DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, claims 1, 4-7, 9-15, and 17-20, in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
IDS
The IDS document(s) filed on 08/29/2023, 03/27/2026 and 05/12/2026 have been considered. Copies of the PTO-1449 documents are herewith enclosed with this office action.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 12, filed on 06/05/2026, have been carefully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The instant Non Final Rejection replaces the previous Non Final Rejection mailed on 03/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2020/0161415 A1), hereafter “Jia”, and further in view of Collins et al. (US 2010/0155897 A1), hereafter “Collins”.
As to claim 1, Jia teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor layer (104, Fig. 1, ⁋ [0015]);
a first conductive portion (112, ⁋ [0019]) provided in the semiconductor layer;
an insulating film (110, ⁋ [0018]) provided in the semiconductor layer and disposed between the semiconductor layer and the first conductive portion; and
a second conductive portion (114, ⁋ [0019]) provided in the semiconductor layer, disposed such that the first conductive portion is located between the second conductive portion and the insulating film, and electrically connected to the first conductive portion,
wherein the second conductive portion has residual stress (⁋ [0030], “a tensile stress layer”) with force components in directions opposite to directions of force components of residual stress of the first conductive portion (⁋ [0030], “a compressive stress layer”), and
wherein the first conductive portion comprises polysilicon (⁋ [0019], “a first polysilicon layer 112”).
Jia fails to teach the second conductive portion comprises a metallic conductive portion having a stacked structure comprising a film comprising titanium, a film comprising titanium nitride, and a film comprising tungsten.
Collins teaches a deep trench varactor structure compatible with a deep trench capacitor structure, wherein the inner electrode layer 40L may may comprise a metallic material (Fig. 4, ⁋ [0093]) which can be layered stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Collins teaching of the stacked metallic material to the device of Jia to provide reduced resistance in inner electrodes (⁋ [0093]).
As to claim 4, Jia in view of Collins teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the thickness of the second conductive portion is 0.2 to 5.0 times the thickness of the first conductive portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the dimensions because if the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device: In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 220 USPQ 777.
As to claim 9, Jia in view of Collins teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, Collins further teaches wherein an electrical resistivity of the second conductive portion is lower than an electrical resistivity of the first conductive portion (⁋ [0020], “The second polysilicon layer 114 has a higher doping level as compared to the first polysilicon layer”).
Claims 5-7, 12-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia, in view of Colllins, and further in view of Okazaki et al. (US 2004/0038492 A1), hereafter “Okazaki”.
As to claim 5, Jia in view of Collins teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor layer includes raised portions projecting in a first direction, the insulating film surrounds the side surfaces of the raised portions, the first conductive portion surrounds the side surfaces of the insulating film, and the second conductive portion surrounds the side surfaces of the first conductive portion.
Okazaki teaches a similar capacitor formed in a trench 4a (⁋ [0121], Fig. 3) formed in a semiconductor layer 8 with raised portions, i.e. portions of 8 located directly horizontal to 4a and contacting 15a. These raised portions project in a first direction vertically. Figs. 5 and 7 show the capacitor formation trenches 4a and the raised portions (located directly under the silicon nitride film 3 in Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the trench formation structure as taught by Okazaki to the device of Jia modified by Collins to improve the capacitor capacitance per unit area (⁋ [0133]).
Additionally, the combination of Okazaki’s trench formation of Fig. 7 and Jia’s device would teach the remaining limitations of the insulating film surrounds the side surfaces of the raised portions, the first conductive portion surrounds the side surfaces of the insulating film, and the second conductive portion surrounds the side surfaces of the first conductive portion.
As to claim 6, Jia in view of Collins and Okazaki teach the semiconductor device according to claim 5, Okazaki further teaches wherein in a plane perpendicular to the first direction, the raised portions each have a triangular shape, a quadrilateral shape, a hexagonal shape, or an octagonal shape (Fig. 7 shows the raised portion as a square however, it is mentioned stated in ⁋ [0133] “the pattern of the capacitor formation trenches 4a is not limited to the shape of holes, stripes, or a matrix, but a pattern in any other shape may also be adopted”).
As to claim 7, Jia in view of Collins teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor layer includes a plurality of raised portions projecting in a first direction, and the raised portions are arranged side-by-side in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and intersecting the second direction.
