DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 9/16/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Regarding the above, it is noted that Applicant first states that election is made “without traverse”, yet argues that the restriction is improper and later states the election is “with traverse”. Regardless, since no actual arguments are made to particularly point out the alleged impropriety of the requirement, the election is taken as effectively without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a same orientation” in the third-to-last line, and also in the second-to-last line. It is unclear if these refer to the same orientations or different orientations. The specification only ever refers to such orientations as “the orientation”, and states that the orientation remains the same throughout the entire process (e.g. paragraphs 53, 58), suggesting that the limitations in question refer to the same orientation.
The remaining claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 8 recites “the double-kiss cutting occurs on the second layer”, which does not provide any information in addition to what is established in claim 1 (“double-kiss cutting the second layer”). Claim 8 thus fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-14, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollfs of Roelofs (U.S. PGPub 2020/0349868) in view of Ganci (U.S. PGPub 2006/0112801).
Claim 1: Rollfs discloses a method of forming a mask for protecting a structure (the article formed by Rollfs could be used for this purpose), wherein the masking material includes a first layer (10), a second layer (20), and a third layer (30) sandwiched together (paragraph 30); the method comprising: generating a plurality of features in the masking material, wherein the plurality of features include printing (implied at paragraphs 5, 10), kiss cutting (paragraph 30, Fig. 4B “I”), and double-kiss cutting the masking material (Id., “II”), wherein generating the plurality of features comprises: printing data on the first layer (10) of the masking material (implied at paragraphs 5, 10); kiss cutting the first layer of the masking material (paragraph 30, Fig. 4B “I”); and double-kiss cutting the second layer of the masking material (Id., “II”), wherein the third layer remains uncut and unprinted during the formation of the mask (Id.), and the masking material remains in a same orientation during printing and kiss cutting of the first layer, and the masking material remains in a same orientation during double-kiss cutting of the second layer (implied in that no reorientation of the material is disclosed and all cutting occurs from above).
Rollfs does not disclose unrolling the masking material across a platform, wherein the platform supports the masking material during formation of the mask. However, Ganci teaches a similar method of cutting mask material wherein the mask material (6) is unrolled (from roll 5) across a platform (3/26), wherein the platform supports the masking material during formation of the mask (paragraph 80). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have unrolled the masking material across a platform, wherein the platform supports the masking material during formation of the mask, in order to have provided a more continuous supply of mask material to the process and provided requisite support for cutting.
Claim 2: The first layer includes a printable (e.g. upper) surface (as noted above) and a release (i.e. lower) surface (noting that “release surface” merely ascribes a name and is not necessarily limiting) opposing the printable surface, the release surface abuts the second layer (20), the second layer includes a first adhesive layer and a plastic surface (paragraph 31) opposing the first adhesive layer (paragraph 30), the first adhesive layer of the second layer abuts the release surface of the first layer (Id.), the third layer includes a second adhesive layer and a transfer surface (noting that “transfer surface” merely ascribes a name and is not necessarily limiting) opposing the second adhesive layer (Id.), and the second adhesive layer of the third layer abuts the vinyl surface of the second layer (Id.)
The second layer is not necessarily vinyl, though it may be polyester or another plastic material (paragraph 31). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used vinyl since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for vinyl.
Claims 3-4: Rollfs discloses that the sign layer may be transparent (paragraph 5) but does not disclose that the layers and adhesives, or at least the layers, are translucent. However, Ganci further teaches making the mask material transparent or translucent in order to be able to see through to the masked structure (paragraph 62). It thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the layers comprising the mask of Rollfs translucent for this purpose. It is further noted that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for specifically translucent material as opposed to other levels of optical clarity such as transparent.
Claim 6: Referring to Rollfs, printing the data occurs only on the first layer (implied as cited above).
Claim 7: Kiss cutting occurs only on the first layer (as cited above).
Claim 8: The double-kiss cutting occurs on the second layer (as cited above).
Claim 9: The first layer (10) is a top layer (Fig. 3), the second layer (20) is a middle layer, and the third layer (30) is a bottom layer, and wherein unrolling the masking material (as taught by Ganci) includes unrolling the masking material such that the top layer faces outwardly away from the platform and the bottom layer abuts the platform during formation of the mask (implied in that the processes are applied from the top).
Claim 10: Printing, kiss cutting, and double-kiss cutting occur relative to the top layer facing outwardly away from the platform (similarly as discussed for claim 9).
Claim 12: Rollfs and Ganci teach a method substantially as claimed except for removing the mask from the platform by rolling up the mask after generating the features. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that flexible sheet goods are commonly stored in rolls (e.g. as taught by Ganci with respect to the starting material), and so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have also stored the masking material in a roll after manufacture for similar reasons, i.e. to provide a smaller form factor for storage and transport.
Claim 13: Rollfs discloses applying the mask to a surface of the structure by abutting the first layer (10) to the surface of the structure (paragraph 10).
Claim 14: The first layer is further defined as a release liner (noting that “release liner” merely ascribes a name and is not necessarily limiting), the second layer is further defined as a plastic material layer (paragraph 31), and the third layer is further defined as transfer tape (noting that “transfer tape” merely ascribes a name and is not necessarily limiting).
The second layer is not necessarily vinyl, though it may be polyester or another plastic material (paragraph 31). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used vinyl since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for vinyl.
Claim 24: Rollfs discloses that the sign layer may be transparent (paragraph 5) but does not disclose that one or more of the first layer, the second layer, or the third layer are formed of a translucent material. However, Ganci further teaches making the mask material transparent or translucent in order to be able to see through to the masked structure (paragraph 62). It thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made at least one of the layers comprising the mask of Rollfs translucent for this purpose. It is further noted that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Please note that in the instant application, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for specifically translucent material as opposed to other levels of optical clarity such as transparent.
Claims 5, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rollfs of Roelofs and Ganci as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Sais (U.S. PGPub 2015/0283571).
Claim 5: Rollfs and Ganci teach a method substantially as claimed except for printing the data in a reverse orientation that is visible through the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer (i.e. by virtue of the translucent layers as taught above), and placing the mask on a surface of the structure by abutting the first layer to the surface of the structure such that the data is reversed back to a proper orientation on the structure. It is noted that in the case of Rollfs, the mask forms the shape of the letter “A” and is thus axisymmetric across a vertical axis and would effectively be the same in both “reverse” and “proper” orientations, though the mask is not necessarily applied such that it would be flipped as implied by the reversal. However, Sais teaches a method of forming and making a mask wherein the mask is printed reversed and applied in a “proper” (correct) orientation (e.g. paragraphs 78, 121). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reversed the mask as claimed depending upon the desired application for the mask.
Claim 11: Rollfs implies that kiss cutting and double-kiss cutting occur by using a forming tool that is movable relative to the platform (e.g. a cutting plotter - paragraph 22). Rollfs does not detail the printing tool. However, Sais teaches a mask manufacturing method wherein the cutting and printing tool are associated on the same tool movable relative to the platform (paragraphs 65-66, 134; Fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed the printing and cutting by using a forming tool that is movable relative to the platform as it provides a singular device capable of performing all tasks.
Claim 15: Rollfs and Ganci teach a method substantially as claimed except for identifying a surface of the structure from a model of the structure; and controlling a forming tool to generate the features in the first layer and the second layer. However, Sais teaches a mask manufacturing method comprising identifying a surface of the structure from a model of the structure; and controlling a forming tool to generate the features in the first layer and the second layer (abstract, paragraphs 36 and 147; Fig. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed these steps as a means for automating the masking process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patents 5,654,056 and 5,631,055 disclose multilayered paint masking materials.
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725