DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/25/2025.
New claims 21-25 are acknowledged and examined as being drawn to elected Group I.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 21 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Monadgemi (US-20240312919-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Monadgemi teaches a computing component (Fig.5C 590; ¶0049), comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig.5C 593; ¶0049); and
an unsingulated semiconductor package (Fig.5C 500; ¶0049) electrically coupled to the PCB (593), the unsingulated semiconductor package (500) comprising:
a plurality of integrated circuits (Fig.5C 515 and 517; ¶0050) provided on an unsingulated substrate segment (Fig.5C 510; ¶0050), the unsingulated substrate segment (510) comprising:
a first substrate segment (Fig.5C 501A; ¶0050);
a second substrate segment (Fig.5C 501B; ¶0050) adjacent the first substrate segment (501A); and
an unsingulated area (Fig.5C 535; ¶0050) provided between the first substrate segment (501A) and the second substrate segment (501B).
Regarding claim 2, Monadgemi teaches the computing component of claim 1, wherein the unsingulated substrate segment (510) is associated with a plurality of saw streets (535 is a saw street; ¶0050).
Regarding claim 4, Monadgemi teaches the computing component of claim 1, wherein:
a first integrated circuit (517 left) of the plurality of integrated circuits (515 and 517) is provided on the first substrate segment (501A);
a second integrated circuit (517 right) of the plurality of integrated circuits (515 and 517) is provided on the second substrate segment (501B); and
a third integrated circuit (Fig.2B 220C) of the plurality of integrated circuits (515 and 517) is provided on the unsingulated area (535).
Regarding claim 5, Monadgemi teaches the computing component of claim 1, wherein the unsingulated area (535) is associated with a saw street that was skipped during a semiconductor package singulation process (see Fig.6).
Regarding claim 6, Monadgemi teaches the computing component of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of integrated circuits (515 and 517) include one or more semiconductor dies (¶0021).
Regarding claim 7, Monadgemi teaches the computing component of claim 1, wherein the plurality of integrated circuits (515 and 517) are encapsulated by a single cover (Fig.5C 542; ¶0046).
Regarding claim 8, Monadgemi teaches the computing component of claim 1, wherein the unsingulated semiconductor package (500) is separated from a plurality of other unsingulated semiconductor packages (500) during a semiconductor package singulation process (see Fig.6).
Regarding claim 21, Monadgemi teaches an unsingulated semiconductor package (Fig.5C 500; ¶0049), comprising:
an unsingulated substrate segment (Fig.5C 510; ¶0050) comprising a first portion (Fig.5C 501A; ¶0050), a second portion (Fig.5C 501B; ¶0050) and a saw street (Fig.5C 535; ¶0050) provided between the first portion (501A) and the second portion (501B);
a first integrated circuit (Fig.5C 517; ¶0050) coupled to the substrate segment (510) such that at least a portion of the first integrated circuit (517) is on the first portion (501A); and
a second integrated circuit (Fig.5C 515; ¶0050) coupled to the substrate segment (510) such that at least a portion of the second integrated circuit (515) is provided on the saw street (535).
Regarding claim 23, Monadgemi teaches the unsingulated semiconductor package of claim 21, further comprising a plurality of connection mechanisms (Fig.5C 541; ¶0047) provided on a surface of the unsingulated substrate segment (510).
Regarding claim 24, Monadgemi teaches the unsingulated semiconductor package of claim 21, further comprising a molding compound (Fig.5C 542; ¶0046) that encapsulates the first integrated circuit (517) and the second integrated circuit (515).
Rergarding claim 25, Monadgemi teaches the unsingulated semiconductor package of claim 21, wherein the saw street (535) that is provided between the first portion (501A) and the second portion (501B) was skipped during a substrate singulation process (see Fig.6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monadgemi.
Regarding claim 3, Monadgemi teaches the computing component of claim 2.
Monadgemi does not teach wherein each of the plurality of saw streets have a width between 0.25 millimeters (mm) and 1.3 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to form the saw street within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Claim(s) 14-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monadgemi in view of Paek (US-20240274578-A1).
