DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Amendment, received 5/18/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-3, 5 and 8-20 are elected for examination, and claims 4 and 6-7 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US Pub. No. 2012/0228603 A1).
As to claim 1, Nakamura discloses a display device (fig 3A; [0027]), comprising:
a lower electrode (fig 3A, 141);
a rib (143) comprising a pixel aperture (opening exposing electrode 141) which overlaps the lower electrode (141);
a partition (fig 3A, partition comprises lower half of 150, upper half of 150 and portion of organic layer 160 located on top surface of 150) including a conductive lower portion (lower half of 150; [0039]) on the rib (143) and an upper portion (upper half of 150 and organic layer 160 located thereon is considered to be the upper portion of the partition) which protrudes from a side surface of the lower portion (lower half of 150), the upper portion comprising at least one layer made of a material different from a material of the conductive lower portion ([0036] and [0039]);
an organic layer (160; [0041]) which covers the lower electrode (141) through the pixel aperture and emits light based on application of voltage ([0041]);
an upper electrode (170) which covers the organic layer (160) and is in contact with the side surface of the lower portion (sidewall of 150);
a first sealing layer (180) which is formed of an inorganic material ([0044]) and covers a display element (141/160/170) including the lower electrode (141), the organic layer (160) and the upper electrode (170);
a first resin layer located above the first sealing layer ([0046] this teaches a resin layer over 190 which is located above sealing layer 180); and
a color filter (230; [0047]) which faces the display element (141/160/170) via the first sealing layer and the first resin layer ([0046] and 180).
As to claim 8, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a first substrate (110) in which the lower electrode (141), the rib (143), the partition (150), the organic layer (160), the upper electrode (170) and the first sealing layer (180) are provided;
a second substrate (210) in which the color filter (230) is provided; and
an adhesive layer for attaching the first substrate and the second substrate to each other ([0050]).
As to claim 9, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a light-shielding layer (220) which faces the partition (150) via the first sealing layer and the first resin layer ([0046] and 180).
As to claim 11, Nakamura discloses a display device (fig 3A; [0027]), comprising:
a lower electrode (141);
a rib (143) comprising a pixel aperture which overlaps the lower electrode (aperture in 143 exposing 141);
a partition (fig 3A, partition comprises lower half of 150, upper half of 150 and portion of organic layer 160 located on top surface of 150) including a conductive lower portion (lower half of 150; [0039]) on the rib (143) and an upper portion (upper half of 150 and organic layer 160 located thereon is considered to be the upper portion of the partition) which protrudes from a side surface of the lower portion (lower half of 150), the upper portion comprising at least one layer made of a material different from a material of the conductive lower portion ([0036] and [0039]);
an organic layer (160) which covers the lower electrode (141) through the pixel aperture and emits light based on application of voltage ([0041]);
an upper electrode (170) which covers the organic layer (160) and is in contact with the side surface of the lower portion (lower half of 150);
a first sealing layer (180) which is formed of an inorganic material ([0044]) and covers display elements each including the lower electrode (141), the organic layer (160) and the upper electrode (170);
a first resin layer ([0046]) located above the first sealing layer (180); and
a color filter (230) which faces the display elements via the first sealing layer and the first resin layer (180; [0046]),
wherein the partition (150) surrounds the display elements (141/160/170).
As to claim 12, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 11 (paragraphs above),
wherein the organic layers (160) of the display elements are divided by the partition (150).
As to claim 13, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 12 (paragraphs above),
wherein the first sealing layer (180) continuously covers the organic layers (160) of the display elements and the partition (150).
As to claim 14, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 11 (paragraphs above),
wherein the display elements include a first display element (leftmost display element), a second display element (middle display element) and a third display element (rightmost display element), and
the color filter includes a first color filter overlapping the first display element and having a first color (red color filter 230R), a second color filter overlapping the second display element and having a second color (green color filter 230G), and a third color filter overlapping the third display element and having a third color filter (blue color filter 230B).
As to claim 16, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 14 (paragraphs above),
a light-shielding layer (220) provided in boundaries of the first color filter (230R), the second color filter (230G) and the third color filter (230B),
wherein the light-shielding layer (220) faces the partition (150) via the first sealing layer and the first resin layer ([0046] and 180).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Hatano et al. (US Pub. No. 2012/0217516 A1), hereafter referred to as Hatano.
As to claim 2, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Nakamura does not disclose a second sealing layer which is formed of an inorganic material and covers the first resin layer,
wherein the color filter is provided on the second sealing layer.
Nonetheless, Hatano discloses a similar display device (figs 1A-B) comprising a second sealing layer (fig 1B, 168) which is formed of an inorganic material ([0103]) and covers a first resin layer ([0103]),
wherein a color filter (166; [0043]) is provided on the second sealing layer (168).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the second sealing layer of Hatano in the display device of Nakamura since this will prevent diffusion of an impurity component and the like contained in the color filter to the light-emitting layer.
As to claim 5, Nakamura in view of Hatano disclose the display device of claim 2 (paragraphs above).
Nakamura does not disclose a second resin layer which covers the color filter.
Nonetheless, Hatano further discloses a second resin layer (fig 1B, 163; [0122], [0119]) which covers the color filter (166).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the color filter on the sealing layers with the second resin layer between the color filter and second substrate as taught by Hatano in the display device of Nakamura since this prevent moisture and contaminates from reaching the organic emission layer.
As to claim 17, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 16 (paragraphs above),
Nakamura does not disclose wherein a width of the light-shielding layer is greater than a width of the partition.
