DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Soetan-Dodd et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0332195).
Regarding to claim 8, Soetan-Dodd teaches a packaging substrate comprising a core layer (Fig. 1, element 101) and an upper layer located on the core layer (Fig. 1, element 102),
wherein the core layer includes a glass core including a first surface and a second surface facing each other ([0019], lines 4-5), a plurality of core vias (Fig. 1, element 115; [0020], lines 6-7) and a cavity portion (Fig. 1, element 110; [0021], line 4) passing through the glass core in a thickness direction (Fig. 1), an electrically conductive layer formed on a surface of the glass core (Fig. 1, element 114/118; [0022], last 2 lines), an electronic element arranged in the cavity portion (Fig. 1, element 120), and an insulating layer filling the core vias and the cavity portion (Fig. 1, element 102/113),
the cavity portion is open and recessed in a direction toward the first surface or the second surface of the glass core or passes through the first surface and the second surface to have a space where the electronic element is disposed (Fig. 1, Fig. 2H), and
the insulating layer includes a first insulating layer in which a first insulating film is laminated on the first surface and cured (Fig. 1, element 113, the insulation layer is cured during subsequent deposition process of metal under a range of temperature), and a second insulating layer in which a second insulating film is laminated on the first insulating layer and cured (Fig. 1, element 102).
Regarding to claim 9, Soetan-Dodd teaches the first insulating layer is formed on the entire first surface or the cavity portion where the electronic element is arranged (Fig. 1).
Regarding to claim 10, Soetan-Dodd teaches the insulating layer further includes a third insulating layer in which the second insulating film is laminated in a direction from the second surface to the first surface and cured (Fig. 1, element 103).
Regarding to claim 11, Soetan-Dodd teaches
a first boundary where the first insulating film and the second insulating film come into contact is formed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer (Fig. 1);
a second boundary where the first insulating film and the second insulating film come into contact is formed between the second insulating layer and the third insulating layer (Fig. 1); and
the second boundary is formed in the core vias and the cavity portion (Fig. 1).
Regarding to claim 12, Soetan-Dodd teaches a color of the first insulating layer and a color of the third insulating layer are different from each other (Fig. 1, different materials have different colors).
Regarding to claim 13, Soetan-Dodd teaches a thickness of the first insulating film and a thickness of the second insulating film are different from each other (Fig. 1).
Regarding to claim 15, Soetan-Dodd teaches the electronic element includes a passive element or an active element ([0022], lines 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0051972) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0276829).
Regarding to claim 1, Kim teaches a method of manufacturing a packaging substrate, comprising:
generating a glass structure that is a core via, a cavity portion, or both on a glass core including a first surface and a second surface facing each other (Fig. 2, Fig. 3(a), element 21, [0148], lines 1-2);
forming an insulating layer on the first surface or the second surface using an insulating film (Fig. 2, Fig. 4(b), element 283/291, [0236], lines 1-4, lines 7-10); and
forming an upper layer including an upper distribution layer and an upper surface connection layer on the insulating layer (Fig. 2, Fig. 3(b), Fig. 4(b), element 29, [0237], lines 1-4),
wherein the forming of the insulating layer comprises a primary curing operation of laminating a first insulating film on the first surface (Fig. 2, portion of insulating layer in the cavity, between the component and the glass, [0236], last 5 lines, pressure sensitive lamination process involved pressure and temperature to fill the gaps), and a secondary curing operation of laminating a second insulating film on the primarily cured first insulating film (Fig. 2, portion of insulating layer on surface of the glass, [0237], lines 2-3, lamination process involved heating).
Kim does not clearly disclose primarily curing the first insulating film, and secondarily curing the second insulating film.
Yang discloses forming of an insulating layer comprises primarily curing a first insulating film and curing a second insulating film (Fig. 1, [0049], lines 5-8, the first insulating film is the portion of the filling material filled in the gaps, the second insulating film is the portion of the filling material on top surface, both portions are cured). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Yang to cure the first insulating film and the second insulating film in order to harden the insulating materials, thus to enhance reliability.
Regarding to claim 2, Kim teaches
the cavity portion is open and recessed in a direction toward the first surface or the second surface of the glass core or passes through the first surface and the second surface to have a space where an electronic element is disposed (Fig. 2);
the method further includes arranging the electronic element in the cavity portion (Fig. 2, element 40);
the arranging of the electronic element is included between the generating of the glass structure and the forming of the insulating layer (Fig. 2); and
the first insulating film is laminated on the entire first surface or the cavity portion where the electronic element is arranged (Fig. 3(b)).
Regarding to claim 3, Kim teaches when the first insulating film is laminated on the cavity portion, the first insulating film is cut based on a shape and a size of the cavity portion (Fig. 3(b)).
