Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The index of reference signs (Par. 30) is under the “Brief Description of Drawings” heading. This is inappropriate, see 37CFR1.174.
Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract uses phraseology which can be implied, stating “A dust removal assembly and a laser welding device are described”.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klochkov et al. (US Patent No. 8,492,733), hereinafter Klochkov, in view of Nakagawa et al.(US Patent No. 11,052,483), hereinafter Nakagawa.
Regarding claim 1, Klochkov teaches (Figure 3G) multi-sectional linear ionizing bar, comprising a nozzle (multi-sectional ionizing bar 10). The nozzle comprises an accommodating chamber (ionization cell 16), and an air inlet (openings 31) and an air outlet (opening between rails 30 opposite of openings 31) in communication with the accommodating chamber, and the nozzle is constructed to introduce compressed air to the accommodating chamber via the air inlet and exhaust the compressed air via the air outlet (Par. 30); and an ionizing bar (linear ion emitter 20, terminal 20a, and post 33), wherein the ionizing bar is disposed in the accommodating chamber, and the ionizing bar is arranged between the air inlet and the air outlet (Col. 6 Ln. 62 - Col. 7 Ln. 2). Klochkov does not teach wherein the nozzle is disposed on a base.
Nakagawa teaches (Figure 2) high-speed air supplying nozzle (3) attached to a welding jig (18) with a nozzle-height adjuster (9) and angle adjuster (19), moveably mounted to the surface of a welding target (5) of a laser welding device for the purpose of supplying high-speed air flow to a wider range of welding target shapes (Par. 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Klochkov to incorporate the teachings of Nakagawa by providing an adjustable welding jig as a base for the nozzle. Doing so would improve flexibility in the placement of the nozzle to accommodate a wider range of welding target shapes.
Regarding claim 2, Klochkov teaches (Figures 3D and 3G) wherein flow area of the accommodating chamber decreases gradually in a direction approaching the air outlet (generally tapered). Therefore, the modified device of Klochkov, as applied in claim 1, teaches the invention of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Klochkov teaches (Figure 3G) wherein the nozzle comprises: two shells (rails 30) arranged opposite each other; and a connecting base (base plate 25), wherein the connecting base is connected to one end of each of the two shells in a length direction (Col. 8 Ln. 14-30); the accommodating chamber is defined between the connecting base and the two shells, and the two shells define the air outlet at the other end in the length direction. Therefore, the modified device of Klochkov, as applied in claim 1, teaches the invention of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Klochkov teaches (Figure 3G) wherein a length direction of the ionizing bar extends in a width direction of the shell, and at least one end of the ionizing bar is sandwiched between the two shells (emitter 20 between rails 30). Therefore, the modified device of Klochkov, as applied in claim 1, teaches the invention of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Klochkov teaches (Figure 3G) wherein the two shells define the air inlet on at least one end in the width direction (openings along the full length, including at each end of the rails). Therefore, the modified device of Klochkov, as applied in claim 1, teaches the invention of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Klochkov teaches (Figures 3D and 3G) The dust removal assembly according to claim 3, wherein one end of each shell in the length direction is connected to the connecting base via a fastener (clips 48). Therefore, the modified device of Klochkov, as applied in claim 1, teaches the invention of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Klochkov teaches (Figure 3E) wherein the nozzle is externally provided with a pipe joint (gas-flow connector 40) communicating with the air inlet, and the pipe joint communicates with a compressed air generating apparatus (source of high pressure CDA; Col. 7 Ln. 17-29). Therefore, the modified device of Klochkov, as applied in claim 1, teaches the invention of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Nakagawa teaches (Figure 2) wherein the base (welding jig 18) is provided with a first bracket (angle adjuster 19), and the nozzle is swingingly disposed on the first bracket (Col. 7 Ln. 66 – Col. 8 Ln. 6) . Therefore, the modified device of Klochkov, as applied in claim 1, teaches the invention of claim 8.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Klochkov, as applied in claim 1, in view of Sawdon et al. (US Patent No. 9,421,599), hereinafter Sawdon.
Regarding claim 9, Nakagawa teaches (Figure 2) it is known that having the ability to adjust the angle of the nozzle is a useful feature. A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the reference, would also have recognized the desirability to implement a means of actuating adjustment, other than by hand, for a variety of reason (e.g. industrial automation, operator safety, etc.).
