Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanthakumar et al. (US 2018/0263591 A1), and further in view of Nagabhushanrao et al. (US 2024/0006912 A1) and Pachoud*7915 (US 2022/0037915 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Shanthakumar teaches a system, comprising: a power distribution unit (PDU) configured to receive power from a main power source and an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) (see Shanthakumar fig. 4 and paragraph 23), wherein the UPS is configured to directly power an output alternating current (AC) load after the main power source in unavailable (see Shanthakumar paragraph 24 “Various topologies of the UPS may be utilized to provide power (e.g., backup power)”).
But Shanthakumar is silent on teaching a second input configured to receive power from the uninterruptible power supply.
However, Pachoud*7915 teaches an automatic transfer switch which is configured to receive power from a primary power source and a secondary source which could be an uninterruptible power supply (see Pachoud*7915 para 14-15)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shanthakumar to include the automatic transfer switch from Pachoud*7915 to create a high availability power system that can maintain power to a load while removing the UPS to perform maintenance or repairs.
Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915 are silent on the teachings of an autotransformer being used to increase the voltage from the input power (See Shanthakumar paragraph 76).
However, Nagabhushanrao teaches the use of an autotransformer to increase the voltage in an uninterruptable power supply (see Nagabhushanrao paragraph 43, 73-77).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915 to include the teachings of Nagabhushanrao to use an autotransformer instead of a traditional transformer to increase efficiency while reducing cost and size.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915 and Nagabhushanrao teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the output AC load supplies AC power to a plurality of systems of a computed tomography (CT) imaging system (see Shanthakumar fig 2-5 and paragraphs 21).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915 and Nagabhushanrao teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the output HVDC load supplies HVDC power to a plurality of systems within a gantry of a computed tomography (CT) imaging system (see Shanthakumar fig 2-5 and paragraphs 51).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915 and Nagabhushanrao teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the UPS is configured to power the output AC load and the output HVDC load in response to power from the main power source being unavailable (see Shanthakumar paragraph 24-25).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanthakumar et al. (US 2018/0263591 A1) in view of Nagabhushanrao et al. (US 2024/0006912 A1) and Pachoud*7915 (US 2022/0037915 A1), and further in view of Chaudhury (US 2023/0225694 A1).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915 and Nagabhushanrao teaches the system of claim 1, but fails to teach a UPS system that comprises a capacitor to hold sufficient charge to overcome power disruptions and prevent the need to reboot the system.
Chaudhury teaches a UPS system with a capacitor to hold sufficient charge to overcome power disruptions as a bias voltage in (see para 0007, 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chaudhury into that of the combination of Shanthakumar and Nagabhushanrao, thus reducing the power loss between the main power loss and the UPS battery system becoming stable.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Shanthakumar et al. (US 2018/0263591 A1) in view of Nagabhushanrao et al. (US 2024/0006912 A1) and Pachoud*7915 (US 2022/0037915 A1), and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2016/0126787 A1)
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915 and Nagabhushanrao teaches the system of claim 1.
The combination fails to teach a PDU system further comprising a first contact switch to detect main power availability, wherein when main power is available, the first contact switch is in a first position to enable a signal to enable normal operating conditions, and wherein when main power is not available, the first contact switch is in a second position to enable power loss mode operating conditions.
Liao et al. teaches a UPS switch coupled to two sources namely a utility and UPS sources coupled to a transfer switch (13 of fig. 1 or 3, para 0006) to apply the source available to power a load.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Liao into the combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801 and Nagabhushanrao to teach the loads can be powered in case of power failure by applying alternative sources.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagabhushanrao et al. (US 2024/0006912 A1) and Pachoud*7915 (US 2022/0037915 A1), and Pachoud*5801 (US 2024/0155801 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao and Liao teaches the system of claim 2,
The combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao and Liao are silent on teaching of a delay circuit, wherein the delay circuit is enabled to determine whether the power loss detected by the first contact switch is a momentary power loss or a significant power loss.
