DETAILED ACTION
Note: a III-nitride transistor is a type of transistor made from a compound semiconductor containing elements from Group III of the periodic table (like gallium, indium, or aluminum) and nitrogen. These transistors are used in high-frequency and high-power electronic devices due to their excellent properties, such as a wide bandgap, high electron mobility, and high breakdown voltage. They are essential for applications like fast communication systems and efficient power electronics.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Please, change “first thermal substrate 224” in figure 1 to - - first thermal substrate 244 - - for correct typo error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-31, 36-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Wu (U.S. 2013/0222045), hereafter Wu.
As to claim 21, Wu discloses a power conversion module (para-0039+) comprising:
a first daughterboard (65, para-0040) coupled to first and second pads (not shown, the metal layer 81 included pads, para-0051) on a motherboard (85), the first daughterboard (65) comprising a high side transistor (60, para-0039) for the power conversion module; and
a second daughterboard (75, para-0040) coupled to third and fourth pads (not label, but the metal layer 82 included pads, para-0051) on the mother board (85), the second daughterboard (75) comprising a low side transistor (70, para-0039) for the power conversion module.
As to claim 22, Wu discloses the first daughterboard (65) and the second daughter board (75) are mounted on the mother board (85).
As to claim 23, Wu discloses the first daughterboard (65) is mounted on a first side (top side) of the motherboard (85) and the second daughterboard (75) is mounted on a second side (bottom side) of the mother board.
As to claim 24, Wu discloses the first and second daughterboards (65, 75) have the same footprint.
As to claim 25, Wu discloses a plane perpendicular to the first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces) of the motherboard (85) intersects the high side transistor (60) and the low side transistor (70).
As to claim 26, Wu discloses the high side transistor (60) and the low side transistor (70) are gallium nitride (GaN) field effect transistors (FETs), (III-nitride transistor).
As to claim 27, Wu discloses in figure 6 the high side transistor (60) is a component of an integrated circuit (IC) chip mounted on the first daughterboard (65) and the low side transistor (70) is a component of an IC chip mounted on the second daughterboard (75).
As to claim 28, Wu discloses the high side transistor (60) is formed on a first die integrated with the first daughterboard (65) and the low side transistor (70) is formed on a second die integrated with the second daughterboard (75).
As to claim 29, Wu discloses an output node (i.e. element 17) on the motherboard (85) is configured to be coupled to a load (28, para-0009+) and an area circumscribed by a current loop for current flowing through a decoupling capacitor (51).
As to claim 30, Wu discloses the high side transistor (60) and the low side transistor (70) define a loop area of the power conversion module.
As to claim 31, Wu discloses a first leg of the current loop (current path) flows in a first direction through the first daughterboard (65), and a second leg of the current loop (current path) flows in a second direction through the second daughterboard (75), the second direction being opposite of the first direction.
As to claim 36, Wu discloses a power conversion module (para-0039+) comprising:
a high side transistor (60) electrically coupled to first and second pads (not label, but the metal layer 81 included the pads) on a motherboard (85);
a low side transistor (70) electrically coupled to third and second pads (not label, but the metal layer 82 included the pads) on the motherboard;
a first thermal substrate (65) thermally coupled to the high side transistor; and
a second thermal substrate (75) thermally coupled to the low side transistor.
As to claim 37, Wu discloses a plane perpendicular to first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces) of the motherboard (85) intersects the high side transistor and the low side transistor.
As to claim 38, Wu discloses the high side transistor (60) and the low side transistor (70) are gallium nitride (GaN) field effect transistors (FETs), III- nitride transistor.
As to claim 39, Wu discloses a method for forming a power conversion module, (para-0039+) the method comprising:
coupling a decoupling capacitor (51, para-0048+) on a motherboard (85) to a high side transistor (60) on a first daughterboard (65) and coupling the high side transistor to an output node (i.e. element 17 or 18) of the power conversion module, the output node being situated on the motherboard; and
coupling a low side transistor (70) on a second daughterboard (75) such that the output node is electrically coupled to a low side transistor (70) of the power conversion module and the low side transistor is electrically coupled to the decoupling capacitor (51).
As to claim 40, Wu further comprising: mounting a first thermal substrate (65) on the power conversion module to contact the first daughterboard; and mounting a second thermal substrate (75) on the power conversion module to contact the second daughterboard.
As to claim 41, Wu discloses the first and second daughterboards (65, 75) have the same footprint, figure 6.
As to claim 42, Wu discloses a plane perpendicular to the first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces) of the motherboard (85) intersects the high side transistor and the low side transistor.
As to claim 43, Wu discloses the high side transistor (60) and the low side transistor (70) are gallium nitride (GaN) field effect transistors (FETs), III- nitride transistor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of luebs et al. (U.S. Patent 6,477,058).
Regarding claim 32, Wu discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention except for a first thermal substrate thermally coupled to the first daughterboard; and
a second thermal substrate thermally coupled to the second daughterboard.
Luebs teaches an IC device package (10) as shown in figures 1-3 comprising a first thermal substrate (64) thermally coupled to the first daughterboard (50); and
a second thermal substrate (70) thermally coupled to the second daughterboard (16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Luebs employed in the module of Wu in order to provide heat dissipating structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 33-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848