DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “PROJECTION DEVICE,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Objection/s to the Claim/s
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: missing “;” after “conducting base” on line 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou (US 20160309125 A1) in view of Miyashita (US 20100271783 A1) and in further view of Fujimori (US 20040021830 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hou teaches a projection device (Fig. 1-7), comprising: a light source module (110), configured to provide an illumination beam; an optical engine module (120, 220, 320, 420), comprising: a casing (124, 224, 324, 424), having an opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422); a heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426), having an assembly opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422), wherein the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426) is disposed on the casing (124, 224, 324, 424), and the assembly opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422) is aligned with the opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422) of the casing (124, 224, 324, 424); a heat pipe (129b, 229b, 329b, 429b), connected to the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426), and disposed on the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426); a light valve (122, 222, 322, 422), disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam, wherein the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422) is configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam, and the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422) is disposed on the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426) corresponding to the assembly opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422); and a projection lens (130), disposed on a transmission path of the image beam, and configured to project the image beam out of the projection device.
Hou does not teach a thermal conductive layer, disposed between the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422) and the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426), the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422) being thermally coupled to the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426) through the thermal conductive layer, wherein the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422) has a first stepped surface and a second stepped surface parallel to each other, and the thermal conductive layer covers at least a part of the first stepped surface and the second stepped surface.
Miyashita teaches the light valve (100, 400) has a first stepped surface (inner stepped surface of 100+400 of Miyashita) and a second stepped surface (outer stepped surface of 100+400 of Miyashita) parallel to each other (Fig. 5) and a frame (310) fitting the stepped surfaces of the DMD (Fig. 5; [0086]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Hou with Miyashita; because the stepped structure of the DMD as disclosed in Miyashita is a widely available off-the-shelf DMD package that eliminates the use of expensive custom produced DMD.
Miyashita teaches adhesive layer (510) filling the gap/s between the frame (310) and the stepped surfaces (Fig. 5) but does not explicitly teach a thermal conductive layer, disposed between the light valve and the heat-conducting base where the thermal conductive layer covers at least a part of the first stepped surface and the second stepped surface.
Fujimori teaches thermal conductive adhesive layer, disposed between the light valve (500) and the heat-conducting base (510, 520) where the thermal conductive adhesive layer covers at least a part of the first stepped surface and the second stepped surface of the light valve (500; Fig. 10-15; [0036]-[0038], [0040], [0150]-[0152], [0181], [0186], [0188], [0194]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Hou and Miyashita with Fujimori; because it allows securing the light valve to the frame while enhancing heat transfer to the frame for dissipation to the environment.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426 of Hou and 310 of Miyashita) further has a first surface and a second surface parallel to each other, the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) covers at least a part of the first surface and the second surface, and orthogonal projections of at least a part of the first stepped surface (inner stepped surface of 100+400 of Miyashita) and at least a part of the second stepped surface (outer stepped surface of 100, 400 of Miyashita) are respectively overlapped with at least a part of the first surface and at least a part of the second surface (of 310; Fig. 5 of Miyashita).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 100, 400 of Miyashita) further has a first side surface connecting the first stepped surface (inner stepped surface of 100+400 of Miyashita) and the second stepped surface (outer stepped surface of 100, 400 of Miyashita), the first side surface is located outside the assembly opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 10a of Miyashita) of the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426 of Hou and 310 of Miyashita), and the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) covers at least a part of the first side surface (Fig. 5 of Miyashita; [0036]-[0038], [0040], [0150]-[0152], [0181], [0186], [0188], [0194] of Fujimori).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426 of Hou and 310 of Miyashita) further has a third surface, the third surface is parallel to the first side surface of the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 100, 400 of Miyashita), and the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) covers at least a part of the third surface (Fig. 5 of Miyashita; [0036]-[0038], [0040], [0150]-[0152], [0181], [0186], [0188], [0194] of Fujimori).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 100, 400 of Miyashita) further has a second side surface connected to the first stepped surface (inner stepped surface of 100+400 of Miyashita), the second side surface extends toward the opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 10a of Miyashita), and the second side surface is located in the assembly opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 10a of Miyashita) of the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426 of Hou and 310 of Miyashita), and the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) covers at least a part of the second side surface (Fig. 5 of Miyashita; [0036]-[0038], [0040], [0150]-[0152], [0181], [0186], [0188], [0194] of Fujimori).