DETAILED ACTION
first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 14, 15, 17, and 19 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, see pgs. 11-15, filed 03/27/2026, with respect to Claim Rejections under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 7, remove the extra space after the phrase “claim 3”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the
inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his
invention.
Claim(s) 3, 7, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “the UAV.” It is unclear whether this limitation refers to the UAV recited in Claim 1 or to a different UAV. Claim 1 introduces a UAV as an object being detected (i.e., separate from the radar system), while Claim 3 recites the antennas of the radar system being mounted on the UAV.
Regarding Claim 7, the claim recites the limitation “the UAV.” It is unclear whether this limitation refers to the UAV recited in Claim 1 or to a different UAV. Claim 1 introduces a UAV as an object being detected (i.e., separate from the radar system), while Claim 7 recites the antennas and servo motor system of the radar system being mounted on the UAV.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim recites the limitation “distinguishing between the UAV and another different object.” It is unclear whether “the UAV” refers to the UAV recited in the preamble (i.e. the claimed article) or to a different UAV.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in
which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 11, 13, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 2017/0343667) in view of Mahany (US 2004/0077352) and Yang (CN 110632569 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Vacanti teaches:
A radar system, comprising:
a linear frequency-modulated continuous-wave (LFMCW) signal generator for generating an LFMCW signal ([0081]: “Synthesizer 322 will generate a linear FMCW waveform”);
a frequency synthesizer ([0080]: “Synthesizer 322”; “frequency synthesizer”; [0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may receive commands and control inputs from FPGA 214A and output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency”);
a frequency reference for generating a reference signal and transmitting the reference signal to the frequency synthesizer ([0076]: “128 MHz master clock 324”; [0081]: “Frequency synthesis may use various forms of Direct Digital Synthesizer, Phase Lock Loop, frequency multiplier and other methods.”);
… to generate a first intermediate frequency (IF) signal, a second IF signal, and a third IF signal … ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 may output the IF of 16 MHz (340) to I and Q unit 306.”; [0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may … output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency I signal 334 and Q signal 336 to I/Q SSB mixer 330.”; [0087]: “multiple channels”);
an upper converter for using the first IF signal to increase a frequency of the LFMCW signal to generate a radar signal, a frequency of the radar signal being a sum of a frequency of the LFMCW signal and the IF ([0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may ... output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency I signal 334 and Q signal 336 to I/Q SSB mixer 330.”; [0086]: “I/Q SSB mixer 330 may receive the signals from dual DDS 328, as well as a 24 GHz signal from VCO 300.”; [Fig. 5A]: I/Q SSB mixer 330 receives a 16 MHz signal and outputs a 24 GHz signal);
a transmitting antenna for transmitting the radar signal ([0006]: “radar transmit antenna”; [0076]: “SIW Tx array 202”);
a first receiving antenna for receiving a first reflected radar signal ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0041]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”);
a second receiving antenna for receiving a second reflected radar signal ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0041]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”), the first and second receiving antennas having different antenna arrangements … ([0041]: “one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D”; Fig. 2B showing antenna arrays in different physical locations, i.e., different arrangements);
a first mixer for decreasing a frequency of the first reflected radar signal to generate a first output signal ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
a second mixer for decreasing a frequency of the second reflected radar signal to generate a second output signal ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
a first IQ demodulator for using the second IF signal to decrease a frequency of the first output signal to generate a first baseband signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
a second IQ demodulator for using the third IF signal to decrease a frequency of the second output signal to generate a second baseband signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
a first analog-to-digital converter for transforming the first baseband signal into a first digital signal ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”);
a second analog-to-digital converter for transforming the second baseband signal into a second digital signal ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”); and
a micro controller for processing the first and second digital signal ([0084]: “FPGA 214A may combine and process the signals”).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach:
a plurality of frequency dividers for respectively dividing a frequency produced by the frequency synthesizer to generate a first intermediate frequency (IF) signal, a second IF signal, and a third IF signal, wherein the first IF signal, the second IF signal, and the third IF signal are all derived from the same frequency synthesizer; or
the first and second receiving antennas having … different polarizations, wherein the different polarizations enable distinguishing between an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) and another different object.
