Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II: claims 5-20 in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Prior Art of Record
The applicant's attention is directed to additional pertinent prior art cited in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited, which, however, may not be currently applied as a basis for the following rejections. While these references were considered during the examination of this application and are deemed relevant to the claimed subject matter, they are not presently being applied as a basis for rejection in this Office action. The pertinence of these documents, however, may be revisited, and they may be applied in subsequent Office actions, particularly in light of any amendments or further clarification of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
While the claim, specification at ¶35, and step 208 of Figure 2 specify a "second electroplating process" as a method to form a recess in the bond pads, the specification and drawings provides no explicit details on how this process is physically executed. Specifically, it is unclear whether the sidewall structures are formed by plating into a secondary photoresist mask or if they are built up through a maskless process; the disclosure is silent on whether a mask is even utilized to define the recess geometry. Effectively, the process is a “black box” and may be anything conceived or yet conceived. Furthermore, the drawings fail to show separate distinct layers with the bond pad structure that would typically result and/or indicate a sequential deposition process, depicting the pad instead as a integral structure. Because the application fails to describe the necessary photolithographic steps or plating parameters for this embodiment, it does not demonstrate that the applicant was in possession of a specific plating-based method for recess formation, nor does it enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to perform the invention without undue experimentation.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein forming a recess in a top surface of the bond pads includes performing a first electroplating process to form the bond pads and performing a second electroplating process to build up side walls of the bond pads to form the recess” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5, 7, 9, & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1)
CLAIM 5. Kawanabe discloses a method comprising:
providing a die CHP having an active surface (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & ¶0142);
forming bond pads PD on the active surface of the die CHP (Kawanabe,¶0142 Fig. 16);
forming a recess [TR1] in a top surface of the bond pads (Kawanabe,¶0085-86+ & Figs. 8-15);
placing the die CHP on a substrate MDS (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 19);
attaching wire bonds BW from the bond pads PD to the substrate MDS (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 21); and
forming a mold compound MR over the die CHP (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 27).
CLAIM 7. Kawanabe discloses a method of claim 5, wherein forming a recess in a top surface of the bond pads includes performing an etching process to form the recess (Kawanabe ¶136).
CLAIM 9. Kawanabe discloses a method of claim 5, wherein attaching wire bonds from the bond pads to the substrate includes attaching a first end of the wire bonds to a ball bond. depositing the ball bond in the recess of the bond pads via a capillary instrument, and attaching a second end of the wire bonds to the substrate via the capillary instrument (Kawanabe Fig. 12 & ¶106)1.
CLAIM 13. Kawanabe discloses a method of claim 9, wherein the mold compound encapsulates the die, the bond pads, the ball bonds, and the wirebonds, the mold compound covering all but one surface of the substrate, where the one surface not covered faces away from the die (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 14, 15 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 8183683 B1).
CLAIM 6. Kawanabe discloses a method of claim 5, however is silent upon how specifically bond pads are formed. Forming the pads as specified is however on of the conventional and notoriously well-known methods of forming bond pads on a chip/die for the purpose of wire bonding. Kim et al. (Col. 8 lines 9-23)2 teaches wherein forming bond pads on an active surface of the die includes forming a photoresist material layer over the active surface of the die, the photoresist material layer having openings patterned therein, and depositing a metal plating layer in the openings of the photoresist material layer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art [POSITA] at the time of the invention to simply select a known methodology such as a conventional selective deposition process, since applying a known technique (forming a bond pad by selective deposition through a photoresist mask) to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (forming a patterned bond pads) is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
CLAIM 14. Kawanabe in view of Kim discloses a method comprising: fabricating a die assembly comprising: providing a die having an active surface (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 19-27);
forming a photoresist material layer over the active surface of the die. the photoresist material layer having openings patterned therein; depositing a metal plating layer in the openings of the photoresist material layer to form bond pads on the active surface of the die (Kawanabe as modified/taught by Kim et al. Col. 8 lines 9-23– While, Kawansbe is silent upon specific steps of forming pads, Kim teaches the process of applying a photoresist pattern to selectively electroplating metal for bond pads.); and
forming a recess TR1 in a top surface of the bond pads (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 19-27);
placing the die on a die pad of a leadframe: attaching wire bonds from the bond pads to the leadframe (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 19-27); and
forming a mold compound over the die (Kawanabe, Fig. 16 & 19-27 5).
