DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claims 1-7 and 11. Claim 10 is canceled. New claims 12-14 are added.
Amended claim 1 now recites that “past information selected by the user through a selection operation from information for each of a plurality of shots stored in the memory” where the “a plurality of shots” is introduced before a reference to “each” of those shots provides an antecedent basis and is established for the “each” reference. Additionally, the term “a storage medium” is replaced with “the memory” to unify claim terminology with “a memory storing instructions” now positively recited in the preamble of amended claim 1. Based on this amendment to claim 1, the rejection of claim 1 and dependent claims 2-4, 7 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant argues that as per claim 1, which is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Ito (US 6,526,360 B1) in view of Choi (KR 10-1006499 B1), that none of these cited references disclose, teach or suggest the features of the control device receiving a user’s operation to 1) change setting parameters of the injection molding on a setting screen portion, 2) calculates prediction information on power consumption of the injection molding based on those changed setting parameters and 3) causes the display unit to simultaneously display the actual result information display field alongside the comparative information display field on the same display screen, where 4) this comparative information presented to the user can be either past information selected by the user from information for each of a plurality of shots stored in the memory, or the calculated prediction information itself.
Applicant argues that Ito, the primary reference, does not disclose, teach or suggest that its control device has processors configured to execute 1), 2) and 3) above. At best, Ito discloses comparing average power consumption values of individual power-consuming elements horizontally and in a time-axis direction with a selection of optimum molding conditions. The applicant states that the previous office action itself acknowledges that “Ito does not disclose a display screen simultaneously displaying an actual result information measured at the time of performing an injection molding alongside a comparative information display field”
Applicant further argues that Choi, the secondary reference, fails to disclose, teach or suggest these features. While Choi discloses transmitting and displaying received power usage information on a display unit of an integrated control module, this is directed to general power usage monitoring for electrical devices and does not disclose, teach or suggest a control device that is configured to execute 1), 2) and 3) above. Instead, the office action only addresses the side-by-side display result itself obtained from Choi’s power usage display and not positively recited processing steps of receiving the user’s operation to 1) change the setting parameters and 2) calculating prediction information from those changed setting parameters.
Independent claim 5 which similarly recites features 1)-4) from claim 1 above is also covered under the applicant argument provided above for claim 1. (Applicant arguments/remarks 04/17/2026 pp. 9-12).
The examiner counter argues that under broadest reasonable interpretation, Ito clearly discloses at least features 1), 2) and 4) where
1) and 2) are disclosed at Fig. 14 Col. 21 ll. 2-15 optimum molding condition can be selected with reference to the screen displaying the states before and after modification on a set of molding conditions, where selection is correlated to the maximum or minimum values of the average power consumption leading to the estimation of the stability of the molding operation – see Col. 13 ll. 1-5 above, (Note also Figs.13-15 Col. 7 l. 63-Col. 8 l. 3; Col. 13 ll. 6-12 where Fig. 14 displays power consumption of the power consuming element in total every hour and Fig. 15 is a view of the power consumption of all the power consuming elements displayed in an integrated state every day) and
4) is disclosed at Col. 13 ll. 1-5 where there is a comparison between current value of average power consumption of each power consuming element and the maximum or minimum value of the average makes it possible to also estimate the stability of molding operation) and this information can be stored as information for each shot (See also, Fig. 15, Col. 8 l. 62-Col. 9 l. 10 found value of average power consumption in associated with the shot count C for comparison).
Moreover, Choi discloses 3) where not only actual result information is displayed in a display field on a display unit – Figs. 1, 4, paragraphs [0035] [0051] integrated control module – 200 displays the power consumption information by transmitting the power usage information to the integrated control module – 200 in real time – S402 and displays it on a display unit – 205, S404, but Choi further discloses that past information obtained from the actual result information is measured and stored (stored XML data) and are compared to each other in the display where in Fig.1 – paragraph [0056] display user allowed to check the power usage status of the electrical devices at a glance with control signal inputted configured as a touch screen with the stored data provided to the user terminal – 60).
As to the applicant’s argument that the combination can only address 3) the side-by-side display result from Choi’s general power usage display and not the positively recited processing steps of 1), 2) and 4) where 4) is the storing of shot information from 1) and 2), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, under broadest reasonable interpretation, it would be obvious to include this feature supplied from an analogous art, because one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include this feature as it advantageously provides a side-by-side view of actual results simultaneously, (paragraph [0056]), compared to past power consumption information measured at the time performing injection molding, as disclosed by Ito (Col. 8 l. 62-Col. 9 l. 10).
