DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Applicant presents a request for continued examination dated 31 October 2025 responsive to the 6 August 2025 final Office action (the “Final Office Action”) as well as the 16 October 2025 advisory action.
With the request:
claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 17 and 20 are amended;
claims 3, 11 and 19 are cancelled; and
new claims 21-231 are added;
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-18 and 20-23 remain pending. Claims 1, 9 and 17 are the independent claims.
Any unpersuasive arguments are addressed in the “Response to Arguments” section below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
37 C.F.R. § 1.126
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
The second claim 22 has been renumbered as “23”.
37 C.F.R. § 1.121
Applicant’s claim listing is also not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121 which requires that added claim language be shown via underlining and deleted claim language be shown via strike-through or double bracketing. In particular:
the words “a repository of” are shown deleted from claims 1, 9 and 17 despite the fact that this language was already deleted from the claims with the amendments filed 14 July 2025.
The words “for automating” are newly added to line 10 of claim 1 in place of the words “that automates” without any underlining or strike-through.
The claims are nonetheless examined in the interest of compact prosecution.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues with respect to claim 1 that paragraphs [0060-0061] of Deakin are “simply a rephrasing of the same scenarios as step sentences for testing” instead of teaching an artifact “called” a description of a plurality of features or creating a feature description from the scenario or data descriptions and therefore “do not establish a feature-description layer based on testing-element descriptions.” (Remarks, p. 10 par. 2).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that the Given/When/Then test scenarios are feature descriptions because they describe characteristics or attributes of the testing such as test steps. The fact that they are also rephrasing of some other scenario format does not alter this conclusion. Nor does the fact that Deakin does not explicitly use the phrase “description of a plurality of features.”
Applicant argues that in Deakin a feature is “expressly implementation code, not a feature description within the test asset.” (Remarks, p. 10 par. 3).
To the extent Applicant is arguing that Deakin’s use of the term “feature” to describe code implies that other aspects of Deakin are not features, examiner respectfully disagrees. The instant claims and specification do not define the term and there is no requirement that the prior use the same terminology in the same manner as the instant application in order to teach what is claimed. Examiner respectfully submits that interpreting the Given-When-Then formatted test scenarios are a description of a plurality of features for the reasons set forth above.
Applicant argues that airline names are test data or expected results and treating this information as a description of a plurality of features “conflates test data/expected results with the claimed ‘description of a plurality of features’”. Remarks, p. 11 par. 2).
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that test data and expected results are features because they are characteristics or attributes of tests. The same goes for test steps. Applicant appears to have some other definition of a “a plurality of features” in mind but has not shared that definition with the examiner. To the extent that definition is inconsistent with the above interpretation, examiner respectfully submits that it is not required by the claims or specification.
Applicant argues that “DEAKIN’s code generation is scenario-based, not feature based”. (Remark, p. 11 par. 3).
Examiner respectfully submits that references to scenarios do not imply that anything in Deakin is not a feature or “feature-based”. For example, the specification discloses that the approach of the disclosed embodiments “facilitate test scenario design.” (Specification at par. [0097]). The disclosed invention is accordingly “scenario-based” as well.
These arguments are thus unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the remaining claims by virtue of their dependence from claim 1, similarity with claim 1 or dependence from a similar claim are unpersuasive for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The Final Office Action’s § 112 rejections are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-10, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deakin (US 2024/0411673) (art of record – hereinafter Deakin) and Venkataraman et al. (US 2019/0196949) (art of record – hereinafter Venkataraman).