Okazaki teaches a similar capacitor formed in a trench 4a (⁋ [0121], Fig. 3) formed in a semiconductor layer 8 with raised portions, i.e. portions of 8 located directly horizontal to 4a and contacting 15a. These raised portions project vertically. Further it can be seen in Fig. 5 and 7, that these raised portions are arranged side-by-side in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and intersecting the second direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the trench formation structure as taught by Okazaki to the device of Jia and Collins to improve the capacitor capacitance per unit area (⁋ [0133]).
As to claim 12, Jia teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor layer (104, Fig. 1, ⁋ [0015]);
an insulating film (110, ⁋ [0018]) disposed on upper and sidewall potions of the raised portions (Fig. 1);
a first conductive portion (112, ⁋ [0019]) disposed on the insulating film; and
a second conductive portion (114, ⁋ [0019]) disposed on the first conductive portion, wherein
the insulating film (110) is between the semiconductor layer (104) and the first conductive portion (112) and the first conductive portion is between the insulating film and the second conductive portion (Fig. 1), and
the first conductive portion has residual stress (⁋ [0030], “a compressive stress layer”) with first force components and the second conductive portion has residual stress (⁋ [0030], “a tensile stress layer”) with second force components, and directions of the first force components are opposite to directions of the second force components (compressive stress is opposite of tensile stress), and
wherein the first conductive portion comprises polysilicon (⁋ [0019], “a first polysilicon layer 112”).
Jia fails to teach a semiconductor layer including a plurality of raised portions arranged in a lattice pattern, and the second conductive portion comprises a metallic conductive portion having a stacked structure comprising a film comprising titanium, a film comprising titanium nitride, and a film comprising tungsten.
Okazaki teaches a similar capacitor formed in a trench 4a (⁋ [0121], Fig. 3) formed in a semiconductor layer 8 with raised portions, i.e. portions of 8 located directly horizontal to 4a and contacting 15a, and arranged in a lattice pattern (⁋ [0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the trench formation structure and lattice pattern as taught by Okazaki to the device of Jia to improve the capacitor capacitance per unit area (⁋ [0133]).
Jia and Okazaki fail to teach the second conductive portion comprises a metallic conductive portion having a stacked structure comprising a film comprising titanium, a film comprising titanium nitride, and a film comprising tungsten.
Collins teaches a deep trench varactor structure compatible with a deep trench capacitor structure, wherein the inner electrode layer 40L may may comprise a metallic material (Fig. 4, ⁋ [0093]) which can be layered stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate Collin’s teaching of the stacked metallic material to the device of Jia modified by Okazaki to provide reduced resistance in inner electrodes (⁋ [0093]).
As to claim 13, Jia in view of Okazaki and Collins teach the semiconductor device according to claim 12, wherein the first force components cause warping of the semiconductor device in a first direction (compressive stress pulls or operates in an inward direction) and the second force components cause warping of the semiconductor device in a second direction that is opposite to the first direction (tensile stress expands or operates in an outward direction).
As to claim 14, Jia in view of Okazaki and Collins teach the semiconductor device according to claim 12, but fails to teach wherein the thickness of the second conductive portion is 0.2 to 5.0 times the thickness of the first conductive portion.
On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the dimensions because if the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device: In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 220 USPQ 777.
As to claim 15, Jia in view of Okazaki and Collins teach the semiconductor device according to claim 12, Okazaki further teaches wherein the raised portions each have a triangular shape, a quadrilateral shape, a hexagonal shape, or an octagonal shape (Fig. 7 shows the raised portion as a square however, it is mentioned stated in ⁋ [0133] “the pattern of the capacitor formation trenches 4a is not limited to the shape of holes, stripes, or a matrix, but a pattern in any other shape may also be adopted”).
As to claim 17, Jia in view of Okazaki and Collins teach the semiconductor device according to claim 12, Jia further teaches wherein an electrical resistivity of the second conductive portion is lower than an electrical resistivity of the first conductive portion (⁋ [0020], “The second polysilicon layer 114 has a higher doping level as compared to the first polysilicon layer”).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia, in view of Okazaki, Collins, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (2017/0250029), hereafter “Yamamoto”.
As to claim 20, Jia in view of Okazaki and Collins teach the semiconductor device according to claim 18, wherein an upper surface of the second conductive portion is planar.
However, Jia fails to teach a planar conductive layer is disposed on the upper surface of the second conductive portion.
Yamamoto teaches a similar device wherein a n-type polysilicon film 22 is laminated with a planar metal film 23 (⁋ [0144], Fig. 8C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the planar metal film teaching of Yamamoto into the device of Jia, Okazaki and Collins to serve as a pad region portion for the capacitor component (⁋ [0145]).
Conclusion
/CARNELL HUNTER III/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893