DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 21 January 2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: SEMICONDUCTOR MEMORY DEVICE INCLUDING BACKSIDE TRANSISTORS
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “...the plurality of upper transistors include an upper page buffer transistor that is connected to a corresponding one among the plurality of channel structures via the third through electrode, and wherein the plurality of lower transistors include a lower page buffer transistor that is connected to corresponding another among the plurality of channel structure” is unclear and contains several grammatical errors. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, the phrase will be interpreted as “...the plurality of upper transistors includes an upper page buffer transistor that is connected to a corresponding channel structure via the third through electrode, and wherein the plurality of lower transistors includes a lower page buffer transistor that is connected to a different corresponding channel structure”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 20240215273 A1, hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding Claim 1 - Yang discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first substrate having a first surface and a second surface facing opposite the first surface (3006 [0521] and Fig. 30G); a stack structure disposed on the first surface of the first substrate (3092 [0520] and Fig. 30G), and including a plurality of interlayer insulating layers (308 [0139] and Fig. 3A) and a plurality of horizontal wiring layers (306 [0139] and Fig. 3A) that are alternately stacked (Fig. 3A), and a plurality of channel structures that pass through the plurality of interlayer insulating layers and the plurality of horizontal wiring layers (320 [0140] and Fig. 3A); a plurality of upper transistors on the second surface of the first substrate (3061 and 3063 [0524] and Fig. 30G); and a logic structure disposed on the stack structure, and including a plurality of lower transistors (3081 and 3083 [0527] and Fig. 30G).
Regarding Claim 2 - Yang further discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of upper transistors include an upper pass transistor (Peripheral circuits can include any circuits to facilitate memory cell operation, [0122], and apply pass voltage [0177]), which is connected to a corresponding one among the plurality of horizontal wiring layers (word lines [0177]), and the plurality of lower transistors include a lower pass transistor (Peripheral circuits can include any circuits to facilitate memory cell operation, [0122], and apply pass voltage [0177]), which is connected to corresponding another among the plurality of horizontal wiring layers (word lines [0177]).
Regarding Claim 3 - Yang further discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the stack structure further includes: first and second contact plugs (CP1 and CP2, annotated Fig. 30G), each of which is connected to a corresponding one among the plurality of horizontal wiring layers (Fig. 30G); and a first through electrode passing through the stack structure (EL1, annotated Fig. 30G), wherein the upper pass transistor is connected to the first contact plug via the first through electrode (Annotated Fig. 30G), and wherein the lower pass transistor is connected to the second contact plug (Annotated Fig. 30G).
Regarding Claim 10 - Yang further discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein at least one among the plurality of upper transistors and the plurality of lower transistors includes a plurality of page buffer transistors ([0122], [0524], [0527]), which are connected to the plurality of channel structures (Fig. 30G).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 20240215273 A1, hereinafter “Yang”), in view of Choi (US 20240040791 A1, hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding Claim 4 - Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Yang further discloses an interface between the logic structure and the stack structure (3007, Yang [0523] and Fig. 30G); and a plurality of upper pads between the plurality of intermediate interconnections and the interface, wherein the logic structure further includes a second substrate (3008, Yang [0523] and Fig. 30G), and wherein the logic structure is bonded onto the stack structure (Yang Fig. 30G).
Yang fails to disclose a plurality of intermediate interconnections between the stack structure and the interface, a plurality of lower interconnections between the second substrate and the interface, and a plurality of lower pads between the plurality of lower interconnections and the interface.
However, Choi discloses a plurality of intermediate interconnections between the stack structure and the interface (41 and 43 , Choi [0059] and Fig. 6A), a plurality of lower interconnections between the second substrate and the interface (31 and 33, Choi [0054] and Fig. 6A), and a plurality of lower pads between the plurality of lower interconnections and the interface (35, Choi [0054] and Fig. 6A)
Choi discloses a memory device comprising a logic and memory stack analogous to Yang. Choi teaches intermediate connections between the stack structure and second substrate, and connection pads at the interface, for the benefit of aligning connections to components to be connected (as seen by Interconnection Alignment in annotated Choi Fig. 6A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Choi to use intermediate connections between the stack structure and second substrate, and connection pads at the interface, for the benefit of aligning connections to components to be connected.
Regarding Claim 5 - Yang modified by Choi discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
The combination of Yang and Choi further discloses each of the plurality of upper pads directly contacts a corresponding one among the plurality of lower pads (Choi Fig. 6A).
Regarding Claim 6 - Yang modified by Choi discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
The combination of Yang and Choi further discloses the upper pass transistor is connected to the first contact plug via the first through electrode (Yang Fig. 30G) and the plurality of intermediate (41 and 43 , Choi [0059] and Fig. 6A).