Nonetheless, Hatano further discloses wherein a width of a light-shielding layer (164) is greater than a width of a partition (126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the width of the light-shielding layer greater than that of the width of the partition in the display of Nakamura as taught by Hatano since this will decrease light leakage between sub-pixels.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Zhou et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0268045 A1), hereafter referred to as Zhou.
As to claim 10, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 9 (paragraphs above).
Nakamura further discloses a conductive layer (145) connected to the partition (160); and
wherein the light-shielding layer (220) faces a contact portion (contact of 145 and 160).
Nakamura does not disclose a conductive layer provided in a surrounding area around a display area including the display element;
a feed line provided in the surrounding area; and
a contact portion which connects the feed line and the conductive layer to each other.
Nonetheless, Zhou discloses a conductive layer provided in a surrounding area around a display area including a display element (fig 3, power supply layer 310 in surrounding area 300 and display area 100 with display element 24; [0118]);
a feed line (330) provided in the surrounding area (300); and
a contact portion which connects the feed line and the conductive layer to each other (contact between 330 and 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the conductive layer and feed line in the surrounding portion of a display device as taught by Zhou in the surrounding area of the display of Nakamura since this will allow for a low resistance power connection which decreases voltage drop across the display device.
As to claim 20, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Nakamura further discloses a conductive layer (145) connected to the partition (160).
Nakamura does not disclose a conductive layer provided in a surrounding area around a display area including the display element and connected to the partition;
a feed line provided in the surrounding area; and
a relay line connected to the feed line in a first contact portion and connected to the conductive layer in a second contact portion,
wherein the rib comprises an aperture in the second contact portion, and the conductive layer is in contact with the relay line through the aperture.
Nonetheless, Zhou discloses a conductive layer (fig 3, layer 330) provided in a surrounding area (301/302) around a display area including a display element (fig 3, power supply layer 310 in surrounding area 300 and display area 100 with display element 24; [0118]);
a feed line (310A) provided in the surrounding area (301/302); and
a relay line (310B) connected to the feed line (310A) in a first contact portion (302) and connected to the conductive layer (330) in a second contact portion (301),
wherein a rib (22/23) comprises an aperture (aperture in 22/23 wherein 330 contacts 310B in region 301) in the second contact portion (301), and the conductive layer (330) is in contact with the relay line (310B) with the relay line through the aperture (310B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the conductive layer and feed line in the surrounding portion of a display device as taught by Zhou in the surrounding area of the display of Nakamura since this will allow for a low resistance power connection which decreases voltage drop across the display device.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Du et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0399423 A1), hereafter referred to as Du.
As to claim 15, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 14 (paragraphs above),
Nakamura does not disclose wherein the rib comprises a first pixel aperture which overlaps the first display element, a second pixel aperture which overlaps the second display element and a third pixel aperture which overlaps the third display element (fig 3A, 143 with apertures for red, green and blue sub-pixels).
Nakamura does not disclose sizes of the first pixel aperture, the second pixel aperture and the third pixel aperture are different from each other.
Nonetheless, Du discloses wherein sizes of a first pixel aperture, a second pixel aperture and the third pixel aperture are different from each other (fig 1 and [0048]-[0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the pixel apertures of Nakamura with different sizes as taught by Du since this will balance the light-emitting brightness of sub-pixels of different colors with different light emitting efficiencies.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Hatano and further in view of Ochi et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0363275 A1), hereafter referred to as Ochi.
As to claim 3, Nakamura in view of Hatano disclose the display device of claim 2 (paragraphs above).
Nakamura in view of Hatano do not disclose a dam structure provided in a surrounding area around a display area including the display element,
wherein the dam structure includes a plurality of protrusions, and
the second sealing layer covers at least part of the protrusions.
Nonetheless, Ochi discloses a dam structure (fig 1, DM) provided in a surrounding area around a display area including a display element (DA 5 with display elements 4),
wherein the dam structure includes a plurality of protrusions (DM), and
a second sealing layer (33) covers at least part of the protrusions (DM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the dam structure of Ochi in the display device of Nakamura in view of Hatano since this will inhibit the infiltration of moisture into the TFT and organic emission layers by blocking a path of permeation of the moisture and thus allowing the reliability of the display to be improved.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura in view of Choung et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0077251 A1), hereafter referred to as Choung.
As to claim 18, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Nakamura does not disclose wherein the conductive lower portion comprises aluminum or an aluminum alloy, and
the upper portion comprises titanium and a conductive oxide.
Nonetheless, Choung discloses a similar OLED display panel including a partition including a conductive lower portion comprising aluminum or an aluminum alloy ([0030]-[0031]), and
an upper portion comprising titanium and a conductive oxide ([0030]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to use the partition wall of Choung as the partition wall of Nakamura since this will ensure sufficient isolation of sub-pixel regions while providing good electrical connection with the common electrode of the display.
As to claim 19, Nakamura discloses the display device of claim 11 (paragraphs above).
Nakamura does not disclose wherein the conductive lower portion comprises aluminum or an aluminum alloy, and
the upper portion comprises titanium and a conductive oxide.
Nonetheless, Choung discloses a similar OLED display panel including a partition including a conductive lower portion comprising aluminum or an aluminum alloy ([0030]-[0031]), and
an upper portion comprising titanium and a conductive oxide ([0030]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to use the partition wall of Choung as the partition wall of Nakamura since this will ensure sufficient isolation of sub-pixel regions while providing good electrical connection with the common electrode of the display.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Nakamura does not anticipate the amended limitations to claims 1 and 11 because separation wall 150 does not include an upper portion with a different material from the lower portion.
Examiner disagrees because the partition wall is considered to include separation wall 150 and the portion of organic layer 160 located thereon.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2009/0009069A1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 6/9/2026