Regarding to claim 4, Kim teaches a thickness of the first insulating film and a thickness of the second insulating film are different from each other (Fig. 3(b)).
Regarding to claim 5, Kim teaches a pressure sensitive lamination method is applied to each of the primary curing operation and the secondary curing operation ([0236], lines 7-8). Kim as modified does not disclose a pressure and a temperature applied during the secondary curing operation are higher than a pressure and a temperature applied during the primary curing operation. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure a pressure and a temperature applied during the secondary curing operation to be higher than a pressure and a temperature applied during the primary curing operation in order to obtain a harder surface, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 1010 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding to claim 6, Kim teaches after the secondary curing operation, adjusting a position of the electronic element or a planarization operation ([0150], last line). Kim as modified does not disclose a final curing operation of finally curing the first insulating film and the second insulating film. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to finally cure the first insulating film and the second insulating film in order to increase hardness, since it was known in the art that curing process increases strength and reliability for insulating materials.
Regarding to claim 7, Kim teaches the electronic element includes a passive element or an active element ([0169], lines 1-5).
Regarding to claim 8, Kim teaches a packaging substrate comprising a core layer and an upper layer located on the core layer (Fig. 2, Fig. 3(a), element 21, [0148], lines 1-2),
wherein the core layer includes a glass core including a first surface and a second surface facing each other ([0148], lines 1-2), a plurality of core vias and a cavity portion passing through the glass core in a thickness direction, an electrically conductive layer formed on a surface of the glass core (Fig. 2), an electronic element arranged in the cavity portion (Fig. 2, element 40), and an insulating layer filling the core vias and the cavity portion (Fig. 2, element 291),
the cavity portion is open and recessed in a direction toward the first surface or the second surface of the glass core or passes through the first surface and the second surface to have a space where the electronic element is disposed (Fig. 2, Fig. 3(b)), and
the insulating layer includes a first insulating layer in which a first insulating film is laminated on the first surface (Fig. 2, portion of insulating layer in the cavity, between the component and the glass, [0236], last 5 lines), and a second insulating layer in which a second insulating film is laminated on the first insulating layer (Fig. 2, portion of insulating layer on surface of the glass, [0237], lines 2-3).
Kim does not clearly disclose the first and second insulating films are cured.
Yang discloses first and second insulating films are cured (Fig. 1, [0049], lines 5-8, the first insulating film is the portion of the filling material filled in the gaps, the second insulating film is the portion of the filling material on top surface, both portions are cured). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of Yang to cure the first insulating film and the second insulating film in order to harden the insulating material, thus to enhance reliability.
Regarding to claim 9, Kim teaches the first insulating layer is formed on the entire first surface or the cavity portion where the electronic element is arranged (Fig. 3(b)).
Regarding to claim 10, Kim as modified discloses the insulating layer further includes a third insulating layer in which the second insulating film is laminated in a direction from the second surface to the first surface and cured (Fig. 2).
Regarding to claim 11, Kim teaches
a first boundary where the first insulating film and the second insulating film come into contact is formed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer (Fig. 2);
a second boundary where the first insulating film and the second insulating film come into contact is formed between the second insulating layer and the third insulating layer; and the second boundary is formed in the core vias and the cavity portion (Fig. 3).
Regarding to claim 12, Kim teaches a color of the first insulating layer and a color of the third insulating layer are different from each other (Fig. 2, different materials have different colors).
Regarding to claim 13, Kim teaches thickness of the first insulating film and a thickness of the second insulating film are different from each other (Fig. 2).
Regarding to claim 14, Kim teaches the glass core has a quadrangular shape (Fig. 11) and has a thickness of 300 μm to 1500 μm ([0087], lines 1-3). Kim as modified does not disclose an average of heights in which edges of the packaging substrate is spaced apart from a floor on which the packaging substrate is laid is 12 mm or less. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure an average of heights in which edges of the packaging substrate spaced apart from a floor on which the packaging substrate is laid to be 12 mm or less in order to reduce package size, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding to claim 15, Kim teaches the electronic element includes a passive element or an active element ([0169], lines 1-5).
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-8829672-B2, US-8411459-B2, US-6787895-B1, US-9322901-B2, US-11810844-B2, US-20140070405-A1, US-20240332104-A1, US-11058009-B2, US-11270920-B2, and US-9155191-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references fail to disclose the limitations including “the forming of the insulating layer comprises a primary curing operation of laminating a first insulating film on the first surface and primarily curing the first insulating film, and a secondary curing operation of laminating a second insulating film on the primarily cured first insulating film and secondarily curing the second insulating film.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897