figure 16 marked up below.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J TOBERGTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817