Detailed Action
This action is in response to amendments filed on 05/19/2026.
This action application was filed on 08/28/2023
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, and 13-23 are pending.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, and 13-23 are rejected.
Applicant's Response
In Applicant's Response dated 05/19/2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11-15, 17, added new claims 21-23, and 19-20, and canceled claims 2, 10, and 12. Applicant argued against various rejections previously set forth in the Office Action mailed on 01/20/2026.
In light of Applicant' s amendments and remarks, all rejections of claim under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth previously are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 05/04/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-9, 11, and 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 20240135455 A1, referred hereinafter as D1) in view of Katz et al. (US 20220147895 A1, referred hereinafter as D2) in view of Thomas (US 20050177499 A1, referred hereinafter as D3).
As per claim 1, D1 discloses,
A method for providing a resource allocation recommendation message to a user, the method comprising, (D1, title., 0042 discloses automatically allocating funds and providing alerts/messages to user accordingly.).
identifying, by user evaluation circuitry, a [past and/or expected future income] for the user, wherein the [past and/or expected future income] is associated with an event time frame during which the [past and/or expected income] is expected to be received, (D1, 0048 discloses system of D1 identifying/using a past and/or expected future income that is associated with the user, wherein the past and/or expected future income is also associated with an event time frame (e.g. past and future income expectations).).
and a default user account expected to receive [past and/or expected future income], (D1, 0049 discloses funds received in the spending account).
determining, by the user evaluation circuitry, a current resource metric set, wherein the current resource metric set comprises a first user account metric for the default account and a second account metric for an additional user account, (D1, figure 4, 0042, 0048-0049, 0054 discloses system of D1 receiving/determining a current resource metric set, wherein the current resource metric set comprises a first user account metric for the default account (e.g. spending/allocation amount for spending account) and a second account metric for an additional user account (e.g. various user accounts information allocations for saving account) including “For example, the financial information can be retrieved from the user's checking and savings accounts associated with one or more banking institutions. As another nonlimiting example, the processor may retrieve information from a third party application such as a financial planning application. The financial information can include without limitation past and present income, future expected income, credit history, asset history, investment history, tax history, savings history, spending habits, financial goals, student loan debt, housing debt, credit card debt, and other debts. Financial information can also include the user's self-reported financial agenda, such as a plan to buy a house, buy a car, save for an education, save for a wedding, save for children, getting a raise, getting a promotion, switching careers, taking a sabbatical, and other significant financial events. It is understood that other information besides financial information can be retrieved, such as marital status, children status, education status, employment status, geographic location, and zip code. It is also understood that this information can be provided the by the user's employer. As a nonlimiting example, the employer can provide information associated with the user's career, 401(k), health savings account (HSA), IRA accounts, 529 accounts, custodial accounts, other savings accounts, and other investment accounts”.).
generating, by the user evaluation circuitry and based on the [past/future income] and the current resource metric set, the resource allocation recommendation message, providing, by communications hardware, the resource allocation recommendation message to a user device of the user (D1, figure 4, 0042, 0048 discloses system of D1 receiving/determining a current resource metric set, wherein the current resource metric set comprises a user account metric set and a user contribution metric set (e.g. various user accounts information as noted in least paragraphs 0048) and generating, based on the past/future income information and the current resource metric set (e.g. spending limits, user self-reported agenda, buy house/car etc.), resource allocation to various old/new accounts and providing the resource allocation recommendation message/alert.).
D1 fails to expressly disclose - a predicted liquid asset influx… associated with event time frame.
D2 (0055-0058, 0076, figure 4) disclose generating a predicted liquid asset influx (cash inflow) associated with event time frame shown in figure 3, as well alerts/insights/recommendations to a user which additionally reads on allocation recommendation message comprises one or more resource allocation recommendations that are each associated with (i) a user account of the one or more user accounts associated with the user or a new user account type and (ii) a resource allocation value; and providing, by communications hardware, the resource allocation recommendation message.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have been obvious with predicable results of generating predicted inflow/outflow activity and accordingly providing actionable insights/recommendation to users based on the predicted inflow/outflow activities as disclosed by D2 (0076).
As noted above, D1 discloses the resource allocation recommendation message/alert provided to user via communication hardware as well as evaluation circuitry, however, D1 fails to express disclose - wherein the resource allocation recommendation message comprises a resource allocation recommendation identifying additional user account and (b) the resource allocation recommendation describes a resource allocation value corresponding to portion of the predicted liquid asset influx; [providing, the resource allocation recommendation message to a user device of the user] prior to event time frame; receiving user input authorizing the resource allocation recommendation; in response to receiving affirmative user input, monitoring, [by the user evaluation circuitry, for receipt of the predicated liquid asset influx in the default user account, and automatically rerouting, [by the user evaluation circuitry], the portion of the predicted liquid asset influx from the default user account to the additional account.
