DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 thru 15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. US 2020/0211959 A1 in view of Higuchi et al. US 6,207,296 B1 in view of Brassfield et al. US 2020/0211760 A1, which was disclosed in the applicant’s IDS filed 5/22/26. Hou discloses (see, for example, FIG. 2, and 1) a package integrated circuit (IC) 100 comprising a package substrate 110, electronic device 102, metal interconnects 128, insulation material 130, inductor 120, and magnetic molding material 125. In paragraph [0018], Hou discloses the magnetic molding material 125 having ferrite M33, nickel, ferrite N41, iron, etc. Hou does not disclose an insulation material … including non-conductive particles. However, Higuchi discloses (see, for example, column 1, lines 11-63) an inorganic filler which can be highly loaded in resin compositions that are used in a semiconductor device encapsulated with a cured product of the composition. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have an insulation material … including non-conductive particles in order to reduce melt viscosity and water absorption to produce a more reliable insulation material.
Even though Hou in view of Higushi discloses (see, for example, paragraph [0018] of Hou) the magnetic molding material 125 having ferrite M33, nickel, ferrite N41, iron, etc., Hou in view of Higuchi does not clearly disclose the magnetic molding material includes conductive particles. However, Brassfield discloses (see, for example, FIG. 6) a packaged integrated circuit 600 comprising a magnetic molding material 502. In paragraph [0032], Brassfield further discloses the magnetic molding material may include a ferromagnetic material, in the form of particles that are dispersed throughout the mold compound. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the magnetic molding material includes conductive particles in order to enhance the operation of the inductor, and better control the amount of permeability within the inductor and the packaged integrated circuit.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, the abstract wherein Higuchi discloses loading inorganic filler into an epoxy resin composition, and column 4, lines 16-21 wherein Higuchi discloses non-electrically conducive particles such as silica, etc..
Regarding claims 3, and 12, see, for example, paragraph [0032] wherein Brassfield discloses ferromagnetic particles dispersed in a resin.
Regarding claims 4, and 13, see, for example, paragraph [0018] wherein Hou discloses multiple metals formed in the magnetic material, which lowers the breakdown voltage in the magnetic material
Regarding claim 5, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Hou discloses a semiconductor die 104.
Regarding claim 6, see, for example, paragraph [0016] wherein Hou discloses a capacitor.
Regarding claims 7, and 14, see, for example, FIG. 2, and 3 wherein Hou discloses the inductor has a coil portion 120a-120d, first stilt 214, and second stilt 210, the first and second stilts are coupled to the package substrate 110 at opposing sides of the electronic device 102.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, FIG. 3 wherein Hou discloses first metal post 135 and second metal post 135.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Hou discloses metal pads within the substrate 110 underneath the metal posts and metal interconnects.
Regarding claims 10, and 15, see, for example, FIG. 2, and 1 wherein Hou discloses the insulation material 130 covers at least a part of the package substrate 110.
Regarding claim 11, see the rejection for claims 1, and 2 above.
Regarding claim 21, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Hou discloses the magnetic molding material 125 fills spaces within the inductor 120 and spaces surrounding the inductor 120.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
July 29, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815