Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 7, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 7-14, 16, and 18- 20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, 7-14, 16, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0064527) in view of Guotong et al. (CN 113825235) and further in view of Huang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0323932 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura teaches “[a]n apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to indicate to a network a capability of the apparatus to support simultaneous multi- panel transmission in an uplink control channel to the network” (see ¶¶ [0213] and [0236]; UE may transmit (report) at least one of UE capabilities (UE capability information including whether to support scheme 1 for UL (PUCCH) transmission; where scheme 1 is simultaneously transmission of the PUCCH (i.e., uplink control channel) on the basis of the spatial relation by using a plurality of coherent panels (i.e., simultaneous multi- panel transmission in an uplink control channel in an uplink control channel to the network));
Matsumura further teaches “determine a transmission scheme to be applied to the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel” (see ¶¶ [0156] and [0214]; the UE may perform (i.e., determine), in accordance with the new RRC configuration, repetitive transmissions of one PUCCH at the same time (i.e., the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel) to which SDM is applied, and repetitive PUCCH transmissions to which SDM is applied may be interpreted as repetitive PUCCH transmissions to which TDM/FDM (i.e., transmission scheme) is applied (i.e., UE determines transmission scheme to be applied));
Matsumura further teaches “determine time-frequency resources for the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel based on the determined transmission scheme” (see ¶ [0156]; UE may assume that the repetitive PUCCH transmissions to which SDM is applied (i.e., the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel based on the determined transmission scheme) are scheduled for the same time/frequency resources (i.e., UE determines time-frequency resources for the simultaneous multi-panel transmission)); and
Matsumura further teaches “perform the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel using the time-frequency resources” (see ¶¶ [0156] and [0213]; the UE may perform (i.e., determine), in accordance with the new RRC configuration, repetitive transmissions of one PUCCH at the same time (i.e., the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel) to which SDM is applied, and repetitive PUCCH transmissions to which SDM is applied may be interpreted as repetitive PUCCH transmissions to which TDM/FDM (i.e., transmission scheme) is applied (i.e., UE determines transmission scheme to be applied); UE simultaneously transmits the PUCCH (i.e., the uplink control channel); thus, the UE simultaneously transmits the uplink control channel using the time-frequency resources);
Matsumura also teaches “receive a configuration of the uplink control channel; receive information indicating that the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel is performed via two simultaneous uplink transmissions from the apparatus” (see ¶¶ [0156] and [0214]; in accordance with a new RRC configuration (i.e., UE receives a configuration) the UE performs repetitive transmissions of one PUCCH; thus, the received configuration is of the uplink control channel; and the configuration information indicates PUCCH resources may be configured together with two TCI states/spatial relations; in DMRS transmission for a PUCCH, the UE may assume that two indicated TCI states/spatial relations are applied to each DMRS port for the PUCCH; thus, the received information indicates two simultaneous uplink transmissions from the UE (i.e., the apparatus));
Matsumura also teaches “determine the transmission scheme based on an indication that frequency domain multiplexing is applied to the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel” (see ¶¶ [0156], [0213], and [0214]; in accordance with a new RRC configuration the UE performs repetitive transmissions of one PUCCH (i.e., simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel); UE simultaneously transmits the PUCCH on the basis of the spatial relation by using a plurality of coherent panels; repetitive PUCCH transmissions (i.e., simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel) to which SDM is applied may be interpreted as repetitive PUCCH transmissions to which TDM/FDM (i.e., frequency domain multiplexing) is applied; thus, the UE determines to apply FDM for the simultaneous uplink control channel transmission based on information indicated in the received configuration).
Matsumura further teaches “when the frequency domain multiplexing is applied to the simultaneous multi- panel transmission in the uplink control channel, determine the time-frequency resources for the two simultaneous uplink transmissions” of claim 5 (see ¶ [0156]; UE may assume that the repetitive PUCCH transmissions to which SDM is applied (i.e., the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel) are scheduled for the same time/frequency resources).