Regarding Claim 7 - Yang modified by Choi discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
The combination of Yang and Choi further discloses the upper pass transistor is connected to the first contact plug via the first through electrode, the plurality of intermediate interconnections, the plurality of upper pads, the plurality of lower pads and the plurality of lower interconnections (Yang Fig. 30G).
Regarding Claim 8 - Yang modified by Choi discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
The combination of Yang and Choi further discloses the lower pass transistor is connected to the second contact plug via the plurality of lower interconnections, the plurality of lower pads, the plurality of upper pads and the plurality of intermediate interconnections (Yang Fig. 30G).
Regarding Claim 13 - Yang discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first substrate having a first surface and a second surface that faces opposite the first surface (3006 [0521] and Fig. 30G); a stack structure disposed on the first surface of the first substrate (3092 [0520] and Fig. 30G) and including a plurality of interlayer insulating layers (308 [0139] and Fig. 3A) and a plurality of horizontal wiring layers (306 [0139] and Fig. 3A) that are alternately stacked (Fig. 3A), and a plurality of channel structures that pass through the plurality of interlayer insulating layers and the plurality of horizontal wiring layers (320 [0140] and Fig. 3A), the stack structure having a cell area and a connection area that is continuous to the cell area (Annotated Fig. 30G), with the plurality of channel structures disposed in the cell area (Fig. 30G); a plurality of upper transistors on the second surface of the first substrate (3061 and 3063 [0524] and Fig. 30G); a common source line connected to the plurality of channel structures (3002 [0513] and Fig. 30G); and a logic structure bonded onto the stack structure, and including a plurality of lower transistors (3081 and 3083 [0527] and Fig. 30G).
Yang fails to disclose a common source line disposed at substantially the same horizontal level as the first substrate on the stack structure.
However, Choi discloses a common source line disposed at substantially the same horizontal level as the first substrate on the stack structure (SC, Choi [0086] and Fig. 6A).
Choi discloses a similar semiconductor memory device to Yang. Choi teaches positioning the common source line at the top of the stack at the level of Yang’s substrate for the benefits of decreased noise and increased reliability (Choi [0100]). Therefore, it would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Choi to position the common source line at the top of the stack at the level of Yang’s substrate for the benefits of these decreased noise and increased reliability.
Regarding Claim 14 - Yang modified by Choi discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
The combination of Yang and Choi further discloses the plurality of upper transistors are aligned at an upper part of the connection area (interpreted as over the connection area, Yang Fig. 30G).
Regarding Claim 15 - Yang modified by Choi discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
The combination of Yang and Choi further discloses the common source line is aligned at an upper part of the cell area (Common source line over cell area, Choi Fig. 6A).
Regarding Claim 16 - Yang modified by Choi discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
The combination of Yang and Choi further discloses a lower surface of the common source line forms substantially the same plane as the first surface (same as interface of stack structure and transistor substrate of Yang Fig. 30G), and an upper surface of the common source line forms substantially the same plane as the second surface (Second surface of common source line in Choi Fig. 6A essentially same as second surface of substrate in Yang Fig. 30G).
Regarding Claim 17 - Yang modified by Choi discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
The combination of Yang and Choi further discloses each of the plurality of channel structures includes: a core layer (Core, annotated Yang Fig. 3A); a channel layer outside the core layer (320, Yang [0140] and Fig. 3A); a tunnel layer outside the channel layer (326, Yang [0140] and Fig. 3A); a charge trap layer outside the tunnel layer (324, Yang [0140] and Fig. 3A); and a blocking layer outside the charge trap layer (322, Yang [0140] and Fig. 3A), and wherein the channel layer directly contacts the common source line (Yang Fig. 3A).
Regarding Claim 18 - Yang modified by Choi discloses all the limitations of claim 17.
The combination of Yang and Choi further discloses an uppermost end of the channel layer (VSP, Choi [0080] and Fig. 7C) is at a level higher than a lowermost end of the common source line and the first surface (VT higher than bottom of SC1, Choi Fig. 7C).
Choi discloses a similar semiconductor memory device to Yang. Choi teaches exposing the top portion of the channel layer prior to common source line deposition for the benefit of direct contact between the two layers when the common source line is deposited without any additional steps (Choi [0120-0121]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Choi to expose the top portion of the channel layer prior to common source line deposition for the benefit of direct contact between two layers in the common source layer is deposited without any additional steps.
Regarding Claim 19 - Yang modified by Choi discloses all the limitations of claim 17.
The combination of Yang and Choi further discloses an uppermost end of the core layer is at a level higher than a lowermost end of the common source line and the first surface (Top of VI higher than bottom of SC1, Choi Fig. 7C).
