DETAILED ACTION
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed 11/06/2025 is entered.
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 10-11, filed 11/06/2025, with respect to Claim Objections and Claim Rejections under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections and rejections have been overcome.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 11-13, with respect to Claim Rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in
which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 11, 13, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 2017/0343667) in view of Vollbracht (US 2024/0377505).
Regarding Claim 1, Vacanti teaches:
A radar system, comprising:
a linear frequency-modulated continuous-wave (LFMCW) signal generator for generating an LFMCW signal ([0081]: “Synthesizer 322 will generate a linear FMCW waveform”);
a frequency synthesizer ([0080]: “Synthesizer 322”; “frequency synthesizer”; [0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may receive commands and control inputs from FPGA 214A and output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency”);
a frequency reference for generating a reference signal and transmitting the reference signal to the frequency synthesizer ([0076]: “128 MHz master clock 324”; [0081]: “Frequency synthesis may use various forms of Direct Digital Synthesizer, Phase Lock Loop, frequency multiplier and other methods.”);
a plurality of frequency dividers for respectively dividing a frequency produced by the frequency synthesizer to generate a first intermediate frequency (IF) signal, a second IF signal, and a third IF signal ([0076]: “frequency dividers 326”; [0080]: “ A divider may take a fractional division ratio rather than an integer ratio by alternating between division ratios.”; [0082]: “intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz”; “The quadrature down conversion may divide the 128 MHz oscillator signal by eight”; [0087]: “multiple channels”);
an upper converter for using the first IF signal to increase a frequency of the LFMCW signal to generate a radar signal, a frequency of the radar signal being a sum of a frequency of the LFMCW signal and the IF ([0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may ... output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency I signal 334 and Q signal 336 to I/Q SSB mixer 330.”; [0086]: “I/Q SSB mixer 330 may receive the signals from dual DDS 328, as well as a 24 GHz signal from VCO 300.”; [Fig. 5A]: I/Q SSB mixer 330 receives a 16 MHz signal and outputs a 24 GHz signal);
a transmitting antenna for transmitting the radar signal ([0006]: “radar transmit antenna”; [0076]: “SIW Tx array 202”);
a first receiving antenna for receiving a first reflected radar signal ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0041]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”);
a second receiving antenna for receiving a second reflected radar signal ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0041]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”), the first and second receiving antennas having different antenna arrangements … ([0041]: “one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D”; Fig. 2B showing antenna arrays in different physical locations, i.e., different arrangements);
a first mixer for decreasing a frequency of the first reflected radar signal to generate a first output signal ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
a second mixer for decreasing a frequency of the second reflected radar signal to generate a second output signal ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
a first IQ demodulator for using the second IF signal to decrease a frequency of the first output signal to generate a first baseband signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
a second IQ demodulator for using the third IF signal to decrease a frequency of the second output signal to generate a second baseband signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
a first analog-to-digital converter for transforming the first baseband signal into a first digital signal ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”);
a second analog-to-digital converter for transforming the second baseband signal into a second digital signal ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”); and
a micro controller for processing the first and second digital signal ([0084]: “FPGA 214A may combine and process the signals”).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach – but Vollbracht teaches:
the first and second receiving antennas having … different polarizations (Vollbracht [0007]: “The second antennas have … different polarizations than the first antennas”; [0037]: “aircraft”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vacanti and use receiving antennas with different polarizations, as taught by Vollbracht. Using antennas with different polarizations is considered ordinary and well-known in the art and is beneficial for improving signal-to-noise ratio and enables multi-mode use with high isolation between modes (Vollbracht [Abstract]).
