Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the newly amended calims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Prior Art of Record
The applicant's attention is directed to additional pertinent prior art cited in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited, which, however, may not be currently applied as a basis for the following rejections. While these references were considered during the examination of this application and are deemed relevant to the claimed subject matter, they are not presently being applied as a basis for rejection in this Office action. The pertinence of these documents, however, may be revisited, and they may be applied in subsequent Office actions, particularly in light of any amendments or further clarification of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 9, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Pham et al. (US 20120032354 A1).
CLAIM 5. Kawanabe discloses a method comprising:
providing a die CHP having an active surface (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & ¶0142);
forming bond pads PD on the active surface of the die CHP (Kawanabe,¶0142 Fig. 16);
forming a recess [TR1] in a top surface of the bond pads (Kawanabe,¶0085-86+ & Figs. 8-15);
placing the die CHP on a substrate MDS (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 19);
attaching wire bonds BW from the bond pads PD to the substrate MDS (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 21); and
forming a mold compound MR over the die CHP (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 27).
Kawanabe discloses a method of claim 5, however is silent upon wherein attaching the wire bond from the bond pad to the substrate specifically uses capillary instrument having a inner chamfered tip, and an inner side surface of the inner chamfered tip is non-planar. This feature would however be expected of the wirebonding apparatus at the time of the invention.
Pham et al. Figs. 7(a)-(b) and paragraph [0089]1 teach a capillary tool used for performing ultrasonic wire bonding. Pham discloses a “chamfer” is present in ordinary capillaries tool tips, as providing a inward chamfer increase the area of the pressing surface thereby improving bonding.
Further, as shown in Fig. 7(b), withing the tip, the opening goes from wider to narrow, with a clear transition point prior to the chamfer transition. At each transition of point of the inner surface, is a non-planar surface region which matches the support for the limitation as found in the Applicant’s figures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capillary of Kawanabe with a ordinary capillary comprising a inward chamfer and non-planar inner surface as taught by Pham, since applying a known technique (using a known tool) to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
CLAIM 7. Kawanabe in view of Pham teaches a method of claim 5, wherein forming a recess in a top surface of the bond pads includes performing an etching process to form the recess (Kawanabe ¶136).
CLAIM 9. Kawanabe in view of Pham teaches a method of claim 5, wherein attaching wire bonds from the bond pads to the substrate includes attaching a first end of the wire bonds to a ball bond. depositing the ball bond in the recess of the bond pads via a capillary instrument, and attaching a second end of the wire bonds to the substrate via the capillary instrument (Kawanabe Fig. 12 & ¶106)2.
CLAIM 11. Kawanabe in view of Pham teaches a method of claim 5, however is silent upon wherein the capillary instrument has a double inner chamfered tip to uniformly distribute force vectors across the ball bond while attaching the first end of the wire bond to the bond pads.
Pham et al. Figs. 7(a)-(b) and paragraph [0089]3 teach a capillary used for performing ultrasonic wire bonding. Pham discloses a “chamfer” is present in ordinary capillaries, as providing a inward chamfer increase the area of the pressing surface thereby improving bonding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capillary of Kawanabe with a ordinary capillary comprising a doubled inward chamfer as taught by Pham, since applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
CLAIM 12 Kawanabe in view of Pham discloses a method of claim 9, wherein the capillary instrument has a convex-shaped inner chamfered tip to uniformly distribute force vectors across the ball bond while attaching the first end of the wire bond to the bond pads (Pham et al. Figs. 7(a)-(b) & ¶[0089] – See regarding claim 11)
CLAIM 13. Kawanabe in view of Pham teaches a method of claim 9, wherein the mold compound encapsulates the die, the bond pads, the ball bonds, and the wirebonds, the mold compound covering all but one surface of the substrate, where the one surface not covered faces away from the die (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 27).
Claim(s) 6, 14, 15, 18 & 21is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Pham et al. (US 20120032354 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 8183683 B1).