New grounds of rejection are provided as to the new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 6,526,360 B1), IDS 04/03/2026 in view of Choi (KR 10-1006499 B1) with machine translation, of record and IDS 06/16/2026.
Regarding Claim 1, Ito discloses a control device for an injection molding machine that displays a display screen (Fig. 13 abs, Col. 1 29-31 Col. 3 ll. 4-5, display device, display screen) including information on injection molding (Fig. 1 Col. 1 ll. 30-32 Col. 3 ll. 20-23 display effectively information; essential configuration of an electromotive injection molding machine and a controller thereof), which comp
a memory storing instructions (Fig. 13 Col. 4 ll. 43-46; Col. 13 ll. 6-13 molding data storage memory for storing molding conditions and past information from the value of the average power consumption of each power consuming element is stored); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions (Figs. 4-12 Col. 4 ll. 9-15 control program) to:
receive a user's operation to change setting parameters of injection molding on a setting screen portion of a display screen of a display unit (Figs. 13 or 14 Col. 20 l. 66-Col. 21 l. 5 modification is made on any molding condition which is displayed in time series, and it is possible to select the molding conditions which require less power consumption),
calculate prediction information on power consumption of the injection molding based on the changed setting parameters (Fig. 14 Col. 21 ll. 2-15 optimum molding condition can be selected with reference to the screen displaying the states before and after modification on a set of molding conditions, where selection is correlated to the maximum or minimum values of the average power consumption leading to the estimation of the stability of the molding operation – see Col. 13 ll. 1-5 above).; and
wherein the display screen displays an actual result information display field that displays actual result information on power consumption measured at a time of performing the injection molding (Col. 1 ll. 51-58 display of power consumption of each power consuming element or that of the total sum of power consumption for every predetermined time period) and
a comparative information display field displaying comparative information on power consumption of the injection molding to be compared with the actual result information on the power consumption in the same display form as a display form of the actual result information display field together (Col. 19, ll.33-39 values of average power consumption of individual power consuming elements are compared with each other horizontally and also in a time-axis direction, it is possible to recognize the transition of the average power consumption in terms of time for each power consuming element).
Ito further teaches that the comparative information includes past information that is measured and stored in past injection molding (Fig. 13 Col. 13 ll. 6-13 past information from the value of the average power consumption of each power consuming element is stored) or estimate information that is estimated from setting contents of injection molding (Col. 13 ll. 1-5 comparison between current value of average power consumption of each power consuming element and the maximum or minimum value of the average makes it possible to also estimate the stability of molding operation) and this information can be stored as information for each shot (Fig. 15, Col. 8 l. 62-Col. 9 l. 10 found value of average power consumption in associated with the shot count C for comparison)
(Note also Figs.13-15 Col. 7 l. 63-Col. 8 l. 3; Col. 13 ll. 6-12 where Fig. 14 displays power consumption of the power consuming element in total every hour and Fig. 15 is a view of the power consumption of all the power consuming elements displayed in an integrated state every day).
However, Ito does not disclose a display screen simultaneously displaying an actual result information measured at the time of performing an injection molding alongside a comparative information display field.
Choi discloses analogously, a system for integrated electric devices for obtaining information on the power consumption (abs) and displaying this received information on a display unit with remote control of the power usage of the designated electric device (Fig. 2 p. 5 ll. 6-8, paragraph [0038] display module – 31 integrated control module – 200). The operator can then check the actual result information display field on the display unit (Figs. 1, 4, paragraphs [0035] [0051] integrated control module – 200 displays the power consumption information by transmitting the power usage information to the integrated control module – 200 in real time – S402 and displays it on a display unit – 205, S404).
Additionally, there is past information that is measured and stored in the past that is available for direct comparison (Fig. 3 paragraph [0045] storage unit – 206 for converting and storing the received power usage information into a standard XML data format). Choi further suggests that past information obtained from the actual result information is measured and stored (stored XML data) and are compared to each other in the display (Fig. 1 paragraph [0056] display user allowed to check the power usage status of the electrical devices at a glance with control signal inputted configured as a touch screen with the stored data provided to the user terminal – 60).