Matsumura does not explicitly disclose that the time-frequency resources for the two simultaneous uplink transmissions is “based on format of the uplink control channel for the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel; and when the uplink control channel is in physical uplink control channel formats 0, 1, or 4, apply one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on one resource block frequency resource indicated in the configuration of the uplink control channel, and apply the other one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on a next resource block lower in frequency or on a resource block with a predefined distance in resource blocks” as recited in claim 5. However, the foregoing limitations are well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Guotong teaches “based on format of the uplink control channel for the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel” (see p. 9, lines 8, 9, 18, and 19; the UE may encode and multiplex multiple PUCCH repetitions targeting multiple TRPs on one or more PUCCH resources (i.e., the time-frequency resources) based on PUCCH repetition related configuration information; The PUCCH repetition related configuration information may be configured at the PUCCH (the uplink control channel) format level; thus, the UE determines the uplink control channel resources (time-frequency resources) based on the uplink control channel format level associated with the configuration information).
Guotong further teaches “when the uplink control channel is in physical uplink control channel formats 0, 1, or 4, apply one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on one resource block frequency resource indicated in the configuration of the uplink control channel, and apply the other one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on a next resource block . . . in frequency or on a resource block with a predefined distance in resource blocks” (see FIG. 2 and p. 8, lines 14-16; FIG. 2 shows information element of PUCCH with format 0, 1, or 4 (i.e., the uplink control channel can be in physical uplink control channel formats 0, 1, or 4), and a single PUCCH resource is used for FDM-based PUCCH repetition, the PUCCH format of the PUCCH resource should support multiple consecutive physical resource blocks (PRBs); a first part of the divided PRB can be one resource block frequency resource indicated in the configuration of the uplink control channel and the other part of the divided PRB can be next resource block in frequency or on a resource block with a predefined distance in resource blocks; thus, when the uplink control channel is in physical uplink control channel formats 0, 1, or 4, UE applies one resource block frequency resource for one of simultaneous uplink transmissions of the uplink control channel and apply the other one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on a next resource block in frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Guotong to determine the time-frequency resources based on the format level of the uplink control channel and apply one resource block frequency resource for one of simultaneous uplink transmissions of the uplink control channel and apply the other one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on a next resource block in frequency when PUCCH format is one of 0, 1, or 4. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance the simultaneous transmission through multiple spatial relationships or UE antenna panels (p. 8, lines 9 – 11 of Guotong).
The combination of Matsumura and Guotong does not explicitly disclose that the next resource block is “lower in frequency” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations are well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Huang teaches the next resource block is “lower in frequency” (see ¶ [0071]; UE transmits PUCCH (uplink transmissions) in a first set of RBs (resource block) in a first frequency and a second set of different RBs (next resource block) in a second frequency, and the second frequency is located at a lowest frequency (i.e., lower in frequency) in the PUCCH region; thus, the uplink transmission is on a next resource block lower in frequency). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura in view of Guotong to incorporate the teachings of Huang to apply the other one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on a next resource block lower in frequency when PUCCH format is one of 0, 1, or 4. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve efficiency of resources consumed in uplink transmission (¶¶ [0005] and [0061], of Huang).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Matsumura, Guotong, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches “when the frequency domain multiplexing is not applied to the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel, apply the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on same time-frequency resources for the simultaneous multi- panel transmission in the uplink control channel” (see ¶¶ [0156], [0213], and [0214] of Matsumura; repetitive PUCCH transmissions (i.e., simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel) to which SDM is applied may be interpreted as repetitive PUCCH transmissions to which TDM/FDM (i.e., frequency domain multiplexing) is applied; thus, UE is configured to interpret as TDM is applied (i.e., when the frequency domain multiplexing is not applied); UE may assume that the repetitive PUCCH transmissions (the simultaneous multi-panel transmission in the uplink control channel) to which SDM is applied are scheduled for the same time/frequency resources).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Matsumura, Guotong, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein in case of frequency hopping, comprising a first hop occasion and a second hop occasion, on the uplink control channel, the second hop occasion is the next resource block lower or higher in frequency” (see p. 8, lines 18-20 of Guotong; FDM-based PUCCH repetition utilizing multiple PUCCH resources (i.e., frequency hopping); when multiple PUCCH resources are used for FDM-based PUCCH repetition, the multiple PUCCH resources may occupy contiguous or non-contiguous PRBs (i.e., next resource block lower or higher in frequency)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Guotong to have a second hop occasion to be the next resource block lower or higher in frequency in case of frequency hopping comprising a first hop occasion and a second hop occasion. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance the simultaneous transmission through multiple spatial relationships or UE antenna panels (p. 8, lines 9 – 11 of Guotong).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Matsumura, Guotong, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and further teaches “when the uplink control channel is in physical uplink control channel formats 2 or 3, apply one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on first half of frequency resource indicated in the configuration of the uplink control channel, and apply the other one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on second half of frequency resource indicated in the configuration of the uplink control channel” (see FIGS. 2 and 13, and p. 8, lines 14-16; FIG. 2 shows information element of PUCCH with format 2 or 3 (i.e., the uplink control channel is in physical uplink control channel formats 2 or 3), As shown in FIG. 13 , the PRB can be equally divided into multiple parts corresponding to multiple PUCCH repetitions; thus, UE applies apply one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on first half of frequency resource and apply the other one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on second half of frequency resource). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Guotong to apply one of the two simultaneous uplink transmissions on first half of frequency resource indicated in the configuration of the uplink control channel, and apply the other on second half of frequency resource indicated in the configuration of the uplink control channel when PUCCH format is 2 or 3. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance the simultaneous transmission through multiple spatial relationships or UE antenna panels (p. 8, lines 9 – 11 of Guotong).