However, Mahany is in the field of RF transceivers and teaches:
a frequency synthesizer and a plurality of frequency dividers for respectively dividing a frequency produced by the frequency synthesizer to generate a plurality of IF signals, wherein the plurality of IF signals are all derived from the same frequency synthesizer (Mahany [0152]: “A frequency generator 116 is common to both the receiver 114 and the transmitter 118, producing a frequency agile main VCO output (“MAIN VCO”) 332, and an auxiliary output (“AUX VCO”) 334 at twice the IF frequency. A divide by 2 circuit (316 and 318) in the transmit path of the auxiliary VCO signal 334 is activated when the transceiver 298 is switch to the transmit mode.”; [0160]: “The baseband converter 312 contains an internal divide-by-two circuit which produces a carrier at ½ the Auxiliary VCO frequency which is also at the nominal IF frequency.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vacanti and use a common frequency synthesizer and a plurality of frequency dividers to generate the first, second, and third IF frequencies, as taught by Mahany, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Mahany’s known frequency synthesizer and divider architecture to Vacanti’s LFMCW radar system yields the predictable results of reducing duplicated frequency generation components and reducing unwanted phase noise.
Further, Yang is in the field of radar-based UAV identification and teaches:
antenna channels having different polarizations (Yang [0010]: “each polarization channel of a dual-polarization radar”; [0069]; “HH channel”; “VH channel”), wherein the different polarizations enable distinguishing between an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) and another different object (Yang [0010]: “identify UAVs and clutter by utilizing the differences in the multi-frame detection results of UAVs and clutter in each polarization channel of a dual-polarization radar”; [0069]: “When there is a target in both the HH and VH channels, we determine that the target is a drone.”; “If only one channel of the HH channel or VH channel detects the target, we determine that the target is clutter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vacanti and use antennas with different polarizations to distinguish between a UAV and a different object, as taught by Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Yang’s known dual-polarization UAV/clutter detection to Vacanti’s multi-channel radar system yields the predictable result of improving target detection by distinguishing between UAVs and other objects.
Regarding Claim 8, Vacanti teaches:
A method for a radar, comprising:
generating a linear frequency-modulated continuous-wave (LFMCW) signal by an LFMCW signal generator ([0081]: “Synthesizer 322 will generate a linear FMCW waveform”);
generating a first intermediate frequency (IF) signal, a second IF signal, and a third IF signal using a frequency synthesizer … ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 may output the IF of 16 MHz (340) to I and Q unit 306.”; [0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may … output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency I signal 334 and Q signal 336 to I/Q SSB mixer 330.”; [0087]: “multiple channels”);
increasing a frequency of the LFMCW signal to generate a radar signal through an upper converter and the first IF signal, a frequency of the radar signal being a sum of a frequency of the LFMCW signal and the IF ([0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may ... output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency I signal 334 and Q signal 336 to I/Q SSB mixer 330.”; [0086]: “I/Q SSB mixer 330 may receive the signals from dual DDS 328, as well as a 24 GHz signal from VCO 300.”; [Fig. 5A]: I/Q SSB mixer 330 receives a 16 MHz signal and outputs a 24 GHz signal);
transmitting the radar signal by a transmitting antenna ([0006]: “radar transmit antenna”; [0076]: “SIW Tx array 202”);
receiving a first reflected radar signal by a first receiving antenna ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0041]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”);
receiving a second reflected radar signal by a second receiving antenna ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0041]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”), the first and second receiving antennas having different antenna arrangements … ([0041]: “one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D”; Fig. 2B showing antenna arrays in different physical locations, i.e., different arrangements);
decreasing a frequency of the first reflected radar signal to generate a first output signal by a first mixer ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
decreasing a frequency of the second reflected radar signal to generate a second output signal by a second mixer ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
decreasing a frequency of the first output signal to generate a first baseband signal through a first IQ demodulator and the second IF signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
decreasing a frequency of the second output signal to generate a second baseband signal through a second IQ demodulator and the third IF signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
transforming the first baseband signal into a first digital signal by a first analog-to-digital converter ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”);
transforming the second baseband signal into a second digital signal by a second analog-to-digital converter ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”); and
processing the first and second digital signals by a micro controller ([0084]: “FPGA 214A may combine and process the signals”).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach:
wherein the frequency synthesizer generates a signal at twice an IF, and each of the first IF signal, the second IF signal, and the third IF signal is obtained by dividing by two a frequency produced by the frequency synthesizer, such that the first IF signal, the second IF signal, and the third IF signal are all derived from a same frequency synthesizer; or
the first and second receiving antennas having … different polarizations, wherein the different polarizations enable distinguishing between an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) and another different object.
