DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention Group I, Species II (FIG. 2) and Subspecies IIB (FIG. 9) in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-8 and 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 reciting “a second transition layer” renders the claim indefinite. There is no previous recitation to “a first transition layer”. It is unclear if the recitation to “a second transition layer” implies the presence of “a first transition layer”.
Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Drago et al. US 2020/0235264 A1 (Drago).
In re claim 1, Drago discloses (e.g. FIGs. 7A-7B) a light emitting device 10, comprising:
a first substrate 8 (¶ 80);
a light emitting structure layer 6,7 (¶ 80), located on the first substrate 80; and
an insertion layer 4, located on the light emitting structure layer 6,7, wherein, a surface (bottom), away from the light emitting structure layer 6,7, of the insertion layer 4 is a roughened surface, and the insertion layer 4 has a protective effect on the light emitting structure layer 6,7 (the presence of layer 4 provides physical protection for layer 6,7 during removal of growth substrate 1, ¶ 81).
In re claim 2, Drago discloses (e.g. FIGs. 7A-7B) wherein an orthographic projection, on the first substrate 8, of the insertion layer 4 at least partially covers an orthographic projection, on the first substrate 8, of the light emitting structure layer 6,7.
In re claim 3, Drago discloses (e.g. FIGs. 7A & 8B) wherein a material of the insertion layer 4 comprises at least one of AlN or AlGaN (¶ 76, 85).
In re claim 4, as best understood, Drago discloses (e.g. FIGs. 7A-7B) further comprising: “a second transition layer” 5 (¶ 78), located between the light emitting structure layer 6,7 and the insertion layer 4, wherein an orthographic projection, on the first substrate 8, of the second transition layer 5 at least partially covers the orthographic projection, on the first substrate 8, of the light emitting structure layer 6,7.
In re claim 5, Drago discloses (e.g. FIGs. 7A-7B) wherein a material of the second transition layer 5 is at least one of GaN, AlGaN or AlInGaN (GaN, ¶ 78).
In re claim 6, Drago discloses (e.g. FIGs. 7A-7B) wherein a lattice constant of the second transition layer 5 (e.g. GaN, ¶ 78) is between a lattice constant of the insertion layer 4 (AlGaN, ¶ 76) and a lattice constant of the light emitting structure layer 6,7 (e.g. InGaN, ¶ 79).
In re claim 9, Drago disclose (e.g. FIGs. 7A-7B) wherein along a direction from the first substrate 8 to the insertion layer 4, a size range of the insertion layer 4 is greater than 0 nm, and less than or equal to 200 nm (40 nm thickness, ¶ 76).
Conclusion
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896