DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed March 31, 2026. Claims 2, 4, 11, and 19 have been cancelled without prejudice. Claims 1, 3, 5-10, 12-18 and 20 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 31, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to independent claim 1, applicant’s arguments, on pages 5-6 of the Remarks, that the previously applied prior art fails to disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as newly amended, have been fully considered and are appreciated. However, the arguments are not persuasive. Namely, Hamilton et al. discloses all of the limitations of newly amended claim 1, except, the outer sleeve shroud has at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance. However, Hamilton et al. does disclose a material with at least two areas, wherein each of the at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance (see e.g. paragraphs [0139], [0263] for use of different reflectance areas). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hamilton et al. with the outer sleeve shroud has at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) ).
Similar arguments apply to independent claims 10 and 18.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, applicant’s arguments, on pages 6-7 of the Remarks, that the previously applied prior art rejection fails to disclose all of the limitations of claims 7 and 15 have been fully considered and are appreciated. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Namely, applicant argues that the Gibson reference discloses an opposite design approach for accommodating cam pins inside an erector system. Applicant further asserts Gibson’s solution “to cut open and enlarge the surrounding tube”. However, first, it is noted that the claim language requires the outer sleeve shroud to be positioned so as not to impede the cam pins. Having a larger opening satisfies that claim language of preventing impeding of the cam pins. Further, Figure 5 discloses “a surrounding retainer sleeve 70” which may be considered the outer sleeve shroud and satisfies the claim language.
Therefore, claims 1, 3, 5-10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected as set forth below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an outer sleeve shroud coupled to the cam sleeve, wherein the outer sleeve shroud has a material with at least two areas, wherein each of the at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton et al. (US 2019/0324260 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Hamilton et al. discloses a viewing optic comprising (see e.g. Figures 1b,c):
a main body 38 (denoted “body”, see e.g. paragraph [0171] and Figure 1c) having an objective lens system 54 (denoted “objective lens”, see e.g. paragraph [0171] and Figure 1c) and an ocular lens system 56 (denoted “eyepiece”, see e.g. paragraph [0171 and Figure 1c);
an erector tube 14 (denoted “optical system”, see e.g. paragraph [0173]-[[0175] and Figure 1c) with an erector lens assembly 25 (denoted “erector system”, see e.g. paragraph [0173] and Figure 1c) located between the objective lens system 54 and the ocular lens system 56 (see e.g. Figure 1c);
a cam sleeve coupled to the erector tube 14 (see e.g. paragraph [0207] for cam tube around erector tube);
an outer sleeve shroud (see e.g. paragraph [0207] for “erector sleeve”) coupled to the cam sleeve (see e.g. paragraph [0207]), wherein the outer sleeve shroud has a material with at least two areas (see e.g. paragraph [0207] for “erector sleeve” and note that it may be divided into multiple areas),and
an active display for generating an image (see e.g. paragraph [0012] for integrated active display for generating and projecting an image).
Hamilton et al. fails to disclose
the outer sleeve shroud has at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance.
However, Hamilton et al. does disclose
a material with at least two areas, wherein each of the at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance (see e.g. paragraphs [0139], [0263] for use of different reflectance areas). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hamilton et al. with the outer sleeve shroud has at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hamilton et al. with the outer sleeve shroud has at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance.
Providing the portion of the riflescope with the two areas having different optical properties on the outer sleeve shroud would allow for a reflective material to be used to track magnification changes as a magnification lever is moved.
In regard to claim 3, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the material with at least two areas has four areas with each of the four areas having a different optical absorption or reflectance (see e.g. paragraph [0139] for four sections of different reflectivity).
In regard to claim 5, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein each of the at least two areas corresponds to a magnification setting (see e.g. paragraph [0139]).
In regard to claim 6, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
a photosensor configured to measure the optical absorption/reflectance from the material with at least two areas (see e.g. paragraph [0030]).
In regard to claim 8, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the active display is selected from the group consisting of: a transmissive active matrix LCD display (AMLCD), an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display, a Light-Emitting Diode (LED) display, a e-ink display, a plasma display, a segment display, an electroluminescent display, a surface-conduction electron-emitter display, and a quantum dot display (see e.g. paragraph [0060]).
In regard to claim 9, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the image generated by the active display is selected from the group consisting of: text, alpha-numeric, graphics, symbols, video imagery, icons, active target reticles, range measurements, wind information, GPS and compass information, firearm inclination information, target finding, recognition and identification (ID) information, external sensor information, temperature, pressure, humidity, real time ballistic solutions, and next round ballistic correction through in-flight tracer round detection and tracking (see e.g. paragraph [0021]).
In regard to claim 10, Hamilton et al. discloses a viewing optic comprising (see e.g. title and abstract, Figures 1b,c):
a main body 38 having an objective lens system 54 and an ocular lens system 56 (denoted “eyepiece”, see e.g. paragraph [0171]);
an erector tube (see e.g. paragraphs [0173]-[0175]) with an erector lens assembly 25 located between the objective lens system 54 and the ocular lens system 56 (see e.g. Figure 1c);
a cam sleeve coupled to the erector tube 14 (see e.g. paragraph [0207] for cam tube around erector tube);
an outer sleeve shroud (see e.g. paragraph [0207] for “erector sleeve”) coupled to the cam sleeve (see e.g. paragraph [0207]),
wherein the outer sleeve shroud has a material with at least two areas (see e.g. paragraph [0207] for “erector sleeve” and note that it may be divided into multiple areas).