Choi discloses a similar semiconductor memory device to Yang. Choi teaches exposing the top portion of the channel layer with core layer inside prior to common source line deposition for the benefit of direct contact between the two layers when the common source line is deposited without any additional steps (Choi [0120-0121]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Choi to expose the top portion of the channel layer with core layer inside prior to common source line deposition for the benefit of direct contact between two layers in the common source layer is deposited without any additional steps.
Regarding Claim 20 - Yang discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a first substrate having a first surface and a second surface that faces opposite the first surface (3006 [0521] and Fig. 30G); a stack structure disposed on the first surface of the first substrate (3092 [0520] and Fig. 30G), and including a plurality of interlayer insulating layers (308 [0139] and Fig. 3A) and a plurality of horizontal wiring layers (306 [0139] and Fig. 3A) that are alternately stacked (Fig. 3A), and a plurality of channel structures that pass through the plurality of interlayer insulating layers and the plurality of horizontal wiring layers (320 [0140] and Fig. 3A); a plurality of upper transistors on the second surface of the first substrate (3061 and 3063 [0524] and Fig. 30G); and a common source line connected to the plurality of channel structures (3002 [0513] and Fig. 30G).
Yang fails to disclose a common source line disposed at substantially the same horizontal level as the first substrate on the stack structure.
However, Choi discloses a common source line disposed at substantially the same horizontal level as the first substrate on the stack structure (SC, Choi [0086] and Fig. 6A).
Choi discloses a similar semiconductor memory device to Yang. Choi teaches positioning the common source line at the top of the stack at the level of Yang’s substrate for the benefits of decreased noise and increased reliability (Choi [0100]). Therefore, it would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Choi to position the common source line at the top of the stack at the level of Yang’s substrate for the benefits of these decreased noise and increased reliability.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 20240215273 A1, hereinafter “Yang”), in view of Kim et al (US 20220005820 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 9 - Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 2.
Yang further discloses a second through electrode passing through the stack structure.
Yang fails to disclose at least one among the plurality of upper transistors and the plurality of lower transistors further includes a block switch transistor that is connected to the upper pass transistor and the lower pass transistor via the second through electrode.
However, Kim discloses upper and lower pass transistors in a row decoder (X-DEC) may further be connected to block switch transistors (Kim [0031] and Fig. 1).
Kim discloses a similar semiconductor memory device to Yang. Kim teaches a row decoder containing pass transistors may also contain a block switch for the benefit of selecting whole memory blocks (Kim [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang and Kim to connect pass transistors to a block switch for the benefit of selecting whole memory blocks.
Regarding Claim 11 - Yang discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Yang further discloses a third through electrode (a large number of TSVs can be formed, Yang [0128]) passing through the stack structure, wherein the plurality of upper transistors includes an upper page buffer transistor (e.g. 2863 (3063) [0501] and Fig. 30G), and wherein the plurality of lower transistors includes a lower page buffer transistor (e.g. 2883 (3083) [0505] and Fig. 30G).
Yang fails to disclose the page buffer transistors are each connected to a different channel structure.
However, Kim discloses the page buffer transistors are each connected to a different channel structure ([0032] and Fig. 1).
Kim discloses a similar semiconductor memory device to Yang. Kim teaches coupling a page buffer to each channel structure (bit line) in order to read and write data from memory cells coupled to an active word line (Kim [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jang and Kim to connect a page buffer to each channel structure in order to read and write data from memory cells coupled to an active word line.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 12 contains the following limitation not found in the prior art known to the examiner, alone or in combination: “...(T)he plurality of horizontal wiring layers include a first word line that is connected to the first and third contact plugs and a second word line that is connected to the second and fourth contact plugs, the plurality of upper transistors include a first upper pass transistor that is connected to the first contact plug and a second upper pass transistor that is connected to the third contact plug, and the plurality of lower transistors include a first lower pass transistor that is connected to the second contact plug and a second lower pass transistor that is connected to the fourth contact plug...”.
Relevant Prior Art:
Yang (US 20240215273 A1) teaches: “(A)n interconnect layer is formed above the multi gate DFM cells on the second semiconductor layer. The interconnect layer can include a first plurality of interconnects and one or more ILD layers.” ([0519]). Yang is silent with respect to word line connection routing.
Kim (US 20220005820 A1) teaches: “The row decoder may transfer an operating voltage provided from the peripheral circuit to word lines coupled to a memory block that is selected from among the memory blocks included in the memory cell array.” ([0031]). Yang is silent with respect to word line connection routing.
Fastow (US 20190043836 A1) teaches: “(W)afers are bonded with the top metal layers facing one another. ... does not include vias through the CMOS circuitry.” ([0039] and Fig. 2B) Fastow is silent with respect to word line connection routing.
Conclusion
/JASON MCDONALD/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898