DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16-18 are indefinite because the claims are not further limiting as claim 1 has been amended to recite etching by sequentially supplying multiple chemicals (HF, SC-1) to the rear surface of the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demizu et al. (US6787797B2) in view Mizuno et al. (US2012/0067846A1).
Re claim 1, Demizu et al. teach a method of processing a semiconductor wafer comprising forming an oxide film on the backside of the wafer, partially removing the oxide film by etching with HF, and polishing the wafer backside (claim 13, Example 1).
Demizu et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of etching with a first chemical of HF and a second chemical of SC-1 (ammonia/hydrogen peroxide/water), wherein the supply of the second chemical is shorter than the supply time of the first chemical.
Mizuno et al. teach a method of processing a substrate comprising treating the rear surface with HF followed by a second processing liquid comprising ammonia/hydrogen peroxide mixture (abstract; Fig. 4, steps S11, S12) to remove a film on the rear surface (paragraph 25), wherein the processing time of the HF maybe 2-10 minutes (paragraph 81) and the processing time of the second processing liquid is 1-10 minutes. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Demizu et al. to include etching with HF and SC1, wherein the supply time of the second chemical liquid is shorter than the supply time of the first chemical liquid, as taught by Mizuno et al. for purposes of performing the same function of removing film from the substrate surface.
7. Claim(s) 2-4, 12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demizu et al. (US6787797B2) in view of Mizuno et al. (US2012/0067846A1) and further in view of Ookawa et al. (TW202113962A; machine translation).
Re claim 2, Demizu et al. in view of Mizuno et al. fail to teach cleaning with a brush after polishing. Ookawa et al. teach a method of processing semiconductor devices comprising performing various processes in including cutting, slicing, followed by flattening the surface by etching and polishing. Fig. 7(e) teaches that the back surfaces are scrubbed and cleaned after polishing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Demizu et al. to include a brush after polishing, as taught by Ookawa et al., for purposes of cleaning the substrate surface to remove residual contaminants. Re claim 3, refer to page 7 of the machine translation of Ookawa et al. which teaches supplying cleaning liquid during the polishing process. Re claim 4, Demizu et al. in view of Ookawa et al. do not a spray mist. However, Ookawa et al. teach supplying a cleaning liquid with a nozzle 160, and the skilled artisan would reasonably expect spraying the nozzle would result in a mist on the substrate surface. Additionally, claims 4 and 12 are broadly interpreted as any liquid would read on a cleaning liquid and therefore supplying a liquid after cleaning with a brush, would read on the wet etching of Fig. 7f, wherein the rear surface is being supplied with a liquid after the surface is treated with a brush in Fig. 7e. Re claims 16-18, refer to the teachings of Mizuno et al.
8. Claim(s) 7 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demizu et al. (6787797) in view of Mizuno et al. (US2012/0067846A1) and further in view of Hisashi (JP2004-071836A).
Demizu et al. in view of Mizuno et al. teach the invention substantially as claimed with the exception of the silicon oxide or silicon nitride films on a semiconductor substrate. Hisashi et al. teach a method of manufacturing a semiconductor substrate comprising a silicon oxide film deposited on the back surface and further teaches cleaning the back surface of the wafer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a silicon oxide film, as taught by Hisashi et al., as such films are conventional during the manufacturing of the semiconductor substrate.
Response to Arguments
9. The rejection of the claims as being anticipated by Demizu et al. is withdrawn. The newly amended limitations are taught by the prior art of Mizuno et al. Additionally, upon review of applicant’s specification (paragraphs 72-74), it appears that there is no criticality with respect to the supply time of the first and second processing liquids. The examiner further takes the position that absent of a showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, it would be well within the level of the skilled artisan to adjust the supply times of the etching liquids depending upon such factors as the concentration and temperature of the processing fluids. Additionally, it is conventionally well known in the art, as further evidenced by Kohno et al. (US2003/02287A1) to etch using HF and SC-1, wherein the supply times of SC-1 is less than that of HF. The use of HF and SC-1 are well known in the art, as evidenced by Tanaka et al. (US2011/0146726A1); Yoshinari (US2014/0175620A1).
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc