DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A in the reply filed on December 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 18, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there are no markings or indicators to demonstrate sizes for comparison in claims 2-3 and 10. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
-orthographic projection of the driving unit overlapping the sub-pixel unit of claim 11
-graphic units and orthographic projections of the graphic units of claim 19
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of involving a “graphic unit” is confusing. [0092] and [0094] disclose the orthographic projection of the light-emitting structure consisting of a graphic unit with a particular shape. [0093] and [0095] disclose the orthographic projection of electrodes consisting of a graphic unit with a particular shape. There is no indication of what a “graphic unit” is or does. Upon searching other applications from Applicant, Examiner is inferring that a “graphic unit” is an orthographic pattern or shape on a substrate associated with the sub-pixel, there being no alternate words to describe this particular arrangement. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret the graphic unit an orthographic pattern or shape on a substrate associated with the sub-pixel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et. al. (US 20210225269 A1), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a display panel (Fig 30 display 504, [0186]), comprising a first display area (Fig 18 second region R2, [0096]) and a second display area (Fig 18 first region R1, [0096]), a light transmittance of the first display area (Fig 18 second region R2, [0096]) being greater (R1 cannot transmit light; R2 is a light-transmitting region, [0096]) than a light transmittance of the second display area (Fig 18 first region R1, [0096]), the display panel (Fig 30 display 504, [0186]) comprising: a plurality of sub-pixels (Fig 18 light emitting point 11 and in situ light emitting point 011, [0118]; ) comprising first sub-pixels (Fig 18 light emitting point 11, [0095]) located in the first display area (Fig 18 second region R2, [0096]) and second sub-pixels (Fig 18 in situ light emitting point 011, [0116]) located in the second display area (Fig 18 first region R1, [0096]); pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 pixel driving circuits 250 and in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]) located in the second display area (Fig 18 first region R1, [0096]) and comprising first driving units (See annotated figure) and second driving units (See annotated figure), each of the first driving units (See annotated figure) comprising one or more first pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 pixel driving circuits 250, [0098]) configured to drive ([0113]) the first sub-pixels (Fig 18 light emitting point 11, [0095]) and N second pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]) configured to drive ([0116]) the second sub-pixels (Fig 18 in situ light emitting point 011, [0116]), each of the second driving units (See annotated figure) comprising one or more virtual areas (Fig 18 area with dummy pixel driving circuit 252, [0118]) and N second pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]) configured to drive ([0116]) the second sub-pixels (Fig 18 in situ light emitting point 011, [0116]), an arrangement of the N second pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]) in the first driving unit (See annotated figure) being the same (See annotated figure) as an arrangement of the N second pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]) in the second driving unit (See annotated figure), and N being a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (See annotated figure).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches a size of the first driving unit (See annotated figure of claim 1) is the same (See annotated figure of claim 1; the units are chosen from equal amounts of driving circuits so the size would be the same) as a size of the second driving unit (See annotated figure of claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches a relative position of the first pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 pixel driving circuits 250 and in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]) and the N second pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 pixel driving circuits 250 and in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]) in the first driving unit (See annotated figure of claim 1) is the same (See annotated figure of claim 1) as a relative position of the virtual areas (Fig 18 area with dummy pixel driving circuit 252, [0118]) and the N second pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 pixel driving circuits 250 and in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]) in the second driving unit (See annotated figure of claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches in the first driving unit (See annotated figure of claim 1), the first pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 pixel driving circuits 250) are located among (Fig 18) the N second pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches a virtual circuit (Fig 18 area with dummy pixel driving circuit 252, [0118]) is arranged in (Fig 18) the virtual area (Fig 18 dummy pixel driving circuit 252, [0118]).
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches the first driving units (See annotated figure of claim 1) and the second driving units (See annotated figure of claim 1) are uniformly distributed (Fig 18) in the second display area (Fig 18 first region R1, [0096]).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches the first pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 pixel driving circuits 250 and in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]) and the virtual areas (Fig 18 area with dummy pixel driving circuit 252, [0118]) are uniformly distributed (Fig 18) in the second display area (Fig 18 first region R1, [0096]).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches N second sub-pixels (Fig 18 in situ light emitting point 011, [0116]) driven by the N second pixel driving circuits (Fig 18 in situ pixel driving circuits 251, [0098]) form a sub-pixel unit (See annotated figure), and a size of at least one of the first driving unit (See annotated figure) and the second driving unit (See annotated figure) fits (See annotated figure) a size of the sub-pixel unit (See annotated figure).
