DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the reply filed on October 13, 2025. Claims 1-4, 9, 18, 20-25 are pending. Claims 9, 18 and 20 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 21-25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“The turbine engine assembly as recited” appears in error for – The turbine engine as recited --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, “the high spool shaft” at line 25 at line 25 lacks sufficient antecedent basis and renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if ‘the high spool shaft’ refers to the aforementioned “high shaft” (line 5) or another shaft (e.g., an additional shaft of a three-spool architecture such as in ¶0029). As such it is not clear which shaft the “at least one bearing assembly” included in the high spool compartment supports rotation of.
As to Claim 1, “the second lubrication system” at line 25 lacks sufficient antecedent basis and renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear what, if any, aforementioned elements of the claim constitute part of “the second lubrication system”.
As to Claim 1, “the at least one bearing assemblies supporting rotation of the high shaft disposed within the high spool compartment” (lines 26-27) lacks sufficient antecedent basis and renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if this refers to the aforementioned “bearing assembly supporting rotation of the high spool shaft” at lines 24-25 or a different group of at least one bearing assemblies.
Claims 2-4, 21-25 depend from and fail to cure the deficiencies of independent Claim 1 and are unclear for like reasons.
Prior Art Relied Upon
This action references the following issued US Patents and/or Patent Application Publications:
US PATENT or PUBLICATION NUMBER
HEREINAFTER
US-20170362959-A1
“SUCIU”
US-8572943-B1
“SHERIDAN”
US-2991845-A
“SCHEFFLER”
US-20200291817-A1
“LEQUE”
US-8261527-B1
“STEARNS”
US-20160215652-A1
“MASTRO”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN and SCHEFFLER.
Re Claim 1, SUCIU teaches a turbine engine 20 (Fig. 1) comprising:
a fan section 28 including a plurality of fan blades (¶¶0032-0033) and a fan shaft 46 configured for rotation about an engine longitudinal axis 22 (¶¶0030-0033);
a high spool including a high pressure compressor 40 coupled to a high pressure turbine 41 through a high shaft 48;
a low spool including a low pressure turbine 42 and a low shaft 47;
a combustor [30, 58] where compressed inlet air is mixed with fuel and burned to generate an exhaust gas flow that is expanded through each of the high pressure turbine and the low pressure turbine (¶¶0034-0035);
a fan drive gear system 44 including a carrier (¶¶0036-0037);
at least one low shaft bearing assembly [51 and/or 52] supporting rotation of the low shaft (Fig. 1; see bearings annotated “LPB1” and “LPB2” in Image 1), wherein the at least one low shaft bearing assembly comprises a forward bearing assembly (“LPB1” in Image 1) supporting a forward end of the low shaft and an aft bearing assembly supporting an aft end of the low shaft (“LPB2” in Image 1, which is a low spool bearing 52);
a first tower shaft 96 coupled to the low shaft through a first gear interface (Figs. 1, 5; ¶¶0040, 0046));
a first lubrication circuit 82 having a first pump 90 communicating oil to at least the fan drive gear system and the at least one low shaft bearing assembly, wherein the first pump is driven by the low spool through the first tower shaft (Fig. 5, ¶¶0039-0040, 0044, 0046); and
a second lubrication circuit 84 having a second pump 102 driven by one of the high spool and the low spool separate from the first pump (¶0042),
the second lubrication circuit communicating oil to engine components separate from the first lubrication circuit (Figs. 1, 5; ¶¶0040-0046);
a forward compartment [76, 78] (compartment 78 annotated “forward compartment” in Image 1/Figure 1) including the fan drive gear system and the forward bearing assembly (Figure 1; ¶0038) and the first pump provides oil to at least the fan drive gear system and the forward bearing assembly in the forward compartment (Figs. 1 & 5; ¶¶0038-0040, 0046);
a high spool compartment 78 (compartment 78 annotated “high spool compartment” in Image 1) including at least one bearing assembly (high spool bearing 52) supporting rotation of the high spool shaft, wherein a second lubrication system 104 supplies lubricant to engine components and the at least one bearing assemblies supporting rotation of the high shaft disposed within the high spool compartment (Figs. 1, 5; ¶¶0046, 0048)
a low spool compartment 78 (compartment 78 annotated “low spool compartment” in Image 1) disposed aft of the high spool compartment with the aft bearing assembly (Figs. 1 & 5; ¶¶0038-0040, 0046).
SUCIU further teaches the fan drive gear system may be formed by a planetary type or any other type train (¶0036). However, SUCIU fails to teach the fan drive gear system including a rotatable carrier configured to drive the fan shaft.