Regarding Claim 8, Vacanti teaches:
A method for a radar, comprising:
generating a linear frequency-modulated continuous-wave (LFMCW) signal by an LFMCW signal generator ([0081]: “Synthesizer 322 will generate a linear FMCW waveform”);
generating a first intermediate frequency (IF) signal, a second IF signal, and a third IF signal using a frequency synthesizer ([0080]: “Synthesizer 322”; “frequency synthesizer”; [0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may receive commands and control inputs from FPGA 214A and output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency”; “The quadrature down conversion may divide the 128 MHz oscillator signal by eight”; [0087]: “multiple channels”);
increasing a frequency of the LFMCW signal to generate a radar signal through an upper converter and the first IF signal, a frequency of the radar signal being a sum of a frequency of the LFMCW signal and the IF ([0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may ... output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency I signal 334 and Q signal 336 to I/Q SSB mixer 330.”; [0086]: “I/Q SSB mixer 330 may receive the signals from dual DDS 328, as well as a 24 GHz signal from VCO 300.”; [Fig. 5A]: I/Q SSB mixer 330 receives a 16 MHz signal and outputs a 24 GHz signal);
transmitting the radar signal by a transmitting antenna ([0006]: “radar transmit antenna”; [0076]: “SIW Tx array 202”);
receiving a first reflected radar signal by a first receiving antenna ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0041]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”);
receiving a second reflected radar signal by a second receiving antenna ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0041]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”), the first and second receiving antennas having different antenna arrangements … ([0041]: “one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D”; Fig. 2B showing antenna arrays in different physical locations, i.e., different arrangements);
decreasing a frequency of the first reflected radar signal to generate a first output signal by a first mixer ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
decreasing a frequency of the second reflected radar signal to generate a second output signal by a second mixer ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
decreasing a frequency of the first output signal to generate a first baseband signal through a first IQ demodulator and the second IF signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
decreasing a frequency of the second output signal to generate a second baseband signal through a second IQ demodulator and the third IF signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
transforming the first baseband signal into a first digital signal by a first analog-to-digital converter ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”);
transforming the second baseband signal into a second digital signal by a second analog-to-digital converter ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”); and
processing the first and second digital signals by a micro controller ([0084]: “FPGA 214A may combine and process the signals”).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach – but Vollbracht teaches:
the first and second receiving antennas having … different polarizations (Vollbracht [0007]: “The second antennas have … different polarizations than the first antennas”; [0037]: “aircraft”).
The rationale to modify Vacanti with the teachings of Vollbracht would persist from Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Vacanti teaches:
An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) ([0030]: “unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV)”), comprising:
a flight controller ([0026]: “flight information system, vehicle information system, railroad or automobile traffic management system or similar”; [0030]: “UAV”);
a communication module ([0026]: “The collision avoidance system may communicate with others systems using optical, wired (e.g, Ethernet, USB, etc.), or other similar connections or communications mediums.”; [0030]: “UAV”);
a linear frequency-modulated continuous-wave (LFMCW) signal generator for generating an LFMCW signal ([0081]: “Synthesizer 322 will generate a linear FMCW waveform”);
an intermediate frequency (IF) signal generator for generate a first IF signal, a second IF signal, and a third IF signal ([0080]: “Synthesizer 322”; “frequency synthesizer”; [0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may receive commands and control inputs from FPGA 214A and output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency”; “The quadrature down conversion may divide the 128 MHz oscillator signal by eight”; [0087]: “multiple channels”);
an upper converter for increasing a frequency of the LFMCW signal to generate a radar signal using the first IF signal, a frequency of the radar signal being a sum of a frequency of the LFMCW signal and the IF ([0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may ... output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency I signal 334 and Q signal 336 to I/Q SSB mixer 330.”; [0086]: “I/Q SSB mixer 330 may receive the signals from dual DDS 328, as well as a 24 GHz signal from VCO 300.”; [Fig. 5A]: I/Q SSB mixer 330 receives a 16 MHz signal and outputs a 24 GHz signal);
a transmitting antenna for transmitting the radar signal ([0006]: “radar transmit antenna”; [0076]: “SIW Tx array 202”);
a first receiving antenna for receiving a first reflected radar signal ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0042]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”);
a second receiving antenna for receiving a second reflected radar signal ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0042]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”), the first and second receiving antennas having different antenna arrangements … ([0041]: “one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D”; Fig. 2B showing antenna arrays in different physical locations, i.e., different arrangements);
a first mixer for decreasing a frequency of the first reflected radar signal to generate a first output signal ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
a second mixer for decreasing a frequency of the second reflected radar signal to generate a second output signal ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
a first IQ demodulator for decreasing a frequency of the first output signal to generate a first baseband signal using the second IF signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
a second IQ demodulator for decreasing a frequency of the second output signal to generate a second baseband signal using the third IF signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
a first analog-to-digital converter for transforming the first baseband signal into a first digital signal ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”);
a second analog-to-digital converter for transforming the second baseband signal into a second digital signal ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”); and
a micro controller for processing the first and second digital signals ([0084]: “FPGA 214A may combine and process the signals”).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach – but Vollbracht teaches:
the first and second receiving antennas having … different polarizations (Vollbracht [0007]: “The second antennas have … different polarizations than the first antennas”; [0037]: “aircraft”).
The rationale to modify Vacanti with the teachings of Vollbracht would persist from Claim 1.
Regarding Claims 2, 9, and 16, Vacanti teaches: the system further comprising:
… splitting the LFMCW signal into a first part and a second part, the first part being transmitted to the upper converter and the second part being transmitted to the first and second mixers ([0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”; [Fig. 5A]: The LFMCW signal from synthesizer 322 and VCO 300 is split and sent to I/Q SSB mixer 330 (upper converter) and RX mixer 204 (mixer)).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach: a power splitting component for splitting the LFMCW signal.
