DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PGPub 2022/0051972) in view of Ham (U.S. PGPub 2022/0210921).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a method of manufacturing a packaging substrate (Fig. 4(b)) comprising: preparing a glass substrate in which a cavity portion is disposed and a cavity module, arranging the cavity module in the cavity portion (22, 21, [0076]; 28/281, [0153]); laminating an insulating layer on the glass substrate (284, [0169]-[0172], cavity distribution pattern formed on the packaging substrate), wherein the cavity module comprises a cavity element (40, [0185]).
Kim does not explicitly teach wherein the cavity module comprises a first insulating layer surrounding at least a part of the cavity element, and the first insulating layer is disposed on a surface other than one surface or on all surfaces of the cavity element.
Ham teaches a substrate in which a cavity portion is disposed (Fig. 4, 110, [0036], [0086]-[0087]), arranging a cavity module in the cavity portion (Fig. 8, [0094]), and laminating a second insulating layer on the substrate (Fig. 9, 142, [0097]), wherein the cavity module comprises a cavity element and a first insulating layer surrounding at least a part of the cavity element, and the first insulating layer is disposed on all surfaces of the cavity except for one surface (Fig. 9, 141, [0097]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Ham with Kim such that the cavity module comprises a first insulating layer surrounding at least a part of the cavity element, and the first insulating layer is disposed on a surface other than one surface or on all surfaces of the cavity element for the purpose of preventing signal loss and improving signal characteristics (Ham, [0067]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kim and Ham teaches wherein the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer have different dielectric constants (Ham, [0065]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Ham for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kim and Ham teaches wherein the first insulating layer comprises an Ajinomoto Build-up Film (ABF) or an epoxy molding compound (EMC) (Ham, [0065]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Ham for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kim and Ham teaches wherein the second insulating layer comprises an Ajinomoto Build-up Film (ABF) or an epoxy molding compound (EMC) (Ham, [0065]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Ham for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim and Ham teaches wherein one or more connection electrodes are disposed in a direction toward the bottom surface of the cavity element (Kim, [0193], [0198]; Ham, Fig. 9, 121, [0096]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Ham for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant’s arguments dated 8/14/26, pages 7-8 are persuasive. Regarding independent claim 1, the prior art teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 except wherein the second insulating layer having a different dielectric constant is incorporated into a remaining portion of the cavity portion other than the cavity module comprising the cavity element and first insulating layer (see rejection of claims 10-11). Ham teaches wherein the first insulating layer fills the cavity and the second insulating layer is formed outside the cavity for reasons of mechanical stability, warpage, and electronic properties (Ham, [0042], [0046], [0066]-[0067], [0095]).
Takashima (U.S. PGPub 2008/0277150) teaches a cavity module with a first insulating layer surrounding a cavity element and a second insulating layer filling the remaining portion of the cavity (Figs. 19-20, 101, 151, 92, [0153]) but does not teach the first and second insulating layers having different properties. Prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest every limitation of the invention as claimed.
Conclusion
/ALIA SABUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812