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426 of Hou and 310 of Miyashita) further has a fourth surface, wherein the fourth surface is parallel to the second side surface of the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 100, 400 of Miyashita), and the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) covers at least a part of the fourth surface (Fig. 5 of Miyashita; [0036]-[0038], [0040], [0150]-[0152], [0181], [0186], [0188], [0194] of Fujimori).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 100, 400 of Miyashita) further has an imaging surface (at 400 of Miyashita) connected to the second side surface, wherein the imaging surface (at 400 of Miyashita) is located in the opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 10a of Miyashita) of the casing (124, 224, 324, 424 of Hou), and the imaging surface (at 400 of Miyashita) is parallel to the first stepped surface (inner stepped surface of 100+400 of Miyashita).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) has a bottom surface parallel to the first stepped surface (inner stepped surface of 100+400 of Miyashita), the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426 of Hou and 310 of Miyashita) further has a frame, the frame has a receiving surface, and the bottom surface is connected to the receiving surface (Fig. 5 of Miyashita; Fig. 10-15 of Fujimori).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) has a first surface and a second surface parallel to each other, the first surface and the second surface are respectively in contact and connected with the first stepped surface (inner stepped surface of 100+400 of Miyashita) and the second stepped surface (outer stepped surface of 100, 400; Fig. 5 of Miyashita; Fig. 10-15 of Fujimori).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 100, 400 of Miyashita) further has a first side surface connecting the first stepped surface (inner stepped surface of 100+400 of Miyashita) and the second stepped surface (outer stepped surface of 100, 400 of Miyashita), the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) further has a third surface connecting the first surface and the second surface, and the third surface is in contact and connected with the first side surface of the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 100, 400, Fig. 5 of Miyashita).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 100, 400 of Miyashita) has a second side surface connected to the first stepped surface (inner stepped surface of 100+400 of Miyashita), wherein the second side surface extends toward the opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 10a of Miyashita), and the second side surface is located in the assembly opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 10a of Miyashita), the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) further has a fourth surface connected to the first surface, and the fourth surface is in contact and connected with the second side surface of the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 100, 400, Fig. 5 of Miyashita).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hou, Miyashita and Fujimori consequently results in the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) is a thermal conductive pad or a thermal conductive adhesive, and a material of the thermal conductive layer (heat-conductive adhesive taught by Fujimori correspond to 510 of Miyashita) comprises silicon, graphite or ceramic powder ([0142] of Fujimori).
Regarding claim 15, Hou, as combined with Miyashita and Fujimori, further teaches the optical engine module (120, 220, 320, 420) further comprises heat dissipation fins (129a, 229a, 329a, 429a) thermally coupled to the heat pipe (129b, 229b, 329b, 429b), a first end of the heat pipe (129b, 229b, 329b, 429b) is adjacent to the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426 of Hou and 310 of Miyashita), and a second end of the heat pipe (129b, 229b, 329b, 429b) is adjacent to the heat dissipation fins (129a, 229a, 329a, 429a).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou (US 20160309125 A1) in view of Miyashita (US 20100271783 A1) and Fujimori (US 20040021830 A1) and in further view of Hirabayashi (US 20110199733 A1).
Regarding claim 13, neither Hou, Miyashita nor Fujimori teaches the casing (124, 224, 324, 424) further has a plurality of positioning protrusions, the plurality of positioning protrusions are located around the opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 10a of Miyashita), the heat-conducting base (126, 226, 326, 426 of Hou and 310 of Miyashita) further has a plurality of positioning holes, the plurality of positioning holes are located around the assembly opening (at 122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 10a of Miyashita), the plurality of positioning protrusions penetrate through the plurality of positioning holes, and the plurality of positioning protrusions are used for positioning the light valve (122, 222, 322, 422 of Hou; 100, 400 of Miyashita).
Hirabayashi teaches the casing (700) further has a plurality of positioning protrusions (800), the plurality of positioning protrusions (800) are located around the opening (at 10a), the heat-conducting base (310) further has a plurality of positioning holes (350), the plurality of positioning holes (350) are located around the assembly opening (at 10a), the plurality of positioning protrusions (800) penetrate through the plurality of positioning holes (350), and the plurality of positioning protrusions (800) are used for positioning the light valve (100, 400).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Hou, Miyashita, and Fujimori with Hirabayashi; because it allows a removable fastening mechanism that improves ease of repairs and replacement of the components.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou (US 20160309125 A1) in view of Miyashita (US 20100271783 A1), Fujimori (US 20040021830 A1) and Hirabayashi (US 20110199733 A1) in further view of Rancuret (US 20060261457 A1).
Regarding claim 14, neither Hou, Miyashita, Fujimori nor Hirabayashi teaches the plurality of positioning protrusions contact the second stepped surface.
Rancuret teaches the stepped surface of the light valve (600) having positioning holes (752, 760; [0036]) where the positioning protrusions (1340) are inserted (Fig. 13; [0055]), i.e., positioning protrusions contact the second stepped surface.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Hou, Miyashita, Fujimori and Hirabayashi with Rancuret; because it improves ease of alignment of the light valve and the frame.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20230221521 A1, US 11125968 B2, US 20190179217 A1, US 20200218141 A1, US 20170255006 A1, US 20170277026 A1, US 20110181937 A1, US 20100271782 A1, US 20090135564 A1, and US 20060176453 A1, disclose a light valve packaging mechanism and light valve integrated cooling mechanism.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882