DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 95/21/2025, 07/07/2024, 11/29/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In analyzing under step 1, is the claim to a process, machine manufacture or composition of matter? Yes.
In analyzing under step 2A Prong One, Does the claim recite an abstract idea law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes.
The claim(s) 1, 16 and 19 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “determine a data field processing setting for a data field of a Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) such that a padding parameter value corresponding to the data field processing setting does not exceed a padding parameter threshold, wherein the data field processing setting comprises at least one of a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index or a channel Bandwidth (BW) setting, wherein the padding parameter value corresponding to the data field processing setting is based on a number of pre Forward Error Correction (FEC) (pre-FEC) pad bits according to the data field processing setting; and encode the data field according to a FEC coding using the number of pre-FEC pad bits according to the data field processing setting” is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation under the mathematical calculation process (see figure 3 shows equation for determining padding) for but for the recitation of generic computer processor such as “an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:” (see claim 1), “an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:” (see claim 16), “A product comprising one or more tangible computer-readable non-transitory storage media comprising instructions operable to, when executed by at least one processor, enable the at least one processor to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:” (see claim 19), such as “a radio to transmit the PPDU” (see claims 14) and such as “ antennas connected to the radio, and a processor to execute instructions of an operating system of the STA: (see claims 15)
The claim(s) 2 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “determine the MCS index…” is based on mathematical processes.
The claim(s) 3 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “select the MCS index…” is based on mathematical processes.
The claim(s) 4 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “select the MCS index…” is based on mathematical processes.
The claim(s) 5 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “determine the channel BW setting…” is based on mathematical processes.
The claim(s) 6 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “determine a first padding parameter…encode the data…” is based on mathematical processes.
The claim(s) 7 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “determine the data field processing setting…” is based on mathematical processes.
The claim(s) 8 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “determine the data field processing setting…” is based on mathematical processes.
The claim(s) 9 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “set an extra symbol segment field…” is based on mathematical processes.
The claim(s) 10-12 recite(s) the further define abstract limitations which is based on mathematical processes.
The claim(s) 13 recite(s) the abstract limitations such as “FEC coding” is based on mathematical processes.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation under mathematical process but for the recitation of generic computer components and software module, then it falls within “Mathematical Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
The generic computer can determine a data field processing setting for a data field …comprises at least one of a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index or a channel Bandwidth (BW) setting, wherein the padding parameter value corresponding to the data field processing setting is based on a number… encode the data field according to a FEC coding.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract limitation.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under Step 2A Prong 2. The recited steps of "…" are extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and hence these features are not indicative of integration into a practical application.
In analyzing under step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recite a generic processor such as “an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:” (see claim 1), “an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:” (see claim 16) and “A product comprising one or more tangible computer-readable non-transitory storage media comprising instructions operable to, when executed by at least one processor, enable the at least one processor to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:” (see claim 19) for determining and encoding.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a generic processor and software module which are high level for determining and encoding.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In analyzing under step 2B, does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? NO
Claims 1-20 do not recite any additional elements except a generic processor such as “an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:” (see claim 1), “an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:” (see claim 16) and “A product comprising one or more tangible computer-readable non-transitory storage media comprising instructions operable to, when executed by at least one processor, enable the at least one processor to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:” (see claim 19) for determining and encoding
Accordingly, the additional generic elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a generic processor and software module which are high level for determining and encoding
The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-4 recite a limitation such as “select the MCS index…such that the padding parameter value is lower than padding parameter values…”
The recited limitation such as “select the MCS index…such that the padding parameter value is lower than padding parameter values…” renders this limitation indefinite because Applicant fails to provide a method of selecting MCS (modulation coding scheme) such that the padding parameter value is lower the padding parameter values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Cao et al (US 2024/0,015,060)
As per claim 1:
Cao discloses:
An apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:
(Cao, Figs 1-9)
(Cao, [0006] FIG. 1 is … a wireless local area network (WLAN) in which wireless communication station (STA) devices signal …be padding capabilities with either nominal packet padding or PPET field signaling for use in calculating packet extensions used in EHT PHY data frames …)
(Cao, Fig. 7, Input Data 711, Pre-FEC padding 714, FEC Encoding 715, Modulation 730)
determine a data field processing setting for a data field of a Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) (Cao, [0017] physical layer (PHY), [0073] physical protocol data unit (PPDU) is employed) such that a padding parameter value corresponding to the data field processing setting does not exceed a padding parameter threshold,
(Cao, [0024]-[0028] padding parameter)
(Cao, Fig. 2A and 2B, shows packing padding is 0, 8, 16, 20 or 24)
(Cao in figure 2A/B shows that 0us which means does not need a padding at all)
(Cao [0067]…Based on the computed initial a-factor a-init, the transmitting station computes how many pre-FEC padding bits 602 should be appended to the excess information bits NEXCESS 601)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the padding packet extension A-Factor Parameter..802)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the pre-FEC Padding bits 803)
wherein the data field processing setting comprises at least one of a Modulation and
(Cao, Fig. 7 Modulation 730)
Coding Scheme (MCS) index or
(Cao [0062]…EHT-SIG field 524 can use different MCS from data MCS(s) (and can occupy a variable number of symbols which are indicated in the U-SIG field 523)
a channel Bandwidth (BW) setting,
(Cao [0062]…U-SIG field 523 may include information specifying the bandwidth (BW))
encode the data field according to a FEC coding using the number of pre-FEC pad bits according to the data field processing setting.