D3 (0044, 0048-0051) disclose/shows displaying recommendation message wherein the resource allocation recommendation message comprises a resource allocation recommendation identifying additional user account and (b) the resource allocation recommendation describes a resource allocation value corresponding to portion of the predicted liquid asset influx (e.g. messages indicates which account to pay and by how much based on user provided predicted influx of funds); [providing, the resource allocation recommendation message to a user device of the user] prior to event time frame (e.g. recommendation is provided funds deposited in user account 20); receiving user input authorizing the resource allocation recommendation (e.g. user accepting recommendation in automatic mode); in response to receiving affirmative user input, monitoring, [by the user evaluation circuitry, for receipt of the predicated liquid asset influx in the default user account, and automatically rerouting, [by the user evaluation circuitry], the portion of the predicted liquid asset influx from the default user account to the additional account.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D3 as noted above. This would have been obvious with predicable results of automatically transferring received funds between user accounts in order to achieve user’s financial goals as disclosed by D3 (abstract, 0005, 0006).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
determining, by the user evaluation circuitry and based on at one default account and the additional user account, one or more user contribution metrics for one or more contribution fields, wherein (i) the one or more user contribution metrics are included in the current resource metric set and (ii) generating the resource allocation recommendations is further based on the one or more user contribution metrics, (D1, figure 4-5, 0041-0042, 0048-0050 discloses system of D1 receiving/analyzing (see figure steps 410-430) one or more user accounts associated with a user profile/social media profile/user financial data that is associated with the user and determining based on the analysis of the one or more user accounts/financial information, one or more user contribution metrics for one or more contribution fields (e.g. user goals, spending limits etc.), wherein (i) the one or more user contribution metrics are included in the user contribution metric set and (e.g. user goals, spending limits etc.) and (ii) generating the one or more resource allocation recommendations is further based on the one or more user contribution metrics (e.g. alerts). Additionally, see D3 (0044, 0048-0051) also discloses above noted limitations.).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further comprising… by the communications hardware, a user account metric [retrieved from] a third-party entity, and receiving, by the communications hardware, a user account metric response, wherein (i) the user account metric response includes one or more user account metrics for one or more user accounts of the user associated with the third-party entity, (ii) the one or more received user account metrics are included the current resource metric set, (D1, 0040 discloses system of D1 retrieving financial data/metrics from a third party system, users, accounts wherein information includes financial information can include without limitation past and present income, future expected income, credit history, asset history, investment history, tax history, savings history, spending habits or patterns, financial goals, student loan debt, housing debt, credit card debt, and other debts. Spending habits or spending patterns can include how much is spent on certain products or services in a given pay period. For example, a spending pattern can reveal that the user spends fifty percent of their income on rent, twenty percent on food, ten percent on traveling, and twenty percent on other consumer goods. As another example, a spending habit can reveal that the user spends more of their income on gifts and traveling during the holiday season. Financial information can also include the user's self-reported financial agenda, such as a plan to buy a house, buy a car, save for an education, save for a wedding, save for children, getting a raise, getting a promotion, switching careers, taking a sabbatical, and other significant financial events. It is understood that other information besides financial information can be retrieved, such as marital status, children status, education status, employment status, geographic location, and zip code. It is also understood that this information can be provided the by the user's employer. As a nonlimiting example, the employer can provide information associated with the user's career, 401(k), health savings account (HSA), IRA accounts, 529 accounts, custodial accounts, other savings accounts, and other investment accounts. Additionally, see D3 (0044, 0048-0051) also discloses above noted limitations.).
and (ii) generating the resource allocation recommendation is further based on the one or more received user account metrics, (D1, figure 4-5, 0042, 0048-0050 discloses generating the one or more resource allocation recommendations/alerts is further based on the one or more received user account metrics (e.g. spending limits, user goals etc.). Additionally, see D3 (0044, 0048-0051) also discloses above noted limitations.).
D1 disclose communication hardware and third party system/entity; however, D1 fails to expressly disclose - further comprising; providing, a user account metric request to a third- party entity.