Regarding forming of the pads as specified, the process of forming pads as recited is one of the conventional and notoriously well-known methods of forming bond pads on a chip/die for the purpose of wire bonding. Kim et al. (Col. 8 lines 9-23)3 teaches wherein forming bond pads on an active surface of the die includes forming a photoresist material layer over the active surface of the die, the photoresist material layer having openings patterned therein, and depositing [by electroplating] a metal plating layer in the openings of the photoresist material layer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art [POSITA] at the time of the invention to simply select a known methodology such as a conventional selective deposition process, since applying a known technique (forming a bond pad by selective deposition through a photoresist mask) to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (forming a patterned bond pads) is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
CLAIM 15. Kawanabe in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 14, wherein forming a recess in a top surface of the bond pads includes performing an etching process to form the recess (Kawanabe ¶136).
CLAIM 18. Kawanabe in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 14, wherein attaching wire bonds from the bond pads to the leadframe includes attaching a first end of the wire bonds to a ball bond, depositing the ball bond in the recess of the bond pads via a capillary instrument, and attaching a second end of the wire bonds to the leadframe via the capillary instrument (Kawanabe Fig. 12 & ¶106).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20080045003 A1).
CLAIM 8. Kawanabe discloses a method of claim 5, wherein forming a recess in a top surface of the bond pads includes performing a first electroplating process to form the bond pads, however is silent upon performing a second electroplating process to build up side walls of the bond pads to form the recess. At the time of the invention, performing multiple electroplating processes was known and practiced at the time of the invention. Various motivations include, first forming seed/barrier layers to promote growth, enhance bonding and/or mitigate diffusion to a second electroplated metal layer when forming bond pads. Lee et al. demonstrates a conventional first and second electroplating selective deposition process to form an analogous bond pad resulting in the recited shape (Lee, Figs. 4a-b, ¶s 82, 86-87)4.
Lee discloses that a POSITA may first electroplate seed layers prior to main bulk electroplating of metal when forming bond pads. The deposition process illustrated in Figures 4a-b demonstrates that that this technique, as shown in Lee is a conformal process that results in the buildup of sidewalls withing a trench, resulting in the claimed structural shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the bond pad formation with the sequential electroplating process as taught by Lee, since simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Runner et al. (US 20040211761 A1).
CLAIM 10. Kawanabe discloses a method of claim 9, Kawanabe teaches wherein attaching the wire bonds from the bond pads to the substrate is performed at a low temperature in a range by teaches the conventional ultrasonic wire bonding, but is however silent upon a explicit range of approximately 90*C - I20*C.
Runner claims 2-3 teaches hot press ultrasonic wire bonding, such as recited in Kawanabe, may be performed at a temperature above 50C to 150C, thereby teaching the approximate temperature range claimed was known and recognized as suitable parameters routinely selected and optimized for the purpose.
While Kawanabe is silent as to a specific temperature range, Runner teaches that in the related art of ultrasonic wire bonding, a temperature range of 50C to 150C is a known temperature range for forming reliable bonds. Because the Applicants’ claimed range of 90C to 120C falls entirely within the broader range disclosed by Runner, it represents a mere optimization of result-effective variables. A POSITA would have been motivated to operate Kawanabe’s process at the temperatures taught by Runner to ensure thermal activation of the bonding surfaces, which is a known requirement for consistent metallic diffusion in wire bonds.
Claim(s) 11 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Pham et al. (US 20120032354 A1).
CLAIM 11. Kawanabe discloses a method of claim 9, however is silent upon wherein the capillary instrument has a double inner chamfered tip to uniformly distribute force vectors across the ball bond while attaching the first end of the wire bond to the bond pads. This feature would however be expected of the wirebonding apparatus at the time of the invention.
Pham et al. Figs. 7(a)-(b) and paragraph [0089]5 teach a capillary used for performing ultrasonic wire bonding. Pham discloses a “chamfer” is present in ordinary capillaries, as providing a inward chamfer increase the area of the pressing surface thereby improving bonding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capillary of Kawanabe with a ordinary capillary comprising a inward chamfer as taught by Pham, since applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
CLAIM 12 Kawanabe in view of Pham discloses a method of claim 9, wherein the capillary instrument has a convex-shaped inner chamfered tip to uniformly distribute force vectors across the ball bond while attaching the first end of the wire bond to the bond pads (Pham et al. Figs. 7(a)-(b) & ¶[0089] – See regarding claim 11)
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 8183683 B1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20080045003 A1).
CLAIM 16. Kawanabe in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 14, wherein forming a recess in a top surface of the bond pads includes performing a first electroplating process to form the bond pads, however is silent upon performing a second electroplating process to build up side walls of the bond pads to form the recess. At the time of the invention, performing multiple electroplating processes was known and practiced at the time of the invention. Various motivations include, first forming seed/barrier layers to promote growth, enhance bonding and/or mitigate diffusion to a second electroplated metal layer when forming bond pads. Lee et al. demonstrates a conventional first and second electroplating selective deposition process to form an analogous bond pad resulting in the recited shape (Lee, Figs. 4a-b, ¶s 82, 86-87).
Lee discloses that a POSITA may first electroplate seed layers prior to main bulk electroplating of metal when forming bond pads. The deposition process illustrated in Figures 4a-b demonstrates that that this technique, as shown in Lee is a conformal process that results in the buildup of sidewalls withing a trench, resulting in the claimed structural shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the bond pad formation with the sequential electroplating process as taught by Lee, since simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 8183683 B1) in view of Runner et al. (US 20040211761 A1).
CLAIM 17. Kawanabe in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 14, Kawanabe teaches wherein attaching the wire bonds from the bond pads to the substrate is performed at a low temperature in a range by teaches the conventional ultrasonic wire bonding, but is however silent upon a explicit range of approximately 90*C - I20*C.
Runner claims 2-3 teaches hot press ultrasonic wire bonding, such as recited in Kawanabe, may be performed at a temperature above 50C to 150C, thereby teaching the approximate temperature range claimed was known and recognized as suitable parameters routinely selected and optimized for the purpose.
While Kawanabe is silent as to a specific temperature range, Runner teaches that in the related art of ultrasonic wire bonding, a temperature range of 50C to 150C is a known temperature range for forming reliable bonds. Because the Applicants’ claimed range of 90C to 120C falls entirely within the broader range disclosed by Runner, it represents a mere optimization of result-effective variables. A POSITA would have been motivated to operate Kawanabe’s process at the temperatures taught by Runner to ensure thermal activation of the bonding surfaces, which is a known requirement for consistent metallic diffusion in wire bonds.
Claim(s) 19 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawanabe (US 20150228618 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 8183683 B1) in view of Pham et al. (US 20120032354 A1).
CLAIM 19. Kawanabe in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 18, however is silent upon wherein the capillary instrument has a double inner chamfered tip to uniformly distribute force vectors across the ball bond while attaching the first end of the wire bond to the bond pads. This feature would however be expected of the wirebonding apparatus at the time of the invention.
Pham et al. Figs. 7(a)-(b) and paragraph [0089] teach a capillary used for performing ultrasonic wire bonding. Pham discloses a “chamfer” is present in ordinary capillaries, as providing a inward chamfer increase the area of the pressing surface thereby improving bonding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capillary of Kawanabe with a ordinary capillary comprising a inward chamfer as taught by Pham, since applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
CLAIM 20. Kawanabe in view of Kim in view of Pham discloses a method of claim 18, wherein the capillary instrument has a convex-shaped inner chamfered tip to uniformly distribute force vectors across the ball bond while attaching the first end of the wire bond to the bond pads(Pham et al. Figs. 7(a)-(b) & ¶[0089] – See regarding claims 11 & 19)
Conclusion
JARRETT J. STARK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2822
1/21/2026
/JARRETT J STARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
1 Kawanabe - [0106] When applying ultrasonic waves to the ball portion BWb in wire bonding, the wire BW is bonded using a wire bonding device WBD as schematically illustrated in FIG. 12. The wire bonding device WBD illustrated in FIG. 12 includes a capillary CP as a pressure bonding tool for bonding the ball portion BWb of a wire BW by pressure, an oscillator USG for generating ultrasonic waves, and a horn (ultrasonic transmitter) USH which connects the oscillator USG and capillary CP. The horn USH is a bar-like member extending in one direction, which amplifies ultrasonic waves US1 and transmits them to the capillary CP. In the example shown in FIG. 12, the horn USH extends in the X direction.