(Cao, Fig. 7, Input Data 711, Pre-FEC padding 714, FEC Encoding 715, Modulation 730)
As per claim 2:
Cao further discloses:
determine the MCS index to define a Number of Data Bits Per Symbol (N.sub.DBPS) setting such that the padding parameter value does not exceed the padding parameter threshold, and to configure the FEC coding according to the MCS index.
(Cao [0062]…EHT-SIG field 524 can use different MCS from data MCS(s) and can occupy a variable number of symbols which are indicated in the U-SIG field 523)
As per claim 3:
Cao further discloses:
select the MCS index from a plurality of MCS indexes such that the padding parameter value is lower than padding parameter values corresponding to one or more other MCS indexes.
(Cao [0062]…EHT-SIG field 524 can use different MCS from data MCS(s) and can occupy a variable number of symbols which are indicated in the U-SIG field 523)
As per claim 4:
Cao further discloses:
select the MCS index from a plurality of MCS indexes such that the padding parameter value is lower than padding parameter values corresponding to all other MCS indexes in the plurality of MCS indexes.
(Cao [0062]…EHT-SIG field 524 can use different MCS from data MCS(s) and can occupy a variable number of symbols which are indicated in the U-SIG field 523)
As per claim 5:
Cao further discloses:
configured to cause the STA to determine the channel BW setting such that the padding parameter value does not exceed the padding parameter threshold.
(Cao [0062]…U-SIG field 523 may include information specifying the bandwidth (BW))
As per claim 6:
Cao further discloses:
determine a first padding parameter value corresponding to an initial data field processing setting; based on a determination that the first padding parameter value is to exceed the padding parameter threshold, determine an adjusted data field processing setting such that a second padding parameter value corresponding to the adjusted data field processing setting is not to exceed the padding parameter threshold; and
(Cao, [0024]-[0028] padding parameter)
(Cao, Fig. 2A and 2B, shows packing padding is 0, 8, 16, 20 or 24)
(Cao in figure 2A/B shows that 0us which means does not need a padding at all)
(Cao [0067]…Based on the computed initial a-factor a-init, the transmitting station computes how many pre-FEC padding bits 602 should be appended to the excess information bits NEXCESS 601)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the padding packet extension A-Factor Parameter..802)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the pre-FEC Padding bits 803)
encode the data field according to the FEC coding using a number of pre-FEC pad bits according to the adjusted data field processing setting.
(Cao, Fig. 7, Input Data 711, Pre-FEC padding 714, FEC Encoding 715, Modulation 730)
As per claim 7:
Cao further discloses:
determine the data field processing setting such that a difference between an adjusted total number of Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbols to encode the data field according to the adjusted data field processing setting and an initial total number of OFDM symbols to encode the data field according to the initial data field processing setting does not exceed a symbol threshold.
(Cao, [0063]…After applying OFDM modulation to the FEC output bits and appended post-FEC padding bits, the last symbol of the data payload portion 531 is generated)
As per claim 8:
Cao further discloses:
the STA to determine the data field processing setting according to an iterative procedure to iterate over a process for determining the number of pre-FEC pad bits while adjusting the data field processing setting between iterations, wherein a termination criterion of the iterative procedure requires that the padding parameter value does not exceed the padding parameter threshold.
(Cao, [0024]-[0028] padding parameter)
(Cao, Fig. 2A and 2B, shows packing padding is 0, 8, 16, 20 or 24)
(Cao in figure 2A/B shows that 0us which means does not need a padding at all)
(Cao [0067]…Based on the computed initial a-factor a-init, the transmitting station computes how many pre-FEC padding bits 602 should be appended to the excess information bits NEXCESS 601)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the padding packet extension A-Factor Parameter..802)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the pre-FEC Padding bits 803)
As per claim 9:
Cao further discloses:
the STA to set an extra-symbol-segment field in the PPDU to indicate a count of any extra Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbols added to the data field based on an adjustment of the data field processing setting to ensure that the padding parameter value does not exceed a padding parameter threshold.