However, D2 (0026, 0071) disclose of using API to provide, a user account metric request to a third- party entity/banks in order retrieve historical financial data.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have been obvious with predicable results of generating predicted inflow/outflow activity and accordingly providing actionable insights/recommendation to users based on the predicted inflow/outflow activities as disclosed by D2 (0076).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further comprising: determining, by the user evaluation circuitry and based on the one or more received user account metrics, one or more user contribution metrics for one or more contribution fields, wherein (i) the one or more user contribution metrics are included in the current contribution metric set and (ii) generating the resource allocation recommendation is further based on the one or more user contribution metrics, (D1, figure 4-5, 0041-0042, 0048-0050 discloses system of D1 receiving/analyzing (see figure steps 410-430) one or more user accounts associated with a user profile/social media profile/user financial data that is associated with the user and determining, based on the one or more received user account metrics (e.g. financial data), one or more user contribution metrics (e.g. spending limits, user goals) for one or more contribution fields (e.g. users goals of buying house, car, savings, spending), wherein (i) the one or more determined user contribution metrics are included in the user contribution metric set (e.g. spending limit) and (ii) generating the one or more resource allocation recommendations (e.g. generating/creating accounts to allocate funds in and generate alerts) is further based on the one or more determined user contribution metrics (e.g. approaching spending limits alerts). Additionally, see D3 (0044, 0048-0051) also discloses above noted limitations.).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
wherein a total value of each recommended resource allocation value is equivalent to [past/future income/savings] …, (D1, figures 4-5, 0048-0050 discloses allocating funds to various accounts within constrains as determined or supplied by user which reads on and/or discloses use case scenarios of a total value of each recommended resource allocation value (e.g. saving assets in saving account based on significant financial event and among other accounts) is equivalent to past/future income/savings as disclosed.).
D1 fails to expressly disclose - the predicted liquid asset influx.
D2 (0055-0058, 0076, figure 4) disclose generating a predicted liquid asset influx (cash inflow) associated with event time frame shown in figure 3, as well alerts/insights/recommendations to a user which additionally reads on allocation recommendation message comprises one or more resource allocation recommendations that are each associated with (i) a user account of the one or more user accounts associated with the user or a new user account type and (ii) a resource allocation value; and providing, by communications hardware, the resource allocation recommendation message.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include the teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have been obvious with predicable results of generating predicted inflow/outflow activity and accordingly providing actionable insights/recommendation to users based on the predicted inflow/outflow activities as disclosed by D2 (0076).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
wherein at least one of default user account and the additional user account is a savings user account, a checking user account, a credit card user account, a user investment account, or a user loan account, (D1, figures 4-5, 0048-0050 discloses various accounts including savings/checking, credit, and/or 401k etc. Additionally, see D3 (0044, 0048-0051) also discloses above noted limitations.).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further comprising: generating, by the user evaluation circuitry, a forecast resource metric set, wherein (i) the forecast resource metric set comprises one or more forecast user account metrics, (ii) each forecast user account metric corresponds to a particular user account or contribution field, (iii) the one or more forecast user account metrics are determined based on a corresponding user account metric or user contribution metric and a corresponding recommended resource allocation value, and (iv) the resource allocation recommendation message further comprises the forecast resource metric set, (D1, figure 4-5, 0041-0042, 0048-0050 discloses system of D1 receiving/analyzing (see figure steps 410-430) one or more user accounts associated with a user profile/social media profile/user financial data that is associated with the user and generating, by the user evaluation circuitry, a forecast resource metric set (e.g. spending limit, approaching spending limit), wherein (i) the forecast resource metric set comprises one or more forecast user account metrics (e.g. approaching spending limit), (ii) each forecast user account metric corresponds to a particular user account or contribution field (e.g. spending limit approaching for spending account) , (iii) the one or more forecast user account metrics are determined based on a corresponding user account metric or user contribution metric (e.g. calculated spending limit) and a corresponding recommended resource allocation value (e.g. account allocation, calculated spending limit and alert), and (iv) the resource allocation recommendation message further comprises the forecast resource metric set (e.g. alert, where message is merely non-functional descriptive material). Furthermore, D2 (0055-0058, 0076, figure 4) disclose shown in figure 3, alerts/insights/recommendations to a user which additionally reads on above recited limitations.).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further comprising: generating, by the user evaluation circuitry, supplemental information for the resource allocation recommendation, wherein the supplemental information is indicative of a reason for the resource allocation recommendation and (ii) the resource allocation recommendation message further comprises the supplemental information, (D1, figure 4-5, 0041-0042, 0048-0050 discloses system of D1 receiving/analyzing (see figure steps 410-430) one or more user accounts associated with a user profile/social media profile/user financial data that is associated with the user and generating, by the user evaluation circuitry, supplemental information/alerts for the resource allocation recommendation/alerts/message, wherein the supplemental information is indicative of a reason for a resource allocation recommendation (e.g. alerts) and (ii) the resource allocation recommendation message further comprises the supplemental information), where content of the message is merely non-functional descriptive material. Furthermore, D2 (0055-0058, 0076, figure 4) disclose shown in figure 3, alerts/insights/recommendations to a user which additionally reads on above recited limitations).
As per claims 11, 13-23:
Claims 11, 13-23 are apparatus and medium claims corresponding to method claims 1, 3-9 and are of substantially same scope. Accordingly, claims 11, and 13-23 are rejected under the same rational as set forth for claims 1, 3-9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or moot in view of new/modified grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
See form 892.
/MUSTAFA A AMIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194