2 As illustrated in FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, bond pads 131 (131a; 131b) are formed on a semiconductor die 130 in formation of pad regions operation S1. Specifically, the first bond pads 131a are formed on the semiconductor die 130, and then the second bond pads 131b are formed so as to be in lateral contact with the respective first bond pads 131a. The second bond pads 131b are positioned more inwardly than the first bond pads 131a with respect to the plane of the semiconductor die 130. The second bond pads 131b can be formed by forming a pattern using a photoresist, plating a metal on the pattern by electroplating or electroless plating, and removing the photoresist. The metal can be selected from magnesium, magnesium alloys, zinc, zinc alloys, cadmium, beryllium and combinations thereof.
3 As illustrated in FIGS. 5, 6A and 6B, bond pads 131 (131a; 131b) are formed on a semiconductor die 130 in formation of pad regions operation S1. Specifically, the first bond pads 131a are formed on the semiconductor die 130, and then the second bond pads 131b are formed so as to be in lateral contact with the respective first bond pads 131a. The second bond pads 131b are positioned more inwardly than the first bond pads 131a with respect to the plane of the semiconductor die 130. The second bond pads 131b can be formed by forming a pattern using a photoresist, plating a metal on the pattern by electroplating or electroless plating, and removing the photoresist. The metal can be selected from magnesium, magnesium alloys, zinc, zinc alloys, cadmium, beryllium and combinations thereof.
4 Lee et al. - [0082] An experiment was performed in which the structure depicted in FIG. 2 was formed, using 4 .mu.m thick electroplated gold as the compliant metal 20, and Fluorinated Silicate Glass (FSG) as the intermetal dielectric 16. After wire bonding, no damage to the intermetal dielectric was observed.
[0085] In one embodiment of the invention, as shown in FIG. 7, a glue/barrier layer 29 is deposited over passivation layer 18. The glue/barrier layer 29 preferably comprises Ti, Cr (chromium), TiW or TiN (titanium nitride). The preferred method for the creation of glue/barrier layer 29 is sputtering.
[0086] An electroplating seed layer 30 is formed over the glue/barrier layer 29, preferably by sputtering Au to a thickness of about 1000 Angstroms.
5 Pham et al. - [0089] Additionally, the chamfer angle in the present capillary is steeper than that of an ordinary ball bond capillary. This can be characterized by the interior chamfer angle (ICA) depicted in FIG. 7(a) as ICA 704. In a suitable embodiment used for the wedge bonding applications described here, angles in the range of about 0.degree. to about 120.degree. can be suitable. With angles of 70.degree. or less being preferred in some implementations. This enables a tighter chamfer and thereby increases the surface area of the facing surface 701. In this application, a chamfer diameter 705 is about 1.5 times the diameter of the bond wire used. Additionally, the bore diameter 706 is sized to be in the range of about 6-10 .mu.m more than the diameter of the bond wire used. However, in some implementations the outer chamfer diameter 705 may be arranged only slightly larger or of the same diameter as that of the bore 706. Another feature is a bore length 707 that defines a length of the bore shaft that is vertical walled to enable the wire to remain straight as the deflector bends the wire. In one implementation this is one the order of about 1-2.times. the bond wire diameter. It is pointed out that this is just one example implementation and is not the only way such a capillary can be formed. In one embodiment, it is important that the facing surface be flat (or nearly so), that the facing surface have a roughened or patterned surface rather than a smooth face, and that the facing surface be generally round (a typical facing surface being shown for 213 in FIG. 3).