DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: POWER SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE WITH FLEXIBLE PCB CONNECTED TO BASE METAL SHEET
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11776890. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as explained below:.
Regarding claim 1 of current application, it is taught by claim 1 of US Patent No. 11776890. Referring to claim 1 of US Patent No. 11776890 (see Col. 10, line 35 – Col. 11, line 2), it teaches
a power semiconductor device for a vehicle, the power semiconductor device (see Col. 10, line 36 –37) comprising:
a plurality of power semiconductors arranged in a first subset of power semiconductors and a second subset of power semiconductors (see Col. 10, line 38-40);
a base metal sheet comprising a first base metal sheet and second base metal sheet, each of the first and second base metal sheets being electrically isolated from each other (see Col. 10, line 41-44); and
a one-layer flexible printed circuit board (PCB) between the base metal sheet and the power semiconductors (see Col. 10, line 45-47), the one-layer flexible PCB comprising a plurality of conductive pads separated from each other (see Col. 10, line 51-52),
wherein each of the power semiconductors comprises a first power pad on a side facing the flexible PCB (see Col. 10, line 49-50), and
wherein one side of a first one of the conductive pads is electrically connected to the first power pad of one of the power semiconductors in the first subset of power semiconductors and the opposite side of the first one of the conductive pads is electrically connected to the first base metal sheet (see Col. 10, line 53-58),
wherein one side of a second one of the conductive pads is electrically connected to the first power pad of one of the power semiconductors in the second subset of power semiconductors and the opposite side of the second one of the conductive pads is electrically connected to the second base metal sheet (see Col. 10, line 59-64).
Regarding claim 2 of current application, it is also taught by claim 1 of US Patent No. 11776890. Referring to claim 1 of US Patent No. 11776890 (see Col. 10, line 35 – Col. 11, line 2), it teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising
a top metal sheet (see Col. 10, line 48),
wherein each of the power semiconductors comprises a second power pad on a side facing away from the flexible PCB (see Col. 10, line 65-67), and
wherein the top metal sheet is electrically connected to the second power pad of the power semiconductors (see Col. 11, line 1-2).
Claim 3 of present application is substantially the same as claim 2 of US Patent No. 11776890.
Claim 4 of present application is substantially the same as claim 3 of US Patent No. 11776890.
Claim 5 of present application is substantially the same as claim 4 of US Patent No. 11776890
Claim 6 of present application is substantially the same as claim 5 of US Patent No. 11776890
Claim 7 of present application is substantially the same as claim 6 of US Patent No. 11776890
Claim 8 of present application is substantially the same as claim 7 of US Patent No. 11776890
Claim 9 of present application is substantially the same as claim 8 of US Patent No. 11776890
Claim 10 of present application is substantially the same as claim 9 of US Patent No. 11776890
Claim 11 of present application is substantially the same as claim 10 of US Patent No. 11776890
Claim 12 of present application is substantially the same as claim 13 of US Patent No. 11776890
Claim 14 of present application is substantially the same as claim 11 of US Patent No. 11776890
Claim 15 of present application is substantially the same as claim 12 of US Patent No. 11776890
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kratzer (US 20210360788), hereinafter Kratzer, in view of Jiang (US 20150296622), hereinafter Jiang.
Regarding claim 1, Kratzer (refer to markup of Figure 9 below, also see Figure 2-9) teaches a power semiconductor device for a vehicle (para 1-2), the power semiconductor device comprising:
a plurality of power semiconductors (28, described as “semiconductor switch 28” in para 63, best seen in Figure 9) arranged in a first subset (SS-1 in the markup of Figure 9) of power semiconductors (28) and a second subset (SS-2 in the markup of Figure 9) of power semiconductors (28);
a base metal sheet (34, described as “flat part 34” for connecting to cables in para 68-69, also see para 22 that describes flat part may be formed of copper) comprising a first base metal sheet (BMS-1 in the markup of Figure 9) and second base metal sheet (BMS-2 in the markup of Figure 9), each of the first and second base metal sheets being electrically isolated from each other (due to gaps labelled GAP-1 and GAP-2 in the markup of Figure 9); and
a printed circuit board (PCB) [comprising 2 and also 8 and 12, see para 55; also see para 56-57] between the base metal sheet (34) and the power semiconductors (28), the PCB comprising a plurality of conductive pads (8 and 12, see Figure 9 and para 56-57) separated from each other (best seen in Figure 9),
wherein each of the power semiconductors comprises a first power pad (30’, described as contact pads 30′ of 28 in para 64, best seen in detail of Figures 5a-b) on a side facing the flexible PCB (best seen in Figure 9), and
wherein one side of a first one of the conductive pads (8) is electrically connected (through “vias 14” and contact pads 20/22/24 described in para 70) to the first power pad of one of the power semiconductors in the first subset (SS-1 of the markup of Figure 9) of power semiconductors (28) and the opposite side of the first one of the conductive pads is electrically connected to the first base metal sheet (para 70),
wherein one side of a second one of the conductive pads (12) is electrically connected (through “vias 14” and contact pads 20/22/24 described in para 70) to the first power pad of one of the power semiconductors (28) in the second subset (SS-2 of the markup of Figure 9) of power semiconductors and the opposite side of the second one of the conductive pads is electrically connected to the second base metal sheet (BMS-2 in the markup of Figure 9).
Kratzer teaches a generic PCB and does not specifically teach that the PCB (comprising 2) is a “one-layer flexible” PCB. Jiang (US 20150296622) teaches a semiconductor device teaching that electrical connections may be made by a board that is one layer or more layers (para 56, last sentence), and that use of PCBs that are one-layer flexible PCBs for electrical connections is known in the art (para 58). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Kratzer so that the PCB (comprising 2) is specifically a “one-layer flexible” PCB. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kratzer for at least the purpose of using a PCB that can be deformed or bent in assembly unlike a regular PCB and is economical due to being a one-layer board, while still meeting interconnection needs.
Regarding claim 9, Kratzer (refer to the markup of Figure 9, also see Figure 2-9) teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein each of the conductive pads (8) of the flexible PCB (comprising 2) connected to the power semiconductors (28) in the first subset (SS-1) of power semiconductors is electrically isolated (due to gaps labelled GAP-1 and GAP-2 in markup of Figure 9) from each of the conductive pads (12) of the flexible PCB (comprising 2) connected to the power semiconductors (28) in the second subset (SS-2) of power semiconductors.
Regarding claim 10, Kratzer (refer to the markup of Figure 9, also see Figure 2-9) teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 9,
wherein each of the conductive pads (8) of the flexible PCB (comprising 2) connected to the power semiconductors (28) in the first subset (SS-1 in markup of Figure 9) of power semiconductors is electrically connected to the first power pad (30’; see para 64) of the power semiconductors in the first subset (SS-1 in markup of Figure 9) of power semiconductors and to the first base metal sheet (BMS-1 in the markup of Figure 9), and
wherein each of the conductive pads (30’; see para 64) of the flexible PCB (comprising 2) connected to the power semiconductors (28) in the second subset (SS-2 in markup of Figure 9) of power semiconductors is electrically connected to the first power pad (30’; see para 64) of the power semiconductors (28) in the second subset (SS-2 in markup of Figure 9) of power semiconductors (28) and to the second base metal sheet (BMS-2 in the markup of Figure 9).
Regarding claim 12, Kratzer (refer to the markup of Figure 9, also see Figure 2-9) teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first base metal sheet (BMS-1 in the markup of Figure 9) and the second base metal sheet (BMS-2 in the markup of Figure 9) are separated by a gap (labelled GAP-1 or GAP-2 in markup of Figure 9), and wherein the flexible PCB (comprising 2) extends over (best seen in markup of Figure 9) the gap.
Regarding claim 13, Kratzer (refer to the markup of Figure 9, also see Figure 2-9) teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the flexible PCB (comprising 2) and the first one of the conductive pads (8) are both in direct contact (noting the 8 is part of flexible PCB, as explained for claim 1) with the first base metal sheet (BMS-1 in the markup of Figure 9), and
wherein the flexible PCB (comprising 2) and the second one of the conductive pads (12) are both in direct contact (again, noting the 12 is part of flexible PCB, as explained for claim 1) with the second base metal sheet (BMS-1 in the markup of Figure 9).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kratzer and Jiang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Minamio (US 20130056885), hereinafter Minamio.
Regarding claim 11, Kratzer (refer to the markup of Figure 9, also see Figure 2-9) teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a heat sink (HS in the markup of Figure 9) but does not teach that the heat sink is on a side of the base metal sheet (34) “facing away from the flexible PCB”, noting that which is also the side of the base metal sheet (34) that is facing away from the power semiconductors (28). Minamio (US 20130056885) (refer to Figure 1) teaches that to dissipate heat from a power semiconductor (12, see para 27 and 33) electrically connected (para 33) to a base metal sheet (1, para 27, see Figure 1), it is known to attach a heat sink (14, para 27), such that the heat sink is on a side of the base metal sheet facing away from the power semiconductor (see Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Kratzer to further add a heat sink such that the heat sink is on a side of the base metal sheet (34) “facing away from the flexible PCB”. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kratzer for at least the purpose of providing increased dissipation of heat by providing an additional heat sink that extends the surface area for heat dissipation in a direction away from the power semiconductors, thus pulling heat away from the power semiconductors more effectively.
Claims 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kratzer and Jiang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of IDS reference Tazarine (US 20170094790), hereinafter Tazarine.
Regarding claims 14-15, Kratzer (refer to the markup of Figure 9, also see Figure 2-9) teaches the power semiconductor device of claim 1 and it’s application to motor vehicles (para 3), but does not teach “A vehicle” (as recited in claim 15) comprising “a battery system comprising a battery control unit electrically connected to” the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein “the battery control unit is configured to control the power semiconductor device” (as recited in claim 14). Tazarine teaches a battery system (para 13) suitable for a vehicle (para 1) comprising a battery control unit (para 13-14) electrically connected to a power semiconductor device (Fig. 11C; also see para 122-123), wherein the battery control unit is configured to control the power semiconductor device (see para 102 and 122). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Kratzer to employ the power semiconductor device of claim 1 in a vehicle comprising a battery system comprising a battery control unit electrically connected to the power semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the battery control unit is configured to control the power semiconductor device. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kratzer for at least the purpose of using the power semiconductor device of Kratzer that can satisfy current requirements of a high-current circuits, that are used in motor vehicle applications (para 3 of Kratzer).
Regarding claims 2, no prior art rejection is being provided and as such, claim 2 (and it’s dependent claims 3-8) may be allowable if the Double Patenting rejections outlined above for claims 2-8 are overcome. There is no prior art in view of which it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Kratzer to have “second power pad on a side facing away from the flexible PCB” in conjunction with “a top metal sheet” such that “the top metal sheet is electrically connected to the second power pad of the power semiconductor” (as required by claim 2).
Conclusion
/AJAY ARORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892