However, Mahany is in the field of RF transceivers and teaches:
wherein the frequency synthesizer generates a signal at twice an IF, and a plurality of IF signals are obtained by dividing by two a frequency produced by the frequency synthesizer, such that the IF signals are all derived from a same frequency synthesizer (Mahany [0152]: “A frequency generator 116 is common to both the receiver 114 and the transmitter 118, producing a frequency agile main VCO output (“MAIN VCO”) 332, and an auxiliary output (“AUX VCO”) 334 at twice the IF frequency. A divide by 2 circuit (316 and 318) in the transmit path of the auxiliary VCO signal 334 is activated when the transceiver 298 is switch to the transmit mode.”; [0160]: “The baseband converter 312 contains an internal divide-by-two circuit which produces a carrier at ½ the Auxiliary VCO frequency which is also at the nominal IF frequency.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vacanti and use a common frequency synthesizer and divide the synthesized signals to generate the first, second, and third IF frequencies, as taught by Mahany, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Mahany’s known frequency synthesizer and divider architecture to Vacanti’s LFMCW radar system yields the predictable results of reducing duplicated frequency generation components and reducing unwanted phase noise.
Further, Yang is in the field of radar-based UAV identification and teaches:
antenna channels having different polarizations (Yang [0010]: “each polarization channel of a dual-polarization radar”; [0069]; “HH channel”; “VH channel”), wherein the different polarizations enable distinguishing between an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) and another different object (Yang [0010]: “identify UAVs and clutter by utilizing the differences in the multi-frame detection results of UAVs and clutter in each polarization channel of a dual-polarization radar”; [0069]: “When there is a target in both the HH and VH channels, we determine that the target is a drone.”; “If only one channel of the HH channel or VH channel detects the target, we determine that the target is clutter”).
