DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The examiner acknowledges the amendment to claim 1 in the reply dated 31 August 2026. Claim 15 was previously withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no support in the specification for the mechanical connection between the base component and the support substrate relying exclusively on the interposer, since connecting layer 145 is in the mechanical connection between base component 110 and interposer 120, and connecting layer 155 is in the mechanical connection between support substrate 130 and interposer 120.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eid et al (US 20210043573 A1, hereinafter “Eid”), in view of Chia et al (WO 9419594 A1, hereinafter “Chia”).
Regarding Claim 1 - Eid discloses a device for supporting one or more MEMS components, comprising a base component (118 [0033] and Fig. 1), an interposer (114 [0054] and Fig. 21), which is integrally bonded to the base component in one or more first connection regions and substantially consists of a second material (e.g. ceramic such as diamond, silicon carbide, or aluminum nitride [0031]) with a second coefficient of expansion α2, and a support substrate (102 [0054] and Fig. 21), which is integrally bonded to the interposer in one or more second connection regions and substantially consists of a third material (e.g. ceramic [0027]) with a third coefficient of expansion α3, wherein the support substrate is configured to support the one or more MEMS components (Considered as 106 [0025] and Fig. 21), and for the coefficients of expansion the following holds true: α1 > α2 > α3, preferably α1 > α2 = α3 (α1, coefficient of expansion for copper, 16-16.7E-6 K-1 > α2, coefficient of expansion for ceramic (diamond: 1.1-1.3E-6 K-1, silicon carbide: 2.77E-6 K-1, aluminum nitride: 5.3E-6 K-1), and α2 = α3 with same second and third material. Coefficients of expansion from: “The Engineering Toolbox”, https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/linear-expansion-coefficients-d_95.html, accessed 29 April 2026), wherein the base component and the support substrate are in mechanical contact with one another exclusively via the interposer (120 [0054] and shown in Fig. 21 provides thermal contact without a requirement of mechanical connection, leaving sealant 129 as the mechanical connection between support substrate 102 and interposer 114).
Eid fails to disclose the base component substantially consists of a first material with a first coefficient of expansion α1.
However, discloses the base component substantially consists of a first material with a first coefficient of expansion α1 (copper, Chia page 7, lines 7-8).
Chia discloses a heat sink assembly analogous to Eid, for use in cooling microelectronic devices. Chia teaches using copper as the material for the heat sink for the benefit of superior heat dissipation (Chia page 7, lines 8-10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Eid and Chia to use copper as the heat sink material for the benefit of superior heat dissipation.
Regarding Claim 2 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses the base component and the support substrate are on opposite sides of the interposer (Eid Fig. 21).
Regarding Claim 3 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses a first connecting layer between the base component and the interposer (116, Eid [0033] and Fig. 1) and a second connecting layer between the interposer and the support substrate (129, Eid [0054] and Fig. 21).
Regarding Claim 6 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses the second material and the third material are identical (e.g. ceramic such as diamond, silicon carbide, or aluminum nitride, Eid [0031] and [0027]).
Regarding Claim 7 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses the first material is or contains a metal, preferably copper (Chia page 7, lines 7-8), and/or the second material is or contains a ceramic (Eid [0031]), and/or the third material is or contains a ceramic (Eid [0027]).
Regarding Claim 8 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses the base component and the interposer are connected to one another exclusively in the one or more first connection regions (Eid annotated Fig. 1) and the interposer and the support substrate are connected to one another exclusively in the one or more second connection regions (Eid annotated Fig. 21).
Regarding Claim 9 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses the first connection region or multiple first connection regions together covers or cover a first area of the interposer and the second connection region or multiple second connection regions together covers or cover a second area of the interposer and the first area is larger and/or is otherwise geometrically more advantageous than the second area (The second area can be the difference of area of two rectangles, while the first area can be just the larger rectangle area, inherently larger than the second area, Eid Figs. 1 and 21), and wherein there is no integrally bonded connection that is not present in one of the connection regions (Eid Figs. 1 and 21).
Regarding Claim 10 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses each of the one or more first connection regions has a different basic area than each of the one or more second connection regions (The second area can be the difference of area of two rectangles, while the first area can be just the larger rectangle area, Eid Figs. 1 and 21), and wherein there is no integrally bonded connection that is not present in one of the connection regions (Eid Figs. 1 and 21).
