DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Applicant’s amendments/remarks have resolved the USC 112 issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/(a2) as being anticipated by Copland (US 2020/0237211; of record), with evidence by Peschka et al. (US 2016/0166147 - Peschka), with evidence by Everett et al. (US 2007/0291277- Everett).
Examiner’s note: Copland incorporates by reference Peschka (Copland para. [0012], [0151]), Peschka incorporates by reference Everett (Peschka para. [0005]), where Everett is cited for the features of claim 4.
As to claim 1, Copland teaches an OCT device (Copland Figs. 2A-7; Fig. 8A - 190, 191) comprising
an OCT optical system including
a light splitter that splits light from an OCT light source into measurement light and reference light (Copland Fig. 8A - 191; para. [0007], [0119]);
a detector that detects a spectral interference signal between the measurement light guided to a subject eye and the reference light (Copland Fig. 8A - 101, 191; para. [0007], [0119]);
an arithmetic controller that acquires OCT data based on a signal from the detector (Copland Fig. 7 - 60), and controls at least the OCT optical system to execute an OCT data acquisition operation (Copland Fig. 7);
a light guide optical system moveable in three dimensions (Copland Figs. 6A-C; Fig. 8A; para. [0079]-[0081]) and including at least
an optical scanner that scans a tissue of the subject’s eye with the measurement light (Copland Figs. 3A, 8A - 195, 197; para. [0042]);
an objective optical system that is disposed between the optical scanner and the subject eye (Copland Fig. 8A - 1710, 1720; Fig. 3A - 1710, 1720), and forms a pivot point (Copland Fig. 3A - 1402; para. [0047]) around which the measurement light passing through the optical scanner is pivoted (Copland Fig. 3A - 1402; para. [0047]);
wherein the arithmetic controller guides the three-dimensional position such that the pivot point is arranged at a target position set between the subject eye and the objective optical system (Copland Fig. 3A - 101, 1402, 1710) such that the measurement light is incident on the subject eye while moving away from an optical axis of the objective optical system (Copland Fig. 3A - 102, 214; para. [0047], [0048]), and further executes the OCT data acquisition operation at the target position (Copland Fig. 3A; Fig. 5; Fig. 7).
As to claim 2, Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Copland further teaches a measurement range in a depth direction in the OCT is adjustable (Copland Figs. 3A-4B; Fig. 8A - 193; para. [0119]), wherein in a case where the OCT data acquisition operation is executed at the target position, the arithmetic controller controls adjustment of the measurement range such that the measurement range includes a cornea to a fundus of the subject eye (Copland Figs. 3A-4B - 402, 409; para. [0023]-[0024]).
As to claim 3, Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Copland further teaches a wavelength-swept light source that is the OCT light source (Copland para. [0007]); and
wherein the arithmetic controller is configured to sample the spectral interference signal output from the detector, and converts the spectral interference signal from an analog signal to a digital signal (Copland para. [0007], [0121]);
wherein the measurement range is adjustable in at least any one of the wavelength-swept light source or the arithmetic controller (Copland para. [0007], [0121]), and
the arithmetic controller controls a sweep frequency of the wavelength-swept light source or a sampling rate of the spectral interference signal in the converter such that the measurement range is longer than an axial length of the subject eye (Copland para. [0007], [0121]).
As to claim 4, Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Copland/Everett further teaches the OCT includes an adjustment of the measurement range includes at least an optical path length difference adjuster that adjusts an optical path length difference between the measurement light and the reference light (Everett Fig. 1 - 124; para. [0048]).
As to claim 5, Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Copland further teaches the device is configured to adjust a focus position of the measurement light (Copland Figs. 3A-4B; Fig. 8A - 193; para. [0119]), wherein at the target position wherein at the target position, the arithmetic controller adjusts the focus position of the measurement light to a first focus position to acquire first OCT data, further adjusts the focus position to a second focus position different from the first focus position acquires second OCT data, and acquires synthetic OCT data by synthesizing the first OCT data and the second OCT data (Copland Figs. 3A-4B; Fig. 5; Fig. 8A - 193; para. [0119]).
As to claim 6, Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Copland further teaches the arithmetic controller executes the OCT data acquisition operation at the target position such that B-scan data of the OCT data includes a cornea, an iris, and a fundus of the subject eye (Copland para. [0040]).
As to claim 11, Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Copland further teaches the pivot point is arranged at the target position set between the subject eye and the objective optical system such that the measurement light is incident on the subject eye while moving away from an optical axis of the objective optical system (Copland Fig. 3A - 214, 1402; para. [0047]-[0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Copland as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Full ocular biometry through dual-depth whole-eye optical coherence tomography; herein Kim; of record).
As to claims 7-8, Copland teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6, but doesn’t specify that arithmetic controller analyzes the B-scan data to acquire information representing a tilt/squint angle of the subject eye.
In the same field of endeavor Kim teaches analyzing B-scan OCT data to determine a tilt/squint angle (Kim Figs. 1, 3, 4, 8, 9; Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to determine a tilt/squint angle (e.g. κ) since, as taught by Kim, such information is well known in the art for the purpose of gathering such information for ophthalmic surgery (Kim Abstract).
As to claim 9, Copland in view of Kim teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8, and Kim further teaches the cornea and crystalline lens in the OCT data include at least a corneal luminous point and a crystalline lens luminous point (Kim Figs. 7a, b; Fig. 8), and the arithmetic controller obtains the physiological squint angle based at least on a positional relationship between the corneal luminous point, the crystalline lens luminous point, and a fovea centralis on the fundus in the B-scan data (Kim Fig. 8, 9; Section 3.4).
As to claim 10, Copland in view of Kim teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7, and Kim teaches the arithmetic controller analyzes the B-scan data to acquire the information representing the tilt of the anterior segment with respect to the fundus, based on a positional relationship between a pupil center based on an end portion of the iris and a fovea centralis on the fundus (Kim Figs. 1, 3, 4, 8, 9; Abstract).
Conclusion
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 July 8, 2026