DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office action based on the 18462086 application filed 04/12/22
Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,25,26,27 are pending and claim(s)1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18 have been fully considered
Claim(s) 19,20,21,22,23,24,25,26,27, non-elected/withdrawn
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 19,20,21,22,23,24,25,26,27 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/20/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 20190118132 (herein known as Edlund)
With regard to claim 1, Edlund sufficiently teaches a hydrogen purification device, comprising:, especially at abstract
first and second end frames including:, especially at para 6, claim 1
an input port capable of receiving a mixed gas stream containing hydrogen gas and other gases;, especially at para 6, claim 1
an output port capable of receiving a permeate stream containing at least one of a greater concentration of hydrogen gas and a lower concentration of the other gases than the mixed gas stream; and, especially at para 6, claim 1
a byproduct port capable of receiving a byproduct stream containing at least a substantial portion of the other gases;, especially at para 6, claim 1
at least one hydrogen-selective membrane disposed between and secured to the first and second end frames, , especially at para 6, claim 1
the at least one hydrogen-selective membrane having a feed side and a permeate side, , especially at para 6, claim 1
at least part of the permeate stream being formed from the portion of the mixed gas stream that passes from the feed side to the permeate side, especially at para 6, claim 1
with the remaining portion of the mixed gas stream, which remains on the feed side, forming at least part of the byproduct stream; and, especially at para 6, claim 1
a plurality of frames disposed between the first and second end frames and the at least one hydrogen-selective membrane and secured to the first and second end frames, especially at para 6, claim 1
the plurality of frames including a permeate frame 262 disposed between the at least one hydrogen-selective membrane 206 and the first end frame 200, especially at fig 4, para 69,79
the permeate frame including: a perimeter portion (as depicted), especially at fig 4, para 69,79
a membrane support portion 228 surrounded by the perimeter portion, especially at fig 4, para 69,72, 75,79
the membrane support portion having opposed first and second surfaces with each of the first and second surfaces having a plurality of grooves, especially at figs 4,8, para 69,72, 75,79,92
the membrane support portion being in contact with and supporting the at least one hydrogen selective membrane, and , especially at figs 4,8, para 69,72,75,79,92,94
the membrane support portion being integrally formed with the perimeter portion,, especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,92,94
one or more output apertures in at least one of the perimeter portion and the membrane support portion (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,92,94
at least one output aperture of the one or more output apertures (mirroring 270) forming a portion of at least one output conduit with corresponding output apertures of other frames of the plurality of frames (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,92,94
the at least one output conduit capable of receiving at least part of the permeate stream, and, especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,85,90,92,94
at least one input aperture in the perimeter portion (as depicted, mirroring 268), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,82,85,90,92,94
the at least one input aperture being distinct and spaced from the one or more output apertures, , especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,82,85,90,92,94
the at least one input aperture forming a portion of at least one input conduit with corresponding input apertures (268) of other frames of the plurality of frames, especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,82,85,90,92,94
the at least one input conduit capable of receiving at least a portion of the mixed gas stream, especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94
With regard to claim 2, Edlund sufficiently teaches
wherein the plurality of grooves of the first and second faces (surfaces) are sized such that the plurality of grooves of the first surface does not intersect with the plurality of grooves of the second surface (since on different faces), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94
With regard to claim 6, Edlund sufficiently teaches
wherein the at least one output aperture is in only the perimeter portion, especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94
With regard to claim 7, Edlund sufficiently teaches
wherein the plurality of grooves of the first surface are parallel to each other, and, especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,202
wherein the plurality of grooves of the second surface are parallel to each other and to the plurality of grooves of the first surface, especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,202
With regard to claim 8, Edlund sufficiently teaches
wherein a solid part of the perimeter portion is disposed between the at least one output aperture and the membrane support portion (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,202
With regard to claim 9, Edlund sufficiently teaches
wherein the plurality of frames includes at least one gasket frame 264, the at least one hydrogen-selective membrane being disposed between the permeate frame and the at least one gasket frame (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
the at least one gasket frame including: a planar perimeter base (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
an open area surrounded by the perimeter base (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
at least one input aperture in the perimeter base (corresponding to 268), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
the at least one input aperture being distinct and spaced from the open area (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
the least one input aperture in the perimeter base forming a portion of the at least one input conduit with the at least one input aperture of the permeate frame (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
at least one output aperture in the perimeter base (as depicted, corresponding to 270), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
the at least one output aperture being distinct and spaced from the open area and the at least one input aperture (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
the at least one output aperture in the perimeter base forming a portion of the at least one output conduit with the at least one output aperture of the permeate frame (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
With regard to claim 10, Edlund sufficiently teaches
wherein the at least one output aperture of the permeate frame 262 is in direct fluid communication with the at least one output aperture of the at least one gasket frame (as depicted, in proximity to the permeate frame), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
With regard to claim 11, Edlund sufficiently teaches
wherein the at least one output aperture of the at least one gasket frame defines a gasket aperture axis (implicit for depicted aperature), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
wherein the at least one output aperture of the permeate frame defines a permeate aperture axis (implicit for depicted aperature) that is parallel to the gasket aperture axis and that goes through the at least one output aperture of the at least one gasket frame (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
With regard to claim 12, Edlund sufficiently teaches
wherein the one or more output apertures (306 top, and right in line with 270) of the permeate frame in the membrane support portion are positioned in a plurality of rows (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
wherein the at least one output aperture of the permeate frame includes two or more rows of the one or more output apertures of the permeate frame (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
With regard to claim 13, Edlund sufficiently teaches
wherein the one or more output apertures of the permeate frame in the membrane support portion are positioned in a plurality of rows (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
wherein the at least one output aperture of the permeate frame includes only a single end row of the one or more output apertures of the permeate frame (as depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
With regard to claim 14, Edlund sufficiently teaches
where the plurality of frames defines a longitudinal axis (implicit for depicted frames), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
wherein the at least one output aperture in the perimeter base has a length that is measured parallel to the longitudinal axis and a width that is measured perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (implicit for depicted), especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
wherein the plurality of frames includes at least one feed frame 260, the at least one gasket frame 264 being disposed between the at least one feed frame and the at least one hydrogen-selective membrane, especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94,98
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 20190118132 (herein known as Edlund)
With regard to claim 18, Edlund sufficiently teaches
at least one microscreen structure 208 having a plurality of microscreen apertures 222, especially at figs 4,5,8, para 69,71,72,75,79,82,84,85,90,92,94
Edlund does not specifically teach wherein the at least one hydrogen-selective membrane is metallurgically bonded to the at least one microscreen structure;
but Edlund sufficiently teaches "suitable retention structures include welds" para 61
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (or at the time the invention was made; if pre-AIA ) to joining the membrane and microscreen of Edlund with wherein the at least one hydrogen-selective membrane is welded (i.e. metallurgically bonded) to the at least one microscreen structure of Edlund since it has been held that making separate parts of a device integral involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 (V-B))
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3,4,5,15,16,17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY SHUMATE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776