CTNF 18/461,070 CTNF 89522 DETAILED ACTION The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/461,070. Claims 1-16 are pending in the application. Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 12, 14-16 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions or species. Election/Restrictions A restriction requirement was sent to the Applicant on March 27, 2026. The Applicant was required to elect among several groups of inventions. The Applicant responded to the restriction requirement on May 27, 2026 and elected Group I, claims 1-8, 11, 13, including linking claims, without traverse. The applicant also elected a species of solvent including at least two compounds. Accordingly, claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 12, 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected inventions. Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 and 103 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. § 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. § 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3-6, 8, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by, or, alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Ippen et al (US 2020/0299575) . Ippen et al teaches a composition comprising semiconductor nanostructures and solvent (par. 2, 18). The nanostructures include nanorods and nanowires (par. 91). The nanostructures have a smallest dimension less than 500 nm (par. 91). For nanowires and nanorods, the smallest dimension is the diameter (par. 93). The semiconductor includes GaN (par. 6). The solvent includes glyceryl triacetate, also known as triacetin (par. 197). Triacetin satisfies claimed equation 1. The solvent includes a combination of solvent compounds (par. 197). It would have been obvious to select at least two or three of the compounds to form the solvent. Regarding claim 13, the composition is capable of being used for electrophoresis device because it includes all the components of the claimed composition. In the event that the above disclosure is not sufficiently specific to anticipate the above listed claims, the examiner submits that the selection of the instantly nanorod and solvent components and resultant properties would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art since Ippen et al teaches a composition which contains each of the claimed components . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ippen et al in view of Youn et al (US 2023/0122059) . Ippen et al teaches a composition containing nanorods and solvent as described above. Ippen et al does not teach the length of the nanorods nor the amount of nanorods. However, Youn et al teaches an ink composition comprising semiconductor nanorods and solvent (abstract). The nanorods have a length of 3.5-5 µm (par. 18). The amount of nanorods in the ink is 0.01-10 % by weight (par. 22). The ink is used for electrophoresis (abstract). Ippen et al and Youn et al both teach a composition comprising semiconductor nanorods in solvent. Ippen et al is silent regarding the nanorod length and amount. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need to combine the nanorod length and amount of Youn et al with the composition of Ippen et al in order to obtain known suitable ranges for each. Examiner’s Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to William Young whose telephone number is (571) 270-5078. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM to 5 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Angela Brown-Pettigrew, can be reached at 571-272-2817. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000./WILLIAM D YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 June 10, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/461,070 Page 2 Art Unit: 1761 Application/Control Number: 18/461,070 Page 3 Art Unit: 1761 Application/Control Number: 18/461,070 Page 4 Art Unit: 1761