This Office action is in response filed on 10/20/2025. Claims 1-19 are pending. The double patenting rejection from Non-Final Rejection filed on 07/29/2025 is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 19 are objected to because of the following antecedent basis informalities:
Claim 4, ll. 3-4, consider amending to, --chamber of the plurality of independently pressurizable pressurizable pressurizable
Claim 19, ll. 13 on p. 4, consider amending to –The carrier head of claim 18, wherein each valve in [[a]]the respective valve bank is—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “a first pressure supply line from the plurality of independently pressurizable supply lines, and a second pressure supply line from the plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the first and second pressure supply lines are simply “pressure lines” extending off of a main pressurizable line, e.g. connecting/extension lines, or whether the first and second supply lines are separately pressurizable lines. As best understood from disclosure (i.e. fig. 2A and p. 7-8 of instant disclosure), the first and second pressure supply lines are pressurizable lines (e.g. 183a-1, 183a-2, etc.). Therefore, for examination purposes, the first and second pressure supply lines are pressurizable lines from the plurality of independently pressurizable supply lines.
Further, in ll. 18-19, claim 1 recites, “wherein the second pressure supply line is different for each respective valve of the plurality of valves” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear to the Examiner how a single supply line is different for each valve, unless a plurality of second pressurizable lines are recited. However, as best understood from ll. 14-18 of claim 1, two independently pressurizable pressure lines are required (e.g. a first pressurizable supply line and a second pressurizable supply line). For examination purposes, the second pressurizable line is different for each respective valve of the plurality of valves in that each valve is connected to different segments, i.e. line extensions, of the second pressurizable supply line.
For examination purposes and as best understood from instant disclosure, claim 1 requires:
--at least one first pressurizable
at least one second pressurizable from the plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines, wherein the second pressurizable is different for each respective valve of the plurality of valves,--
Claim 2 recites the limitation, “wherein the plurality of independently pressurizable supply lines includes a first plurality of pressure supply lines and a second plurality of pressure supply lines, wherein each valve is configured to selectively couple the respective pressure chamber to one pressure supply line from the first plurality of pressure supply lines and one pressure supply from the second plurality of pressure supply lines.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether the “first plurality of pressure supply lines” is in addition to the first pressurizable supply line and second pressurizable supply line from claim 1 or whether the first and second pressurizable supply lines from claim 1 are a part of the “first plurality of pressure supply lines” and “second plurality of pressure supply lines.” Further, it is unclear to the Examiner whether the “one pressure supply line” from each first and second plurality of pressure supply lines are the same or different from the first and second pressurizable lines from claim 1 that couple to a respective valve. As best understood above in claim 1, at least one first pressurizable supply line and at least one second pressurizable supply line are required (ll. 18-19 of claim 1), and claim 2 requires wherein the at least one first pressurizable line includes a first plurality of pressurizable supply lines and the at least one second pressurizable line includes a second plurality of pressurizable supply lines, and wherein each valve is configured to selectively couple the respective chamber to one pressurizable supply line from the first plurality and one pressurizable supply line from the second plurality.
For examination purposes and as best understood from interpretation of claim 1 and instant disclosure, claim 2 recites:
--wherein the at least one first pressurizable the at least one second pressurizable supply lines includes a second plurality of pressurizable pressurizable pressurizable pressurizable from the second plurality of pressurizable
Claims 3-10 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 1.
Similar to claim 1, claim 11, ll. 17-19 recites, “a first pressure supply line from the plurality of independently pressurizable supply lines, or a second pressure supply line from the plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines” which renders the claim indefinite. First, it is unclear to the Examiner how each respective valve is configured to selectively couple to two pressure supply lines, and then the two pressure supply lines include one or the other. As best understood, both a first and a second supply line are required. Second, it is unclear whether the first and second pressure supply lines are simply “pressure lines” extending off of a main pressurizable line, or whether the first and second supply lines are separately pressurizable lines. As best understood from disclosure (i.e. fig. 2A and p. 7-8 of instant disclosure), the first and second pressure supply lines are pressurizable lines (e.g. 183a-1, 183a-2, etc.). Therefore, for examination purposes, the first and second pressure supply lines are pressurizable lines from the plurality of independently pressurizable supply lines.
Additionally, ll. 19-20 of claim 11 recites, “wherein the second pressure supply line is different for each respective valve of the plurality of valves” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear to the Examiner how a single supply line is different for each valve, unless a plurality of second pressurizable lines are recited. However, as best understood from ll. 14-19 of claim 11, two independently pressurizable pressure lines are required (e.g. a first pressurizable supply line and a second pressurizable supply line) and therefore, for examination purposes, the second pressurizable line is different for each respective valve of the plurality of valves in that each valve is connected to different segments, i.e. line extensions, of the second pressurizable supply line.
For examination purposes and as best understood from instant disclosure, claim 11 requires:
--at least one first pressurizable and
at least one second pressurizable from the plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines, wherein the second pressurizable is different for each respective valve of the plurality of valves.--
Similarly to claim 2, claim 12 recites the limitation, “wherein the plurality of independently pressurizable supply lines includes a first plurality of pressure supply lines and a second plurality of pressure supply lines, wherein each valve is configured to selectively couple the respective pressure chamber to one pressure supply line from the first plurality of pressure supply lines and one pressure supply from the second plurality of pressure supply lines.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is unclear to the Examiner whether the “first plurality of pressure supply lines” is in addition to the first pressurizable supply line and second pressurizable supply line from claim 11 or whether the first and second pressurizable supply lines from claim 11 are a part of the “first plurality of pressure supply lines” and “second plurality of pressure supply lines.” Further, it is unclear to the Examiner whether the “one pressure supply line” from each first and second plurality of pressure supply lines are the same or different from the first and second pressurizable lines from claim 11 that couple to a respective valve. As best understood, in claim 11, at least one first pressurizable supply line and at least one second pressurizable supply line are required (ll. 17-18 of claim 11), and claim 12 requires wherein the at least one first pressurizable line includes a first plurality of pressurizable supply lines and the at least one second pressurizable line includes a second plurality of pressurizable supply lines, and wherein each valve is configured to selectively couple the respective chamber to one pressurizable supply line from the first plurality and one pressurizable supply line from the second plurality.
For examination purposes and as best understood from interpretation of claim 1 and instant disclosure, claim 12 recites:
--wherein the at least one first pressurizable the at least one second pressurizable supply lines includes a second plurality of pressurizable pressurizable pressurizable pressurizable from the second plurality of pressurizable
Claims 13-19 are rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b) since they are dependent on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zuniga (US Patent No. 7,207,871).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Zuniga (US Patent No. 7,207,871) discloses a carrier head (item 100; figs. 1A-1B) for holding a substrate (item 112; figs. 1A-1B) in a polishing system (Abstract), comprising:
a housing (item 102; figs. 1B);
a flexible membrane (item 140; fig. 1A) extending below the housing (fig. 1), the flexible membrane dividing a volume above the flexible membrane into a plurality of independently pressurizable chambers (includes items 172, 174, 176 ,178, 180, 182, 184, 186, 188, 190; fig. 2);
a plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines (items 122a, 122b are pressure supply lines with independently controlled pressures from their respective pressure sources 210, 220; fig. 2), wherein there is a greater number of pressure chambers in the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers than pressure supply lines in the plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines (two pressure supply lines 122a, 122b connect to a greater number of chambers, i.e. at least ten chambers 172, 174, 176, 178, 180, 182, 184, 186, 188, 190; fig. 2);
a valve assembly (includes items 232, 234, 236, 238, 240, 242, 244, 246, 248, 250; fig. 2) coupled to the plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines and the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers (col. 7, ll. 42-46; fig. 2), the valve assembly having a plurality of valves (valve assembly includes at least ten valves, fig. 2) with each respective valve of the plurality of valves coupled to a respective pressure chamber from the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers (each valve is coupled to a respective chamber, e.g. valve 234 to chamber 174, valve 236 to chamber 176, etc.; fig. 2), and wherein each respective valve is configured to selectively couple the respective pressure chamber to one of two pressure supply lines (co. 7, ll. 46-51; each valve selectively couples the respective chamber to a supply line extending from independently pressurizable supply line 122a and a supply line extending from independently pressurizable supply line 122b; fig. 2), the two pressure supply lines including:
at least one first pressurizable supply line from the plurality of independently pressurizable supply lines (defined as pressurrizable supply line 122a extending from pressure source 220; fig. 2), and
at least one second pressurizable supply line from the plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines (defined as pressurizable supply line 122b extending from pressure source 210; fig. 2), wherein the second pressurizable supply line is different for each respective valve of the plurality of valves (for each respective valve, a different connecting segment, i.e. extension line, from the second pressurizable supply line 122b is connected to each respective valve), and wherein the plurality of valves comprise electromagnetic valves (col. 1, ll. 62-65; valves 232-250 are solenoid valves which are electromagnetic); and
circuitry secured to the housing (includes items 204, controller, and monitoring system; col. 6, ll. 65 through col. 7, ll. 6, wherein item 204 extends into shaft 125 of housing 102; figs. 1A-1B) to receive data on a data line (item 204; fig. 1A) and configured to selectively actuate the valves of the plurality of valves based on the data (col. 6, ll. 54 through col. 7, ll. 13; the circuity is capable of receiving and sending signals to open or close the valves).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Zuniga (US Patent No. 7,207,871) discloses a carrier head (item 100; figs. 1A-1B) for holding a substrate (item 112; figs. 1A-1B) in a polishing system (Abstract), comprising:
a housing (item 102; figs. 1B);
a flexible membrane (item 140; fig. 1A) extending below the housing (fig. 1), the flexible membrane dividing a volume above the flexible membrane into a plurality of independently pressurizable chambers (includes items 174, 176 ,178, 180, 182, 184, 186, 188; fig. 2);
a plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines (items 122a, 122b are pressure supply lines with independently controlled pressures from their respective pressure sources 210, 220; fig. 2), wherein there is a greater number of pressure chambers in the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers than pressure supply lines in the plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines (two pressure supply lines 122a, 122b connect to a greater number of chambers, i.e. at least eight chambers 174, 176, 178, 180, 182, 184, 186, 188; fig. 2);
a valve assembly (includes items 234, 236, 238, 240, 242, 244, 246, 248; fig. 2) coupled to the pressure supply lines and the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers (col. 7, ll. 42-46; fig. 2), the valve assembly including a plurality of valve banks distributed angularly around a central axis of the carrier head (col. 5, ll. 64 through col 6, ll. 3; figs. 1A-1B; component 212 includes valve banks which are defined within item 216 that are radially disposed from central axis of carrier head; though only one 216 is shown, many valves are distributed along component 212 which extends along length of carrier head and therefore, valve banks are distributed angular around the central axis), each valve bank (valve bank defined as two valves connected to the same respective first plurality supply line of an independently pressurizable pressure supply line 122a or 122b; first annotated fig. 2 below) having a plurality of valves (each valve bank includes two valves; fig. 2) with each respective valve of the plurality of valves coupled to a respective pressure chamber from the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers (each valve within the valve bank is coupled to a respective chamber, e.g. valve 234 to chamber 174, valve 236 to chamber 176, etc.; fig. 2), and wherein each respective valve is configured to selectively couple the respective pressure chamber to one of two different pressure supply lines, the two pressure supply lines including:
at least one first pressurizable supply line from the plurality of independently pressurizable supply lines (defined as pressurrizable supply line 122a extending from pressure source 220; fig. 2), and
at least one second pressurizable supply line from the plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines (defined as pressurizable supply line 122b extending from pressure source 210; fig. 2), wherein the second pressurizable supply line is different for each respective valve of the plurality of valves (for each respective valve, a different connecting segment, i.e. extension line, from the second pressurizable supply line 122b is connected to each respective valve).
First Annotated Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuniga (US Patent No. 7,207,871).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Zuniga discloses the carrier head as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers includes pressure chambers arranged at different angular positions around a central axis of the carrier head, as required by claim 5, and chambers arranged at different radial positions from the central axis of the head, as required by claim 6.
However, the embodiment of fig. 8 in Zuniga (US Patent No. 7,207,871) teaches a carrier head (item 100; figs. 1A-1B) comprising a housing (item 102), a flexible membrane (item 140) dividing a volume above the flexible membrane into a plurality of independently pressurizable chambers (includes items 172, 174, 176, 178, 180, 182, 184, 186, 188, 190; fig. 2) connected to a plurality of independently pressurizable pressure supply lines (items 210, 220; fig. 2) via a valve assembly (includes items 232, 234, 246, 238, 240, 242, 244, 246, 248, 250; fig. 2), wherein the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers includes chambers arranged at different angular positions (col. 9, ll. 67 through col. 10, ll. 3; annular rings 1006, 1008 divided along radii 1004 of membrane to form chambers) and chambers arranged at different radial positions (chambers 1006, 1008 spaced apart at different radial distances from center 1002; fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers, as disclosed in the embodiment of fig. 2 in Zuniga, to be arranged at different angular and radial positions from the center axis of the head, as taught in the embodiment of fig. 8 in Zuniga, in order for the carrier head to function as intended and thereby, improve the substrate planarization process by selectively applying pressure to different areas of the substrate during polishing and achieve a more planar substrate surface (Zuniga; col. 10, ll. 10-27).
Regarding claim 7, Zuniga as modified discloses the carrier head as claimed in claim 6, wherein the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers are arranged in a polar array (Zuniga; fig. 8, chambers are arranged in polar array within two-dimensional circle).
Regarding claim 15, Zuniga discloses the carrier head as claimed in claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers includes chambers arranged at different angular positions around a central axis of the carrier head.
However, the embodiment of fig. 8 in Zuniga (US Patent No. 7,207,871) teaches a carrier head (item 100; figs. 1A-1B) comprising a flexible membrane (item 140) dividing a volume above the flexible membrane into a plurality of independently pressurizable chambers, wherein the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers includes chambers arranged at different angular positions (col. 9, ll. 67 through col. 10, ll. 3; annular rings 1006, 1008 divided along radii 1004 of membrane to form chambers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers, as disclosed in embodiment of figs. 1-2 in Zuniga, to be arranged at different angular positions from the center axis of the head, as taught in the embodiment of fig. 8 in Zuniga, in order for the carrier head to function as intended and thereby, improve the substrate planarization process by selectively applying pressure to different areas of the substrate during polishing and achieve a more planar substrate surface (Zuniga; col. 10, ll. 10-27).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zuniga (US Patent No. 7,207,871) in view of Sakugawa (US 2018/0304434).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Zuniga discloses the carrier head as claimed in claim 1. Though the circuitry is used to control which chamber belongs to which pressurization zone and the opening/closing of the valves, Zuniga does not explicitly disclose how this is performed, such as wherein the circuitry is configured to receive a plurality of frames of data on the data line, each frame including data that represents a signal of switching a pressure for one or more of the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers, as required by claim 8, and
wherein a frame of data includes a control value and an identification value associated to each chamber, and the circuitry is configured to determine a switch of pressure to a respective chamber of the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers based on the control value and the identification value, as required by claim 9.
However, Sakugawa (US 2018/0304434) teaches a carrier head (item 30; fig. 1) for a polishing system (Abstract), wherein the carrier head comprises a plurality of pressure chambers (includes items C1, C2, C3, C4; pp. [0036]; fig. 2), a plurality of pressure supply lines (defined as supply lines extending from R1, R2, R3, R4, R5; fig. 2), and a valve assembly (includes items V1, V2, V3, V4, V5; fig. 2), wherein circuity (includes items G1-G5 and 50; pp. [0042-0043]; fig. 2) receives data on a data line (defined as dashed-lines extending from supply lines in fig. 2) and configured to selectively actuate the plurality of valves based on the data (pp. [0042]),
wherein the circuity is configured to receive a plurality of frames of data on the data line (pp. [0042-0043]; includes command value and target value) , each frame including data that represents a signal of switching a pressure (pp. [0051], [0070-0073]; signal is generated when flow rate, i.e. pressure supply, is out of range), and
wherein a frame of data includes a control value (pp. [0042], [0046], [0049], [0070]; defined as target , i.e. command, pressure value) and an identification value (pp. [0070]; defined as measured value) associated to each chamber (each control and identification value are associated with a pressure supply line corresponding to a respective chamber), and the circuitry is configured to determine a switch of pressure to a respective chamber of the plurality of independently pressurizable chambers based on the control value and the identification value (pp. [0073]; based on the measured, i.e. identification, values sent through the data line, the controller 50 performs corrections to the supply lines and chambers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the circuitry, as disclosed in Zuniga, to be configured to receive a plurality of frames of data on the data line, wherein a frame of data includes a control value and identification value associated with each chamber, as taught in Sakugawa, in order to perform a leak checking operation of the pressure supply lines supplied to the respective chambers of the carrier head and automatically perform corrections to the pressure supply line without removing the carrier head from the polishing apparatus thereby, reducing the burden of the worker who performs the leak checking and the downtime of the polishing apparatus (Sakugawa; pp. [0018], [0042], [0080] ).