CLAIM 6. Kawanabe in view of Pham teaches a method of claim 5, however is silent upon how specifically bond pads are formed. Forming the pads as specified is however on of the conventional and notoriously well-known methods of forming bond pads on a chip/die for the purpose of wire bonding. Kim et al. (Col. 8 lines 9-23)4 teaches wherein forming bond pads on an active surface of the die includes forming a photoresist material layer over the active surface of the die, the photoresist material layer having openings patterned therein, and depositing a metal layer in the openings.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art [POSITA] at the time of the invention to simply select a known methodology such as a conventional selective deposition process, since applying a known technique (forming a bond pad by selective deposition through a photoresist mask) to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (forming a patterned bond pads) is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
CLAIM 14. Kawanabe in view of Pham in view of Kim discloses a method comprising: providing a die having an active surface (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 19-27);
forming a photoresist material layer over the active surface of the die. the photoresist material layer having openings patterned therein; depositing a metal layer in the openings to form bond pads on the active surface of the die (Kawanabe as modified/taught by Kim et al. Col. 8 lines 9-23– While, Kawansbe is silent upon specific steps of forming pads, Kim teaches the process of applying a photoresist pattern to selectively electroplating metal for bond pads.); and
forming a recess TR1 in a top surface of the bond pads (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 19-27);
placing the die on a die pad of a leadframe: attaching wire bonds from the bond pads to the leadframe (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 19-27); and
forming a mold compound over the die (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 19-27 5).
Regarding forming of the pads as specified, the process of forming pads as recited is one of the conventional and notoriously well-known methods of forming bond pads on a chip/die for the purpose of wire bonding. Kim et al. (Col. 8 lines 9-23)5 teaches wherein forming bond pads on an active surface of the die includes forming a photoresist material layer over the active surface of the die, the photoresist material layer having openings patterned therein, and depositing [by electroplating] a metal plating layer in the openings of the photoresist material layer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art [POSITA] at the time of the invention to simply select a known methodology such as a conventional selective deposition process, since applying a known technique (forming a bond pad by selective deposition through a photoresist mask) to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (forming a patterned bond pads) is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Kawanabe discloses a method of claim 14, as addressed above, however is silent upon wherein attaching the wire bond from the bond pad to the substrate specifically uses capillary instrument having a inner chamfered tip, and an inner side surface of the inner chamfered tip is non-planar. This feature would however be expected of the wirebonding apparatus at the time of the invention.
Pham et al. Figs. 7(a)-(b) and paragraph [0089]6 teach a capillary tool used for performing ultrasonic wire bonding. Pham discloses a “chamfer” is present in ordinary capillaries tool tips, as providing a inward chamfer increase the area of the pressing surface thereby improving bonding.
Further, as shown in Fig. 7(b), withing the tip, the opening goes from wider to narrow, with a clear transition point prior to the chamfer transition. At each transition of point of the inner surface, is a non-planar surface region which matches the support for the limitation as found in the Applicant’s figures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capillary of Kawanabe with a ordinary capillary comprising a inward chamfer and non-planar inner surface as taught by Pham, since applying a known technique (using a known tool) to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
CLAIM 15. Kawanabe in view of Pham in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 14, wherein forming a recess in a top surface of the bond pads includes performing an etching process to form the recess (Kawanabe ¶136).
CLAIM 18. Kawanabe in view of Pham in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 14, wherein attaching wire bonds from the bond pads to the leadframe includes attaching a first end of the wire bonds to a ball bond, depositing the ball bond in the recess of the bond pads via a capillary instrument, and attaching a second end of the wire bonds to the leadframe via the capillary instrument (Kawanabe Fig. 12 & ¶106).
CLAIM 21. Kawanabe in view of Pham in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 18, wherein the mold compound encapsulates the die, the bond pad, the ball bond, and the wire bond, the mold compound covering all but one surface of the leadframe, wherein the one surface not covered faces away from the die (Kawanabe Fig. 27).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Pham et al. (US 20120032354 A1) in view of Runner et al. (US 20040211761 A1).
CLAIM 10. Kawanabe in view of Pham discloses a method of claim 9, Kawanabe teaches wherein attaching the wire bonds from the bond pads to the substrate is performed at a low temperature in a range by teaches the conventional ultrasonic wire bonding, but is however silent upon a explicit range of approximately 90*C - I20*C.
Runner claims 2-3 teaches hot press ultrasonic wire bonding, such as recited in Kawanabe, may be performed at a temperature above 50C to 150C, thereby teaching the approximate temperature range claimed was known and recognized as suitable parameters routinely selected and optimized for the purpose.
