DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed on 1/29/26 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20200227455) in view of Chung (US 20220173146).
Regarding claim 1. Fig 5 of Lee discloses An image sensing device comprising:
a substrate layer 100 configured to include an image pixel region 2 including image pixels (each PD regions) including photoelectric conversion elements (PD) configured to produce image pixel signals by a photoelectric conversion of incident light and a dummy region 4 disposed separately from the image pixel region [0033]/[0034];
a first light shielding structure 410 [0053] configured to cover the substrate layer of the dummy region and configured to block the incident light from being incident upon the substrate layer of the dummy region [0050];
a color filter layer 540 disposed over the first light shielding structure; and
a second light shielding structure 400 configured to block reflected light from entering the image pixel region and disposed over the first light shielding structure, the second light shielding structure extending from the first light shielding structure toward the color filter layer and having a predetermined height that allows the second light shielding structure to penetrate the color filter layer (Fig 5).
But Lee does not disclose a top surface of the second light shielding structure extends higher than a top surface of the color filter layer.
However, Fig 2A of Chung discloses a top surface of the second light shielding structure 175 [0048] extends higher than a top surface of the color filter layer 170.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Lee’s device structure to have the Chung’s structure for the purpose of providing enhanced image quality by providing a reference for dark current, reducing noise, and improving signal-to-noise ratios.
Regarding claim 2. Lee in view of Chung discloses The image sensing device according to claim 1, Lee discloses wherein:
the second light shielding structure is formed in a rectangular shape surrounding the image pixel region (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 3. Lee in view of Chung discloses The image sensing device according to claim 1, Lee discloses wherein:
the second light shielding structure is disposed in a boundary region between the image pixel region and the dummy region (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 4. Lee in view of Chung discloses The image sensing device according to claim 1, Lee discloses wherein:
the second light shielding structure has sidewalls perpendicular to a top surface of the first light shielding structure (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 5. Lee in view of Chung discloses The image sensing device according to claim 1, Lee discloses wherein:
the second light shielding structure is configured to block the reflected light that is reflected from the image sensing device ([0050], further Lee discloses all the claimed structure. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the Lee’s device structure discloses claimed function).
But Lee in view of Chung does not disclose an inclined sidewall upon which the reflected light is incident. However, the difference between the claimed limitation and Lee’s device is the size of cross section shape. Although the Lee in view of Chung’s device does not teach the exact shape of the support means as that claimed by Applicant, the shape differences are considered obvious design choices and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes.
Additionally, the Applicant has presented no discussion in the specification which convinces the Examiner that the particular shape of the support means is anything more than one of numerous shapes a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing support. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 6. Lee in view of Chung discloses The image sensing device according to claim 1, Lee discloses wherein:
the second light shielding structure includes a metal layer including a different material from that of the first light shielding structure [0049]/[0051]/[0055].
Regarding claim 7. Lee in view of Chung discloses The image sensing device according to claim 6, Lee discloses wherein:
the metal layer includes aluminum (Al) [0049].
Regarding claim 8. Lee in view of Chung discloses The image sensing device according to claim 7, Lee discloses wherein the second light shielding structure further includes:
a barrier metal layer disposed between the metal layer and the first light shielding structure ([0049]: 401 is include a plurality of metal layers. Thus, a layer between the metal layer and 410 is a barrier metal layer).
Regarding claim 9. Lee in view of Chung discloses The image sensing device according to claim 1, Lee discloses wherein:
the second light shielding structure includes a non-metallic material 403.
But Lee in view of Chung does not disclose having a refractive index that is equal to or greater than 1.6.
However, Lee discloses that 403 is made of organic material [0049]. And the claimed non-metallic material having the claimed range of refractive index based on organic material is well known in the art, which is recited at a high level of generality.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make simple substitute the Lee’s organic material with a non-metallic material having the claimed range of refractive index for the purpose of providing enhanced quantum efficiency and angular response by directing more light towards the photodiode and collecting more off-axis light rays.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, “after forming the second light shielding structure over the first metal layer, patterning the first metal layer to form a grid structure in the image pixel region and to form a first light shielding structure in the dummy region”.
Regarding claim 19. the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, “forming a trench by etching the lens layer and the color filter layer to expose the first light shielding structure; and forming a second light shielding structure by filling the trench with a light shielding material”.
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10. the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, “a lens layer disposed over the color filter layer; the second light shielding structure extends to an inner region of the lens layer”.
Regarding claim 12. the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, “a lens layer disposed over the color filter layer, the second light shielding structure extends to penetrate the lens layer”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Changhyun Yi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812