Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “a third region disposed on a side, away from the first region, of the second region” is unclear as to what it means. The limitation “away from the first region, of the second region” is unclear as to what region of the second region it is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moser et al., US 20190148217.
Regarding claim 1, Moser discloses (figs. 1A-1I and related text) a composite substrate (14), comprising: a substrate (10); and a plurality of strengthening structures (12) disposed within the substrate at intervals (fig. 1D), wherein a material of the plurality of strengthening structures is a poly-crystal material (12a can be Si3N4 which polycrystalline material) material ([0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Moser discloses Moser discloses (refer to fig. below) the substrate comprises a first region (below the line) and a second region (above the line) stacked in a vertical direction (fig. 1D), the plurality of strengthening structures completely disposed in the first region (fig. below).
Regarding claim 3, Moser discloses (fig. above) the plurality of strengthening structures (12) penetrate through the first region (fig. above).
Regarding claim 4, Moser discloses wherein a material of the substrate is single-crystal silicon ([0017]).
Regarding claim 5, Moser discloses the material of the plurality of strengthening structures is silicon nitride ([0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Moser discloses a shape of projection of the plurality of strengthening structures on a plane where the substrate is located comprises any one of a polygon (fig. 1D, [0020]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-12, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser et al.
Regarding claim 7, Moser does not disclose a quantity of the plurality of strengthening structures per unit area gradually increases from a center to an edge; or a size of the plurality of strengthening structures gradually increases from the center to the edge.
Parameters such as quantity of structures or size of the structures in the art of semiconductor process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characterization during fabrication.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize appropriate number of the strengthening structures or size of the structures as claimed to meet the requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, Moser discloses a thickness of one of the plurality of strengthening structures is 100 nm.
However, Moser does not disclose a thickness of one of the plurality of strengthening structures ranges from 1 to 100 nm.
Parameters such as the thickness of the structures in the art of semiconductor process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characterization during fabrication.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize appropriate thickness of the strengthening structures as claimed to meet the requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, as best the examiner is able to ascertain the claimed invention, Moser does not disclose a third region disposed on a side, away from the first region, of the second region, wherein the plurality of strengthening structures comprise a first strengthening structure disposed between the first region and the second region, and a second strengthening structure disposed between the third region and the second region.
Adding or repeating the same structure in the art of semiconductor process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characterization during fabrication.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the second strengthening structures as claimed to meet the requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 10, as best the examiner is ablet to ascertain the claimed invention Moser does not disclose a projection area of the second strengthening structure on a plane where the substrate is located completely overlaps, or partially overlaps, or completely does not overlap with a projection area of the first strengthening structure on the plane where the substrate is located.
Arranging strengthening structures in the art of semiconductor process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characterization during fabrication.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first strengthening structures as claimed to meet the requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, as best the examiner is able to ascertain the claimed invention, Moser does not disclose shapes of projection of the first strengthening structure and the second strengthening structure on a plane where the substrate is located comprise any one of a polygon, a circle, an ellipse, a strip, and a mesh.
Shapes of first and second strengthening structures in the art of semiconductor process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characterization during fabrication.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize appropriate shapes of the first and second strengthening structures as claimed to meet the requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 12, as best the examiner is able to ascertain the claimed invention, Moser does not disclose the shapes of projection of the first strengthening structure and the second strengthening structure on the plane where the substrate is located are different.
Shapes of the projection of first and second strengthening structures in the art of semiconductor process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the desired device characterization during fabrication.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize appropriate shapes of the projection of the first and second strengthening structures as claimed to meet the requirements of the particular design, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. /n re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 13-15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Degroote et al., EP 2317554 in view of Moser et al.
Regarding claim 13, Degroote discloses (figs. 1A-1C, 2 and related text) a semiconductor device structure (10), a nucleation layer (4), a buffer layer (5) and an active layer (6), wherein the nucleation layer, the buffer layer and the active layer are disposed a substrate (11) in sequence (fig. 1A), and the active layer is a high- electron-mobility transistor [0048].
Degroote does not disclose a semiconductor device comprising: a composite substrate.
Moser discloses a composite substrate (14), comprising: a substrate (10); and a plurality of strengthening structures (12) disposed within the substrate at intervals (fig. 1D), wherein a material of the plurality of strengthening structures is a poly-crystal material (12a can be Si3N4 which polycrystalline material) material ([0022]) in order to provide mechanical stability during the process of forming the semiconductor device [0003].
Degroote and Moser are analogous art because they both are directed to a semiconductor device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Degroote with the specified feature of Moser because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Degroote to include the composite substrate as taught by Moser in order to provide mechanical stability during the process of forming the semiconductor device [0003].
Regarding claim 14, Degroote as modified by Moser discloses the semiconductor device structure is a high-electron-mobility transistor [0048], and the active layer comprises a GaN channel (7) layer and an AlGaN barrier layer ([0048]) stacked in sequence, and a source electrode (42), a drain electrode (42), and a gate electrode (41) disposed on the AlGaN barrier layer (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Degroote as modified by Moser discloses the semiconductor device structure is a light-emitting diode [0049], the active layer comprises an N-type semiconductor layer [0049], a multiple quantum well stack layer [0049].
Degroote as modified by Moser does not explicitly disclose a P-type semiconductor layer stacked in sequence, a cathode disposed on the N-type semiconductor layer, and an anode disposed on the P-type semiconductor layer.
However, the above structures are essential elements for functioning light emitting diode device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, on the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust modified structure of Degroote and Moser to include a P-type semiconductor layer stacked in sequence, a cathode disposed on the N-type semiconductor layer, and an anode disposed on the P-type semiconductor layer because a functioning light emitting diode requires such element for the proper functioning of the device.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811