As to claim 1, Deakin discloses an apparatus comprising:
a processor that executes instructions stored in a memory to configure the processor (e.g., Deakin, pars. [0114], [0124]) to:
create a software test for testing a software program using a description of a plurality of testing elements (e.g., Deakin, par. [0040]: the AI could be instructed to “Create some test scenarios, both positive and negative with this data for a Java function that takes an ICAO and/or IATA code and returns an airline name, and outputs a table of the inputs and expected outputs for such a function” [all of this being a description of a plurality of testing elements]; par. [0041]: the AI may return scenarios and the tabulated test data that can be used in automated testing; par. [0010]: testing the implemented generated implementation source code [software program] against the generated test scenarios)
storing the software test within the memory; (see above, the test scenarios [software tests] are necessarily within memory)
generate a description of a plurality of features to be included within the software test based on the description of the plurality of testing elements (e.g., Deakin, par. [0059]: the AI may then be instructed to restate these scenarios as GIVEN…WHEN…THEN behavioral scenarios. The AI may then output the following in response: par. [0061]: GIVEN that the IATA/ICAO code is “BAB”, WHEN the function ‘getAirlineName’ is invoked with this code THEN it should return “British Airways”; par. [0067]: the result at this point is that scenario definitions and input with expected outputs are generated, which completes step 1 302 of FIG. 3.)
generate an automation script for automating execution of the software test based on a generative artificial intelligence (GenAI) model being executed using the plurality of features (e.g., Deakin, claim 10: the generative AI module comprises a machine learning model; par. [0068]: in step 304 of FIG. 3, the generative AI may be used to write test code. Continuing the example use case, the AI may be instructed using the following input: “In Java code using the Junit framework, write tests for the above scenarios [i.e., the description of a plurality of features, see above]-+ that provide the inputs to the function and verify the return string is what is expected.” In response, the AI may return source code implementation of the test cases it previously described)
in response to a request to execute the software test, execute the plurality of testing elements based on the automation script (e.g., Deakin, par. [0068]: the AI may be instructed to implement test cases using the following input [request] “In Java code and using the Junit framework, write unit tests for the above scenarios that provide inputs to the function and verify the return string is what is expected” [note that the unit tests must be executed to perform the verification]; par. [0127]: in block 514, the method 500 includes verifying the generated implementation source code [i.e., executing the aforementioned unit tests]).
Deakin does not explicitly disclose to: attach the automation script to the software test in memory.
Further, in an analogous art, Venkataraman discloses: to
attach the automation script to the software test in the memory, (e.g., Venkataraman, par. [0040]: testing scenarios “(e.g., test cases)” [necessarily in memory]; par. [0008]: assigning the generated automated testing script to the test case).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the test execution of Deakin, to include attach the automation script to the software test in the memory, as taught by Venkataraman, as Venkataraman would provide the advantage of a means of determining which test script to execute when a test case is selected for execution. (See Venkataraman, pars. [0081], [0030]).
As to claim 2, Deakin/Venkataraman discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but Deakin does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: display results of the execution of the software test via a user interface.
However, in an analogous art, Venkataraman discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to: display results of the execution of the software test via a user interface (e.g., Venkataraman, par. [0080]: engine 160 may persist results from the execution of the automated testing scripts in a reporting database. The reporting engine may generate reports from the information stored in the reporting database, which can be reviewed by users 112. These reports include details on the performance of the system during the execution of the automated testing scripts and may include any warning messages displayed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the test execution of Deakin, such that results of execution of the software test are displayed via a user interface, as taught by Venkataraman, as Venkataraman would provide the advantages of a means for a user to review the results of the test and a means of informing the user of any test execution warnings. (See Venkataraman, par. [0080]).
As to claim 7, Deakin/Venkataraman the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but Deakin does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to: generate an executable software program that executes the plurality of testing elements in sequence via a user interface of a software application.
However, in an analogous art, Venkataraman discloses:
wherein the processor is configured to: generate an executable software program that executes the plurality of testing elements in sequence via a user interface of a software application (e.g., Venkataraman, par. [0076]: module 710 selects test cases to be executed. Test case sequencer receives the selected test cases. The sequence of test cases is passed to the test execution engine; par. [0003]: executing the test cases through, for example, a test script; par. [0055]: as described above, engine 122 converts the intent into executable automated scripts; par. [0065]: the intent or action of the scenario “(e.g., click on the movie store link)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the test script generation of Deakin, to include generating an executable software program that executes the plurality of testing elements in sequence via a user interface of a software application, as taught by Venkataraman, as Venkataraman would provide the advantages of a means of executing tests based on priority ad a means of maximizing certain testing thresholds and criteria. (See Venkataraman, par [0035]).