(Cao, [0063]…After applying OFDM modulation to the FEC output bits and appended post-FEC padding bits, the last symbol of the data payload portion 531 is generated)
As per claim 10:
Cao further discloses:
wherein the padding parameter value corresponding to the data field processing setting comprises a padding ratio corresponding to the data field processing setting, wherein the padding parameter threshold comprises a padding ratio threshold.
(Cao, [0024]-[0028] padding parameter)
(Cao, Fig. 2A and 2B, shows packing padding is 0, 8, 16, 20 or 24)
(Cao in figure 2A/B shows that 0us which means does not need a padding at all)
(Cao [0067]…Based on the computed initial a-factor a-init, the transmitting station computes how many pre-FEC padding bits 602 should be appended to the excess information bits NEXCESS 601)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the padding packet extension A-Factor Parameter..802)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the pre-FEC Padding bits 803)
As per claim 11:
Cao further discloses:
wherein the padding ratio corresponding to the data field processing setting is based on a ratio between the number of pre-FEC pad bits according to the data field processing setting and a length of the data field.
(Cao, Fig. 7, Input Data 711, Pre-FEC padding 714, FEC Encoding 715, Modulation 730)
(Cao, [0024]-[0028] padding parameter)
(Cao, Fig. 2A and 2B, shows packing padding is 0, 8, 16, 20 or 24)
(Cao in figure 2A/B shows that 0us which means does not need a padding at all)
(Cao [0067]…Based on the computed initial a-factor a-init, the transmitting station computes how many pre-FEC padding bits 602 should be appended to the excess information bits NEXCESS 601)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the padding packet extension A-Factor Parameter..802)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the pre-FEC Padding bits 803)
As per claim 12:
Cao further discloses:
wherein the padding parameter value corresponding to the data field processing setting comprises the number of pre-FEC pad bits according to the data field processing setting.
(Cao, Fig. 7, Input Data 711, Pre-FEC padding 714, FEC Encoding 715, Modulation 730)
(Cao, [0024]-[0028] padding parameter)
(Cao, Fig. 2A and 2B, shows packing padding is 0, 8, 16, 20 or 24)
(Cao in figure 2A/B shows that 0us which means does not need a padding at all)
(Cao [0067]…Based on the computed initial a-factor a-init, the transmitting station computes how many pre-FEC padding bits 602 should be appended to the excess information bits NEXCESS 601)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the padding packet extension A-Factor Parameter..802)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the pre-FEC Padding bits 803)
As per claim 13:
Cao further discloses:
wherein the FEC coding comprises a Low-Density Parity Check (LDPC) coding.
(Cao, [0079]…PHY processing unit 900 includes a processing path 911-922 in the data symbols generation unit 902 which includes a pre-FEC PHY padding unit 911, a scrambler 912, one or more LDPC or FEC encoders 913)
As per claim 14:
Cao further discloses:
comprising a radio to transmit the PPDU.
(Cao, Fig. 7, Input Data 711, Pre-FEC padding 714, FEC Encoding 715, Modulation 730)
(Cao, Fig. 1, three transceivers 18A-C and three antennas 10A-C)
(Cao, [0017] physical layer (PHY), [0073] physical protocol data unit (PPDU) is employed)
As per claim 15:
Cao further discloses:
comprising one or more antennas connected to the radio, and a processor to execute instructions of an operating system of the STA.
(Cao, Fig. 7, Input Data 711, Pre-FEC padding 714, FEC Encoding 715, Modulation 730)
(Cao, Fig. 1, three transceivers 18A-C and three antennas 10A-C)
As per claim 16:
An apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:
determine a Number of Data Bits Per Symbol (N.sub.DBPS) setting for encoding a data field of a Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) such that a padding parameter value corresponding to the N.sub.DBPS setting does not exceed a padding parameter threshold, wherein the padding parameter value corresponding to the N.sub.DBPS setting is based on a number of pre Forward Error Correction (FEC) (pre-FEC) pad bits according to the N.sub.DBPS setting; and
(Cao, [0024]-[0028] padding parameter)
(Cao, Fig. 2A and 2B, shows packing padding is 0, 8, 16, 20 or 24)
(Cao in figure 2A/B shows that 0us which means does not need a padding at all)
(Cao [0067]…Based on the computed initial a-factor a-init, the transmitting station computes how many pre-FEC padding bits 602 should be appended to the excess information bits NEXCESS 601)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the padding packet extension A-Factor Parameter..802)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the pre-FEC Padding bits 803)
encode the data field according to a FEC coding using the number of pre-FEC pad bits according to the N.sub.DBPS setting.
