Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 양용준 (KR 20170003376 U) in view of Chiang (US 2005/0278999) and Wadsworth (1,672,183).
Regarding claim 1, 양용준 discloses a passenger seat comprising: a first armrest 110 assembly; a second armrest 110 assembly, the second armrest assembly comprising: a side panel comprising an armrest portion 116 and a side portion 114, an interior compartment 114a disposed within the side panel; and an access panel 120 in a removably attached position to the side panel.
However, 양용준 fails to disclose the side panel comprising a first magnet secured on an interior side of the side panel, the access panel comprising a second magnet secured on an interior side of the access panel, the first magnet being aligned with the second magnet when the access panel is in the removably attached position.
Instead, Chiang discloses the side panel comprising a first magnet 41 secured on an interior side of the side panel, the access panel 30 comprising a second magnet 42 secured on an interior side of the access panel, the first magnet being aligned with the second magnet when the access panel is in the removably attached position.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Chiang and use magnetic attachment means between the access and side panel in the invention of 양용준 because it is simple and efficient attachment means that do not require any tools.
양용준 also fails to disclose the access panel comprises a bezel rim. Instead, Wadsworth discloses the access panel 6 comprises a bezel rim 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Wadsworth and use a bezel rim with the access panel in the invention of 양용준 because it is secure, efficient and inexpensive way to protect the panel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 20, no other prior art references in the record whether taken alone or combination can disclose the first access panel further comprising a bowl shape.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED A ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636