Moreover, there is a setting screen portion displaying the setting contents which are capable of being selected and set on the basis of the user’s operation (Fig. 3 paragraph [0045] power usage to be adjusted according to a user’s input or a setting value according to power usage control).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Ito with the teachings and suggestions of Choi whereby a display unit displaying power consumption information measured at a time of performing the injection molding with comparative information of actual result information, as disclosed by Ito, and to also include the features of the display screen simultaneously displaying the actual result information display alongside a comparative information display field such that the actual power consumption result is compared with the past injection molding information and the comparative information is selected by a user through a selection operation from information for each shot stored in a storage medium.
One with ordinary skill in the art would consider this additional feature advantageous because the status of the electrical devices of an injection molding machine can now be easily checked even from a remote location (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Ito and Choi disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Ito further discloses that the actual result information and the comparative information are power consumption in units of one cycle of the injection molding or power consumption of the injection molding over a predetermined measurement period (Col. 19, ll.21-25 because the value of the average power consumption varies every interval it is necessary to recalculate the value of the average power consumption for redisplay every time the time signal is detected).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Ito and Choi disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Ito further discloses that the display screen, displays information on a shot number or information on date and time at a time of acquisition of the comparative information together with the comparative information display field (Fig. 15 Col. 19 l. 64-Col. 20 l. 5 display by bar graphic representation in association with the past shot count in Fig. 15 then adds the value of the daily total power consumption storage register to value of a cumulatively total power consumption storage register to update the value to store the updated value in association with the shot count C).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Ito and Choi disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Ito further discloses that the display form of the actual result information display field and the display form of the comparative information display field are at least one of a numerical value, a bar graph, and a waveform graph that indicates a fluctuation in the power consumption with respect to elapsed time (Fig. 14 Col. 18, ll. 6-31 each of the bars corresponding to the average power consumption means at every time-signal point of time during the intervale has the total sum of the average power consumption of all the power consuming element as indicated at every time-signal point of time by a bar formed by a pile of the bars of the power consumption per molding cycle during the time interval are displayed.).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Ito and Choi disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Ito further discloses that the comparative information is power consumption of the injection molding acquired on the basis of a user's predetermined operation that is performed in a comparative information-acquisition field of the display screen (Fig. 14, Col. 19 ll. 33-39 values displayed in a horizontal direction or time-axis direction for each individual power consuming elements of the servo motors M1-M4).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Ito and Choi disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Ito further discloses an injection molding machine comprising: the control device according to claim 10 (Fig. 1 Col. 3 ll. 20-23 essential configuration of an electromotive injection molding machine and a controller thereof to which the present invention is applied).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Ito and Choi disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Ito further discloses that the actual result information display field and the comparative information display field includes a plurality of display items arranged in a vertical direction, and the plurality of display items of the actual result information display field are arranged to have the same heights as corresponding display items of the comparative information display field. (Col. 19 ll. 19-39 where the power consumption of each element being measured changes based on operation modifications can be compared with each other in a horizontal direction and in a time-axis direction (inherently can be the same height), which makes it possible to recognize power consumption transition on a comparative basis to actual results – value of average power consumption varies every interval which requires recalculation every time a time signal is detected).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Ito and Choi disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Ito further discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the display unit to display (Fig. 13 Col. 13 ll. 6-13 past information from the value of the average power consumption of each power consuming element is stored), a list of one or more pieces of the past information stored in the memory (Fig. 15 Col. 19 l.58-Col. 20 l. 4 where a manual data input device- 29 with display by bar graphic representation in association with the past shot count with adding the value of the daily total power consumption storage register comparison between current value of average power consumption of each power consuming element and the maximum or minimum value of the average makes it possible to also estimate the stability of molding operation), and responsive to a selection operation by the user from the displayed list, cause the comparative information display field to display the past information selected from the list (Fig. 15 Col. 20 ll. 6-10 the PC displays a current value of the cumulatively total power consumption storage register updated by the manual data input device – 29 with display by bar graphic representation in associated with a current value of the total shot counter, which correlates to a list of one or more pieces of past information stored in the memory).
However, while Ito discloses that there is a manual data input device, Ito does not disclose the presence of a file call button which is configured to cause the one or more processors to response with instructions by the user pressing the file call button to cause the display unit to display a list of one or more pieces of the stored past information.
But it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus, such as a file call button, is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ito (US 6,526,360 B1), IDS 04/03/2026 and Choi (KR 10-1006499 B1) with machine translation, of record and IDS 06/16/2026d as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishizuka (US 8,126,351 B2).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Ito and Choi disclose all the limitations of claim 1 but do not disclose that the display screen further includes a predictive calculation that is filed.