The rationale to modify Vacanti with the teachings of Yang persists from Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, Vacanti teaches:
An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) ([0030]: “unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV)”), comprising:
a flight controller ([0026]: “flight information system, vehicle information system, railroad or automobile traffic management system or similar”; [0030]: “UAV”);
a communication module ([0026]: “The collision avoidance system may communicate with others systems using optical, wired (e.g, Ethernet, USB, etc.), or other similar connections or communications mediums.”; [0030]: “UAV”);
a linear frequency-modulated continuous-wave (LFMCW) signal generator for generating an LFMCW signal ([0081]: “Synthesizer 322 will generate a linear FMCW waveform”);
an intermediate frequency (IF) signal generator … for generating a first IF signal, a second IF signal, and a third IF signal ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 may output the IF of 16 MHz (340) to I and Q unit 306.”; [0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may … output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency I signal 334 and Q signal 336 to I/Q SSB mixer 330.”; [0087]: “multiple channels”);
an upper converter for increasing a frequency of the LFMCW signal to generate a radar signal using the first IF signal, a frequency of the radar signal being a sum of a frequency of the LFMCW signal and the IF ([0085]: “Dual DDS 328 may ... output a 16 MHz intermediate frequency I signal 334 and Q signal 336 to I/Q SSB mixer 330.”; [0086]: “I/Q SSB mixer 330 may receive the signals from dual DDS 328, as well as a 24 GHz signal from VCO 300.”; [Fig. 5A]: I/Q SSB mixer 330 receives a 16 MHz signal and outputs a 24 GHz signal);
a transmitting antenna for transmitting the radar signal ([0006]: “radar transmit antenna”; [0076]: “SIW Tx array 202”);
a first receiving antenna for receiving a first reflected radar signal ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0042]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”);
a second receiving antenna for receiving a second reflected radar signal ([0006]: “radar receive antenna”; [0042]: “SIW Rx array 122 may include one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D.” [0076]: “SIW Rx array element 200”; [0089]: “In other examples, radar receiver subarray 132A may include more or less than eight SIW Rx array elements.”), the first and second receiving antennas having different antenna arrangements … ([0041]: “one or more radar receiver antenna subarrays 132A-132D”; Fig. 2B showing antenna arrays in different physical locations, i.e., different arrangements);
a first mixer for decreasing a frequency of the first reflected radar signal to generate a first output signal ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
a second mixer for decreasing a frequency of the second reflected radar signal to generate a second output signal ([0079]: “Rx mixer 204 converts the 24.016 GHz reflected radar signal from SIW Rx array element 200 to an intermediate frequency (IF) of 16 MHz (340)”; [0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”);
a first IQ demodulator for decreasing a frequency of the first output signal to generate a first baseband signal using the second IF signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
a second IQ demodulator for decreasing a frequency of the second output signal to generate a second baseband signal using the third IF signal ([0083]: “I and Q unit 306 may form the in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) signal portions and downconvert the 16 MHz IF frequency to a base band between 1 kHz and 2 kHz”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… I/Q demodulation and phase rotation, digital demodulation and decimation…”);
a first analog-to-digital converter for transforming the first baseband signal into a first digital signal ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”);
a second analog-to-digital converter for transforming the second baseband signal into a second digital signal ([0083]: “ADCs 310 and 314 may digitize each portion of the returned signal”; [0089]: “The signal path for each channel may include components other than Rx mixers 204A-204H, as depicted by FIGS. 4, 5A and below in FIG. 5C.”; [0090]: “Octal afe receiver 352 may perform a variety of functions for each of the eight channels. Some examples may include… conversion to digital signals through ADC”); and
a micro controller for processing the first and second digital signals ([0084]: “FPGA 214A may combine and process the signals”).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach:
an intermediate frequency (IF) signal generator comprising a single frequency synthesizer configured to generate a signal at twice the IF, and a plurality of frequency dividers each dividing by two a frequency produced by the single frequency synthesizer, for generating a first IF signal, a second IF signal, and a third IF signal, wherein the first IF signal, the second IF signal, and the third IF signal are all derived from the single frequency synthesizer; or
the first and second receiving antennas having … different polarizations, wherein the different polarizations enable distinguishing between an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) and another different object.
However, Mahany is in the field of RF transceivers and teaches:
an intermediate frequency (IF) signal generator comprising a single frequency synthesizer configured to generate a signal at twice the IF, and a plurality of frequency dividers each dividing by two a frequency produced by the single frequency synthesizer, for generating a plurality of IF signals, wherein the IF signals are all derived from the single frequency synthesizer (Mahany [0152]: “A frequency generator 116 is common to both the receiver 114 and the transmitter 118, producing a frequency agile main VCO output (“MAIN VCO”) 332, and an auxiliary output (“AUX VCO”) 334 at twice the IF frequency. A divide by 2 circuit (316 and 318) in the transmit path of the auxiliary VCO signal 334 is activated when the transceiver 298 is switch to the transmit mode.”; [0160]: “The baseband converter 312 contains an internal divide-by-two circuit which produces a carrier at ½ the Auxiliary VCO frequency which is also at the nominal IF frequency.”; Fig. 10).