While Kawanabe is silent as to a specific temperature range, Runner teaches that in the related art of ultrasonic wire bonding, a temperature range of 50C to 150C is a known temperature range for forming reliable bonds. Because the Applicants’ claimed range of 90C to 120C falls entirely within the broader range disclosed by Runner, it represents a mere optimization of result-effective variables. A POSITA would have been motivated to operate Kawanabe’s process at the temperatures taught by Runner to ensure thermal activation of the bonding surfaces, which is a known requirement for consistent metallic diffusion in wire bonds.
Claim(s) 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Pham et al. (US 20120032354 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 8183683 B1) in view of Runner et al. (US 20040211761 A1).
CLAIM 17. Kawanabe in view of Pham in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 14, Kawanabe teaches wherein attaching the wire bonds from the bond pads to the substrate is performed at a low temperature in a range by teaches the conventional ultrasonic wire bonding, but is however silent upon a explicit range of approximately 90*C - I20*C.
Runner claims 2-3 teaches hot press ultrasonic wire bonding, such as recited in Kawanabe, may be performed at a temperature above 50C to 150C, thereby teaching the approximate temperature range claimed was known and recognized as suitable parameters routinely selected and optimized for the purpose.
While Kawanabe is silent as to a specific temperature range, Runner teaches that in the related art of ultrasonic wire bonding, a temperature range of 50C to 150C is a known temperature range for forming reliable bonds. Because the Applicants’ claimed range of 90C to 120C falls entirely within the broader range disclosed by Runner, it represents a mere optimization of result-effective variables. A POSITA would have been motivated to operate Kawanabe’s process at the temperatures taught by Runner to ensure thermal activation of the bonding surfaces, which is a known requirement for consistent metallic diffusion in wire bonds.
CLAIM 19. Kawanabe in view of Pham in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 18, however is silent upon wherein the capillary instrument has a double inner chamfered.
Pham et al. Figs. 7(a)-(b) and paragraph [0089] teach a capillary used for performing ultrasonic wire bonding. Pham discloses a “chamfer” is present in ordinary capillaries, as providing a inward chamfer increase the area of the pressing surface thereby improving bonding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capillary of Kawanabe with a ordinary capillary comprising a inward chamfer as taught by Pham, since applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
CLAIM 20. Kawanabe in view of Pham in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 18, wherein the capillary instrument has a convex-shaped inner chamfered tip (Pham et al. Figs. 7(a)-(b) & ¶[0089] – See regarding claims 11 & 19)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JARRETT J. STARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2822
8/4/2026
/JARRETT J STARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
1 Pham et al. - [0089] Additionally, the chamfer angle in the present capillary is steeper than that of an ordinary ball bond capillary. This can be characterized by the interior chamfer angle (ICA) depicted in FIG. 7(a) as ICA 704. In a suitable embodiment used for the wedge bonding applications described here, angles in the range of about 0.degree. to about 120.degree. can be suitable. With angles of 70.degree. or less being preferred in some implementations. This enables a tighter chamfer and thereby increases the surface area of the facing surface 701. In this application, a chamfer diameter 705 is about 1.5 times the diameter of the bond wire used. Additionally, the bore diameter 706 is sized to be in the range of about 6-10 .mu.m more than the diameter of the bond wire used. However, in some implementations the outer chamfer diameter 705 may be arranged only slightly larger or of the same diameter as that of the bore 706. Another feature is a bore length 707 that defines a length of the bore shaft that is vertical walled to enable the wire to remain straight as the deflector bends the wire. In one implementation this is one the order of about 1-2.times. the bond wire diameter. It is pointed out that this is just one example implementation and is not the only way such a capillary can be formed. In one embodiment, it is important that the facing surface be flat (or nearly so), that the facing surface have a roughened or patterned surface rather than a smooth face, and that the facing surface be generally round (a typical facing surface being shown for 213 in FIG. 3).
2 Kawanabe - [0106] When applying ultrasonic waves to the ball portion BWb in wire bonding, the wire BW is bonded using a wire bonding device WBD as schematically illustrated in FIG. 12. The wire bonding device WBD illustrated in FIG. 12 includes a capillary CP as a pressure bonding tool for bonding the ball portion BWb of a wire BW by pressure, an oscillator USG for generating ultrasonic waves, and a horn (ultrasonic transmitter) USH which connects the oscillator USG and capillary CP. The horn USH is a bar-like member extending in one direction, which amplifies ultrasonic waves US1 and transmits them to the capillary CP. In the example shown in FIG. 12, the horn USH extends in the X direction.