Hamilton et al. fails to disclose
wherein each of the at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance.
However, Hamilton et al. does disclose
a material with at least two areas, wherein each of the at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance (see e.g. paragraphs [0139], [0263] for use of different reflectance areas). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hamilton et al. with the outer sleeve shroud has at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hamilton et al. with the outer sleeve shroud has at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance.
Providing the portion of the riflescope with the two areas having different optical properties on the outer sleeve shroud would allow for a reflective material to be used to track magnification changes as a magnification lever is moved.
In regard to claim 12, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 10 above, and
wherein the material with at least two areas has four areas with each of the four areas having a different optical absorption or reflectance (see e.g. paragraph [0139] for four sections of different reflectivity).
In regard to claim 13, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 10 above, and
wherein each of the at least two areas corresponds to a magnification setting (see e.g. paragraph [0139]).
In regard to claim 14, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 10 above, and
a photosensor configured to measure the optical absorption/reflectance from the material with at least two areas (see e.g. paragraph [0030]).
In regard to claim 16, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 10 above, and
wherein the active display is selected from the group consisting of: a transmissive active matrix LCD display (AMLCD), an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display, a Light-Emitting Diode (LED) display, a e-ink display, a plasma display, a segment display, an electroluminescent display, a surface-conduction electron-emitter display, and a quantum dot display (see e.g. paragraph [0060]).
In regard to claim 17, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 10 above, and
wherein the image generated by the active display is selected from the group consisting of: text, alpha-numeric, graphics, symbols, video imagery, icons, active target reticles, range measurements, wind information, GPS and compass information, firearm inclination information, target finding, recognition and identification (ID) information, external sensor information, temperature, pressure, humidity, real time ballistic solutions, and next round ballistic correction through in-flight tracer round detection and tracking (see e.g. paragraph [0021]).
In regard to claim 18, Hamilton et al. discloses an viewing optic comprising(see e.g. title and abstract, Figures 1b,c):
a main body 38 having an objective lens system 54 and an ocular lens system 56 (denoted “eyepiece”, see e.g. paragraph [0171]);
an erector tube (see e.g. paragraphs [0173]-[0175]) with an erector lens assembly 25 located between the objective lens system 54 and the ocular lens system 56 (see e.g. Figure 1c);
a cam sleeve coupled to the erector tube 14 (see e.g. paragraph [0207] for cam tube around erector tube);
an outer sleeve shroud (see e.g. paragraph [0207] for “erector sleeve”) coupled to the cam sleeve (see e.g. paragraph [0207]) and
an active display for generating an image (see e.g. paragraph [0012] for integrated active display for generating and projecting an image), wherein the generated image is combined into an image of the outward scene in a first focal plane located between the objective lens system and the erector lens assembly (see e.g. paragraphs [0013], [0015], [0016]).
Hamilton et al. fails to disclose
the outer sleeve shroud having a material with a gradient grayscale and having at least two areas, wherein each of the at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance.
However, Hamilton et al. does disclose a portion with a gradient grayscale and having at least two areas, wherein each of the at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance (see e.g. paragraphs [0139], [0263], [0269] for cam sleeve, material of gradient grayscale with multiple areas of different absorption/reflectance). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hamilton et al. with the outer sleeve shroud having a material with a gradient grayscale and having at least two areas, wherein each of the at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hamilton et al. with the outer sleeve shroud having a material with a gradient grayscale and having at least two areas, wherein each of the at least two areas has a different optical absorption or reflectance.
Providing the portion of the riflescope with the two areas having different optical properties on the outer sleeve shroud would allow for a reflective material to be used to track magnification changes as a magnification lever is moved.
In regard to claim 20, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 18 above, and
wherein each of the at least two areas corresponds to a magnification setting (see e.g. paragraph [0139]).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton et al. (US 2019/0324260 A1) in view of Gibson (US 4,643,542).
In regard to claim 7, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the outer sleeve shroud is positioned so as not to impede cam pins inside the erector system.
However, Gibson discloses (see e.g. Figure 3):
wherein the outer sleeve shroud 70 (see e.g. Figure 5, Column 5, lines 40-49) is positioned is positioned so as not to impede cam pins 42 inside the erector system (see e.g. Column 4, line 38-Column 5 line 10).
Given the teachings of Gibson, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hamilton et al. with wherein the outer sleeve shroud is positioned so as not to impede cam pins inside the erector system.
Providing the surround materials of the device/outer sleeve shroud so as not impede cam pins would allow for improved focus adjustment of the device (see e.g. Column 2, lines 18-29 of Gibson).
In regard to claim 15, Hamilton et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 10 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the outer sleeve shroud is positioned so as not to impede cam pins inside the erector system.
However, Gibson discloses (see e.g. Figure 3):
wherein the outer sleeve shroud 70 (see e.g. Figure 5, Column 5, lines 40-49) is positioned so as not to impede cam pins 42 inside the erector system (see e.g. Column 2, line 38-Column 3 line 10).
Given the teachings of Gibson, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hamilton et al. with wherein the outer sleeve shroud is positioned so as not to impede cam pins inside the erector system.
Providing the surround materials of the device/outer sleeve shroud so as not impede cam pins would allow for improved focus adjustment of the device (see e.g. Column 2, lines 18-29 of Gibson).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871