SHERIDAN teaches a fan drive gear system wherein a rotatable carrier is configured to drive the fan shaft (Fig. 3, 7:37 to 8:18). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fan drive gear system such that it includes a rotatable carrier configured to drive the fan shaft, in order to provide a low pressure turbine and fan combination that facilitates efficiency from driving them at respective optimal speeds (SHERIDAN 8:1-18).
As discussed above, SUCIU teaches the engine includes the low spool compartment with the aft bearing assembly. SUCIU further teaches the bearings included in the circuits are exemplary (SUCIU ¶¶0038-0039). However, SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN as discussed so far fails to teach the first pump provides oil to at least the aft bearing assembly within the low spool compartment.
SCHEFFLER further teaches a first pump 32 providing oil to forward and aft bearing assemblies 23, 25 in the same circuit (2:45-67). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first pump provides oil to at least the aft bearing assembly within the low spool compartment, in order to provide the entirety of the low spool with the same oil. It has been held that [when] all the claimed elements were known in the prior art (in the instant case, a lubrication circuit that includes a forward bearing and an aft bearing) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (providing the first lubrication circuit such that it additionally provides oil to the bearing annotated “LPB2” in Image 1 while the second lubrication circuit provides oil to the high spool bearings 52 in Figure 1) with no change in their respective functions (heat removal), and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (a circuit in which each of the low spool bearings are included in the first lubrication circuit fed by the first pump), it would have been an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007); citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976). See MPEP § 2143 (I) A.
Re Claim 2, SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN and SCHEFFLER teaches the turbine engine as recited in claim 1. SUCIU further teaches the engine further including an accessory gear box 106 coupled to be driven by one of the low spool and the high spool, wherein the second pump is driven through the accessory gear box (¶0042).
Re Claim 21, SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN and SCHEFFLER teaches the turbine engine as recited in claim 1. SUCIU further teaches wherein the first lubrication circuit further comprises an auxiliary reservoir 80A that captures oil expelled from the fan drive gear system (at 66) and the first pump draws a portion of lubricant flow from the auxiliary reservoir (Figure 5; ¶¶0037, 0046)
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN and SCHEFFLER as applied above and further in view of LEQUE.
Re Claim 3, SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN and SCHEFFLER teaches the turbine engine as recited in claim 1. SUCIU further teaches oil is recovered from the fan drive gear system and communicated to an auxiliary reservoir 80A (SUCIU Fig. 5, ¶0046). However, SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN as discussed so far fails to teach including an oil scavenge system having a collector where oil is recovered from the fan drive gear system.
LEQUE teaches an oil scavenge system (Fig. 4; 246, 258, 260) having a collector where oil is recovered from the fan drive gear system (gutter and compartment; 246, 258) and communicated to an auxiliary reservoir 248 (Fig. 4, ¶¶0053, 0061). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the engine wherein it includes an oil scavenge system having a collector where oil is recovered from the fan drive gear system) and communicated to the auxiliary reservoir, in order to catch and deflect collected oil to recirculate the oil (LEQUE ¶0053)
Re Claim 4, SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN, SCHEFFLER and LEQUE teaches the turbine engine as recited in claim 3. SUCIU further teaches wherein the first pump is in communication with the auxiliary reservoir (SUCIU Figure 5).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN and SCHEFFLER as applied above and further in view of STEARNS.
Re Claims 22-23, SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN, SCHEFFLER teaches the turbine engine as recited in claim 21, but as discussed so far fails to further teach the engine further comprising a heat exchanger for cooling oil from the first pump prior to communication to at least one journal bearing of the fan drive gear system, wherein the first lubrication circuit includes a conduit 74 that communicates oil from the first pump to at least gears of the fan drive gear system that is bypassed around the heat exchanger.
STEARNS teaches an engine 20 further comprising a heat exchanger 68 for cooling oil from a first pump 70 prior to communication to at least one journal bearing 152 of a fan drive gear system 48, wherein a first lubrication circuit includes a conduit 74 that communicates oil from the first pump to at least gears 154 of the fan drive gear system that is bypassed around the heat exchanger (Figs. 1-2, 5:27-54). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the engine further comprising a heat exchanger for cooling oil from the first pump prior to communication to at least one journal bearing of the fan drive gear system, wherein the first lubrication circuit includes a conduit 74 that communicates oil from the first pump to at least gears of the fan drive gear system that is bypassed around the heat exchanger, to provide a system which provides hotter oil to locations that do not need cooler oil and cooler oil where needed (STEARNS 6:4-7). See also SUCIU ¶0051.
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN and SCHEFFLER as applied above and further in view of MASTRO.
Re Claim 24, SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN, SCHEFFLER teaches the turbine engine as recited in claim 21, but as discussed so far fails to teach wherein the first lubrication circuit further comprises a sump where oil not communicated to the auxiliary reservoir is captured, wherein the first pump receives oil from both the auxiliary reservoir and the sump.