Ishizuka discloses a printing apparatus having a plurality of operation modes comprising a storage unit to store power consumption values per unit time for each operation mode and a standard power consumption value which indicates an energy-saving standard power consumption during use (abs). In order to do a comparison between a total power consumption value during a period of use to a standard power consumption value (Col. 10 ll. 47-49), Ishizuka includes a display screen indicating predictive power consumption from measure values compared to standard values (Fig. 2 Col. 2 l. 64-Col. 3 l. 3; Col. 4, ll. 4-11; estimated total power values for each week displayed within the same region of an integrated display device of the printing apparatus displays the predetermined information in a predetermined form on display plate).
Ishizuka further discloses that the display screen further includes a predictive calculation field with one or more processors that are further configured to execute the instructions to, responsive to the user (Figs 4, 5A-D, Col. 4, ll. 49-53 FLASH memory – 114) and after the setting parameters are changed in the setting screen portion (Col. 6 ll. 30-45 change of operations mode state Steps 110-112), cause the comparative information display field to display the calculated prediction information as the comparative information in the same display form as the actual result information display field (Figs. 2, 3 Col. 3 ll. 48-63 the user can clearly check if an estimated total power value exceeds the standard value and the measured value of the International Energy Star Program).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the combination of Ito/Choi with the teachings of Ishizuka whereby a control device with a display screen having a setting screen portion would include a predictive calculation field configured to execute instructions to the changing of setting parameters in the setting screen portion to display calculated prediction information as in the comparative information in the same display form as the actual result information display field.
One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include this feature because the comparison of predicted calculated information are rough estimates of energy demand of an apparatus and are guidelines for proper energy management such that the user should not exceed an amount of energy predicted in an apparatus. Therefore, such action will lead to effective usage of energy and become a practical energy-saving measure (Col. 3 ll. 40-46).
However, Ishizawa does not disclose the presence of a prediction button which is configured to cause the one or more processors to response with instructions by the user pressing the prediction button after the setting parameters are changed in the setting screen portion.
But it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus, such as a prediction button, is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 6,526,360 B1), of record in view of Choi (KR 10-1006499 B1) with machine translation and further in view of Amano (JP201209142A) with machine translation
Regarding Claim 5, Ito discloses a control device for an injection molding machine that displays a display screen (Fig. 13 abs, Col. 1 29-31 Col. 3 ll. 4-5, display device, display screen) including information on injection molding (Fig. 1 Col. 1 ll. 30-32 Col. 3 ll. 20-23 display effectively information; essential configuration of an electromotive injection molding machine and a controller thereof), which comp
a memory storing instructions (Fig. 13 Col. 4 ll. 43-46; Col. 13 ll. 6-13 molding data storage memory for storing molding conditions and past information from the value of the average power consumption of each power consuming element is stored); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions (Figs. 4-12 Col. 4 ll. 9-15 control program) to:
receive a user's operation to change setting parameters of injection molding on a setting screen portion of a display screen of a display unit (Figs. 13 or 14 Col. 20 l. 66-Col. 21 l. 5 modification is made on any molding condition which is displayed in time series, and it is possible to select the molding conditions which require less power consumption),
calculate prediction information on power consumption of the injection molding based on the changed setting parameters (Fig. 14 Col. 21 ll. 2-15 optimum molding condition can be selected with reference to the screen displaying the states before and after modification on a set of molding conditions, where selection is correlated to the maximum or minimum values of the average power consumption leading to the estimation of the stability of the molding operation – see Col. 13 ll. 1-5 above).; and
wherein the display screen displays an actual result information display field that displays actual result information on power consumption measured at a time of performing the injection molding (Col. 1 ll. 51-58 display of power consumption of each power consuming element or that of the total sum of power consumption for every predetermined time period) and
a comparative information display field displaying comparative information on power consumption of the injection molding to be compared with the actual result information on the power consumption in the same display form as a display form of the actual result information display field together (Col. 19, ll.33-39 values of average power consumption of individual power consuming elements are compared with each other horizontally and also in a time-axis direction, it is possible to recognize the transition of the average power consumption in terms of time for each power consuming element).
Choi discloses analogously, a system for integrated electric devices for obtaining information on the power consumption (abs) and displaying this received information on a display unit with remote control of the power usage of the designated electric device (Fig. 2 p. 5 ll. 6-8, paragraph [0038] display module – 31 integrated control module – 200). The operator can then check the actual result information display field on the display unit (Figs. 1, 4, paragraphs [0035] [0051] integrated control module – 200 displays the power consumption information by transmitting the power usage information to the integrated control module – 200 in real time – S402 and displays it on a display unit – 205, S404).
