DETAILED ACTION
wherein the injection molding is divided into a plurality of processes, and the display screen includes a process-screen portion that individually displays information on the power consumption for each of the plurality of processes.
Response to Arguments
Claims 8-9 are canceled. Because claim 9 was previously objected to for lack of grammatical accuracy and consistency in terminology, the previous objection is now obviated, (Applicant Arguments/Remarks 09/08/2025 p. 5).
An examiner’s amendment to claim 5 was discussed but upon further consideration by the office, but because all the claims have been rejected, unamended independent claim 5 has been included in these rejections as well because part of its limitations match limitations in claim 1. Therefore, the proposed examiner’s amendment has not been entered.
Applicant amended claim 1 with the additional limitations that:
“the comparative information includes past information that is measured and stored in past injection molding or estimate information that is estimated from setting contents of injection molding,
the display screen includes a setting screen portion which displays the setting contents of the injection molding and in which the setting contents of the injection molding are changeable on the basis of a user’s operation, and
the estimation information is the power consumption that is calculated on the basis of setting contents of the injection molding changed in the setting screen portion.”
Applicant argues that the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) over against Ito (US. 6,526,360 B1) no longer applies as Ito does not disclose these features (Applicant Arguments/Remarks 09/08/2025 p. 5).
In particular, the applicant argues that Ito fails to disclose a display unit/screen displaying an actual result of power consumption and comparative power consumption together on the same screen. From this, Applicant asserts that claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-7 and 10-11 are patentably distinguishable over Ito (Applicant Arguments/Remarks 09/08/2025 pp. 6-7).
The examiner counter-argues that the new limitations added to claim 1, from a broadest reasonable interpretation (MPEP § 2111), are also met by Ito.
Ito teaches that the comparative information on power consumption is compared with the actual result information on the power consumption in the same display form, and Ito suggests that this can indicate that this display screen displays both the actual power and the comparative power consumption together (Figs.13-15 Col. 7 l. 63-Col. 8 l. 3; Col. 13 ll. 6-12 where Fig. 14 displays power consumption of the power consuming element in total every hour and Fig. 15 is a view of the power consumption of all the power consuming elements displayed in an integrated state every day),
Ito also includes past information that is measured and stored in past injection molding or estimate information that is estimated from setting contents of injection molding (Col. 3 ll. 6-12).
Additionally, examiner argues that the display screen would include a setting screen portion which displays the setting contents and in which the setting contents are changeable on the basis of a user’s operation where this changing of the setting contents provide the estimation information for power consumption (Col. 20 l. 66-Col.21 l.9). See below for citation details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ito (US 6,526,360 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ito anticipates a display unit that displays a display screen (Fig. 13 abs, Col. 1 29-31 Col. 3 ll. 4-5, display device, display screen) including information on injection molding (Fig. 1 Col. 1 ll. 30-32 Col. 3 ll. 20-23 display effectively information; essential configuration of an electromotive injection molding machine and a controller thereof),
wherein the display screen displays an actual result information display field that displays actual result information on power consumption measured at a time of performing the injection molding (Col. 1 ll. 51-58 display of power consumption of each power consuming element or that of the total sum of power consumption for every predetermined time period) and
a comparative information display field that displays comparative information on power consumption of the injection molding to be compared with the actual result information on the power consumption in the same display form as a display form of the actual result information display field together (Col. 19, ll.33-39 values of average power consumption of individual power consuming elements are compared with each other horizontally and also in a time-axis direction, it is possible to recognize the transition of the average power consumption in terms of time for each power consuming element).
Ito further teaches that the comparative information includes past information that is measured and stored in past injection molding (Fig. 13 Col. 13 ll. 6-13 past information from the value of the average power consumption of each power consuming element is stored) or estimate information that is estimated from setting contents of injection molding (Col. 13 ll. 1-5 comparison between current value of average power consumption of each power consuming element and the maximum or minimum value of the average makes it possible to also estimate the stability of molding operation).
(Note also Figs.13-15 Col. 7 l. 63-Col. 8 l. 3; Col. 13 ll. 6-12 where Fig. 14 displays power consumption of the power consuming element in total every hour and Fig. 15 is a view of the power consumption of all the power consuming elements displayed in an integrated state every day).
Ito further discloses that the display screen includes a setting screen portion which displays the setting contents of the injection molding and in which the setting contents of the injection molding are changeable on the basis of a user's operation (Figs. 13 or 14 Col. 20 l. 66-Col. 21 l. 5 modification is made on any molding condition, and it is possible to select the molding conditions which require less power consumption), and
Discloses that the estimation information is the power consumption that is calculated on the basis of setting contents of injection molding changed in the setting screen portion (Fig. 14 Col. 21 ll. 2-15 optimum molding condition can be selected with reference to the screen displaying the states before and after modification on a set of molding conditions, where selection is correlated to the maximum or minimum values of the average power consumption leading to the estimation of the stability of the molding operation – see Col. 13 ll. 1-5 above).
Regarding Claim 2, Ito anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that the actual result information and the comparative information are power consumption in units of one cycle of the injection molding or power consumption of the injection molding over a predetermined measurement period (Col. 19, ll.21-25 value of the average power consumption varies every interval it is necessary to recalculate the value of the average power consumption for redisplay every time the time signal is detected).