Regarding Claim 11 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses the plurality, preferably each, of the one or more first connection regions has a larger and/or otherwise geometrically more advantageous basic area than each of the one or more second connection regions (The second area can be the difference of area of two rectangles, while the first area can be just the larger rectangle area, inherently larger than the second area, Eid Figs. 1 and 21), and wherein there is no integrally bonded connection that is not present in one of the connection regions (Eid Figs. 1 and 21).
Regarding Claim 13 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses the one or more MEMS components are disposed on a first side of the support substrate (Eid [0093] and Fig. 21).
Regarding Claim 14 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses an electronic component is disposed on a second side of the support substrate that is different from the first side (Eid Fig. 21), wherein the second side comprises the one or more second connection regions and there is an electrical connection between the electronic component and the one or more MEMS components (conductive pathways, Eid [0027]), wherein the interposer preferably has a cutout which at least partially laterally encloses the electronic component (Eid Fig. 21).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eid et al (US 20210043573 A1, hereinafter “Eid”), in view of Chia et al (WO 9419594 A1, hereinafter “Chia”), and further in view of Imamura et al (US 20140197533 A1, hereinafter “Imamura”).
Regarding Claim 5 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia fails to disclose the interposer has a polygonal, in particular rectangular, or an oval, in particular circular, basic area, wherein the basic area comprises the first and/or the second connection region.
However, Imamura discloses the interposer (32, Imamura [0055-0057] and Figs. 6 and 7) has a polygonal, in particular rectangular, wherein the basic area comprises the second connection region.
Imamura discloses a semiconductor device analogous to Eid with a lid as interposer over an electronic component. Imamura teaches using a rectangular interposer over an electronic component for the benefit of stiffening the assembly (Imamura [0100]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Eid and Imamura to use a rectangular interposer over an electronic component for the benefit of stiffening the assembly.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eid et al (US 20210043573 A1, hereinafter “Eid”), in view of Chia et al (WO 9419594 A1, hereinafter “Chia”), and further in view of Imamura et al (US 20140197533 A1, hereinafter “Imamura”), and further in view of Huang et al (US 20050083658 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding Claim 12 - Eid modified by Chia discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Eid and Chia further discloses there is no integrally bonded connection that is not present in one of the connection regions (as seen by cross section in Eid Figs. 1 and 21).
The combination of Eid and Chia fails to disclose each of the one or more second connection regions has a rectangular basic area.
However, Imamura discloses each of the one or more second connection regions has a rectangular basic area (area of 33 connecting 32 and 21, Imamura [0064] and [0098] and Figs. 6 and 7).
Imamura discloses a semiconductor analogous to Eid with a lid as interposer over an electronic component. Imamura teaches using a rectangular interposer over an electronic component for the benefit of stiffening the assembly (Imamura [0100]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Eid and Imamura to use a rectangular interposer over an electronic component for the benefit of stiffening the assembly.
The combination of Eid, Chia, and Imamura fails to disclose each of the one or more first connection regions has an oval basic area.
However, Huang discloses each of the one or more first connection regions has an oval basic area (3213, Huang [0023] and Fig. 7).
Huang discloses a heat dissipating module incorporating a heat sink analogous to Eid. Huang teaches using a round heat sink connection area for the benefit of better heat transfer than using contact strips (Huang [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Eid and Huang to use a round heat sink connection area for the benefit of better heat transfer using contact strips.
Response to Arguments
The applicant asserts it is unclear how Fig. 21 of Eid shows a mechanical connection between the base component 118 and support substrate 102 via the interposer 114, since Fig. 21 fails to show base component 118. However, base component 118 is a heat sink, and heat sinks are commonly used, as shown by the application of 118 on 114 in Fig. 1. The absence of 118 in Fig. 21 does not preclude its application, as several examples of the reference incorporate a heat sink (e.g. [0268] and [0269]), and Eid clearly states that any of the disclosed packages 100 may incorporate heat sink 118 ([0033]). This includes the representation in Fig. 21.
The applicant further asserts that layers 120, 148, 152, and component 104 provide further mechanical contact between interposer 114 and support substrate 102. However, layer 120 is described as only a thermal contact, with no necessary mechanical connection.
Furthermore, the instant specification provides no support for an exclusive mechanical connection of interposer 120 between base component 110 and support substrate 130, given intervening layers 145 and 155.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON MCDONALD/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898