Regarding claim 10, Zuniga as modified discloses the carrier head as claimed in 8, wherein the data line is split into multiple threads outside the valve assembly (Sakugawa; data line is split into multiple threads, i.e. lines, outside of valve assembly in order for identification and control values to be maintained).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 12-14 and 16-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, as best understood from 35 USC 112(b) rejection above, the closest art of record, Zuniga, discloses the carrier head as claimed in claim 1, but does not teach, suggest, or make obvious, wherein at least one first pressurizable supply line of the plurality of independently pressurizable supply lines includes a first plurality of pressurizable supply lines and wherein at least one second pressurizable supply line of the independently pressurizable supply lines includes a second plurality of pressurizable supply lines, as required by the claim, in combination with all additional elements of the claim.
Claims 3-4 are indicated as allowable subject matter since they are dependent on claim 2.
Similarly, regarding claim 12, as best understood from 35 USC 112(b) rejection above, the closest art of record, Zuniga, discloses the carrier head as claimed in claim 11, but does not teach, suggest, or make obvious, wherein at least one first pressurizable supply line of the plurality of independently pressurizable supply lines includes a first plurality of pressurizable supply lines and wherein at least one second pressurizable supply line of the independently pressurizable supply lines includes a second plurality of pressurizable supply lines, as required by the claim, in combination with all additional elements of the claim.
Claims 13-14 and 16-19 are indicated as allowable subject matter since they are dependent on claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 in view of prior art of record, Zuniga, have been considered but are moot because they are addressing newly amended claim limitations, as compared to the rejection of record. Upon further consideration and as necessitated by the amendments, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of the same primary reference, Zuniga. Further, the same teaching reference, Sakugawa (US 2018/0304434) is utilized in the above rejection.
Lastly, to address applicant’s arguments filed on 10/20/2025 regarding the art of record, Zuniga, does not teach or disclose the independent claim 1 limitation, “circuitry secured to the housing to receive data on a data line and configured to selectively actuate the valves of the plurality of valves based on the data,” the Examiner respectfully disagrees (p. 9 of Remarks). As understood from applicant’s instant disclosure, p. 8, “the valve assembly 189 can also receive data through a data line 186 from a controller 190. The voltage supply line 183 and the data line 186 can be routed through the drive shaft 152 and a rotary electrical union 158, e.g. a slip ring, to the stationary components such as the controller 190. The valve assembly can independently control each valve, based on the data, to switch each corresponding chamber 185 between a pair of corresponding pressure supply lines.” Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the circuitry is a controller and data line, wherein the controller is secured to the housing via the data line, as shown and understood from fig. 1A of instant disclosure. Therefore, Zuniga discloses analogous structure wherein the circuitry includes a data line (item 204), a controller (col. 6, ll. 59-60), and a monitoring system (col. 7, ll. 4-6), wherein the circuitry is secured to the housing as data line extends into housing structure (fig. 1A) and configured to selectively actuate the valves of the plurality of valves based on the data (col. 6, ll. 54 through col. 7, ll. 13; the circuity is capable of receiving signals via monitoring system, sending signals via data line, and controlling the valves to open or close via the controller). Therefore, Zuniga remains relevant for the recited “circuitry” structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723