MASTRO teaches a first lubrication circuit further comprises a sump 78 where oil not communicated to an auxiliary reservoir 90 is captured, wherein a first pump 68 receives oil from both the auxiliary reservoir and the sump (both return to main tank 70). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first lubrication circuit further comprises a sump where oil not communicated to the auxiliary reservoir is captured, wherein the first pump receives oil from both the auxiliary reservoir and the sump, in order to monitor for faults or other low pressure conditions (MASTRA ¶0053-0054)
Re Claim 25, SUCIU in view of SHERIDAN, SCHEFFLER and MASTRO teaches the turbine engine assembly as recited in claim 24, but as discussed so far fails to teach wherein the first lubrication circuit further comprises an oil scavenge system that captures expelled oil from the forward compartment and the low spool compartment and communicates the captured oil to the sump.
MASTRO further teaches an oil scavenge system (annotated in Image 2 below) that captures expelled oil from the forward compartment (from 48 at conduit annotated “A” in Image 2) and “other lubricated components” (at conduit annotated “B” in Image 2) and communicates the captured oil to the sump 78 (Fig. 2 / Image 2). Moreover, as discussed in Claim 1 above, it would have been obvious to provide the forward and low spool compartments on the same oil circuit (See Claim 1 with respect to SCHEFFLER), such that the “other lubricated components” correspond to the low spool compartment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first lubrication circuit so it further comprises an oil scavenge system that captures expelled oil from the forward compartment and the low spool compartment and communicates the captured oil to the sump, in order to monitor for faults or other low pressure conditions as discussed already with respect to MASTRA (MASTRA ¶0053-0054) while provide the entirety of the low spool with the same oil as already discussed with respect to SCHEFFLER (See Claim 1 above). It has been held that [when] all the claimed elements were known in the prior art (in the instant case, a lubrication circuit that includes a forward bearing and an aft bearing) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (providing the first lubrication circuit such that it additionally provides oil to and from the bearing annotated “LPB2” in Image 1 in the low spool compartment) with no change in their respective functions (heat removal), and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (a circuit in which each of the low spool bearings are included in the first lubrication circuit fed by the first pump and returned via the same sump), it would have been an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007); citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976). See MPEP § 2143 (I) A.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 10/13/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments to aspects of the amended claims have been considered. The examiner notes that claim 1 now additionally requires a “high spool compartment” (and corresponding aspects) not previously required.
Applicant’s arguments to the prior art rejections are not persuasive. The rejections relied on the combined teachings of the references to meet the limitations at issue.
SUCIU teaches the engine includes the low spool compartment with the aft bearing assembly as noted in the rejections above. Applicant argues that modifying SUCIU to include the aft bearing of the low spool compartment in the low spool circuit would change its principle of operation. The examiner disagrees because SUCIU expressly states the bearings included in the circuits are exemplary (note SUICU’s use of “.e.g.,” in ¶0038 and in ¶0039 and the additional teachings at ¶¶0048 noting additional components may be included in the first lubrication circuit). At ¶0039, SUCIU notes that first circuit may include “one or more of the bearings” and further notes an example is “(e.g., 50, 51 and 66)” [emphasis added]. SUCIU expressly states many more embodiments and implementations are within the scope of the invention (¶¶0055-0056). Given that SUCIU is clearly making the particular embodiment exemplary, one of ordinary skill would not find including one additional low spool bearing in this circuit to change SUCIU’s principle of operation (the high spool bearing(s) 52, which rotate at a higher speed and therefore must remove additional heat, could still be separate from the first lubrication circuit). SUCIU even specifically notes the first lubricant may be the same as the second lubricant in the respective circuits (¶0010, 0046). SCHEFFLER is not relied upon for teachings separate circuits, its bypass valves or sump pumps, but rather simply to show that one of ordinary skill would have appreciated that both the forward and aft bearings of the low spool in SUCIU could be in one common circuit.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). SUCIU is clear that “it will be apparent to those of ordinary skill in the art that many more embodiments and implementations are possible within the scope of the invention” (¶0055). Notably, Claim 1 of SUCIU includes only a first bearing in the first circuit and a second bearing in the second circuit, which would still be the case in the proposed modification. In this case, SCHEFFLER provides evidence that providing forward and aft bearings at opposite ends of a shaft with oil of the same circuit was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made. As such, reliance on these additional teachings of the prior art is proper with respect to impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
JASON H DUGER
PRIMARY EXAMINER, ART UNIT 3741
PHONE (313) 446 6536
FAX (571) 270 9083
DATE
January 28, 2026
/JASON H DUGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741