Claims 9-14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Apple (“Views on UL precoding indication for multi-panel simultaneous PUSCH” R1-2207325, publication date: August 12, 2022), further in view of Cheng et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0053721), further in view of Lenovo (“UL precoding indication for multi-panel transmission”, R1-2206214, published on August 12, 2022), and further in view of Huang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0323932 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura teaches “[a]n apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform receiving a message from a network regarding an uplink resource” (see ¶ [0156]; in accordance with the new RRC configuration, UE performs repetitive transmissions of one PUCCH at the same time to which SDM is applied; thus, UE receives new RRC configuration (i.e., receiving a message from a network), and the RRC message indicates the uplink resources for PUCCH).
Matsumura does not explicitly disclose “wherein the message comprises an explicit indication regarding frequency domain multiplexing, wherein the message comprises at least one of a triggering of the uplink resource or an activation of the uplink resource; determining whether frequency domain multiplexing is used from the explicit indication; and communicating on the uplink resource based on the determination; determining an interpretation of a frequency domain allocation based on the explicit indication, wherein the communicating on the uplink resources is further based on the interpretation; and when the uplink resource has a configuration without a number of physical resource blocks, transmitting on a first occasion in a first resource block frequency allocation on one panel of the apparatus, and transmitting on another panel on a next occasion, wherein the transmitting on another panel comprises transmitting on a resource block with a predefined distance from the first resource block frequency allocation or on next resource block lower in frequency” of claim 9. However, the foregoing limitations are known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Apple teaches “wherein the message comprises an explicit indication regarding frequency domain multiplexing” (see section 3.1, p. 6, lines 27 and 28; a PUCCH resource configuration (i.e., the message) is tagged with FDM-A, or FDM-B, or SFN in RRC configuration);
Apple further teaches “determining whether frequency domain multiplexing is used from the explicit indication” (see section 3.1, p. 6, lines 29 and 30; once that PUCCH resource in selected, UE is indicated to perform STxMP for PUCCH transmission, subject to UE capability, with the corresponding scheme; thus, UE determines the frequency domain multiplexing is used from the explicit indication); and
Apple also teaches “communicating on the uplink resource based on the determination” (see section 3.1, p. 6, lines 29 and 30; UE is indicated to perform STxMP for PUCCH transmission (i.e., communicating on the uplink resource), subject to UE capability, with the corresponding scheme (i.e. based on the determination) once that PUCCH resource in selected); and
Apple further teaches “determining an interpretation of a frequency domain allocation based on the explicit indication, wherein the communicating on the uplink resources is further based on the interpretation” (see p. 6, lines 26-28 of Apple; for simultaneous transmission of PUCCH over multi-panel using a single DCI, the STxMP scheme indication can be as part of RRC PUCCH resource configuration, a PUCCH resource configuration is tagged with FDM-A, or FDM-B, or SFN in RRC configuration; thus, UE interprets the explicit indication tagged with PUCCH resource configuration and transmits (i.e., communicates) accordingly (i.e., based on that interpretation)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Apple to explicitly indicate frequency domain multiplexing, determine whether the explicitly indicated FDM is used, and accordingly communicate on the uplink resource. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink control channel (see p. 6, lines 18 and 19 of Apple).