Regarding claim 14, Monadgemi teaches a device (Fig.5C 500; ¶0049), comprising:
a substrate (Fig.5C 510; ¶0050) having at least one saw street (Fig.5C 535; ¶0050) that separates the substrate into first (Fig.5C 501A; ¶0050) and second (Fig.5C 501B; ¶0050) adjacent sections;
a plurality of dies (Fig.5C 515 and 517; ¶0050) provided on a first surface (top surface) of the substrate (510), wherein the plurality of memory dies (515 and 517) includes a first memory die (517 left) mounted on the first section (501A), a second memory die (517 right) mounted on the second section (501B), and a third memory die (515) mounted in an area between the first (501A) and second (501B) sections and spanning the at least one saw street (535);
means for electrically connecting (Fig.5C 512; ¶0046) the plurality of dies (515 and 517) to the substrate (510);
means for encapsulating (Fig.5C 542; ¶0046) the plurality of dies (515 and 517); and
external electrical connection means (Fig.5C 541; ¶0047) attached to a second surface (bottom surface) of the substrate (510) opposing the first surface (top surface) of the substrate (510), the external electrical connection means (541) allowing the device to be connected to host device (Fig.5C 593; ¶0049).
Monadgemi does not explicitly teach wherein the device is a memory device and the dies are memory dies.
Paek teaches a device comprising NAND memory dies (Fig.1 104; ¶0012 of Paek) thyat are electrically connected to a substrate (Fig.1 106; ¶0012 of Paek) with wires (Fig.1 128; ¶0013 of Paek).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the dies (515 and 517 of Monadgemi) to be memory dies (104 of Paek) and for the dies to be connected via wires (128 of Paek) instead of solder balls (512 of Monadgemi) to arrive at the claimed invention. These differences are obvious because they are well-known alternatives to the components taught by Monadgemi and are simply a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 15, the aforementioned combination of Monadgemi in view of Paek from claim 14 teaches the memory device of claim 14, wherein the electrically connecting means comprise bond wires (126 of Paek can easily substitute 512 of Monadgemi).
Regarding claim 16, the aforementioned combination of Monadgemi in view of Paek from claim 14 teaches the memory device of claim 14.
The aforementioned combination does not teach wherein the at least one saw street has a width between 0.25 millimeters (mm) and 1.3 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to form the saw street within the claimed range, since it has been held by the Federal circuit that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Regarding claim 17, the aforementioned combination of Monadgemi in view of Paek from claim 14 teaches the memory device of claim 14, wherein the memory dies comprise NAND dies (¶0012 of Paek).
Regarding claim 18, the aforementioned combination of Monadgemi in view of Paek from claim 14 teaches the memory device of claim 14, wherein the at least one saw street (535 of Monadgemi) is a saw street that was skipped during a semiconductor package singulation process (see Fig.6 of Monadgemi).
Regarding claim 19, the aforementioned combination of Monadgemi in view of Paek from claim 14 teaches the memory device of claim 14, wherein the encapsulating means comprises a mold compound (¶0046 of Monadgemi).
Regarding claim 20, the aforementioned combination of Monadgemi in view of Paek from claim 14 teaches the memory device of claim 14, wherein the external electrical connection means comprises solder balls (¶0047 of Monadgemi).
Regarding claim 22, Monadgemi teaches the unsingulated semiconductor package of claim 21.
Monadgemi does not teach wherein at least one of the first integrated circuit and the second integrated circuit is a memory die.
Paek teaches a device comprising NAND memory dies (Fig.1 104; ¶0012 of Paek) thyat are electrically connected to a substrate (Fig.1 106; ¶0012 of Paek) with wires (Fig.1 128; ¶0013 of Paek).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the dies (515 and 517 of Monadgemi) to be memory dies (104 of Paek) and for the dies to be connected via wires (128 of Paek) instead of solder balls (512 of Monadgemi) to arrive at the claimed invention. These differences are obvious because they are well-known alternatives to the components taught by Monadgemi and are simply a matter of design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (US-20250157922-A1 and US-20240112971-A1).
/T.J.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817