However, Pachoud*5801 teaches the use of a timer to delay the switching of a switching device (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 312).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao Liao to include the teachings of Pachoud*5801 to include a timer so the UPS system will not activate in a short power outage or momentary power sag.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao and Pachoud*5801 teaches the system of claim 3.
Pachoud*5801 teaches the delay circuit includes a timer which closes a delay contact after a threshold period of time (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 312, 362 and 374).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao and Pachoud*5801 to include a timer to delay switching over to using grid power until the power has stabilized and to prevent false transfers of power.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao and Liao teaches the CT imaging system of claim 4.
The combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915 and Nagabhushanrao fails to teach a second contact, wherein the second contact closes after the delay contact closes if the power loss exceeds a threshold period of time, and wherein closing the second contact enables the UPS to provide power.
Pachoud*5801 teaches a second contact (see Pachoud*5801 fig 8A element RY3 and paragraph 301), wherein the second contact closes after the delay contact closes if the power loss exceeds a threshold period of time (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 312, 362 and 364), and wherein closing the second contact enables the UPS to provide power (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao and Pachoud*5801 to includes a timer to delay the use of the UPS to prevent arcing in the contacts of the relays or false transfers, and using an autotransformer instead of an isolated transformer to decrease the size and cost while increasing the efficiency of the transformer.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanthakumar et al. (US 2018/0263591 A1), in view of Pachoud*7915 (US 2022/0037915 A1) and further in view of Pachoud*5801 (US 2024/0155801 A1) and Nagabhushanrao et al. (US 2024/0006912 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Shanthakumar teaches a computed tomography (CT) imaging system (see Shanthakumar abstract), comprising: a gantry coupled to an output HVDC load (see Shanthakumar paragraph 50-52); a power distribution unit (PDU) (see Shanthakumar fig. 4 element 56 and paragraph 23); wherein the PDU is configured to receive power from one of a main power source and an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) (see Shanthakumar paragraph 4), wherein the UPS provides power to the HVDC load via a transformer when the main power source is unavailable (see Shanthakumar paragraph 24); and a controller with computer readable instructions stored on memory thereof for controlling the plurality of contactors based on availability of the main power source (see Shanthakumar paragraph 27). Shanthakumar teaches a plurality of contactors in (see fig. 4).
But Shanthakumar is silent on teaching a second input configured to receive power from the uninterruptible power supply.
However, Pachoud*7915 teaches an automatic transfer switch which is configured to receive power from a primary power source and a secondary source which could be an uninterruptible power supply (see Pachoud*7915 para 14-15)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shanthakumar to include the automatic transfer switch from Pachoud*7915 to create a high availability power system that can maintain power to a load while removing the UPS to perform maintenance or repairs.
Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915 fails to teach use of a power cabinet coupled to an output AC ;a plurality of contactors with a timer coupled to the PDU and UPS and the switching of a power source being determined by the input from the timer.
Pachoud*5801 teaches the use of a power cabinet coupled to an output AC load (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 88-89 “panelboards”); a plurality of contactors (see fig 8A elements RY2 and RY3)and a timer coupled to the PDU and UPS (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 312, 362 and 364); And the switching of a power source being determined by the input from the timer (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 362 and 374).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of Pachoud*5801 into that of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915 thus making a CT imaging system with a PDU that includes a timer to delay the transfer of power to reduce the chances for false power transfers.
The combination of Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915 and Pachoud*5801 fails to teach an autotransformer.
Nagabhushanrao teaches the use of an autotransformer instead of an isolated transformer (see Nagabhushanrao paragraph 43, 73-77).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915 and Pachoud*5801 to include the teachings of Nagabhushanrao to use an autotransformer to reduce the size and cost of the transformer, and increase the efficiency of the transformer over an isolated transformer.