Regarding Claim 3, Ito anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that the display screen displays information on a shot number or information on date and time at a time of acquisition of the comparative information together with the comparative information display field (Fig. 15 Col. 19 l. 64-Col. 20 l. 5 display by bar graphic representation in association with the past shot count in Fig. 15 then adds the value of the daily total power consumption storage register to value of a cumulatively total power consumption storage register to update the value to store the updated value in association with the shot count C).
Regarding Claim 4, Ito anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates that the display form of the actual result information display field and the display form of the comparative information display field are at least one of a numerical value, a bar graph, and a waveform graph that indicates a fluctuation in the power consumption with respect to elapsed time (Fig. 14 Col. 18, ll. 6-31 each of the bars corresponding to the average power consumption means at every time-signal point of time during the intervale has the total sum of the average power consumption of all the power consuming element as indicated at every time-signal point of time by a bar formed by a pile of the bars of the power consumption per molding cycle during the time interval are displayed.).
Regarding Claim 7, Ito discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Ito further anticipates that the comparative information is power consumption of the injection molding acquired on the basis of a user's predetermined operation that is performed in a comparative information-acquisition field of the display screen (Fig. 14, Col. 19 ll. 33-39 values displayed in a horizontal direction or time-axis direction for each individual power consuming elements of the servo motors M1-M4).
Regarding Claim 10, Ito anticipates all the limitations of claim 1 and further anticipates a control device that causes the display unit according to claim 1 to display the display screen (Fig. 1 Col. 3 ll. 54-55 controller – 10 also serving for a power consumption display device) where the power consumption of each power consuming element is displayed on a display screen (Figs. 13-15 Col. 3 ll. 4-15).
Regarding Claim 11, Ito anticipates all the limitations of claim 10 and further anticipates an injection molding machine comprising: the control device according to claim 10 (Fig. 1 Col. 3 ll. 20-23 essential configuration of an electromotive injection molding machine and a controller thereof to which the present invention is applied).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 6,526,360 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amano (JP201209142A) with machine translation.
Regarding Claim 5, Ito discloses a display unit that displays a display screen (Fig. 13 abs, Col. 1 29-31 Col. 3 ll. 4-5, display device, display screen) including information on injection molding (Fig. 1 Col. 1 ll. 30-32 Col. 3 ll. 20-23 display effectively information; essential configuration of an electromotive injection molding machine and a controller thereof),
wherein the display screen displays an actual result information display field that displays actual result information on power consumption measured at a time of performing the injection molding (Col. 1 ll. 51-58 display of power consumption of each power consuming element or that of the total sum of power consumption for every predetermined time period) and
a comparative information display field that displays comparative information on power consumption of the injection molding to be compared with the actual result information on the power consumption in the same display form as a display form of the actual result information display field together (Col. 19, ll.33-39 values of average power consumption of individual power consuming elements are compared with each other horizontally and also in a time-axis direction, it is possible to recognize the transition of the average power consumption in terms of time for each power consuming element).
However, while Ito discloses a plurality of power consuming elements, these correspond to the total contribution of power consumption and individual components, not a plurality of processes (Col. 5 ll. 23-30).
Amano discloses a controller of an injection molding machine (abs), whereby the controller is used to monitor and provide power consumption information as to the plasticized state of the resin with high accuracy (abs). Amano divides the injection molding into a plurality of processes related to the resin plasticization (Fig. 2 paragraphs [0015] [0018] [0019] a set of cylinder band heaters – 6, hopper temperature – 24, metering motor – 7 power consumption to rotate metering screw – 22), and the display screen includes a process-screen portion that individually displays information on the power consumption for each of the plurality of processes (Fig. 2 paragraphs [0020] [0021] display device – 4 to displays various types of information including power consumption in the injection/plasticization device – 200 in response to a control signal output by control device – 1 which includes the target temperature of each cylinder region set in advance).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Ito with the teachings of Amano whereby a display unit displaying power consumption information measured at a time of performing the injection molding with comparative information of the power consumption of the injection molding with actual result information, as disclosed by Ito, would further include the injection molding to be divided into a plurality of processes with display screen showing individual information on the power consumption for each of the plurality of processes, as taught by Amano.
This would be considered as an improvement by one with ordinary skill in the art because other power consumption factors can affect molding quality, which depends on the plasticization state of the resin (paragraph [0007]), and now the power consumption of these additional processes are displayed so that the plasticization state of the resin is monitored with higher accuracy (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Ito and Amano disclose all the limitations of claim 5, and Amano further discloses that the process-screen portion includes a process-actual result information display field that displays a ratio of actual result information on the power consumption of each of the plurality of processes to power consumption of the entire injection molding as the information on the power consumption of each of the plurality of processes (Fig. 4 paragraphs [0046] [0047] reference power amount is set as a standard value of the power consumption in each of the components of the injection/plasticization device – 200 or the sum of the values for each of these components),
and a process-comparative information display field that displays a ratio of comparative information on the power consumption of each of the plurality of processes to the power consumption of the entire injection molding which is arbitrarily set by a user (Fig. 5 paragraphs [0067] [0068] control device 1A of the molding quality judgment device – 100A detects amount of power consumed when plasticizing the resin based on output of power measuring device – 2 using the energy consumption detection unit – 10 and in the next step, the control device 1A detects the difference (absolute value) between the power consumption amount detected and a reference amount of power pre-stored in memory is greater than or equal to a pre-determined value – step S12).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE K. SWIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748