The combination of Matsumura and Apple does not explicitly disclose “wherein the message comprises at least one of a triggering of the uplink resource or an activation of the uplink resource” and “when the uplink resource has a configuration without a number of physical resource blocks, transmitting on a first occasion in a first resource block frequency allocation on one panel of the apparatus, and transmitting on another panel on a next occasion, wherein the transmitting on another panel comprises transmitting on a resource block with a predefined distance from the first resource block frequency allocation or on next resource block lower in frequency” of claim 9. However, the foregoing limitation is known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Cheng teaches “wherein the message comprises at least one of a triggering of the uplink resource or an activation of the uplink resource” (see ¶ [0071]; base station uses a MAC CE (i.e., message) to activate a PUCCH spatial relation, and the MAC CE includes (i.e., comprises) an octet for PUCCH resource ID, where the PUCCH resource ID indicates a PUCCH (i.e., the uplink resource) of the configured PUCCH resources; thus, the message comprises at least one of a triggering of the uplink resource or an activation of the uplink resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura in view of Apple to incorporate the teachings of Cheng to have the message trigger or activate the uplink resource. The suggestion to do so would have been to reduce signaling waste in wireless communications network (see ¶ [0004] of Cheng).
The combination of Matsumura, Apple, and Cheng does not explicitly disclose “when the uplink resource has a configuration without a number of physical resource blocks, transmitting on a first occasion in a first resource block frequency allocation on one panel of the apparatus, and transmitting on another panel on a next occasion, wherein the transmitting on another panel comprises transmitting on a resource block with a predefined distance from the first resource block frequency allocation or on next resource block lower in frequency” of claim 9. However, the foregoing limitations are known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Lenovo teaches “when the uplink resource has a configuration without a number of physical resource blocks, transmitting on a first occasion in a first resource block frequency allocation on one panel of the apparatus, and transmitting on another panel on a next occasion, wherein the transmitting on another panel comprises transmitting on a resource block with a predefined distance from the first resource block frequency allocation or on next resource block . . . in frequency” (see p. 4, lines 11-15; for FDM based STxMP PUSCH, the following two frequency allocation schemes of PRBs; The first
n
P
R
B
2
PRBs are determined as the first set of PRBs for the PUSCH transmission for a first panel and the remaining
n
P
R
B
2
PRBs are determined as the second set of PRBs for the PUSCH transmission for a second panel; thus, transmitting on a first occasion in a first resource block frequency allocation on another panel on a next occasion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura in view of Apple and further in view of Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Lenovo to transmit on an allocation of resource blocks. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink transmission (see p. 3, lines 6 and 7).
The combination of Matsumura, Apple, Cheng, and Lenovo does not explicitly disclose the next resource block is “lower in frequency” of claim 9. However, the foregoing limitations are known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Huang teaches the next resource block is “lower in frequency” (see ¶ [0071]; transmissions on a first set of RBs (resource block) in a first frequency and a second set of different RBs (next resource block) in a second frequency, and the second frequency is located at a lowest frequency (i.e., lower in frequency) in the PUCCH region; thus, the transmission on a next resource block lower in frequency). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura in view of Apple, and in further view of Cheng and Lenovo to incorporate the teachings of Huang to transmit on a next resource block lower in frequency when PUCCH format is one of 0, 1, or 4. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve efficiency of resources consumed in uplink transmission (¶¶ [0005] and [0061], of Huang).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Matsumura, Apple, Cheng, Lenovo, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the message comprises a configuration command for the uplink resource” (see section 3.1, p. 6, lines 29 and 30; UE is indicated to perform STxMP for PUCCH transmission, subject to UE capability, with the corresponding scheme (i.e., triggering of a configuration command for the uplink resource)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Apple to have the message comprise a configuration of the uplink resource. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink control channel (see p. 6, lines 18 and 19 of Apple).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Matsumura, Apple, Cheng, Lenovo, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the explicit indication is provided as one bit of a physical uplink control channel resource configuration” (see p. 6, lines 13 and 14 of Apple; two spatial relation info’s (PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo) indicated via one bit in PUCCH resource configuration). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Apple to use a bit field for the explicit indication. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink control channel (see p. 6, lines 18 and 19 of Apple).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Matsumura, Apple, Cheng, Lenovo, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 11, and further teaches “wherein the physical uplink control channel resource configuration configures a periodic physical uplink control channel resource” (see p. 6, lines 16 of Apple; number of repetitions is more than 2, PUCCH mapping to beam can be cyclic (i.e., periodic); thus, the PUCCH can be periodic). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Apple to have a periodic PUCCH. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink control channel (see p. 6, lines 18 and 19 of Apple).