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches an orthographic projection of the first driving unit (See annotated figure of claim 10) in a thickness direction of the display panel (Fig 30 display 504, [0186]) at least partially overlaps (there is an overlap in the z direction, which corresponds with the thickness direction) an orthographic projection of the sub-pixel unit (See annotated figure of claim 10) driven by the first driving unit (See annotated figure of claim 10) in the thickness direction; or (optional so not considered) an orthographic projection of the second driving unit in the thickness direction of the display panel at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of the sub-pixel unit driven by the second driving unit in the thickness direction.
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches the display panel (Fig 30 display 504, [0186]) comprises a plurality of sub-pixel units (Fig 18 and annotated figure of claim 10), the plurality of sub-pixel units (See annotated figure of claim 10) are arranged in a first direction (Fig 18 x direction) and a second direction (Fig 18 y direction), a size of the sub-pixel unit (See annotated figure of claim 10) in the first direction (Fig 18 x direction) is equal to a size of at least one of the first driving unit (See annotated figure of claim 10) and the second driving unit (See annotated figure of claim 10) in the first direction (Fig 18 x direction); or (optional so not considered) a size of the sub-pixel unit in the second direction is equal to a size of at least one of the first driving unit and the second driving unit in the second direction.
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches the plurality of sub-pixels (See annotated figure of claim 10) form a pixel arrangement structure comprising a plurality of repeating units arranged repeatedly (Fig 18; a display has many sub-pixels forming pixel units repeating over the entire display), the sub-pixel unit (See annotated figure of claim 10) comprises M repeating units, and M is a positive integer (a display has many sub-pixels forming pixel units repeating over the entire display).
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig 18 light emitting point 11 and in situ light emitting point 011, [0118]) form a plurality of display units configured to emit white light (light emitting points 11 and 011 may emit white light, [0187] and [0189], respectively), the sub-pixel unit (See annotated figure of claim 10) comprises M display units, and M is a positive integer (a display has many sub-pixels forming pixel units repeating over the entire display).
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig 18 light emitting point 11 and in situ light emitting point 011, [0118]; ) are distributed in an array (Fig 18) along a first direction (Fig 18 x direction) and a second direction (Fig 18 y direction), and the first pixel driving circuit (Fig 18 pixel driving circuits 250, [0098]) and the first sub-pixels (Fig 18 light emitting point 11, [0095]) driven by the first pixel driving circuit (Fig 18 pixel driving circuits 250, [0098]) are arranged in a same row along (Fig 18) the first direction (Fig 18 x direction).
Regarding claim 18, Yang teaches a substrate (Fig 14 substrate BS, [0121]); and a pixel definition layer (Fig 14 pixel defining layer PDL, [0121]) located on the substrate (Fig 14 substrate BS, [0121]) and comprising first pixel openings (Fig 18 not labeled, openings that have light emitting layer EML deposited for light emitting point 11) located in the first display area (Fig 18 second region R2, [0096]), wherein the first sub-pixel comprises a first light-emitting structure (Fig 18 light emitting layer EML for light emitting point 11, [0121]), a first electrode (Fig 14 electrode E1, [0121]) and a second electrode (Fig 14 electrode E2, [0121]), the first light-emitting structure (Fig 18 light emitting layer EML for light emitting point 11, [0121]) is located in the first pixel opening (Fig 18 not labeled, openings that have light emitting layer EML deposited for light emitting point 11), the first electrode (Fig 14 electrode E1, [0121]) is located at a side of the first light-emitting structure (Fig 18 light emitting layer EML for light emitting point 11, [0121]) facing (Fig 14) the substrate (Fig 14 substrate BS, [0121]), and the second electrode (Fig 14 electrode E2, [0121]) is located at a side of the first light-emitting structure(Fig 18 light emitting layer EML for light emitting point 11, [0121]) away from (Fig 14) the substrate (Fig 14 substrate BS, [0121]).