3 Pham et al. - [0089] Additionally, the chamfer angle in the present capillary is steeper than that of an ordinary ball bond capillary. This can be characterized by the interior chamfer angle (ICA) depicted in FIG. 7(a) as ICA 704. In a suitable embodiment used for the wedge bonding applications described here, angles in the range of about 0.degree. to about 120.degree. can be suitable. With angles of 70.degree. or less being preferred in some implementations. This enables a tighter chamfer and thereby increases the surface area of the facing surface 701. In this application, a chamfer diameter 705 is about 1.5 times the diameter of the bond wire used. Additionally, the bore diameter 706 is sized to be in the range of about 6-10 .mu.m more than the diameter of the bond wire used. However, in some implementations the outer chamfer diameter 705 may be arranged only slightly larger or of the same diameter as that of the bore 706. Another feature is a bore length 707 that defines a length of the bore shaft that is vertical walled to enable the wire to remain straight as the deflector bends the wire. In one implementation this is one the order of about 1-2.times. the bond wire diameter. It is pointed out that this is just one example implementation and is not the only way such a capillary can be formed. In one embodiment, it is important that the facing surface be flat (or nearly so), that the facing surface have a roughened or patterned surface rather than a smooth face, and that the facing surface be generally round (a typical facing surface being shown for 213 in FIG. 3).
4 As illustrated in FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, bond pads 131 (131a; 131b) are formed on a semiconductor die 130 in formation of pad regions operation S1. Specifically, the first bond pads 131a are formed on the semiconductor die 130, and then the second bond pads 131b are formed so as to be in lateral contact with the respective first bond pads 131a. The second bond pads 131b are positioned more inwardly than the first bond pads 131a with respect to the plane of the semiconductor die 130. The second bond pads 131b can be formed by forming a pattern using a photoresist, plating a metal on the pattern by electroplating or electroless plating, and removing the photoresist. The metal can be selected from magnesium, magnesium alloys, zinc, zinc alloys, cadmium, beryllium and combinations thereof.
5 As illustrated in FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, bond pads 131 (131a; 131b) are formed on a semiconductor die 130 in formation of pad regions operation S1. Specifically, the first bond pads 131a are formed on the semiconductor die 130, and then the second bond pads 131b are formed so as to be in lateral contact with the respective first bond pads 131a. The second bond pads 131b are positioned more inwardly than the first bond pads 131a with respect to the plane of the semiconductor die 130. The second bond pads 131b can be formed by forming a pattern using a photoresist, plating a metal on the pattern by electroplating or electroless plating, and removing the photoresist. The metal can be selected from magnesium, magnesium alloys, zinc, zinc alloys, cadmium, beryllium and combinations thereof.
6 Pham et al. - [0089] Additionally, the chamfer angle in the present capillary is steeper than that of an ordinary ball bond capillary. This can be characterized by the interior chamfer angle (ICA) depicted in FIG. 7(a) as ICA 704. In a suitable embodiment used for the wedge bonding applications described here, angles in the range of about 0.degree. to about 120.degree. can be suitable. With angles of 70.degree. or less being preferred in some implementations. This enables a tighter chamfer and thereby increases the surface area of the facing surface 701. In this application, a chamfer diameter 705 is about 1.5 times the diameter of the bond wire used. Additionally, the bore diameter 706 is sized to be in the range of about 6-10 .mu.m more than the diameter of the bond wire used. However, in some implementations the outer chamfer diameter 705 may be arranged only slightly larger or of the same diameter as that of the bore 706. Another feature is a bore length 707 that defines a length of the bore shaft that is vertical walled to enable the wire to remain straight as the deflector bends the wire. In one implementation this is one the order of about 1-2.times. the bond wire diameter. It is pointed out that this is just one example implementation and is not the only way such a capillary can be formed. In one embodiment, it is important that the facing surface be flat (or nearly so), that the facing surface have a roughened or patterned surface rather than a smooth face, and that the facing surface be generally round (a typical facing surface being shown for 213 in FIG. 3).