Claims 11-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Shanthakumar et al. (US 2018/0263591 A1), Pachoud*7915 (US 2022/0037915 A1), Pachoud*5801 (US 2024/0155801 A1) and Nagabhushanrao et al. (US 2024/0006912 A1), and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2016/0126787 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801 and Nagabhushanrao teaches the CT imaging system of claim 10,
The combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801 and Nagabhushanrao fails to teach a CT imaging system further comprising a first contact switch to detect main power availability, wherein when main power is available, the first contact switch is in a first position to enable a signal to enable normal operating conditions, and wherein when main power is not available, the first contact switch is in a second position to enable power loss mode operating conditions.
Liao et al. teaches a UPS switch coupled to two sources namely a utility and UPS sources coupled to a transfer switch (13 of fig. 1 or 3, para 0006) to apply the source available to power a load.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Liao into the combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801 and Nagabhushanrao so loads can be powered in case of power failure by applying alternative sources.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801, Nagabhushanrao and Liao teaches the CT imaging system of claim 11,
The combination Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915 and Nagabhushanrao fails to teach a delay circuit that delays the transfer of power until it is determined that a power loss is significant enough.
Pachoud*5801 teaches a delay circuit, wherein the delay circuit is enabled to determine whether the power loss detected by the first contact switch is a momentary power loss or a significant power loss (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 312).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801 and Nagabhushanrao to delay the switching of power until it is determined that a power outage has occurred and not a monetary power loss or noise on the power grid.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801, Nagabhushanrao and Liao et al. teaches the CT imaging system of claim 12.
The combination Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801 and Nagabhushanrao fails to teach a delay circuit that delays the transfer of power until it is determined that a power loss is significant enough.
Pachoud*5801 teach the delay circuit includes a timer which closes a delay contact after a threshold period of time (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 181, 312 and 374).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801 and Nagabhushanrao to use a timer in the delay circuit in order to adjust the delay to check for stable power and to reduce false transfers between energy sources.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801, Nagabhushanrao and Liao teaches the CT imaging system of claim 13.
The combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801 and Nagabhushanrao fails to teach a second contact, wherein the second contact closes after the delay contact closes if the power loss exceeds a threshold period of time, and wherein closing the second contact enables the UPS to provide power.
Pachoud*5801 teaches a second contact (see Pachoud*5801 fig 8A element RY3 and paragraph 301), wherein the second contact closes after the delay contact closes if the power loss exceeds a threshold period of time (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 312, 362 and 364), and wherein closing the second contact enables the UPS to provide power (see Pachoud*5801 paragraph 17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shanthakumar, Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao and Pachoud*5801 to includes a timer to delay the use of the UPS to prevent arcing in the contacts of the relays or false transfers, and using an autotransformer instead of an isolated transformer to decrease the size and cost while increasing the efficiency of the transformer.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801 and Nagabhushanrao teaches the CT imaging system of claim 10, wherein the output AC load supplies AC power to a plurality of systems of a computed tomography (CT) imaging system (see Shanthakumar fig 2 and paragraph 21).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Pachoud*5801 and Nagabhushanrao teaches the CT imaging system of claim 10, wherein the output HVDC load supplies HVDC power to a plurality of systems within a gantry of a computed tomography (CT) imaging system (see Shanthakumar paragraph 23).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Shanthakumar et al. (US 2018/0263591 A1), Nagabhushanrao et al. (US 2024/0006912 A1), Pachoud*7915 (US 2022/0037915 A1) and Pachoud*5801 (US 2024/0155801 A1) and further in view of Chaudhury (US 2023/0225694 A1).
Regarding claim 17, The combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao and Pachoud*5801 teaches the CT imaging system of claim 10.
The combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao and Pachoud*5801 fails to teach a UPS system that comprises a capacitor to hold sufficient charge to overcome power disruptions and prevent the need to reboot the system.
However, Chaudhury teaches a UPS system with a capacitor to hold sufficient charge to overcome power disruptions as a bias voltage in (see para 0007, 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chaudhury into that of the combination of Shanthakumar and Pachoud*7915, Nagabhushanrao and Pachoud*5801, thus reducing the power loss between the main power loss and the UPS battery system becoming stable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 18 refers to waiting for a tube of the CT imaging system to cool before main power can be turned off to the CT imaging system
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA JAMES SWEET/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836