Sawdon teaches (Figure 3) a pneumatic linear actuator (20) comprising a cylinder (62) and piston rod (64), wherein the cylinder is rotatable connected to a clamp body (22) through a mount (78), the piston rod is rotatably connected to a swing arm (26) through a mount (98) and pin (96), and the swing arm is rotatably connected to the clamp body through a pivot pin (30). Sawdon discloses the pneumatic linear actuator as one of a finite number of known configurations (pneumatic, hydraulic, mechanical; Col. 4 Ln. 16-35) for driving motion of the swing arm around a pivot axis. While the teachings are applied to a clamp apparatus, reference is made to a generic “swing arm” (Col. Ln. 46-49) and not specifically a clamping device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the linear actuator of Sawdon to any pivoting device or member would yield the predictable result of making it swing.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the modified device of Klochkov by adding a linear actuator to a pivoting nozzle as a means of pointing it in a different direction. A person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In turn, because the first drive apparatus as claimed has the properties predicted by the prior art, it would have been obvious to include.
Regarding claim 10, Sawdon teaches (Figure 3) wherein the first drive apparatus (linear actuator 20) comprises a cylinder piston assembly (cylinder 62 and piston rod 64), wherein a base is provided with a second bracket (mount 78) rotatably connected to a cylinder of the cylinder piston assembly and the nozzle (swing arm 26) is rotatably connected to a piston rod of the cylinder piston assembly. Therefore, the modified device of Klochkov, as applied in claim 9, teaches the invention of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Sawdon teaches (Figure 3) wherein the nozzle (swing arm 26) is provided with a connecting lug (mount 98), and the connecting lug is rotatably connected to the cylinder or piston rod of the cylinder piston assembly via a connecting shaft (pin 96). Therefore, the modified device of Klochkov, as applied in claim 9, teaches the invention of claim 11.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US Publication No. 2021/0276125 A1), hereinafter Lu, in view of Klochkov and Nakagawa.
Regarding claim 12, Lu teaches (Figure 14) a multi-axis machine tool comprising: a workbench (process base 1412); a support frame ( support frame 1416), wherein the support frame is disposed on the workbench (Par. 169); a galvanometer (within scan head 1410, Par. 167), wherein the galvanometer is movably disposed on the support frame (Par. 7); and a dust removal assembly disposed on the workbench disposed toward a lens of the galvanometer (Par. 185). Lu does not teach a dust removal assembly according to claim 1.
Nakagawa teaches (Figure 2) a high-speed air supplying nozzle (3) attached to a welding jig (18) moveably mounted to the surface of a welding target (5) of a laser welding device for the purpose of protecting optical components of a welding head against fumes and spatter rising from a welding target (Col. 1 Ln. 19-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Lu to incorporate the teachings of Nakagawa by adding high-speed air supplying nozzle and welding jig to the process base. Doing so would protect the optical components of the welding head against fumes and spatter rising from a welding target.
Further, Klochkov teaches (Figure 3G) it is known to use an ionizing bar within an air flow (Col. 1 Ln. 28-35) for the purpose of reducing static charge of surfaces sensitive to accumulation of particulate matter (Col. 1 Ln. 60-63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified device of Lu to incorporate the teachings Klochkov by adding an ionizing bar to the interior space of the high-speed air supplying nozzle. Doing so would further protect the optical components of the welding head by reducing accumulation of particulate matter caused by static surface charge.
Regarding claim 13, Lu teaches (Figure 14) wherein the support frame is provided with a second drive apparatus (low bandwidth Z-axis actuator 106) and a mounting plate (high bandwidth Z-axis actuator 112); the second drive apparatus is connected to the mounting plate so as to drive the mounting plate to move up and down (Par. 166); and the galvanometer is disposed on the mounting plate so as to move with the mounting plate (Par. 167). Therefore, the modified device of Lu, as applied in claim 12, teaches the invention of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Nakagawa teaches (Figure 2) wherein the dust removal assembly is provided in plurality (high-speed air supplying nozzle 3 and shield gas supplying nozzle 4), and the plurality of dust removal assemblies are spaced apart in a circumferential direction of the galvanometer. Therefore, the modified device of Lu, as applied in claim 12, teaches the invention of claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Burt et al. (US Patent No. 7,241,965) discloses an apparatus for laser welding, comprising a nozzle which provides a high speed stream of air that flows over the lens of the laser in order to protect it from rising plasma fumes generated during the welding process.
/NICHOLAS FREDRICK GAUTHIER/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761