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Matsumura, Apple, Cheng, Lenovo, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the explicit indication is provided as one bit of a control element of a medium access control message” (see p. 6, lines 13 and 14 of Apple; two spatial relation info’s (PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo) can be activated via MAC CE (i.e., a control element of a medium access control message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Apple to indicate via MAC CE. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink control channel (see p. 6, lines 18 and 19 of Apple).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Matsumura, Apple, Cheng, Lenovo, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the determining whether frequency domain multiplexing is used comprises interpreting a one-bit flag in the message” (see p. 6, lines 13, 14, and 26-28 of Apple; two spatial relation info’s (PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo) can be activated via MAC CE; for simultaneous transmission of PUCCH over multi-panel using a single DCI, the STxMP scheme indication can be as part of RRC PUCCH resource configuration, a PUCCH resource configuration is tagged with FDM-A, or FDM-B, or SFN in RRC configuration; thus, UE interprets a bit field to apply FDM based on the associated information element). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Apple to interpret a 1-bit flag to determine whether FDM is applied. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink control channel (see p. 6, lines 18 and 19 of Apple).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Matsumura, Apple, Cheng, Lenovo, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the determining the interpretation further comprises determining the interpretation according to a format of a physical uplink control channel” (see p. 6, lines 22-23 of Apple; two FDM-ed PUCCH transmission occasion of the same UCI with the same PUCCH format are transmitted from two different UE panels; thus, FDM interpretation is based on the PUCCH format). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Apple to interpret FDM based on format of a physical uplink control channel. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink control channel (see p. 6, lines 18 and 19 of Apple).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Matsumura, Apple, Cheng, Lenovo, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and further teaches “wherein the transmitting on another panel comprises transmitting on a next resource block in frequency” (see p. 4, lines 11-15 of Lenovo; for FDM based STxMP PUSCH, the following two frequency allocation schemes of PRBs; The first
n
P
R
B
2
PRBs are determined as the first set of PRBs for the PUSCH transmission for a first panel and the remaining
n
P
R
B
2
PRBs are determined as the second set of PRBs for the PUSCH transmission for a second panel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura in view of Apple to incorporate the teachings of Lenovo to transmit on an allocation of resource blocks. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink transmission (see p. 3, lines 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Matsumura, Apple, Cheng, Lenovo, and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and further teaches “when the uplink resource has a configuration including a number of physical resource blocks, interpreting, as the interpretation of a frequency domain allocation, a first half of the number of physical resource blocks as corresponding to a first occasion on one panel of the apparatus, and a second half of the number of physical resource blocks as corresponding to a second occasion on another panel of the apparatus” see p. 4, lines 11-15 of Lenovo; for FDM based STxMP PUSCH, the following two frequency allocation schemes of PRBs; The first
n
P
R
B
2
PRBs are determined as the first set of PRBs for the PUSCH transmission for a first panel and the remaining
n
P
R
B
2
PRBs are determined as the second set of PRBs for the PUSCH transmission for a second panel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura in view of Apple to incorporate the teachings of Lenovo to transmit on an allocation of resource blocks. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink transmission (see p. 3, lines 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 20, Matsumura teaches “[a]n apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform providing a message to a user equipment regarding an uplink resource” (see ¶ [0156]; in accordance with the new RRC configuration, UE performs repetitive transmissions of one PUCCH at the same time to which SDM is applied; thus, UE receives new RRC configuration (i.e., transmitting a message from a network to the UE), and the RRC message indicates the uplink resources for PUCCH);
Matsumura does not explicitly disclose “wherein the message comprises an explicit indication regarding frequency domain multiplexing, wherein the message comprises at least one of a triggering of the uplink resource or an activation of the uplink resource; and receiving communication from the user equipment on the uplink resource based on the explicit indication; and when the uplink resource has a configuration without a number of physical resource blocks, receiving on a first occasion in a first resource block frequency allocation on one panel of the apparatus, and receiving on another panel on a next occasion, wherein the receiving on another panel comprises receiving on a resource block with a predefined distance from the first resource block frequency allocation or on next resource block lower in frequency” of claim 20. However, the foregoing limitation is known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Apple teaches “wherein the message comprises an explicit indication regarding frequency domain multiplexing; and receiving communication from the user equipment on the uplink resource based on the explicit indication” (see section 3.1, p. 6, lines 27-30; a PUCCH resource configuration (i.e., the message) is tagged with FDM-A, or FDM-B, or SFN in RRC configuration; UE is indicated to perform STxMP for PUCCH transmission (i.e., receive communication from UE on the uplink resource), subject to UE capability, with the corresponding scheme (i.e. based on the explicit indication) once that PUCCH resource in selected)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura to incorporate the teachings of Apple to explicitly indicate frequency domain multiplexing, and receive communication on the uplink resource based on the explicit indication. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink control channel (see p. 6, lines 18 and 19 of Apple).