Additionally, there is past information that is measured and stored in the past that is available for direct comparison (Fig. 3 paragraph [0045] storage unit – 206 for converting and storing the received power usage information into a standard XML data format). Choi further suggests that past information obtained from the actual result information is measured and stored (stored XML data) and are compared to each other in the display (Fig.1 – display user allowed to check the power usage status of the electrical devices at a glance with control signal inputted configured as a touch screen with the stored data provided to the user terminal – 60).
Moreover, there is a setting screen portion displaying the setting contents which are capable of being selected and set on the basis of the user’s operation (Fig. 3 paragraph [0045] power usage to be adjusted according to a user’s input or a setting value according to power usage control).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of Ito with the teachings and suggestions of Choi whereby a display unit displaying power consumption information measured at a time of performing the injection molding with comparative information of actual result information, as disclosed by Ito, and to also include the features of the display screen simultaneously displaying the actual result information display alongside a comparative information display field such that the actual power consumption result is compared with the past injection molding information and the comparative information is selected by a user through a selection operation from information for each shot stored in a storage medium.
One with ordinary skill in the art would consider this additional feature advantageous because the status of the electrical devices of an injection molding machine can now be easily checked even from a remote location (paragraph [0056]).
However, the combination of Ito and Choi do not disclose a plurality of processes because while Ito discloses a plurality of power consuming elements in an injection molding machine, these correspond to the total contribution of power consumption and individual components, not a plurality of processes (Col. 5 ll. 23-30).
Amano discloses a controller of an injection molding machine (abs), whereby the controller is used to monitor and provide power consumption information as to the plasticized state of the resin with high accuracy (abs). Amano divides the injection molding into a plurality of processes related to the resin plasticization (Fig. 2 paragraphs [0015] [0018] [0019] a set of cylinder band heaters – 6, hopper temperature – 24, metering motor – 7 power consumption to rotate metering screw – 22), and the display screen includes a process-screen portion that individually displays information on the power consumption for each of the plurality of processes (Fig. 2 paragraphs [0020] [0021] display device – 4 to displays various types of information including power consumption in the injection/plasticization device – 200 in response to a control signal output by control device – 1 which includes the target temperature of each cylinder region set in advance).
Additionally, Amano disclose regarding the individual display information that its control device receives measurement result from the power consumption and performs calculations to discriminate among molding quality based on the power consumption (paragraphs [0042] [0055]) and can also calculate the total power consumption of all the molding units as to quality at the actual conditions which is inherently predictive (paragraph [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the disclosure of the combination of Ito and Choi with the teachings of Amano whereby a display unit displaying power consumption information measured at a time of performing the injection molding with comparative information of the power consumption of the injection molding with actual result information simultaneously displayed alongside each other in the same display, as disclosed by the combination of Ito and Choi, would further include the injection molding to be divided into a plurality of processes with display screen showing individual information on the power consumption for each of the plurality of processes as well as calculating the predictive quality based on power consumption of the plurality of the processes, as taught by Amano.
This would be considered as an improvement by one with ordinary skill in the art because other power consumption factors can affect molding quality, which depends on the plasticization state of the resin (paragraph [0007]), and now the power consumption of these additional processes are displayed so that the plasticization state of the resin is monitored with higher accuracy (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Ito, Choi and Amano disclose all the limitations of claim 5, and Amano further discloses that the process-screen portion includes a process-actual result information display field that displays a ratio of actual result information on the power consumption of each of the plurality of processes to power consumption of the entire injection molding as the information on the power consumption of each of the plurality of processes (Fig. 4 paragraphs [0046] [0047] reference power amount is set as a standard value of the power consumption in each of the components of the injection/plasticization device – 200 or the sum of the values for each of these components),
and a process-comparative information display field that displays a ratio of comparative information on the power consumption of each of the plurality of processes to the power consumption of the entire injection molding which is arbitrarily set by a user (Fig. 5 paragraphs [0067] [0068] control device 1A of the molding quality judgment device – 100A detects amount of power consumed when plasticizing the resin based on output of power measuring device – 2 using the energy consumption detection unit – 10 and in the next step, the control device 1A detects the difference (absolute value) between the power consumption amount detected and a reference amount of power pre-stored in memory is greater than or equal to a pre-determined value – step S12).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE K. SWIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748