However, in that Vacanti teaches using a power splitter to split a signal ([0078]: “power divider”), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vacanti and use a power splitting component for splitting the LFMCW signal. Power splitting components are considered ordinary and well-known for splitting signals in radar systems.
Regarding Claim 3, Vacanti teaches: wherein the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna are mounted on an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) ([0030]: “unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV)”).
Regarding Claim 11, Vacanti teaches: the method further comprising:
transmitting the second IF signal to the first IQ demodulator ([0083]; [0089-0090]; [Fig. 5A]: signals from synthesizer 322 are sent to Rx Mixer 204 and I and Q unit 306.); and
transmitting the third IF signal to the second IQ demodulator ([0083]; [0089-0090]; [Fig. 5A]: signals from synthesizer 322 are sent to Rx Mixer 204 and I and Q unit 306.).
Regarding Claims 6, 13, and 20, Vacanti teaches: wherein the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna include a Yagi antenna, helical antenna, horn antenna, or patch antenna ([0025]: “substrate integrated waveguide (SIW)”; [0052]: “the slot may be plated with a conductive material, such as copper.”).
Claims 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 2017/0343667) in view of Vollbracht (US 2024/0377505), as applied to Claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2018/0329047).
Regarding Claims 4, 12, and 18, Vacanti teaches: the system further comprising:
a first … filter with a center frequency of the IF for filtering the first output signal ([0090]: “low pass filters for each channel”; [0096]: “A high pass filter is used to set the IF response”); and
a second … filter with the center frequency of the IF for filtering the second output signal ([0090]: “low pass filters for each channel”; [0096]: “A high pass filter is used to set the IF response”).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach – but Wang teaches:
A narrowband filter (Wang [0005]; [0039]: “the bandpass filter 112 may be sufficiently narrow such that the first filter 112 may minimize the impact of signals that are outside of the allowable frequency range defined by the first filter 112.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vacanti and use a narrowband filter, as taught by Wang. Narrowband filters are considered ordinary and well-known for use in radar systems, and narrowband filters are beneficial for reducing interference and improving signal-to-noise ratio.
Claims 5, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 2017/0343667) in view of Vollbracht (US 2024/0377505), as applied to Claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Bogner (US 2021/0072346).
Regarding Claims 5, 14, and 19, Vacanti teaches: the system further comprising:
a first … filter for filtering the first baseband signal ([0083]: “The output signal from I and Q unit 306 passes through LPF 308 and 312”; [0090]: “low pass filters for each channel”); and
a second … filter for filtering the baseband signal ([0083]: “The output signal from I and Q unit 306 passes through LPF 308 and 312”; [0090]: “low pass filters for each channel”).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach – but Bogner teaches: an adjustable filter (Bogner [0043]: “tunable filter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vacanti and use an adjustable filter for filtering the baseband signal, as taught by Bogner. Adjustable filters are considered ordinary and well-known for use in radar systems, and adjustable filters are beneficial for reducing interference, improving signal-to-noise ratio, and making the system more versatile.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 2017/0343667) in view of Vollbracht (US 2024/0377505), as applied to Claims 3 and 15 above, and further in view of Kuang (US 2020/0292697).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Vacanti does not explicitly teach – but Kuang teaches: wherein the UAV includes a servo motor system configured to rotate the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna, and the servo motor system is operable to scan a surrounding area for searching and detecting targets (Kuang [0004]: “UAV”; “The antenna assembly is arranged at the base and configured to rotate relative to the base around a rotation axis.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vacanti and include a servo motor system to rotate the antennas, as taught by Kuang. Using servo motors to rotate the antennas is considered ordinary and well-known in the art and is beneficial for detecting objects in multiple directions (Kuang [0028]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 2017/0343667), as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of Vacanti ‘124 (US 2018/0196124).
Regarding Claim 10, Vacanti does not explicitly teach – but Vacanti ‘124 teaches: the system further comprising:
before transmitting the first part of the LFMCW signal to the upper converter, amplifying the first part of the LFMCW signal by an amplifier (Vacanti ‘124 [0057]; [Fig. 6]: the signal is amplified by amplifier 604B before transmission to quadrature up-converter 616).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Vacanti and amplify the first part of the LFMCW signal before transmitting the first part of the LFMCW signal to the upper converter, as taught by Vacanti ‘124. Amplifiers are considered ordinary and well-known for use in radar systems, and amplifying the signal before transmitting the signal to the upper converter is beneficial for reducing conversion loss.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NOAH YI MIN ZHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648