DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response of 06/15/2026 has been entered in the record and considered. With respect to the rejections under 35 USC 103 (a) the Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons as discussed below. Claims 1-20 are under consideration. Claims 1-8 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat # 6,509,232 to Kim et al. (Kim) in view of US Pub # 2014/0349464 to Yang et al (Yang).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim discloses an apparatus comprising:
a first semiconductor substrate (Fig. 32: 302);
a plurality of first regions (Fig. 32) extending in parallel in a first direction on the first semiconductor substrate (302), each of the plurality of first regions including a plurality of first shallow trench isolations (STI) (Fig. 32: 360) therein; and
a plurality of second regions (Fig. 32) each extending between corresponding adjacent two of the plurality of first regions, each of the plurality of second regions including a plurality of second STIs (Fig. 32: 362) and a plurality of active regions (active regions are where 432 are formed, see Fig. 32) arranged alternately and in line in the first direction.
Kim fails to explicitly disclose a greater depth than each of the plurality of first STIs.
Yang discloses wherein a greater depth than each of the plurality of first STIs (Fig. 3F).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shallow trench isolations (STI) of Kim to includes STI regions having different depth as taught by Yang to improve the trench etching process and prevent local thickness loss of the hard mask layer during the etching process, thereby improving process reliability and isolation formation (¶0063).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a plurality of word-lines (Fig. 3 and corresponding text) extending in a second direction crossing the first direction above the first semiconductor substrate.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the plurality of first STIs (360) and the plurality of second STIs (362) comprise a same material (col. 7, lines 11-16).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the same material comprises silicon dioxide (col. 7, lines 11-16).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a semiconductor apparatus including a semiconductor substrate (302) having a plurality of active regions defined between shallow trench isolation (STI) regions (362) (see Kim, Fig. 32). Kim further teaches a plurality of word-lines (202, 204) extending across the semiconductor substrate (see Kim, Fig. 3). As shown in Fig. 3, the plurality of word-lines extend in a direction crossing the active regions defined between the STI regions of Fig. 32. Each crossing of a word-line over an active region forms a transistor structure in the semiconductor substrate (see Kim, Fig. 32). Accordingly, the word-lines of Kim cross the active regions such that the active regions include transistor structures formed at the intersections.
Because a plurality of word-lines extend across the substrate, each of the active regions is crossed by corresponding ones of the plurality of word-lines, and crossings of the word-lines over the active regions form transistors therein. Thus, Kim teaches the limitation that each of the plurality of active regions is crossed by corresponding word-lines such that each active region comprises transistors, as recited in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses wherein the plurality of word-lines comprise conductive material.
Kim teaches a plurality of word-lines (202, 204) extending across the semiconductor substrate (see Kim, Fig. 3). However, Kim does not explicitly disclose that the word-lines comprise conductive material. Nevertheless, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that word-lines in semiconductor memory devices function as gate electrodes used to apply a control voltage to the channel region of the underlying transistors. Gate electrodes must be formed from conductive materials in order to transmit the control voltage used to operate the transistors. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the word-lines of Kim comprise conductive material.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat # 6,509,232 to Kim et al. (Kim) in view of US Pub # 2014/0349464 to Yang et al (Yang) and further in view of US Pat 5,882,987 to Srikrishnan.
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Yang disclose all of the limitations of claim 2 from which this claim depends.
Kim teaches an insulating film (Fig. 32: 324) associated with the STI structures, which function as an insulating film within the device structure. Kim further shows that the STI regions are positioned between the word-line structures and the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 32), thereby teaching that the STI regions are sandwiched between the word-lines and the semiconductor substrate.
Kim and Yang fail to discloses a second semiconductor substrate provided on a back surface of the first semiconductor substrate.
Srikrishnan teaches forming semiconductor structures by bonding a first semiconductor wafer (200) to a second wafer (220) through an insulating layer (205 or 207), thereby providing a second semiconductor substrate on the backside of the first semiconductor substrate (col. 2, lines 7-15 and lines 28-40).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Kim with a second semiconductor substrate as taught by Srikrishnan so as to act as a stiffener and provides the bulk silicon under the buried oxide in the SOI structure and to provide structural support during fabrication and enable processing of the semiconductor device (col. 2, lines 7-14).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat # 6,509,232 to Kim et al. (Kim) in view of US Pub # 2014/0349464 to Yang et al (Yang) and further in view of US pat # 7,723,755 to Lee et al. (Lee).
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Yang disclose all of the limitations of claim 2 from which this claim depends.
Kim and Yang fail to discloses wherein the plurality of word-lines comprise titanium nitride.
Lee discloses wherein the plurality of word-lines comprise titanium nitride.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the word lines of Kim using titanium nitride as taught by Lee because TiN is a well-known conductive gate material used in semiconductor devices due to its good conductivity, thermal stability, and compatibility with semiconductor fabrication processes (col. 1, lines 51-55).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s main argument:
Applicant appears to essentially argue:
Kim has one core region and one peripheral region. Therefore, Kim cannot have second regions between first regions.
The Examiner finds that Applicant’s argument does not address the claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant’s argument appears to equate the claimed first regions with Kim’s core area and the claimed second regions with Kim’s peripheral area.
However, claim 1 does not recite that the claimed first regions correspond to a core area or that the claimed second regions correspond to a peripheral area. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Specification, the term ‘region’ broadly encompasses a portion or area of the semiconductor substrate.
Applicant argues that STI 362 is not between adjacent STI 360. It is noted that examiner rejection never required STI 362 between STI 360. The examiner mapped the claimed first regions, second regions, first STI and second STI to different portions of Fig. 32.
A “second region” can simply be the substrate portion containing STI 362 and the adjacent active area.
It is noted that the claim only says each second region includes second STI and active region, it does not require the entire second region to consist only of those features. Nor does it require the second regions to be manufacturing zones.
However, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because it improperly imports limitations into the term “region.” Claim 1 merely recites first regions and second regions without defining their size, boundaries, manufacturing purpose, or functional designation. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Specification, a “region” broadly encompasses a portion or area of the semiconductor substrate. Therefore, the Examiner is not required to equate the claimed first regions and second regions with Kim’s core area and peripheral area, as argued by Applicant.
Furthermore, Applicant repeatedly argues, Kim has only one core area and one peripheral area. This argument is not persuasive because claim 1 does not require core regions, memory regions, peripheral regions, or device regions. Claim 1 does not require core regions, memory regions, peripheral regions, or device regions. It simply requires plurality of first regions and plurality of second regions. Those are abstract spatial portions of the substrate.
Applicant’s argument regarding Yang is also not persuasive. The Examiner did not rely on Yang to teach the claimed first regions, second regions, or active regions. Rather, Yang was relied upon solely for teaching that the second STI has a greater depth than the first STI.
Claim 1 merely recites first regions and second regions without defining their size, boundaries, manufacturing purpose, or functional designation.
Accordingly, Applicant’s argument relies on limitations that are not expressly recited in the claims, and such limitations are not read into the claims during examination under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard.
It is for the above discussed reasons that the rejection as applied is considered proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHSEN AHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896