The rationale to modify Vacanti with the teachings of Mahany persists from Claim 8.
Further, Yang is in the field of radar-based UAV identification and teaches:
antenna channels having different polarizations (Yang [0010]: “each polarization channel of a dual-polarization radar”; [0069]; “HH channel”; “VH channel”), wherein the different polarizations enable distinguishing between an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) and another different object (Yang [0010]: “identify UAVs and clutter by utilizing the differences in the multi-frame detection results of UAVs and clutter in each polarization channel of a dual-polarization radar”; [0069]: “When there is a target in both the HH and VH channels, we determine that the target is a drone.”; “If only one channel of the HH channel or VH channel detects the target, we determine that the target is clutter”).
The rationale to modify Vacanti with the teachings of Yang persists from Claim 1.
Regarding Claims 2, 9, and 16, Vacanti teaches: the system further comprising:
… splitting the LFMCW signal into a first part and a second part, the first part being transmitted to the upper converter and the second part being transmitted to the first and second mixers ([0089]: “Each SIW Rx array element 200A-200H connects to a respective Rx mixer 204A-204H.”; [Fig. 5A]: The LFMCW signal from synthesizer 322 and VCO 300 is split and sent to I/Q SSB mixer 330 (upper converter) and RX mixer 204 (mixer)).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach: a power splitting component for splitting the LFMCW signal.
However, Vacanti teaches splitting the LFMCW signal and distributing it to the upper converter and receive mixers ([0078]). Vacanti also teaches using a power divider to distribute the signal to other receive channels ([0078]; Fig. 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vacanti and use a power splitting component to split the LFMCW signal with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Vacanti’s power divider technique to Vacanti’s radar transceiver would predictably distribute the LFMCW signal to the upper converter and receive mixers.
Regarding Claim 3, Vacanti teaches: wherein the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna are mounted on the UAV ([0030]: “unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV)”).
Regarding Claims 6, 13, and 20, Vacanti teaches: wherein the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna include a Yagi antenna, helical antenna, horn antenna, or patch antenna ([0025]: “substrate integrated waveguide (SIW)”).
Regarding Claim 11, Vacanti teaches: the method further comprising:
transmitting the second IF signal to the first IQ demodulator ([0083]; [0089-0090]; [Fig. 5A]: signals from synthesizer 322 are sent to Rx Mixer 204 and I and Q unit 306.); and
transmitting the third IF signal to the second IQ demodulator ([0083]; [0089-0090]; [Fig. 5A]: signals from synthesizer 322 are sent to Rx Mixer 204 and I and Q unit 306.).
Claims 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 2017/0343667) in view of Mahany (US 2004/0077352) and Yang (CN 110632569 A), as applied to Claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2018/0329047).
Regarding Claims 4, 12, and 18, Vacanti teaches: the system further comprising:
a first … filter with a center frequency of the IF for filtering the first output signal ([0090]: “low pass filters for each channel”; [0096]: “A high pass filter is used to set the IF response”); and
a second … filter with the center frequency of the IF for filtering the second output signal ([0090]: “low pass filters for each channel”; [0096]: “A high pass filter is used to set the IF response”).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach that the filters are narrowband filters.
However, Wang is in the field of LFMCW radar transceivers and teaches: a narrowband filter (Wang [0005]; [0039]: “the bandpass filter 112 may be sufficiently narrow such that the first filter 112 may minimize the impact of signals that are outside of the allowable frequency range defined by the first filter 112.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vacanti and use a narrowband filter, as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Wang’s know narrowband filter to Vacanti’s first and second receive paths yields to predictable result of minimizing interference from signals that are outside of a desired frequency range.
Claims 5, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 2017/0343667) in view of Mahany (US 2004/0077352) and Yang (CN 110632569 A), as applied to Claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Bogner (US 2021/0072346).