Regarding claim 20, Yang teaches a display apparatus (Fig 30 display device 502, [0186]), comprising the display panel (Fig 30 display 504, [0186]) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et. al. (US 20210225269 A1), hereinafter Yang, in view of Saitoh et. al. (US 20220005887 A1), hereinafter Saitoh.
Yang fails to teach a size of the first pixel driving circuit is the same as a size of the virtual area.
However, Saitoh teaches a size of a pixel driving circuit (Fig 6 pixel circuits 23, [0038]) is the same ([0038]) as a size of the virtual area (Fig 6 dummy pixel circuits, [0038]). This is to simplify the manufacturing process ([0040]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to simplify the manufacturing process of a display panel and apply the teachings of Saitoh to make the first pixel driving circuit the same as a size of the virtual area. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et. al. (US 20210225269 A1), hereinafter Yang, in view of Huang et. al. (US 20230051046 A1), hereinafter Huang.
Yang fails to teach a structure of the virtual circuit is the same as a structure of the first pixel driving circuit.
However, Huang teaches a structure of the virtual circuit (Fig 3 not shown dummy pixel circuit, [0085] corresponds to Yang: Fig 18 dummy pixel driving circuit 252, [0118]) is the same (same structure, [0085]) as a structure of the first pixel driving circuit (Fig 3 second-type pixel circuit 20, [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang to incorporate the teachings of Huang by having the structure of the virtual circuit be the same as that of a first pixel driving circuit. This would provide uniformity between components ([0085]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et. al. (US 20210225269 A1), hereinafter Yang, in view of Liu et. al. (CN 110767139 A), hereinafter Liu.
Yang teaches an orthographic projection of each first light-emitting structure (Fig 18 light emitting layer EML for light emitting point 11, [0121]) on the substrate (Fig 14 substrate BS, [0121]) and an orthographic projection of each first electrode (Fig 14 electrode E1, [0121]) on the substrate (Fig 14 substrate BS, [0121]).
Yang fails to teach an orthographic projection of each first light-emitting structure (Fig 18 light emitting layer EML for light emitting point 11, [0121]) on the substrate (Fig 14 substrate BS, [0121]) consists of one first graphic unit or two or more first graphic units jointed together, and the first graphic unit comprises at least one selected from a group comprising a round shape, an oval shape, a dumb-bell shape, a gourd shape and a rectangle shape; and an orthographic projection of each first electrode (Fig 14 electrode E1, [0121]) on the substrate (Fig 14 substrate BS, [0121]) consists of one second graphic unit or two or more second graphic units jointed together, and the second graphic unit comprises at least one selected from a group comprising a round shape, an oval shape, a dumb- bell shape, a gourd shape and a rectangle shape.
However, Liu teaches an orthographic projection of each first light-emitting structure (not shown but taught as disposed on the first electrode 3011, [0123] of translation corresponds to Yang: Fig 18 light emitting layer EML for light emitting point 11, [0121]) on the substrate (not shown; however, there must be a substrate since it is a device corresponds to Yang: Fig 14 substrate BS, [0121]) consists of one first graphic unit (second graphic unit, [0123] of translation) or (optional so not considered) two or more first graphic units jointed together, and the first graphic unit comprises at least one selected from a group comprising a round shape, an oval shape, a dumb-bell shape, a gourd shape (gourd, [0123] of translation) and a rectangle shape; and an orthographic projection of each first electrode (Fig 11 first electrode 3011, [0122] of translation corresponds to Yang: Fig 14 electrode E1, [0121]) on the substrate (not shown; however, there must be a substrate since it is a device corresponds to Yang: Fig 14 substrate BS, [0121]) consists of one second graphic unit (first graphic unit, [0121]) or (optional so not considered) two or more second graphic units jointed together, and the second graphic unit comprises at least one selected from a group comprising a round shape, an oval shape, a dumb- bell shape, a gourd shape (gourd, [0121] of translation) and a rectangle shape.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang to incorporate the teachings of Liu by having graphic units associated with the first light emitting structure and first electrode. This would reduce the diffraction effect in the higher transmittance area ([0122]-[0123] of translation).
Conclusion
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813