(Cao, Fig. 7, Input Data 711, Pre-FEC padding 714, FEC Encoding 715, Modulation 730)
As per claim 17:
Cao further discloses:
the STA to determine a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) index to define the N.sub.DBPS setting such that the padding parameter value corresponding to the N.sub.DBPS setting does not exceed the padding parameter threshold, and to configure the FEC coding according to the MCS index.
(Cao [0062]…EHT-SIG field 524 can use different MCS from data MCS(s) and can occupy a variable number of symbols which are indicated in the U-SIG field 523)
As per claim 18:
Cao further discloses:
the STA to determine a channel Bandwidth (BW) for the PPDU such that the padding parameter value corresponding to the N.sub.DBPS setting does not exceed the padding parameter threshold.
(Cao [0062]…U-SIG field 523 may include information specifying the bandwidth (BW))
As per claim 19:
Cao discloses:
A product comprising one or more tangible computer-readable non-transitory storage media comprising instructions operable to, when executed by at least one processor, enable the at least one processor to cause a wireless communication Station (STA) to:
(Cao, Figs 1-9)
(Cao, [0006] FIG. 1 is … a wireless local area network (WLAN) in which wireless communication station (STA) devices signal …be padding capabilities with either nominal packet padding or PPET field signaling for use in calculating packet extensions used in EHT PHY data frames …)
(Cao, Fig. 7, Input Data 711, Pre-FEC padding 714, FEC Encoding 715, Modulation 730)
determine a data field processing setting for a data field of a Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) such that a padding parameter value corresponding to the data field processing setting does not exceed a padding parameter threshold,
(Cao, [0024]-[0028] padding parameter)
(Cao, Fig. 2A and 2B, shows packing padding is 0, 8, 16, 20 or 24)
(Cao in figure 2A/B shows that 0us which means does not need a padding at all)
(Cao [0067]…Based on the computed initial a-factor a-init, the transmitting station computes how many pre-FEC padding bits 602 should be appended to the excess information bits NEXCESS 601)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the padding packet extension A-Factor Parameter..802)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the pre-FEC Padding bits 803)
wherein the data field processing setting comprises at least one of a Modulation and
(Cao, Fig. 7 Modulation 730)
Coding Scheme (MCS) index or
(Cao [0062]…EHT-SIG field 524 can use different MCS from data MCS(s) and can occupy a variable number of symbols which are indicated in the U-SIG field 523)
a channel Bandwidth (BW) setting,
(Cao [0062]…U-SIG field 523 may include information specifying the bandwidth (BW))
wherein the padding parameter value corresponding to the data field processing setting is based on a number of pre Forward Error Correction (FEC) (pre-FEC) pad bits according to the data field processing setting; and
Cao, [0024]-[0028] padding parameter)
(Cao, Fig. 2A and 2B, shows packing padding is 0, 8, 16, 20 or 24)
(Cao in figure 2A/B shows that 0us which means does not need a padding at all)
(Cao [0067]…Based on the computed initial a-factor a-init, the transmitting station computes how many pre-FEC padding bits 602 should be appended to the excess information bits NEXCESS 601)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the padding packet extension A-Factor Parameter..802)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the pre-FEC Padding bits 803)
encode the data field according to a FEC coding using the number of pre-FEC pad bits according to the data field processing setting.
(Cao, Fig. 7, Input Data 711, Pre-FEC padding 714, FEC Encoding 715, Modulation 730)
As per claim 20:
Cao further discloses:
the STA to determine the data field processing setting according to an iterative procedure to iterate over a process for determining the number of pre-FEC pad bits while adjusting the data field processing setting between iterations,
wherein a termination criterion of the iterative procedure requires that the padding parameter value does not exceed the padding parameter threshold.
(Cao, [0024]-[0028] padding parameter)
(Cao, Fig. 2A and 2B, shows packing padding is 0, 8, 16, 20 or 24)
(Cao in figure 2A/B shows that 0us which means does not need a padding at all)
(Cao [0067]…Based on the computed initial a-factor a-init, the transmitting station computes how many pre-FEC padding bits 602 should be appended to the excess information bits NEXCESS 601)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the padding packet extension A-Factor Parameter..802)
(Cao, Fig. 8 Determine the pre-FEC Padding bits 803)
Conclusion
/Thien Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111