DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species I (encompassing claims 1-9, 11-15, and 21-26) in the reply filed on 12/31/25 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 9/6/23. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the distance from the first crystalline semiconductor plug to the second crystalline semiconductor plug is less than a width of the semiconductor crystalline lateral portion (subject matter of claim 25) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 25 recites the distance from the first crystalline semiconductor plug to the second crystalline semiconductor plug is less than a width of the semiconductor crystalline lateral portion. As best as can be understood by the examiner, the distance from the first crystalline semiconductor plug (e.g., left 1141, Fig. 22A) to the second crystalline semiconductor plug (right 1141, Fig. 22A) is more than a width of the semiconductor crystalline lateral portion (114, Fig. 22A) (see also Examiner Annotated Fig. 22A below).
Examiner could not find written support in the Specification or the Drawings for the claimed limitation that the distance from the first crystalline semiconductor plug to the second crystalline semiconductor plug is less than a width of the semiconductor crystalline lateral portion. Examiner notes claim 25 was not originally presented and was submitted with the amendment filed 12/31/25.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the distance from the first crystalline semiconductor plug to the second crystalline semiconductor plug is less than a width of the semiconductor crystalline lateral portion. At least in the elected embodiment, the distance from the first crystalline semiconductor plug (e.g., left 1141, Fig. 22A) to the second crystalline semiconductor plug (right 1141, Fig. 22A) is more than a width of the semiconductor crystalline lateral portion (114, Fig. 22A) (see e.g., Examiner Annotated Fig. 22A above). As such, it is unclear to the examiner if the meaning of the limitation that “the distance from the first crystalline semiconductor plug to the second crystalline semiconductor plug is less than a width of the semiconductor crystalline lateral portion” is different than a plain meaning of the words in this phrase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 21, 23, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (U.S. 2021/0202475; “Hu”).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a method comprising:
Forming a first transistor (104, Fig. 20) on a substrate (102, Fig. 20) (S11, Fig. 9) ([0021], [0074]);
Forming a first dielectric layer (120, Fig. 20) over the first transistor (S12, Fig. 9) ([0075]);
Forming a first trench (O3, Fig. 20) in the first dielectric layer (S13, Fig. 9) ([0076]), wherein a bottom of the first trench is at the substrate (102, Fig. 20) ([0094]);
Depositing an amorphous semiconductor layer in the first trench and over the first dielectric layer (S14, Fig. 9) ([0077]);
Crystallizing the amorphous semiconductor layer into a crystalline semiconductor layer (S15, Fig. 9) ([0078]); and
Forming a second transistor (170, Fig. 20) over the crystalline semiconductor layer (S16, Fig. 9) ([0079]).
Regarding claim 4, Hu discloses the second transistor has a channel material (SG2, Fig. 20) ([0053]-[0054]) different from a channel material of the first transistor ([0020], [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Hu discloses the amorphous semiconductor layer is crystallized into the crystalline semiconductor layer by using a laser anneal ([0078], [0050]).
Regarding claim 21, Hu discloses a method comprising:
Forming a first transistor (104, Fig. 20) over a substrate (102, Fig. 20) (S11, Fig. 9) ([0021], [0074]);
Forming a first dielectric layer (120, Fig. 20) over the first transistor (S12, Fig. 9) ([0075]);
Forming a first crystalline semiconductor plug (142”, Fig. 20) extending through the first dielectric layer ([0077]-[0078]);
Forming a crystalline semiconductor lateral portion (SG2, Fig. 20) extending along a top surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the crystalline semiconductor lateral portion is formed of a same material as the first crystalline semiconductor plug ([0078]); and
Forming a second transistor (170, Fig. 20) over the crystalline semiconductor lateral portion (S16, Fig. 9) ([0079]).
Regarding claim 23, Hu discloses the first crystalline semiconductor plug (142”, Fig. 20) is in contact with the substrate (102, Fig. 20) ([0074]).
Regarding claim 26, Hu discloses forming a second dielectric layer (190, Fig. 20) over the second transistor ([0071]); and forming metal vias (200, Fig. 20) in the second dielectric layer ([0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (U.S. 2021/0202475; “Hu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rachmady et al. (U.S. 2020/0212038 A1; “Rachmady”).
Regarding claim 5, Hu discloses forming a first transistor (104, Fig. 20) ([0021], [0074]) and forming a second transistor (170, Fig. 20) ([0021], [0079]). Yet, Hu does not disclose the transistors have different conductivity types. However, Rachmady discloses stacked transistors having different conductivity types ([0025]; Fig. 1). This has the advantage of forming a complementary field effect transistor (CMOS) device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Hu with the first transistor and the second transistors having different conductivity types, as taught by Rachmady, so as to form a CMOS device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (U.S. 2021/0202475; “Hu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. 2017/0194151 A1; “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses the amorphous semiconductor layer is crystallized into the crystalline semiconductor layer by using a laser anneal ([0078], [0050]) but does not disclose the laser anneal is performed such that the amorphous semiconductor layer is turned into a liquid phase. However, Zhang discloses an crystallizing an amorphous semiconductor layer by using a liquid phase laser anneal ([0021]). This has the advantage of forming a high-quality crystalline semiconductor layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Hu with the laser anneal performed such that the amorphous semiconductor layer is turned into a liquid phase, as taught by Zhang, so as to form a high-quality crystalline semiconductor layer.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (U.S. 2021/0202475; “Hu”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishizu et al. (U.S. 2022/0384433 A1; “Ishizu”).
Regarding claim 9, Hu discloses forming a second dielectric layer (190, Fig. 20) over the second transistor (170, Fig. 20) and forming a first via (200, Fig. 20) extending in the second dielectric layer to the second transistor ([0071]). Yet, Hu does not disclose forming a second via extending in the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer to the first transistor. However, Ishizu discloses forming a [second] via (358, Fig. 13B) extending in a first dielectric layer (336, Fig. 13B) and a second dielectric (356, Fig. 13B) to (as in “towards”) a first transistor ([0083]). This has the advantage of electrically connecting the first transistor and the second transistor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Hu with a second via extending in the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer to the first transistor, as taught by Ishizu, so as to electrically connect the first transistor and the second transistor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are allowed.
Claim 11 contains allowable subject matter because of the limitation of performing an anneal process on the amorphous semiconductor material, the anneal process turning the amorphous semiconductor material into a crystalline semiconductor material; forming an epitaxial stack on the crystalline semiconductor material, the epitaxial stack comprising first semiconductor layers and second semiconductor layers alternating with the first semiconductor layers; and replacing the first semiconductor layers with a gate structure. Claims 12-15 depend on claim 11.
Claims 2-3, 8, 22, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/REEMA PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
1/16/2026