DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is a response to the applicant amendment and remarks filed August 4th, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Thorsoe US 2014/0210265 A1 (“Thorsoe”).
As to claim 1, Thorsoe discloses a power device comprising:
a housing defining a first support operable to support a first battery pack, and a second support operable to support a second battery pack (Figure 2 or Paragraph 37 – e.g., multiple recesses or compartments for battery packs);
a motor receiving power across a phase of the motor from at least one of the first battery pack and the second battery pack (Figure 2 or Paragraph 39 – e.g., an “apparatus” including a motor); and
a circuit selectively electrically connecting the first battery pack and the second battery pack to the motor (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 38-39), the circuit including:
a first motor drive circuit connecting the first battery pack to the motor (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 38-39 – e.g., necessary in discharging a battery pack to power an apparatus),
a second motor drive circuit connecting the second battery pack to the motor (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 38-39 – e.g., necessary in discharging a second battery pack to power an apparatus), and
an output terminal to provide at least one of a first power output of the first battery pack and a second power output of the second battery pack to the motor, wherein the first power output is provided to the motor based on a first characteristic of the first battery pack and the second power output is provided to the motor based on a second characteristic of the second battery pack (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 38-39 – e.g., selective battery pack discharge according to various criteria).
As to claim 2, Thorsoe discloses the device of claim 1. Thorsoe further discloses wherein the circuit is configured to selectively electrically connect the first battery pack and the second battery pack with the motor in at least one of a series-type connection and a parallel-type connection (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 38-39 – e.g., battery pack discharge is necessarily carried out using either a series or parallel connection).
As to claim 3, Thorsoe discloses the device of claim 1. Thorsoe further discloses wherein the circuit is configured to selectively electrically connect the first battery pack and the second battery pack with the motor in at least one of a series-type connection and a parallel-type connection based on the first characteristic of the first battery pack and the second characteristic of the second battery pack (Figure 2 or Paragraphs 38-39 – e.g., battery pack selection according to various criteria, battery pack discharge is necessarily carried out using either a series or parallel connection).
As to claim 5, Thorsoe discloses the device of claim 1. Thorsoe further discloses wherein the first characteristic of the first battery pack and the second characteristic of the second battery pack are selected from a group consisting of: a nominal voltage, a capacity, and a state of charge (Paragraph 38 – e.g., different criteria).
As to claim 6, Thorsoe discloses the device of claim 5. Thorsoe further discloses wherein the first battery pack has a first state of charge, and the second battery pack has a second state of charge different than the first state of charge (Paragraph 38 – e.g., discharge status and other battery attributes included among different criteria, Paragraphs 37-41 – e.g., cells with different types and/or statuses may be used).
As to claim 7, Thorsoe discloses the device of claim 5. Thorsoe further discloses wherein the first battery pack has a first capacity and a first nominal voltage, and the second battery pack has a second capacity and a second nominal voltage, and wherein at least one of the second capacity or the second nominal voltage is different than the first capacity or the first nominal voltage (Paragraph 38 – e.g., discharge status, capacity size, and other battery attributes included among different criteria, Paragraphs 37-41 – e.g., cells with different types and/or statuses may be used).
Claims 9-11, 13-17, and 19 recite elements similar to claims 1-3 and 5-7, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorsoe.
As to claim 4, Thorsoe discloses the device of claim 1. Thorsoe further discloses that the apparatus receiving power has a specific run time associated with battery pack types (Paragraph 40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to account for run times while selecting battery packs and for the circuit to be configured to selectively electrically connect the first battery pack and the second battery pack with the motor in at least one of a series-type connection and a parallel-type connection to provide a defined power output to the motor based on a defined runtime of the motor because doing so would allow the apparatus to more predictable schedule and/or manage the battery discharge process.
Claims 12 and 18 recite elements similar to claim 4, and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorsoe as applied to claims 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Syouda US 2017/0098940 A1 (“Syouda”).
As to claim 8, Thorsoe discloses the device of claim 1, including providing power to a device from a plurality of batteries. Thorsoe does not explicitly disclose the additional elements of claim 8. However, the missing element is well known in the art because while disclosing a charge management system, Syouda teaches the use of a DC/D converter which is used to connect for an auxiliary battery (Syouda Figure 1 or Paragraphs 36-41) and used for charge leveling (Syouda Figure 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a DC-DC converter bypass element because doing so would allow the device to connect to additional sources of power, provide charge leveling, or provide additional functionality.
Claim 20 recites elements similar to claim 8, and is rejected for the same reasons.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and remarks filed 8/4/26 have been considered. After consideration of the amendment and arguments, the examiner has found that the prior art still discloses the elements of the claims. Therefore, the previous rejections have been maintained above, with additional explanation below.
Regarding claim 1, and similar elements in claims 9 and 15, the applicant argued that the prior art Thorsoe does not disclose first and second motor drive circuits associated with first and second battery packs. The examiner responds that Thorsoe Figure 2 or Paragraphs 38-39 discloses discharging multiple battery packs at different times in order to power an apparatus. This necessarily means that there is a drive circuit which is able to provide power to the motor from a first battery pack and a drive circuit which is able to provide power to the motor from a second battery pack. The examiner notes that as presented in the claims, there is no requirement that the drive circuits contain no overlapping elements, and/or the wires/connections from each battery pack to the discharge output may be considered a “drive circuit”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYCE M AISAKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851