The combination of Matsumura and Apple does not explicitly disclose “wherein the message comprises at least one of a triggering of the uplink resource or an activation of the uplink resource” and “when the uplink resource has a configuration without a number of physical resource blocks, receiving on a first occasion in a first resource block frequency allocation on one panel of the apparatus, and receiving on another panel on a next occasion, wherein the receiving on another panel comprises receiving on a resource block with a predefined distance from the first resource block frequency allocation or on next resource block lower in frequency” of claim 20. However, the foregoing limitation is known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Cheng teaches “wherein the message comprises at least one of a triggering of the uplink resource or an activation of the uplink resource” (see ¶ [0071]; base station uses a MAC CE (i.e., message) to activate a PUCCH spatial relation, and the MAC CE includes (i.e., comprises) an octet for PUCCH resource ID, where the PUCCH resource ID indicates a PUCCH (i.e., the uplink resource) of the configured PUCCH resources; thus, the message comprises at least one of a triggering of the uplink resource or an activation of the uplink resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura in view of Apple to incorporate the teachings of Cheng to have the message trigger or activate the uplink resource. The suggestion to do so would have been to reduce signaling waste in wireless communications network (see ¶ [0004] of Cheng).
The combination of Matsumura, Apple, and Cheng does not explicitly disclose “when the uplink resource has a configuration without a number of physical resource blocks, receiving on a first occasion in a first resource block frequency allocation on one panel of the apparatus, and receiving on another panel on a next occasion, wherein the receiving on another panel comprises receiving on a resource block with a predefined distance from the first resource block frequency allocation or on next resource block lower in frequency” of claim 20. However, the foregoing limitations are known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Lenovo teaches “when the uplink resource has a configuration without a number of physical resource blocks, receiving on a first occasion in a first resource block frequency allocation on one panel of the apparatus, and receiving on another panel on a next occasion, wherein the receiving on another panel comprises receiving on a resource block with a predefined distance from the first resource block frequency allocation or on next resource block . . . in frequency” (see p. 4, lines 11-15; for FDM based STxMP PUSCH, the following two frequency allocation schemes of PRBs (i.e., the uplink resource is configured without an explicit number of physical resource blocks); The first
n
P
R
B
2
PRBs are determined as the first set of PRBs for the PUSCH transmission for a first panel and the remaining
n
P
R
B
2
PRBs are determined as the second set of PRBs for the PUSCH transmission for a second panel; thus, when the uplink resource has a configuration without a number of physical resource blocks, receiving on a first occasion in a first resource block frequency allocation on another panel on a next occasion). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura in view of Apple and further in view of Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Lenovo to transmit on an allocation of resource blocks. The suggestion to do so would have been to enhance transmission of uplink transmission (see p. 3, lines 6 and 7).
The combination of Matsumura, Apple, Cheng, and Lenovo does not explicitly disclose the next resource block is “lower in frequency” of claim 9. However, the foregoing limitations are known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Huang teaches the next resource block is “lower in frequency” (see ¶ [0071]; transmissions (and its corresponding receptions) on a first set of RBs (resource block) in a first frequency and a second set of different RBs (next resource block) in a second frequency, and the second frequency is located at a lowest frequency (i.e., lower in frequency) in the PUCCH region; thus, the reception is on a next resource block lower in frequency). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Matsumura in view of Apple, and in further view of Cheng and Lenovo to incorporate the teachings of Huang to transmit on a next resource block lower in frequency when PUCCH format is one of 0, 1, or 4. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve efficiency of resources consumed in uplink transmission (¶¶ [0005] and [0061], of Huang).
Conclusion
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475