DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soumiya (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0301176-A1) (hereinafter, “SOUMIYA”).
Regarding claim 1, SOUMIYA teaches polishing liquid for polishing a compound semiconductor substrate (see SOUMIYA at paragraphs [0010] and [0127]; it is noted that “for polishing a compound semiconductor substrate” is merely a recitation of an intended use of the composition rather than a limitation directed toward the claimed polishing liquid, and is therefore not considered to limit the present product claim; any composition as claimed by claim 1 would be expected to be able to perform the intended use of being used to polish a compound semiconductor substrate; regardless, SOUMIYA teaches polishing a semiconductor substrate), the polishing liquid comprising:
an aqueous solution in which a permanganate is dissolved (see SOUMIYA at paragraphs [0010], [0099] and [0121], teaching an aqueous solution comprising, as the oxidizing agent, a salt of permanganic acid, i.e., permanganate);
and abrasive grains which are dispersed in the aqueous solution and an electrokinetic potential (zeta potential) of which is plus (see SOUMIYA at paragraphs [0010], [0068] and [0121], teaching an aqueous solution comprising dispersed cation-modified silica particles having positive zeta potential as the abrasive grains).
Regarding claim 4, SOUMIYA teaches a polishing liquid according to claim 1, wherein the abrasive grains include silica grains having an average primary grain diameter of 12 nm to 60 nm (see SOUMIYA at paragraph [0055], teaching an average primary particle diameter of 25 nm or more and 50 nm or less).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SOUMIYA.
Regarding claim 2, SOUMIYA teaches a polishing liquid according to claim 1, wherein the polishing liquid has a pH overlapping with and thereby rendering obvious the claimed range of 3 to 7 (see SOUMIYA at paragraph [0111], teaching a pH of 2 or more and less than 7). As set forth in MPEP § 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 3, SOUMIYA teaches a polishing liquid according to claim 1, wherein a concentration of the permanganate overlaps with the claimed range of not less than 2.5 wt%, (see SOUMIYA at paragraph [0100], teaching a concentration of the oxidizing agent of 0.1% by mass or more), and a concentration of the abrasive grains overlaps with the claimed range of not less than 4.5 wt% (see SOUMIYA at paragraph [0071], teaching a concentration of the cation-modified silica particles of 0.1% by mass or more), thereby rendering the claimed ranges obvious. As set forth in MPEP § 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Conclusion
/S.C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1731
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731