Regarding Claims 5, 14, and 19, Vacanti teaches: the system further comprising:
a first … filter for filtering the first baseband signal ([0083]: “The output signal from I and Q unit 306 passes through LPF 308 and 312”; [0090]: “low pass filters for each channel”); and
a second … filter for filtering the baseband signal ([0083]: “The output signal from I and Q unit 306 passes through LPF 308 and 312”; [0090]: “low pass filters for each channel”).
Vacanti does not explicitly teach that the filters are adjustable filters having a programmable cutoff frequency controlled by the micro controller.
However, Bogner is in the field of FMCW radar transceivers and teaches: an adjustable filter having a programmable cutoff frequency controlled by the microcontroller (Bogner [0043]: “tunable filter”; Examiner note: a “tunable” or “adjustable” filter is one that has a programmable cutoff frequency).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vacanti and use an adjustable filter for filtering the baseband signal, as taught by Bogner, with a reasonable expectation of success. Substituting Vacanti’s baseband filters with Bogner’s tunable filters would predictably allow the radar bandwidth to be adjusted based on operating conditions, thereby attenuating out of band frequencies and reducing interference (Bogner [0043]).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 2017/0343667) in view of Mahany (US 2004/0077352) and Yang (CN 110632569 A), as applied to Claims 3 and 15 above, and further in view of Yang ‘953 (CN 106872953 A).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Vacanti does not explicitly teach: wherein the UAV includes a servo motor system comprising two servo motors forming a pan and tilt platform configured to rotate the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna in both a horizontal plane and a vertical plane, and the servo motor system is operable to scan a surrounding area for searching and detecting targets.
However, Yang ‘953 is in the field of radar and teaches: a servo motor system comprising two servo motors forming a pan and tilt platform configured to rotate a radar antenna in both a horizontal plane and a vertical plane, and the servo motor system is operable to scan a surrounding area for searching and detecting targets (Yang ‘953 [0008]: “a horizontal servo motor, a vertical servo motor, a radar antenna”; [0013]: “Complete one horizontal scan”; “Adjust the vertical position of the radar antenna, repeat the horizontal scan”; [0025]: “target scanning in the two-dimensional space of the radar antenna”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vacanti and use two servo motors to rotate the transmitting and receiving antennas in both a horizontal and vertical plane and scan a surrounding area, as taught by Yang ‘953. Applying Yang ‘953’s two servo scanning technique to Vacanti’s UAV radar system yields the predictable result of allowing the antennas to scan a surrounding area which would improve target detection by reducing the impact of clutter (Yang ‘953 [0016]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 2017/0343667), as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of Vacanti ‘124 (US 2018/0196124).
Regarding Claim 10, Vacanti does not explicitly teach: the method further comprising: before transmitting the first part of the LFMCW signal to the upper converter, amplifying the first part of the LFMCW signal by an amplifier.
However, Vacanti ‘124 is in the field of FMCW radar and teaches: before transmitting the first part of the LFMCW signal to the upper converter, amplifying the first part of the LFMCW signal by an amplifier (Vacanti ‘124 [0057]; [Fig. 6]: the signal is amplified by amplifier 604B before transmission to quadrature up-converter 616).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Vacanti and amplify the first part of the LFMCW signal before transmitting the first part of the LFMCW signal to the upper converter, as taught by Vacanti ‘124, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Vacanti ‘124’s amplification technique to Vacanti’s transmit path yields the predictable result of improving the signal-to-noise ratio of the LFMCW signal.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2020/0371207 discloses a radar system with two servo motors to pan and tilt a radar antenna ([0016]).
US 2019/0173528 discloses an RFID system with a common frequency synthesizer and transmit and receive divide-by-two circuits ([0043]).
US 2009/0058715 discloses an aircraft radar system with two servo motors to scan an antenna in the horizontal and elevation directions ([0010]).
Conclusion
/NOAH YI MIN ZHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648