As to claim 8, Deakin/Venkataraman discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), Deakin further discloses:
wherein the request comprises an identifier of a programming language, and wherein the processor is configured to execute the software test via a framework developed in the programming language (e.g., Deakin, par. [0068]: the AI may be instructed to implement test cases using the following input [request] “In Java code and using the Junit framework, write unit tests for the above scenarios that provide inputs to the function and verify the return string is what is expected” [note that the unit tests must be executed to perform the verification]; par. [0127]: in block 514, the method 500 includes verifying the generated implementation source code [i.e., executing the aforementioned unit tests]).
As to claim 9, it is method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 10, it is method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as claim 2. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 15, it is method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as claim 7. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 16, it is method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as claim 8. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 17, it is medium claim whose limitations are substantially the same as claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 18, it is medium claim whose limitations are substantially the same as claim 2. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Claims 4-5, 12-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deakin (US 2024/0411673) in view of Venkataraman (US 2019/0196949) in further view of Verma (US 2018/0024912) (art of record – hereinafter Verma).
As to claim 4, Deakin/Venkataraman discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the processor is further configured to generate a step definition based on the description of the plurality of features, wherein the step definition is generated in a predefined programming language.
However, in an analogous art, Verma discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to generate a step definition based on the description of the plurality of features, wherein the step definition is generated in a predefined programming language (e.g., Verma, pars. [0026-0032]: the Feature File Generation Engine 60 may use the information provided by the user to generate a feature file, as below: Given no user exists with an email of email@person.com When I go to sign in page Then I should see “Bad email or password”; claim 1: generating a step definition of the features file; par. [0033]: to generate a step definition in a programming language, as shown below [note that the step definition includes features of the feature file]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generation of a test base on a description taught by DeakinVenkataraman to include generate a step definition based on the description, wherein the step definition is generated in a predefined programming language, as taught by Verma, as Verma would provide the advantage of a means of generating tests in a particular framework. (See Verma, pars. [0033-0034]).
As to claim 5, Deakin/Venkataraman/Verma discloses the apparatus of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above), but Deakin does not explicitly disclose wherein when the processor generates the automation script, the processor is further configured to: generate the automation script in the predefined programming language based on the step definition.
However, in an analogous art, Venkataraman discloses
wherein when the processor generates the automation script, the processor is further configured to: generate the automation script in the predefined programming language based on the step definition (e.g., Venkataraman, par. [0059]: step definitions act as skeleton placeholders where automation code blocks may be implemented. The automation code block may be written in a variety of programming language, such as Ruby, Python and so forth. Once generated, the step definitions and respective code blocks may be referred to as an automated testing script; par. [0060]: the automated testing scripts may be implemented automatically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the step definition generation of Deakin/Verma to include generating the script in the predefined language based on a step definition, as taught by Venkataraman, as Venkataraman would provide the advantage of a means of providing an executable implementation of the step definitions. (See Venkarataman, par. [0059]).
As to claim 12, it is method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as claim 4. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 13, it is method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as claim 5. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
As to claim 20, it is method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as claim 4. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deakin (US 2024/0411673) in view of Venkataraman (US 2019/0196949) in further view of Kohisseri et al. (US 2022/0188079) (art of record – hereinafter Kohisseri).
As to claim 6, Deakin/Venkataraman discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to train the GenAI model to understand connections between features and source code based on execution of the GenAI model using mappings between a plurality of features and a plurality of code modules, respectively.
However, in an analogous art, Kohisseri discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to train the GenAI model to understand connections between features and source code based on execution of the GenAI model using mappings between a plurality of features and a plurality of code modules, respectively (e.g., Kohisseri, par. [0029]: neural network models [GenAI models] are trained to comprehend the user inputs 103 and generate the codes required [i.e., to understand the required code for the inputs]; par. [0060]: consider that the auto encode model has been trained using the following inputs: [see table, the words in the left column are features, the codes in the right column include code modules]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the code generation and model of Deakin/Venkataraman to include training the GenAI model to understand connections between features and source code based on execution of the GenAI model on mappings between a plurality of features and a plurality of code modules, respectively, as taught by Kohisseri, as Kohisseri would provide the advantage of a means to configure the generative model to generate the code required for particular features (see Kohisseri, par. [0029]) as suggested by Deakin. (See Deakin, claim 10).
As to claim 14, it is method claim whose limitations are substantially the same as claim 6. Accordingly, it is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deakin (US 2024/0411673) in view of Venkataraman (US 2019/0196949) in further view of Tahvili et al. (US 2024/0241817) (art made of record – hereinafter Tahvili).
As to claim 21, Deakin/Venkataraman discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of clai/m 1 above) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to: identify the plurality of features from a historical software test having similar requirements to the software test.
However, in an analogous art, Tahvili discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
identify the plurality of features from a historical software test having similar requirements to the software test (e.g., Tahvili, par. [0034]: a system/method described herein may provide advantages such as reducing manual work associated with software testing by automatically recommends [sic] test case specifications with high accuracy; par. [0068]: the method recommends a corresponding test specification for each requirement, based on previous test cases developed for similar requirements; abstract: features from the test specifications [i.e., identifying the test specification is identifying a plurality of features]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Deakin to include features identified from a historical software test having similar requirements to the software test, as taught by Tahvili, as Tahvili would provide the advantage of a means to adapt previous knowledge for testing a new product. (See Tahvili, par. [0012]).
Claim 222 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deakin (US 2024/0411673) in view of Venkataraman (US 2019/0196949) in further view of Talukdar et al. (US 2020/0104241) (art made of record – hereinafter Talukdar).
As to claim 22, Deakin/Venkataraman discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to: display the plurality of features on a display of a device; and receive, via the display, an input from a user to one or more of provide feedback regarding the plurality of features or accept the plurality of features.
However, in an analogous art, Talukdar discloses:
wherein the processor (e.g., Talukdar, par. [0010]) is configured to:
display the plurality of features on a display of a device; (e.g., Talukdar, par. [0045]: the natural language file 130 may be displayed to the user 102 in S426; par. [0044]: natural language file 1230 may include each of the steps in the feature file) and
receive, via the display, an input from a user to one or more of provide feedback regarding the plurality of features or accept the plurality of features (e.g., Talukdar, par. [0045]: par. [0045]: the natural language file 130 may be displayed to the user 102 in S426. The natural language file 130 may allow the user to review the test script to confirm it is written as intended. The user 102 may save the natural language file 130 via selection of a save control [receive input to accept the plurality of features]; par. [0046]: after the user reviews the natural language file in S426, the user 102 may execute the natural language file. The user may select the natural language file 130 for execution [receive input to accept the plurality of features]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Deakin such that they are displayed to the user and input from a user to one or more of provide feedback regarding the plurality of features or accept the plurality of features is received via the display, as taught by Talukdar, as Talukdar would provide the advantage of a means to confirm the features are as intended and avoid utilizing features that are not. (See Talukdar, par. [0045])
Claim 233 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deakin (US 2024/0411673) in view of Venkataraman (US 2019/0196949) in further view of Hicks et al. (US 2024/0330169) (art made of record – hereinafter Hicks).
As to claim 23, Deakin/Venkataraman discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) and further discloses the GenAI model (see rejection of claim 1 above) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the software comprises a label, generated by the GenAI model, identifying a purpose of the software test.
However, in an analogous art, Hicks discloses:
wherein the software comprises a label, generated by the model, identifying a purpose of the software test (e.g., Hicks, par. [0041]: an automated test tool utilizes a machine learning model to automatically generate tags for test cases; par. [0041]: the automatically generated tags may relate to functions tested by the test [testing those functions being a purpose of the test]. A teest case that is directed to I/O functions will be tagged with the ‘I/O’ tag. A test case that is directed to networking functions will be tagged with the ‘networking’ tag).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the GenAI model generating tests taught by Deakin such that it labels the tests with a label identifying a purpose of the test, as taught by Hicks, as Hicks would provide the advantage of a means of easily identifying relevant tests. (See Hicks, par. [0035])
Conclusion
/TODD AGUILERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192
1 Applicant’s claim listing erroneously includes two claims numbered as “22”.
2 See the “37 C.F.R. § 1.126” section above
3 See the “37 C.F.R. § 1.126” section above